Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Record is Archived

    This article is now archived and is closed to further replies.

    Scott Adams

    Are Distilled Vinegars Made from Wheat Safe?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    White vinegar or just plain vinegar are typically distilled, and, if so, are gluten-free. Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things. Most in the USA are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all safe (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegars that are made from wheat are probably gluten-free because of the distillation process described in Frederik Willem Janssens article on this site.

    Distilled vinegar made from wood are gluten-free. Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):




    Flavored vinegars are made with white, distilled vinegar, and flavorings are then added. Some of these may also not be gluten-free (the cheapest vinegars are used since the flavors are masked by the herbs and flavoring).

    Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free.

    Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten-free.

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Thank you for helping a person who is very sensitive to gluten. Even if products are labeled "gluten free", I still will not buy them if the building or equipment used to process them has processed gluten-containing products.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Join eNewsletter

    Thank you for helping a person who is very sensitive to gluten. Even if products are labeled "gluten free", I still will not buy them if the building or equipment used to process them has processed gluten-containing products.

    Same here, had reaction too many times with such labeled foods.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Join eNewsletter

    Unless it describes the type of vinegar, assume it is not from corn. Not giving information is not a description. If the manufacturer does not know where it came from, don't eat it and tell the company why!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Join eNewsletter




    Guest
    This is now closed for further comments

  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 05/02/2009 - Jesse James, the low-key celebrity biker and husband of star Sondra Bullock, led a gluten-free rally to survive yet another Donald Trump challenge on the Celebrity Apprentice recently.
    The second task of the night on the April 19th show was to devise a new dish along with a marketing campaign for the Schwan's frozen food LiveSmart line. Facing possible elimination of a team-member, the team led by Jesse James rallied with a gluten free noodle dish to stay alive for the May 10th final.
    The challenge to create and market Schwan's new dish saw Jesse James running the show at Athena. Jesse chose to keep teammate Melissa with...

    Kenneth Fine, MD
    Organizations that embrace the Goodness of service, the Intelligence of scientific know-how, the Excitement of new discovery, and the Truth in what they say and do maintain a lasting place in this world. I am therefore privileged to announce that on April 1st, 2011 EnteroLab.com and my non-profit Intestinal Health Institute celebrated our 11th Anniversary.  It was in April 2000 that my formal academic medical career officially took on a full-time Public Health Service mission that continues to exist and work today “For Your Health, Happiness, and Hope.” EnteroLab.com, the world’s first online intestinal health clinical laboratory, was the offspring of my ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/09/2013 - Since 2009, gluten-free items have seen an astonishing 114% growth rate on restaurant and food establishment menus nationwide.
    That trend seems set to continue in 2012, with news that gluten-free offerings were the top addition to American pizza menus.
    In addition to the controversial move by Domino's Pizza to launch a gluten-free crust (though not a gluten-free pizza), numerous other pizza retailers also added gluten-free offerings in 2012.
    Some notable examples include Gatti's Pizza, Pie Five Pizza Co., Uncle Maddio's Pizza Joint, Detroit Style Pizza Co., Russo's New York Pizzeria and Russo's Coal-Fired Italian Kitchen...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 03/13/2014 - Two recent articles in Bloomberg Businessweek offer some excellent lessons for companies seeking to introducing gluten-free products at the retail level. Both articles are by associate Bloomberg Businessweek editor Venessa Wong.
    The first article is titled Can You Trust Gluten-free Restaurant Items? The article describes the gluten-free missteps of a few companies that got their gluten-free efforts wrong, at least at first.
    Companies mentioned in the article include California Pizza Kitchen, which rolled out pizzas made with a gluten-free crust late in 2010.
    Many customers became angry when they realized gluten was present ...