Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Are Planter's Peanuts Gluten-Free?

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Wondering if Planter's Peanuts are gluten-free? You came to the right place.

    Are Planter's Peanuts Gluten-Free? - Image: CC BY 2.0--Photographing Travis
    Caption: Image: CC BY 2.0--Photographing Travis

    Celiac.com 04/06/2021 - We get a lot of questions from celiac community members wondering if certain products are gluten-free. One question we see a lot is about snack products, especially peanuts. Specifically, are Planter's Peanuts gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?

    While Planter's does not label their Classic Peanuts, Cocktail Peanuts, or Extra Large Virginia Peanuts as gluten-free, the products do not contain added gluten, and the only allergen listed on the label is peanut. They also do not have a disclaimer, such as: packed in a facility that also processes wheat products.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Moreover, Celiac.com has not seen any complaints about people with celiac disease having gluten reactions to Planter's Peanuts.

    Planter's Classic Peanuts, Cocktail Peanuts, or Extra Large Virginia Peanuts contain: PEANUTS, SEA SALT, PEANUT OIL.

    Listed allergens: Peanut

    So, while Planter's Peanuts peanuts may not be labeled gluten-free, they are naturally gluten-free and can be considered gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. 

    Planter's Peanuts make the perfect snack for your favorite gluten-free cocktails. As always, read labels, listen to your gut, and choose carefully.

    If you're looking for snacks labeled gluten-free, then be sure to check out these top brands of gluten-free potato chipsgluten-free popcorn, and gluten-free cheese puffs

     


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 03/25/2017 - Looking for a reasonably healthy snack for the kids, or an easy way to make a hit at your next gathering? These classic peanut butter bars are just like they used to serve in school; except they're gluten-free. Yes, that's a good thing.
    Ingredients:
    1½ cups gluten-free graham cracker crumbs (I use Kinnikinnick Crumbs - Graham Style Gluten Free) 3 cups confectioners' sugar 1½ cups peanut butter 1 cup butter, melted 1 (12 ounce) bag milk chocolate chips Directions:
    Combine gluten-free graham crumbs, sugar and peanut butter and mix well.
    Add melted butter and mix well.
    Press mixture evenly into a 9 x 13 inch pan.
    Melt chocolate chips in microwave or in double boiler.
    Spread melted chocolate over peanut butter mixture.
    Chill until the chocolate sets, but is not totally hard, then cut into bars.


