Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Ads by Google:
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Moongirl

Member Since 05 Dec 2005
Offline Last Active Jul 23 2008 07:06 AM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Not Your Average Joes (chain)

07 May 2008 - 09:47 AM

I eat there a lot! i love their cobb salad! i just get mine with lemon and oil on the side anyways!
they are very aware of celiac disease there, once when i went with a friend we both ordered a cobb salad from my gluten free menu, even though she is not a celiac she thought it would be nice if she ate what i ate to make me feel comfortable...shes so sweet! well anyways she said ill have mine with the balsamic vingarette, and then the manager came out a little while later and said "sorry but that has gluten in it, is there something else you would like"...my friend said its ok, that she can have that cause she doesnt have celiac disease...

thanks for being on your toes not your average joes...hehe :lol:

In Topic: Yoplait Whips

24 April 2008 - 06:33 PM

I would call the 800 number on the carton and ask. I tend to be supercautious and if a company usually uses a gluten free label on their food and a product doesn't have it I either pass or call before I consume. Yoplait is a really good company, perhaps there is barley malt used in the chocolate in a small enough amount so it can be left off the label. That does not have to be disclosed. I would call just to be on the safe side.

YOPLAIT WILL LIST ANY GLUTEN SOURCE INCLUDING BARLEY....
Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information

In Topic: Yoplait Whips

24 April 2008 - 06:33 PM

I would call the 800 number on the carton and ask. I tend to be supercautious and if a company usually uses a gluten free label on their food and a product doesn't have it I either pass or call before I consume. Yoplait is a really good company, perhaps there is barley malt used in the chocolate in a small enough amount so it can be left off the label. That does not have to be disclosed. I would call just to be on the safe side.

YOPLAIT WILL LIST ANY GLUTEN SOURCE INCLUDING BARLEY....
Thank you for contacting Yoplait regarding gluten in Yoplait yogurt.

It is our goal to help our consumers determine whether or not they can include our products in their diet. To accurately accomplish this, we believe it is best to refer to the specific ingredients listed on each product package.

However, we do understand that ingredients can be confusing, so we want to assure you if the ingredient label does not list wheat, barley, rye, oats or gluten containing ingredients sourced from these grains, then the product would be gluten-free. Sources of gluten are listed on the label even if the source of gluten is part of another ingredient (such as flavoring or spice). Because ingredients may vary from one package to another due to product reformulation, you should use the product's ingredient label to provide you with current and accurate information

In Topic: Philosophy Beauty/skin Care Mostly Gluten Free!

19 April 2008 - 02:22 PM

Here is the response that I got.
Thank you for your patience. I was able to speak to our chemist and I was informed the vitamin e we use in our products is of synthetic origin. I hope this information is helpful. If I can be of any further assistance please let me know. Have a great day!

marisa solis
customer care specialist
philosophy, inc.
3809 east watkins street
phoenix, az 85034
800-love-151
www.philosophy.com


Its a good thing, but I wonder why their answers are not the same? Maybe different chemists? Either I can still use some of their stuff!

In Topic: Chanel Makeup/skincare

18 April 2008 - 08:44 AM

since we are on the subject, take a look at this interesting link, not directly linked to gluten (maybe) it doesnt mention it, but I found it interesting still.
http://www.ncbi.nlm....st_uids=7949472