Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    FDA Rules All Distilled Alcohol is Gluten-Free

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Manufacturers of distilled foods and beverages can now label their products as gluten-free, even if made from gluten ingredients.

    FDA Rules All Distilled Alcohol is Gluten-Free - Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--theowoo
    Caption: Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--theowoo

    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.

    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “We commend FDA for this consumer-friendly ruling that will allow ‘gluten-free’ labelling claims to be included on distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains, and urge TTB to act swiftly to align policies allowing the same for distilled spirits products."



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Text of the new FDA ruling reads, in part:

    "[D]istillation is a process capable of separating gluten and other proteins from the remaining compounds...distillation must remove all protein (and thus gluten), regardless if the product has been distilled from gluten-containing grains.

    [Distillation] removes gluten because gluten does not vaporize. Therefore, there should not be any gluten remaining in the final distilled product. For this reason, a distilled product labeling may bear a “gluten-free” claim and should be safe for people with celiac disease to consume."

    The change means that manufacturers of distilled foods and beverages can now label their products as gluten-free without explanations about their gluten removal process.

    Gluten-free marketing has long been an issue of contention among regulatory bodies, people with celiac disease, and experts, with most scientists agreeing that the distillation process removes gluten from the final product. Health professionals and celiac support groups, like Celiac.com, and Coeliac UK, have long advised that distilled spirits are gluten-free and safe for celiacs on a gluten-free diet.

    Swonger said that “Allowing distillers to include a "gluten-free" statement on products made from gluten-containing grains will provide additional clarity for consumers to make informed choices about which products meet their dietary needs.”

    The rule will take effect on September 14, 2020.

    Resources:

    Edited by Scott Adams



    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    The FDA changed nothing. The rules from 2003 still apply. The FDA still acknowledges that there is no valid testing methods for such foods. It still demands that manufacturers adhere to the 2003 rules.  

    Here is there statement, "The records need to provide adequate assurance that the food or ingredients used in the food are “gluten-free” before fermentation or hydrolysis. Once we identify that a scientifically valid method has been developed that can accurately detect and quantify gluten in fermented or hydrolyzed foods or ingredients, it would no longer be necessary for the manufacturer of foods bearing the “gluten-free” claim to make and keep these records."

    "Likewise, the final rule requires manufacturers of foods that contain fermented or hydrolyzed ingredients and bear the “gluten-free” claim to make and keep records that demonstrate with adequate assurance that the fermented or hydrolyzed ingredients are “gluten-free” in compliance with the 2013 gluten-free food labeling final rule."

    https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/13/2020-17088/food-labeling-gluten-free-labeling-of-fermented-or-hydrolyzed-foods

    "The rule requires manufacturers of these food products to make and keep records providing adequate assurance that: the food meets the definition of “gluten-free” before fermentation or hydrolysis; the manufacturer has adequately evaluated the potential for cross-contact with gluten during the manufacturing process; and if necessary, measures are in place to prevent the introduction of gluten into the food during the manufacturing process. The rule also discusses how FDA will verify compliance for distilled products. The definition of “gluten-free,” established in 2013, is not changed by this new final rule."

    https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-finalizes-rule-related-gluten-free-labeling-foods-containing-fermented-hydrolyzed-ingredients

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    On 8/23/2020 at 5:31 AM, Guest FDA stay the same said:

    The FDA changed nothing. The rules from 2003 still apply. The FDA still acknowledges that there is no valid testing methods for such foods. It still demands that manufacturers adhere to the 2003 rules.  

    Here is there statement, "The records need to provide adequate assurance that the food or ingredients used in the food are “gluten-free” before fermentation or hydrolysis. Once we identify that a scientifically valid method has been developed that can accurately detect and quantify gluten in fermented or hydrolyzed foods or ingredients, it would no longer be necessary for the manufacturer of foods bearing the “gluten-free” claim to make and keep these records."