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/06/2019 - One question we hear regularly is: Are Cheetos Gluten-Free? And what about other top brands of puffed, cheese flavored snacks? Well, Chester Cheetah can purr proudly, because America's best-selling brand of puffed cheese flavored snacks are in fact gluten-free. What other brands of cheesy puffed snacks are gluten-free?
    Gluten-Free Cheetos and Cheese Flavored Snacks
    Gluten-Free Cheetos and Cheese flavored puffed snacks include:
    Annie's Organic Cheddar Cheesy Puffs--Organic, gluten-free and made with 8 grams of baked whole grains. Biena Chickpea Puffs--Made with chickpeas, and lentils, Biena Chickpea Puffs boast seven grams of plant protein, and come in Aged White Cheddar, Blazin’ Hot, and Vegan Ranch flavors. Cheetos Baked Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Curls Winter White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Crunchy Cheddar Jalapeño Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Crunchy Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Crunchy Flamin' Hot Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Crunchy Flamin' Hot Chipotle Ranch Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Crunchy Flamin' Hot Limón Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Crunchy XXtra Flamin' Hot Flavored Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Fantastix! Chili Cheese Flavored Corn and Potato Snacks  Cheetos Fantastix! Flamin’ Hot Flavored Corn and Potato Snacks  Cheetos Paws Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Puffs Flamin' Hot Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Puffs Simply White Cheddar Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Puffs Simply White Cheddar Jalapeno Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Reduced Fat Puffs Cheese Flavored Snacks Cheetos Reduced Fat Puffs Flamin' Hot Cheese Flavored Snacks   Chester's Bacon Cheddar Flavored Fries Chester's Flamin' Hot Flavored Fries Chester's Flamin' Hot Flavored Popcorn Earth Balance Gluten Free Vegan Aged White Cheddar Puffs Hippeas Chickpea Puffs I Heart Keenwah Aged Cheddar Quinoa Puffs--Aged Cheddar Quinoa Puffs are made from ancient grains, real cheese flavor, spices, and paprika for irresistible taste and crunch. Each serving has 5 grams of protein, just 120 calories, and is certified Gluten-Free. Lesser Evil Paleo Puffs "No Cheese" Cheesiness--Naturally gluten- and grain-free and totally vegan. Luke's Organic Organic White Cheddar Cheese Puffs--Made from natural ingredients like organic whole grain corn and rice, a sustainable oil blend, and real cheddar cheese. USDA Certified Organic, non-GMO, and gluten-free Market Pantry Cheddar Cheese Flavored Cheese Puffs Corn Snacks Pea Puffs - Original Snikiddy Organic Mac’n’Cheese Baked Puffs, Grilled Cheese Baked Puffs, and Cheddar Cheese Baked Fries  Trader Joe's Trader Giotto's Oven-Baked, Gluten-Free, Low Carb Cheese Bites Utz Cheese Balls Snack Barrel--Made with real cheese! Utz's giant barrel of crunchy cheese treats is gluten-free snack without partially hydrogenated fats.  Vegan Rob's Dairy-Free Cheddar Puffs are gluten-free, non-GMO, and kosher. Gluten-safe
    Barbara's Bakery Original Cheese Puffs--Made with only all-natural ingredients, including real aged cheddar and blue cheeses, non-GMO corn meal, expeller-pressed oils, sea salt, and rich buttermilk. Absolutely no artificial ingredients, and just one gram of sugar per serving. 
    We list Barbara's as gluten-safe because Barbara's allergen statement reads: Contains Milk. Manufactured in a facility that also processes sesame seeds, wheat, peanuts, almond, cashew, filbert, hazelnut, macadamia nut, pecan, pine nut, pistachio, walnut, and coconut. 
    Have a good cheese puff story? What are your favorite gluten-free puffed cheese snacks snacks?


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/13/2020 - Peanuts are naturally gluten-free, and so are most peanut butter brands, unless they've got added gluten ingredients. However, many brands do not label their peanut butter as gluten-free, and many unlabeled peanut butters may be made on equipment that processes wheat, rye or barley. That's not necessarily a big deal, but some people like to play it safe. 
    These brands go the extra mile to make sure their peanut butters are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Top Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Brands (Ingredient Label Includes "Gluten-Free"):
    Crazy Richard's
    Crazy Richard's peanut butter contains just peanuts—with no added salt, oils, or sugars, and are are certified gluten-free.
    Jif
    Jif makes gluten-free and non-gluten-free products. Both are likely fine, but the gluten-free version is tested and certified gluten-free.
    Justin's
    Justin's makes a variety of flavored nut butter products, including classic peanut butter and honey peanut butter that are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization (GFCO).
    Krema Nut Company
    Krema is made by the same company that makes Crazy Richard's. Like Crazy Richard's, Krema's classic creamy or crunchy peanut butter is gluten-free.
    MaraNatha 
    Website confirms MaraNatha peanut butter contains only peanuts, and are certified gluten-free. 
    PB Crave
    All five flavors of PB Crave peanut butter are gluten-free: Honey and Sea Salt, Chocolate, Raspberry and White Fudge, Cookie Dough, and Banana. 
    Reese's
    Both the Creamy and Chocolate flavors of Reese's Peanut Butter Spread are gluten-free.
    Santa Cruz Organic
    Website’s FAQ states that all Santa Cruz Peanut Butter contains only peanuts and salt, and is certified gluten-free. 
    Skippy
    According to the brand's FAQ, all varieties of Skippy peanut butter are gluten-free.
    Smart Balance 
    The Smart Balance peanut butter comes in creamy and chunky, both fortified with omega-3s and flaxseed oil. Smart Balance products are gluten-free, according to the brand FAQ.
    Teddie
    Teddie peanut butter comes in in old-fashioned, organic, homogenized, salt-free, and flaxseed varieties, and in creamy, chunky, and super-chunky textures. According to a company statement, all Teddie peanut butter is gluten-free.
    Peanut Butter with No Gluten Ingredients (Not Labelled "Gluten-Free"):
    Adams
    Adams varieties are made with just peanuts and salt, except the no-stir peanut butter, which contains vegetable monoglycerides from palm oil, to prevent separation. According to the company, the products contain no gluten ingredients.
    Goober
    Goober products contain no gluten-containing ingredients.
    Peter Pan
    Peter Pan peanut butter comes in creamy, crunchy, whipped, natural, honey-roasted, and reduced-fat varieties. The company's FAQ states that: "All varieties of Peter Pan Peanut Butter are made without adding any potential gluten-containing ingredients such as wheat, rye, barley, and oats." Parent company Conagra states that any wheat or gluten ingredients will be declared as allergens on the label.
    Smuckers
    In addition to making Adams, Jif, and Goober products, Smuckers also sells natural and organic peanut butter under its own name. The J.M. Smucker Company states that it labels products "gluten-free" when the products test to fewer than 20 ppm gluten and it's been verified that the products ingredients don't contain gluten. 


