But yesterday, I ate lunch at an Olive Garden, ordering about the only thing on the menu which appeared to be gluten-free -- the chicken caesar salad. About half-way through my meal, I began to experience mild celiac disease symptoms and have been dealing with them ever since (about 20 hrs later). I am quite suspicious that the caesar salad dressing they used had gluten.
I've never eaten at an Olive Garden but it's always been my experience that Caesar Salads are served with croutons. And even if you order it without croutons, if you don't explain why, they might simply pick the croutons off of an existing Caesar and serve it to you. (And they might do that even if you do explain your sensitivity to gluten which is another story altogether!)
I confess that I, too, sometimes go into restaurants and order stuff that "appears" to be gluten-free without consulting with someone on staff but I don't think I'd ever chance that with a Caesar.