    "Likewise, the final rule requires manufacturers of foods that contain fermented or hydrolyzed ingredients and bear the “gluten-free” claim to make and keep records that demonstrate with adequate assurance that the fermented or hydrolyzed ingredients are “gluten-free” in compliance with the 2013 gluten-free food labeling final rule."

    https://www.federalregister.gov/documents/2020/08/13/2020-17088/food-labeling-gluten-free-labeling-of-fermented-or-hydrolyzed-foods

    "The rule requires manufacturers of these food products to make and keep records providing adequate assurance that: the food meets the definition of “gluten-free” before fermentation or hydrolysis; the manufacturer has adequately evaluated the potential for cross-contact with gluten during the manufacturing process; and if necessary, measures are in place to prevent the introduction of gluten into the food during the manufacturing process. The rule also discusses how FDA will verify compliance for distilled products. The definition of “gluten-free,” established in 2013, is not changed by this new final rule."

    https://www.fda.gov/news-events/press-announcements/fda-finalizes-rule-related-gluten-free-labeling-foods-containing-fermented-hydrolyzed-ingredients

    Seems pretty clear.  The distillers have to keep records showing they used gluten free ingredients to make the spirits because there is no test to prove distilled spirits are gluten free.

    Edited by GFinDC
    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    35 minutes ago, trents said:

    There has been some concern that some distilleries use a wheat containing paste to seal the barrels used for storage after the distillation has taken place.

    Distillers use beeswax or heavy paper shims to seal leaky barrels.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    This doesn't change much, if anything right now (though it opens a door). Distillers still have to adhere to TTB guidelines for labeling which currently only allow spirits made from non-gluten products be labeled gluten-free, e.g. rum, brandy, vodka made from potatoes or grapes.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    This ruling makes me very suspicious. In the support service for celiacs that I run in Durban, South Africa, I have always advised sufferers that they may have TRIPLE distilled alcoholic products. These may be LITE beers, or triple distilled whiskies. There is a fairly new machine that will test the presence of gluten in foods. 3 major supermarkets in UK tested all their so-called gluten free oats products and found they were not gluten free after all. These products had to be re-labelled "Low Gluten" . I will be interested to see how this new debate pans out.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest MyBodyIsTheBestGlutenDetec

    Posted

    I drink whiskey, I get sick. I drink beer, I might as well eat bread. It's political not health driven. It's not gluten free if it's made from gluten grains. As usual the non sensitive celiac mafia try to make out people are unreasonable or crazy if the question the gluten content of things people want to eat and drink but should not.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    2 hours ago, Lucille Cholerton said:

    This ruling makes me very suspicious. In the support service for celiacs that I run in Durban, South Africa, I have always advised sufferers that they may have TRIPLE distilled alcoholic products. These may be LITE beers, or triple distilled whiskies. There is a fairly new machine that will test the presence of gluten in foods. 3 major supermarkets in UK tested all their so-called gluten free oats products and found they were not gluten free after all. These products had to be re-labelled "Low Gluten" . I will be interested to see how this new debate pans out.

    What is this new machine you speak of? Can you be more specific and do you have any links?

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    1 hour ago, Guest MyBodyIsTheBestGlutenDetec said:

    I drink whiskey, I get sick. I drink beer, I might as well eat bread. It's political not health driven. It's not gluten free if it's made from gluten grains. As usual the non sensitive celiac mafia try to make out people are unreasonable or crazy if the question the gluten content of things people want to eat and drink but should not.

    Maybe read a book or two. Obviously don't drink beer. Whiskey is fine. You clearly have other issues going on that make you sick, not the 'grains' that the whiskey is made of. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    49 minutes ago, Guest EDubs said:

    Maybe read a book or two. Obviously don't drink beer. Whiskey is fine. You clearly have other issues going on that make you sick, not the 'grains' that the whiskey is made of. 

