Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Jefferson Adams

    Are Canadians on the Warpath Against European Gluten-Free Beer Standards?

    Jefferson Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Are Canadians starting a gluten-free war against certain EU beers?


    Are the Canadians pushing back against EU standards for gluten-free beer? Photo: CC--Estrella Damm
    Caption: Are the Canadians pushing back against EU standards for gluten-free beer? Photo: CC--Estrella Damm

    Celiac.com 06/06/2017 - Word from the Great White north is that the Saskatchewan Liquor and Gaming Authority (SLGA) is preventing the sale of Estrella Damm Daura, following a warning from the Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA).

    The SLGA, according to the company's website, is "a Treasury Board Crown Corporation responsible for the distribution, control and regulation of beverage alcohol in Saskatchewan. SLGA operates 75 retail liquor stores and there are approximately 600 private liquor retailers throughout the province."



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    According to statements by SLGA spokesman David Morris, the CFIA advised SLGA and other liquor jurisdictions to "put the product on hold" last month over concerns that Daura Damm was brewed with products that contain gluten. Any decision by the SLGA to discontinue sales of Damm Daura would likely impact large numbers of customers in the region. It may also impact similar products from the EU.

    Brewed in Spain by S.A. Damm, using traditional barley ingredients, Estrella Damm Daura is filtered to reduce its gluten content to levels well below the 20 ppm required for products labeled gluten-free. S.A. Damm's company website says that "All batches are analyzed and certified by the CSIC before hitting the market," and that the company guarantees Daura Damm's gluten content is three parts per million or fewer.

    EU gluten-free standards permit any finished product below 20ppm gluten content to be labeled gluten-free. Canadian standards prohibit any product made with gluten-containing source ingredients from being labeled as gluten-free. Therein lies the apparent rub. Under EU standards, Estrella Damm Daura qualifies as a gluten-free beer. Under Canadian standards, it does not.

    No word yet on whether Canadian trade agreements make exceptions for EU products, such as beer.

    Meanwhile, potential beneficiaries are Canadian breweries, such as Rebellion Brewing Co., a Regina-based brewery that uses locally grown lentils to make its celiac-friendly Lentil Cream Ale.

    Rebellion brewmaster Mark Heise says SLGA's decision to cease ordering Estrella Damm Daura could be a "massive" opportunity. "It's huge for us," he says.

    No word yet on how far the Canadian authorities will go in their efforts to enforce their gluten-free standards against EU products, but they may have just fired the first shot. Stay tuned for more on these and other gluten-free stories as they develop.

    Read more at TheStarPhoenix.com

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    This more clearly answers a question I had about Guinness. I sent them an email inquiring if they were gluten free or not, after reading on a forum where some people are saying it is and some are saying it is not. I am new to this whole celiac thing and am learning daily. Still have a long way to go though I'm afraid.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Join eNewsletter

    Guest Maureen Sullivan

    Posted

    This sounds like the Canadian breweries are on a witch hunt to benefit their wallets. Although some Celiac people take exception to the gluten filtration process that reduces the gluten to below 20ppm, others have no issue with it and enjoy being able to drink a 'real' beer, or as close as you can come to it. Also, Estrella clearly informs the consumer of its brewing process, as do many other brewers. If you've ever tasted sorghum or lentil 'beers', you would appreciate the availability of a product like Damm Daura.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Join eNewsletter

    Gluten-reduced beers are permitted to be sold in Canada, but they can not carry a gluten-free claim and they must carry the disclaimer "This product is fermented from grains containing gluten and [processed or treated or crafted] to remove gluten. The gluten content of this product cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten". The trigger for the removal of Damm Daura in Saskatchewn is the words "gluten free" used on the product. This beer is still available in other provinces and can be returned to the shelves in Saskatchewan once the labeling is corrected. (http://www.inspection.gc.ca/food/labelling/food-labelling-for-industry/allergens-and-gluten/eng/1388152325341/1388152326591?chap=2#s5c2)

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Join eNewsletter



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/15/2016 - Germans are particular about their beer. Since the 14th century, they have had a beer purity law, called Reinheitsgebot. That law says that beer must be made with wheat or barley, if it is to be called beer.
    That means that many gluten-free beers brewed without wheat or barley cannot be considered beer in Germany. Now, German brewers are using special "ultra-low" gluten Australian barley to brew the first gluten-free beer that conforms to the strict requirements of the law.
    The barley is called "Kebari" barley, and was developed by Csiro, an Australian government scientific research agency, which used conventional breeding...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 12/30/2016 - The San Francisco Bay area is home to a rich heritage of running and athletics, including more than a few folks who like to do extreme things. Whether it’s a swim to Alcatraz and back, ultra-long distance running, zany single speed mountain biking, or a combination of all three, San Francisco has it all. And now it has a gluten-removed beer for those folks.
    For all the people who think a muddy six mile hike is best done twice, and at a jog, there is now a beer for you. For anyone who likes to push their body to the extreme and then sit down with friends and revel in the suffering, there is Sufferfest. Sufferfest beer was created b...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/28/2017 - A number of commercial brewers are opting to use enzymatic digestion, or hydrolysis, for treating gluten-containing foods and beverages to make them safe for people with gluten sensitivity, including those with celiac disease. However, some have questioned whether the process is safe for all people with celiac disease, as some celiacs complain that they experience gluten sensitivity when they drink these beers.
    Currently, there are no validated testing methods for quantifying levels of hydrolyzed or fermented gluten peptides in foods and beverages that might be harmful to celiac patients. This makes it difficult to determine...