Celiac.com 01/22/2019 - We see a lot of questions about the gluten-free status of certain foods, candies, or snacks. One of the most common product questions we see is: Are Snickers candy bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is that, currently, all flavors of Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, Snickers fun size and Snickers mini's are gluten-free, according to website for parent company Mars. The longer answer is that it's always wise to check, as product formulation can change, sometimes suddenly.
Look to Manufacturers for Gluten and Allergen Information
Manufacturers are required to list any allergens on the product label. Mars lists allergen information for each product they produce. For any given Mars product, you can learn more by going to the Mars Chocolates website. Once there, click on any product. Scroll down and click the button that says "Ingredients and Dietary Suitability." You will find ingredients and allergens listed for that product. Remember, even this information is subject to change, so double-check if you're unsure.
Gluten-Free Status Can Vary by Product Size
Meantime, here’s an excerpt from the Mars' website statement on dietary suitability for those sensitive to gluten and other allergens:
“At Mars, we take food allergies very seriously because they affect our consumers. We have an extensive allergen management program which includes staff training, evaluating our ingredients and validating our cleaning procedures.
In order to avoid an allergic reaction to food, we know you must avoid the allergen. To do so, you count on the ingredient statements on food labels to be truthful and accurate. We want you to be able to trust the information on our labels. At Mars, our goal is to provide safe, high quality food products for our consumers. Therefore, we have developed strict rules about the labeling of allergens on our products.”
Celiac.com strives to provide accurate, reliable and up to date information to help people with celiac disease to make safe, informed choices about gluten-free and gluten-safe products.
For more information on allergens in Snickers or any other Mars product, visit the Mars, Incorporated Policy on Allergen Labeling.
For questions about hundreds of other popular candies, check our List of Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Candies