    Why would they need to "read a book"? They know what makes them sick, and I don't doubt they are telling the truth because they are correct. You are the one who might need to educate yourself on the varying sensitivities and diseases involving gluten. It's definitely possible that the grains in the whiskey they've drunk have made them sick.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/22/2020 - We get a lot of questions about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. The safest answer is that alcohol that is brewed or distilled using no gluten ingredients and which is labeled gluten-free is the safest bet. That said, the actual answer is more complex. 
    According to the American Dietetic Association (ADA) all distilled spirits are gluten-free, that is, there is no gluten in the final product of any distilled alcohol. ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including whiskey, bourbon and gin. 
    Also, some people with celiac disease claim to be sensitive to distilled alcohols made with grains, while many tolerate them just fine. The solution is to know your alcohol. Beware of anything that seems to provoke an adverse reaction. Trust your gut and your own judgement. If you prefer whiskey and tolerate it well, then carry on. If something bothers you or upsets your stomach, then maybe consider another choice. Here are some helpful tips and some links to help you figure our which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and gluten-safe for people with celiac disease.
    Why Are Some Alcohols Labeled Gluten-Free and Others Not?
    If all distilled spirits are gluten-free, then why do some have a gluten-free label and some do not? What's the difference?
    The main difference in the U.S. is that products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish (for distilled alcohols this ban ends on 9/14/2020). So, beer, wine, or distilled alcohol made from corn, sorghum, millet, sugarcane, rice, grapes, or anything else that doesn't contain wheat, barley or rye, can be labeled "gluten-free."
    Gluten-Free Alcohols
    Alcohols distilled or fermented from non-grain ingredients, and which contain no gluten additives or flavorings are the safest choice, as they are naturally gluten-free from start to finish. These products can also be labeled as "gluten-free." Examples include Rum, Sake, Soju, Tequila, Potato Vodka, Corn Vodka, Sorghum Whiskey, Wines, Beers brewed without wheat, rye, or barley.
    Gluten-Safe Distilled Alcohols
    Again, many people with celiac disease easily tolerate whiskey, gin, grain-based vodkas, and other alcohols distilled from grains, with no complaints. Others claim sensitivity to these products. Technically, because they are distilled, these products contain no gluten in the final product, and beginning 9/14/2020 can be labelled "gluten-free" in the United States. 
    Unsafe Non-Gluten-Free Alcohols
    Traditionally brewed Beers and Ales must be avoided, since nearly all traditional beers and ales are brewed with barley malt. Even many rice beers use malt, but there are a dozens of gluten-free beers on the market today.
    Beware of Gluten in Additives & Flavorings
    Please note, that any type of wheat, rye, or barley that may be added after distillation, such as adding some of the original mash back into the product to enhance flavor might change that equation. The same is true of things like barley malt in some wine coolers. Flavorings added after distillation can include gluten, so be careful.
    Resources for Gluten-Free and Safe Alcoholic Beverages
    Gluten-Free Alcohol - Here's our extensive list of Gluten-Free and Safe Alcoholic Beverages
    Gluten-Free Beer - Here's our Oktoberfest Beer Guide! Gluten-free vs. Gluten-removed Beers
    Gluten-Free Wine - Gluten in wine is extremely rare these days. Here's some helpful information on the subject.
    Read about or readers' personal wine experiences here.
    Gluten-Free Safe Foods and Ingredients - This list of gluten-free, SAFE foods and ingredients is helpful for knowing which foods and ingredients are safe for people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.
    Non-Gluten-Free Unsafe Foods and Ingredients - This list of non-gluten-free, UNSAFE foods and ingredients is helpful for knowing which foods and ingredients to avoid.
    Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Forum - Our forum is a great place to ask questions and get answers about gluten-free alcohol and other issues from real people with celiac disease. 