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 02/10/2021 - Wheat, peanuts, milk, eggs, tree nuts, fish, crustacean shellfish and soy account for 90 percent of food allergies in the U.S. Imagine if we could just remove the offending allergens from our food. What would that even look like?
    Armed with the list of offending foods, researchers are using electrophoresis, CRISPR and both traditional and engineered breeding techniques to develop less allergenic varieties of the offending foods. Successfully breeding low allergen varieties could lead to hypo-allergenic varieties in the future.
    Researchers are currently focused mainly on developing less allergenic varieties of wheat and peanuts, says Sachin Rustgi, a member of the Crop Science Society of America, which studies how breeding can be used to develop less allergenic varieties of these foods. 
    One of the challenges to producing less allergenic varieties is that the culprit in most food allergies is not a single actor, but a group, a conspiracy of allergens, as it were. 
    Gluten contains many potentially offending proteins, while peanuts contain 16 different proteins recognized as allergens.
    The cells that trigger the production of these proteins are contained within different genes, so effectively neutralizing that production signal means figuring out how to disrupt different parts of wheat and peanut DNA.
    “When we started this research, a major question was whether it would even be possible to work on a characteristic controlled by so many genes,” says Rustgi.
    Gene Editing Targets Many Genes
    But recent improvements in CRISPR gene-editing technology allow researchers to target many genes at once, and the approach has shown early promise. 
    Rustgi has already managed to create a new wheat strain that is safe for people with celiac disease. The new wheat strain relies on two enzymes spliced into the DNA: one from barley that attacks gluten; and another from the bacterium Flavobacterium meningosepticum.
    Lower Allergens Via Cross Breeding
    Now, Rustgi and his team are testing wheat and peanut varieties to find those that are naturally less allergenic than others. They are hoping to cross-breed these low-allergenic with crop varieties that have desirable traits, such as high yields or pest resistance.
    “Disrupting the gluten genes in wheat could yield wheat with significantly lower levels of gluten. A similar approach would work in peanuts,” says Rustgi.
    Targeting One Gene
    A third approach targets gluten regulation in wheat cells. Research has shown that just one cell functions as the “master regulator” for many gluten genes. Think of it as the key that starts the gene engines. By disrupting the master regulator, researchers hope to reduce amounts of gluten the wheat produces.
    Figuring out ways to reduce allergen levels in these eight foods can potentially render them safe to consume for people with food allergies. Certainly, safe hypo-allergenic wheat would be a major step forward for millions of people with celiac disease. Making similar progress with peanuts and potentially with other allergens would be a game changer for people with food allergies. 
    Read more at: laboratoryequipment.com


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...