Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


Franceen

Member Since 02 Apr 2006
Offline Last Active Jan 18 2011 10:36 AM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Question About Gluten Free Products

15 January 2011 - 03:45 PM

I've only been on this diet for a couple of days and have a question about what you consider to be really gluten free.

A number of products such as cornflakes will state that they do not contain wheat but are made on machinery that may have been used to manufacture wheat products - knowing this, do you still eat cornflakes?

Having to shop in the health food isle is fine, but it is alot more expensive, so if it's possible to eat things like cornflakes or rice bubbles or other products that are not made from wheat or gluten but not necessarily processed according to gluten free guidelines would be easier for me (but only if the risk is worth taking).

Has anyone here had any reactions when they've eaten food with these sorts of labels on them?

Thanks
Cathy


Exceptions to the "most mainstream cereals" are SOME cereals made by General Mills in the "CHEX" series. Corn, Rice, Cinnamon, Chocolate Chex are all gluten free and the boxes are marked as such.
But Peter's post about the MALT word is correct. Malt flavoring, barley malt, etc are made from barley. And almost all Kelloggs cereals have it in them.

As for the CC issues with products that say "made in a facility that also makes..........." it is pretty much an individual thing. Some people are more sensitive than others. I generally don't have a problem with products made in the same facility as wheat, barley products. But my level of sensitivity is relatively low compared to many people. I keep "Glutenease" capsules in my purse. At Christmas, my SIL made both gluten-free Chex Mix and regular glutened Chex Mix. I accidentally grabbed two small handfulls of the regular stuff and ate it before I noticed. I panicked , took 2 Glutenease and was ok stomach-wise. But I did get a minor DH rash several days later (I get DH mainly), but now I also get the big D sometimes from glutening.

SO, it's up to you to do trial and error with the products made in a facility with gluten products.

In Topic: Can I Buy Liver?

15 January 2011 - 11:15 AM

I thought, that at the market, because the butchers also deal with "pre-seasoned meats" and such that there are CC issues?


To be a little more specific..... Butchers, for many health reasons, unrelated to gluten CC (sanitary and disease related), practice some of the most diligent processes in cleaning their tables, knives, etc. They mostly don't use butcher block wood anymore as that harbors meat residue and grows bacteria. Instead they mostly use stainless steel tables. Most pre-seasoned meat comes pre-packaged and butchers don't put it on their table - and only supermarket and places like COSTCO's butcher shops would have pre-seasoned meats anyway. Most pre-seasoned meats don't contain gluten either. If you watch them, to avoid cross contamination between different types of meats, they laboriously clean their tables between each cutting - and larger market butchers have multiple tables so that they don't do chicken and beef and pork on the same tables. The slicers are cleaned frequently as are the hamburger grinders.
I still say that getting meat directly from a butcher shop is probably the safest place to get meat. And liver doesn't require much butcher preparations to sell either. The most important thing about liver is that is is very fresh and kept cold.

In Topic: Can I Buy Liver?

15 January 2011 - 10:34 AM

Why would the butcher's be too "gluteny"????? Meats (all that are just plain meat) do not have gluten. The butcher's is probably one of the safest places around! That's a very good place to get your liver!

In Topic: Sudafed

02 January 2011 - 10:12 AM

I have used many Sudaphed generics successfully: Walmart, CVS, Costco, BJs, Kroger. When I first tried each one I read the label. I've never had a problem with them. And I agree with "Moderator" all the companies DO tell you they are NOT gluten-free because they don't test for gluten and their lawyers have told them they HAVE to say that. So I no longer call companies. I read the label with Google open to search for ingredients I don't recognize. Been successful so far, for 6 year.

In Topic: Betty Crocker Mixes, Bisquick And Udi's

25 December 2010 - 03:34 PM

Thanks Everyone for your input!!
I have no known sensitivities to any of the mentioned ingredients (nor the ones common to these products). I eat soy all the time in other things and by itself (gluten-free soy sauce, soy milk), tapioca starch products, many many dairy products all the time, eggs at least twice weekly (scrambled, etc). I've been gluten-free since 2005 and never had this problem with anything other than gluten before.

However, I did read somewhere (wish I could remember where) that BC and Udi's both use quite a lot of Xanthum Gum to get the great texture. And that same place mentioned that some people become sensitive to large amounts of Xanthum Gum (also Carageenan and Guar, but especially Xanthum). If that's what's bothering me, then that may now be a sensitivity for good and I'll have to watch baked goods that may have a lot of Xanthum Gum. I can't get Udi's very easily, so I won't miss that brand - but the BC mixes and Bisquick will be missed!

I may do some more research on Xanthum Gum and post any siginificant findings here.
Thank goodness it's not soy or I'd really be in trouble! I feel a lot of sympathy for people who are sensitive to multiple common ingredients like soy, eggs, dairly, potatoes, etc.

Again thanks everyone for the input - greatly appreciated.