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com's safe food and ingredient list has been compiled and maintained for nearly 25 years. We keep the list updated with any additions or changes. Feel free to comment below if you believe something should be added to it.
    A
    Acacia Gum
    Acesulfame K
    Acesulfame Potassium
    Acetanisole
    Acetophenone
    Acorn Quercus
    Adipic Acid
    Adzuki Bean
    Acacia Gum
    Agar
    Agave
    Ajinomoto (msg)
    Albumen
    Alcohol (Distilled Spirits)
    Alfalfa
    Algae
    Algin
    Alginic Acid
    Alginate
    Alkalized Cocoa
    Allicin
    Almond Nut
    Alpha-amylase
    Alpha-lactalbumin
    Aluminum
    Amaranth
    Ambergris
    Ammonium Hydroxide
    Ammonium Phosphate
    Ammonium Sulphate
    Amylose
    Amylopectin
    Annatto
    Annatto Color
    Apple Cider Vinegar
    Arabic Gum
    Arrowroot
    Artichokes
    Artificial Butter Flavor
    Artificial Flavoring
    Artificial Flavors
    Artocarpus Altilis (breadfruit)
    Ascorbic Acid
    Aspartame (can cause IBS symptoms)
    Aspartic Acid
    Aspic
    Astragalus Gummifer
    Atadwe (tigernut)
    Autolyzed yeast (msg)
    Autolyzed Yeast Extract (msg)
    Avena Sativia (Oats3)
    Avena Sativia Extract (from Oats3)
    Avidin
    Azodicarbonamide
    B
    Bajra (pearl millet)
    Bajra flour (pearl millet flour)
    Baking Soda
    Balsamic Vinegar
    Beeswax
    Beans
    Bean, Adzuki
    Bean, Hyacinth
    Bean, Lentil
    Bean, Mung
    Bean Romano (Chickpea)
    Bean Tepary
    Benzoic acid
    Besan (Chickpea)
    Beta Glucan (from Oats)
    Betaine
    Beta Carotene
    BHA
    BHT
    Bicarbonate of Soda
    Biotin
    Blue Cheese
    Breadfruit (artocarpus altilis)
    Brown Sugar
    Buckwheat
    Butter (check additives)
    Butylated Hydroxyanisole
    Butyl Compounds
    C
    Calcium Acetate
    Calcium Carbonate
    Calcium Caseinate
    Calcium Chloride
    Calcium Disodium
    Calcium Glutamate (E 623) - msg
    Calcium Hydroxide
    Calcium Lactate
    Calcium Pantothenate
    Calcium Phosphate
    Calcium Propionate
    Calcium Silicate
    Calcium Sorbate
    Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate
    Calcium Stearate
    Calcium Sulfate
    Calrose
    Camphor
    Cane Sugar
    Cane Vinegar
    Canola (Rapeseed)
    Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil)
    Caprylic Acid
    Carrageenan (E 407) - msg
    Carageenan Chondrus Crispus
    Carbonated Water
    Carboxymethyl Cellulose
    Caramel Color
    Caramel Flavoring
    Carmine
    Carnauba Wax
    Carob Bean
    Carob Bean Gum
    Carob Flour
    Carrageenan
    Casein
    Cassava Manihot Esculenta
    Castor Oil
    Catalase
    Cellulose1
    Cellulose Ether
    Cellulose Gum
    Cetyl Alcohol
    Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol
    Champagne Vinegar
    Channa (Chickpea)
    Chana Flour (Chickpea Flour)
    Cheeses - (most, but check ingredients)
    Chestnuts
    Chickpea
    Chlorella
    Chocolate Liquor
    Choline Chloride
    Chromium Citrate
    Chufa (tigernut)
    Chymosin
    Citric Acid
    Citrus Red No. 2
    Cochineal
    Cocoa
    Cocoa Butter
    Coconut
    Coconut Vinegar
    Collagen
    Colloidal Silicon Dioxide
    Confectioner's Glaze
    Copernicia Cerifera
