Jump to content

Follow Us:  Twitter Facebook RSS Feed            




   arrowShare this page:
   

   Get email alerts  Subscribe to FREE Celiac.com email alerts

 
Celiac.com Sponsor:                                    


wendyvogt

Member Since 24 Apr 2006
Offline Last Active Apr 24 2006 04:57 PM
-----

Posts I've Made

In Topic: Jamba Juice/starbucks

24 April 2006 - 04:57 PM

Maltodextrin is generally safe. :)

It sounds like it has WRBO in it, but it doesn't. I believe it's derived from corn.



hmmm. i have always been told to stay away from anything with "malt" or "dextrose" since you cannot be sure what the base ingredient is...

perhaps i can relax this rule?? i will do some reading about this.

thanks for the info -- and i will post when i hear back from starbucks re: CBB.
~wendy.

In Topic: Jamba Juice/starbucks

24 April 2006 - 03:39 PM

Hi there,

This is my first post to this group but seeing as Starbucks has recently changed something that USED to be gluten free, I thought I should let people know. Starbucks told me previously that a vanilla-creme frappaccino (made with UBB + vanilla syrup) was gluten free. The vanilla bean was not gluten free due to contamination.

However, Starbucks no longer has UBB!! They now have something called CBB or Creme Beverage Base. This is no longer fat free (it is half-half) and I think they also changed other ingredients as well. The last time I was in Starbucks, I had the woman behind the counter read off the ingredients on the CBB and one of them was maltodextrin. Argh. I cannot even begin to tell you how disappointed I am...

So, I just called Starbucks and spoke with someone who is doing research on the ingredients in the CBB.
Will let you know when she gets back to me.

~wendy.