Salad dressings are really pretty easy and most are gluten-free. Of course wheat MUST be listed and barley will almost always show up as malt or malt flavoring. I've found VERY few dressings with gluten, and in my experience it's always been listed.
Because your daughter can function perfectly well with celiac, i can't imagine you can get any kind of benefits. In addition, the diet need not be expensive if you avoid the gluten-free substitutes or make your own from scratch. If you feed her food that's naturally gluten-free, it won't cost any more. I realize that with some things that might be easier said than done with a 10-year-old, but it sounds like you might not have a choice.
Also, as you get into it, you can find less expensive ways to do some things. There are very good gluten-free cookies you can make from scratch. For pizza, I bake a corn tortilla some, put on regular pizza toppings and then heat some more. I actually like it better than gluten-free pizza crust, and it's a heck of a lot cheaper. I also roll meat and toppings into corn tortillas like a wrap. For treats, you'll find that many regular ice creams and candies are gluten-free, so that doesn't cost any more.
Leaning over steam while washing dishes that used to have gluten on them is not going to cause DH or a gluten reaction. I can't imagine there's even any gluten in the steam. My bet is it's something other than DH.
The MFS in this case could be corn, tapioca, potato or a number of other thyings that aren't one of the top 8 allergens or have gluten. The reason they aren't more specific is that the source of the MFS could change and then they'd have to change the label all the time. But they are saying they'll change the label if the MFS suddenly has gluten. BTW, MFS very, very rarely comes fom wheat. It can, but almost never does.
When a company tells me to just read the ingredients I rejoice. This is what I want.
I'll offer a different perspective -- just avoid buying those expensive and sometimes crummy tasting gluten-free specialty foods. The ONLY gluten-free specialty foods I buy with any regularity are pasta and crackers and the crackers aren't much more than regular ones. Instead of expensive gluten-free cookies I either make my own or, usually, eat some other sweet. My "bread" is corn tortillas or lettuce (I can afford the bread but I despise it). Sometimes I get cereal. Otherwise, I just use fresh and "normal" processed foods that are gluten-free.
I know this isn't the way for everybody, but ot works for me.
Posted by lovegrov
on 13 September 2004 - 05:28 AM
Cass, if you're going to try to convince us that beef and milk are causing brittle bones, I think you need a better source that The Truth Seeker. I mean there's some flat-out nutty, tinfoil hat stuff there. Israel was founded not as a Jewish state but as an occult state? It wasn't a plane that hit the Pentagon on Sept. 11?
ALL Smirnoff vodka (except the malt drink Smirnoff Ice) is gluten-free. The grain it's made from is corn.
In reality, ALL distilling alcohol is gluten-free unless gluten is added after the distilling. Distliing takes out the harmful proteins. I know several extremely sensitive people who drink wheat- or rye-based liquors.
The Waffle House I went to used gluten-free Hormel bacon, although I can't guarantee they all use this. Truth is, I've heard of only two bacons that aren't gluten-free, although one of them is the bacon at McDonald's. Don't know about the hash browns but you can ask. The sausage is also very likely gluten-free but you should also check on that. I had the omelette and some bacon.