Jump to content
  • Sign Up
Celiac.com Sponsor:


Celiac.com Sponsor:


  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    The common list of forbidden grains is: wheat, rye, barley and oats.
    Unfortunately, there are variants out there that go by other names. Durum and semolina are names for certain kinds of wheat that have been bred for specific uses. Both spelt and kamut are versions of wheat. (Other names for these: spelt, Polish wheat, einkorn and small spelt). Bulgur is wheat thats...

    Scott Adams
    Vijay Kumar, M.D., Research Associate Professor at the University of Buffalo and President and Director of IMMCO Diagnostics: There is no simple answer to this question as the susceptibility of the patient to developing celiac disease is dependent upon several factors. One factor is the amount of gluten intake. Another is the genetic makeup of the individual. However, we feel...

    Scott Adams
    Most of the wheat grain and of white flour is made up of starch granules. Starch granules make up about 75% of grain or of white flour. In the processes used to make wheat starch, a small amount of the gluten protein (actually mostly the gliadin fraction, but not entirely), sticks to the surface of the starch granules. The amount depends on the washing method, how many times...

    Scott Adams
    Lactose intolerance is frequently a side effect of celiac disease. Celiacs who eat gluten become lactose intolerant after the villi and microvilli in their small intestine become damaged, and are no longer capable of catching and breaking down the lactose molecule. The problem usually disappears when celiacs remove gluten from their diet, which allows the damaged villi and...

×
×
  • Create New...