Jump to content

Follow Us:   Twitter Facebook Celiac.com Forum RSS      

Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts
arrowShare this page:
Subscribe Today!

Celiac.com Sponsor:
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Member Since 08 Apr 2013
Offline Last Active Apr 28 2015 07:02 PM

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Mission Gluten Free / Wheat Free Soft Tacos

28 April 2015 - 06:59 PM

And if you read further :" No, our corn production lines are dedicated to corn products only. Wheat flour tortillas are produced on dedicated lines."

"All Mission® plants have strict food safety programs in place, including a very comprehensive Allergen Control Program."

Many many of us eat Mission chips and tortillas without ill effect. Just because something is made in the same manufacturing plant or complex does not mean other foods will contain it. The whole world is a " shared facility". Most restauruants and grocery stores are " shared facilities". Many of us live in homes with some gluten eating - " shared facility". Shared equipment would be a greater concern.

Thank you for doing your due diligence and sharing it with "us."  I certainly aim to try them in the near future.  

In Topic: Briessweet™ White Sorghum Syrups

27 April 2015 - 05:32 PM

Their "Contact Us" page leads to a dead link.  However, I've been drinking my homebrew made with it and It makes my ears pop, eyes dry, makes me tired, and possibly a bit of gas.  Despite not wanting to admit it's gluten, I'm not drinking anymore because it makes me feel not so good...  I'm "very" sensitive.  So if you know you're not too sensitive feel free to try, but...  buyer beware.

In Topic: Mission Gluten Free / Wheat Free Soft Tacos

26 April 2015 - 08:25 AM

A heads up!




Mission® corn products are produced with 100% corn masa flour; wheat ingredients are not added to the formulation.  These products include corn tortillas, corn tortilla chips, taco shells, and tostadas.  These products are produced in plants that also process wheat tortillas.

In Topic: Briessweet™ White Sorghum Syrups

21 April 2015 - 06:42 PM

Maybe you should actually talk to the company? Ask some questions? Looking at the website, it looks like they are very aware of what it means to be gluten-free, but if you don't trust that... You would need to ask them for more specifics.

Maybe find some made by a local farmer? That way you can talk to them and they probably don't make anything else on the machines/ pots that they cook the syrup in.

Very aware of what it means to be gluten free but not willing/interested in getting certified by Gluten Intolerance Group or similar organization.  I will email them, but i'm really looking for some real world experience rather than a legal safeguard of an answer like we all get from the Whole Foods deli people, "while we take careful precautions we can not guarantee... "  I'll email the company, but in the meantime if anyone has brewed with it and had/ not had a reaction, please share.  Thanks!

Celiac.com Sponsors: