Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):




Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Jefferson Adams

    Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free and Safe for Celiac Disease Diets?

    Jefferson Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      It's marshmallow season! Celiac.com answers the question: Are marshmallows gluten free and safe for people with celiac disease?


    Image: CC--sand_and_sky
    Caption: Image: CC--sand_and_sky

    Celiac.com 06/05/2019 - Campfire and cookout season is upon us once again, and that means roasted marshmallow season is also upon us. People often ask us if marshmallows are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.

    The short answer is that nearly all major brand marshmallows sold in the United States are gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free celiac diet, even when not specifically labeled. Marshmallows made outside the U.S. may contain wheat starch or other gluten ingredients, so be careful if you're dealing with non-American brands.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    In the U.S., there are two major marshmallow makers, Kraft Foods Inc. and Doumak Inc. Both make marshmallows without gluten ingredients. These companies make nearly all major marshmallow brands, like Kraft, Campfire, Jet, and store brands. They also make most marshmallows sold as private store brands.

    Kraft

    Kraft's policy is to disclose all gluten-containing ingredients on its labels. Although Kraft marshmallows are not labeled "gluten-free" or tested for trace gluten, Kraft says that their marshmallows are not subject to gluten cross-contamination in production.

    Doumak

    Doumak calls itself "The American Marshmallow Company," and makes Campfire brand marshmallows, as well as many private store brands, including Walmart and CVS brands. All Doumak marshmallows are gluten-free. 

    As always, read labels, and check with manufacturers as needed, and trust your gut. 

    Make Your Own Gluten-Free Marshmallows

    Don't want to bother with major brands? Make your own gluten-free marshmallows at home with this recipe for Gluten-Free Vanilla Marshmallows from Blessherheartyall.com. 

    Starbucks Gluten-Free Marshmallow Dream Bar

    If you need a reliable marshmallow treat, try Starbucks Gluten-Free Marshmallow Dream Bar

    Lastly, while nearly all marshmallows are gluten-free, products made with marshmallows may or may not be gluten-free, so read labels carefully. If you're dealing with a marshmallow product, like Peeps, say, be sure to look for clearly marked Gluten-Free labels.

    Do you have a marshmallow story? Share it below!

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    It frustrates me that celiac.com doesn’t focus more on cross-contamination. Anything that has corn-based ingredients such as corn syrup which is in nearly all commercial marshmallows will not test gluten free therefore there is no certification label on the package. It’s all about the cross contamination.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 11/05/2013 - Halloween is over, and this year we offered a fun alternative to the standard store-bought fare--marshmallow caramel puffs.
    They are fun and easy to make, and kids just love to help make them, and, of course, to eat them. They turned out great, so I thought I'd share them here for next year.
    This recipe makes a dozen marshmallows, but it's easy to scale accordingly.
    Ingredients:
    1 dozen regular marshmallows
    1 dozen Kraft caramels
    ¾ cup almonds, crushed
    6 ounces melted dark chocolate
    Directions:
    Place crushed almonds into a bowl.
    Melt caramels in a double-boiler.
    Dip marshmallows halfway into ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/08/2014 - I was dying for an ice-cream sandwich the other day, and I didn’t have many options. I did, however, have some leftover Rice Krispies Treats and some ice cream. The rest, as they say, is history.
    There are so many great variations on this recipe. You can make peanut butter Rice Krispy Treats. You can use chocolate ice cream. You can do both. You can use strawberry, or any of you favorite ice cream flavors. Fruit flavors work well. The list goes on and on.
    Ingredients:
    Gluten-free Rice Krispies cereal Marshmallows Butter Ice cream of choice Directions:
    Prepare Rice Krispies Treats as desired, following the recipe o...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/24/2014 - Here are ten recipes for make-at-home Halloween treats that are guaranteed to put smiles on the faces of your young ones, and help you to breath a sigh of gluten-free relief.
    The recipes are gluten-free, or easily modified to be gluten-free. Remember to double-check ingredients, such as caramel (I use Kraft caramels without any issues).
    Also, many of these recipes list ingredients that acre fat-free, sugar-free, low-fat, and/or low sugar. I always ignore such instructions and include full-fat, full-sugar alternatives, but prepare according to your own tastes.
    Top Ten Gluten-free Halloween Treats:
    Caramel...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/26/2020 - How do you figure out which Halloween candy is gluten-free and safe for you and your loved ones? You check out the Celiac.com’s Safe Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, of course!
    Here's our best, most comprehensive, most up-to-date list of safe, gluten-free Halloween candy, along with a list of unsafe candy that contains gluten and should be avoided.
    This year, we’ve added candies to both the SAFE Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list, and to our UNSAFE Non-Gluten-Free Halloween Candy list. We’ve also added more manufacturer contact information for easier answers to gluten-free questions.
    Celiac.com strives to mak...