    Copper Sulphate
    Corn
    Corn Gluten
    Corn Masa Flour
    Corn Meal
    Corn Flour
    Corn Starch
    Corn Sugar
    Corn Sugar Vinegar
    Corn Syrup
    Corn Syrup Solids
    Corn Swetener
    Corn Vinegar
    Corn Zein
    Cortisone
    Cotton Seed
    Cotton Seed Oil
    Cowitch
    Cowpea
    Cream of Tartar
    Crospovidone
    Curds
    Cyanocobalamin
    Cyperus esculentus (tigernut)
    Cysteine, L
    Dal (Lentils)
    D-Alpha-tocopherol
    Dasheen Flour (Taro)
    D
    Dates
    D-Calcium Pantothenate
    Delactosed Whey
    Demineralized Whey
    Desamidocollagen
    Dextran
    Dextrin
    Dextrimaltose
    Dextrose
    Diglycerides
    Dioctyl Sodium
    Dioctyl Sodium Solfosuccinate
    Dipotassium Phosphate
    Disodium Guanylate
    Disodium Inosinate
    Disodium Phosphate
    Distilled Alcohols
    Distilled Vinegar
    Distilled White Vinegar
    Dutch Processed Cocoa
    E
    Earth Almond (tigernut)
    EDTA (Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid)
    Eggs
    Egg Yolks
    Elastin
    Ester Gum
    Ethyl Alcohol
    Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid
    Ethyl Maltol
    Ethyl Vanillin
    Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
    F
    FD&C Blue No. 1 Dye
    FD&C Blue No. 1 Lake
    FD&C Blue No. 2 Dye
    FD&C Blue No. 2 Lake
    FD&C Green No. 3 Dye
    FD&C Green No. 3 Lake
    FD&C Red No. 3 Dye
    FD&C Red No. 40 Dye
    FD&C Red No. 40 Lake
    FD&C Yellow No. 5 Dye
    FD&C Yellow No. 6 Dye
    FD&C Yellow No. 6 Lake
    Ferric Orthophosphate
    Ferrous Gluconate
    Ferrous Fumerate
    Ferrous Lactate
    Ferrous Sulfate
    Fish (fresh)
    Flaked Rice
    Flax
    Folacin
    Folate
    Flavoring
    Flavoring Extracts
    Folic Acid-Folacin
    Fonio (millet)
    Food Starch
    Food Starch Modified
    Formaldehyde
    Fructose
    Fruit (including dried)
    Fruit Vinegar
    Fumaric Acid
    G
    Galactose
    Garbanzo Beans
    Gelatin
    Glucoamylase
    Gluconolactone
    Glucose
    Glucose Syrup
    Glutamate (E 620) - msg
    Glutamic acid (E 620) - msg
    Glutamine (amino acid)
    Glutinous Rice
    Glutinous Rice Flour
    Glycerides
    Glycerin
    Glycerol Monooleate
    Glycol Monosterate
    Glycol
    Glycolic acid
    Gram flour (chick peas)
    Grape Skin Extract
    Grits, Corn
    Guar Gum
    Gum Acacia
    Gum Arabic
    Gum Base
    Gum Tragacanth
    H
    Hemp
    Hemp Seeds
    Herbs
    Herb Vinegar
    Hexanedioic Acid
    High Fructose Corn Syrup
    Hominy
    Honey
    Hops
    Horseradish (Pure)
    HPP
    HVP
    Hyacinth Bean
    Hydrogen Peroxide
    Hydrolyzed Caseinate
    Hydrolyzed Meat Protein
    Hydrolyzed Plant Protein
    Hydrolyzed Protein
    Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
    Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
    Hydroxypropyl Cellulose
    Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose
    Hypromellose
    I
    Illepe
    Iodine
    Inulin
    Invert Sugar
    Iron Ammonium Citrate
    Isinglass
    Isolated Soy Protein
    Isomalt
    J
    Job's Tears
    Jowar (Sorghum)
    K
    Karaya Gum
    Kasha (roasted buckwheat)
    Keratin
    K-Carmine Color
    K-Gelatin
    Koshihikari (rice)
    Kudzu
    Kudzu Root Starch
    L
    Lactalbumin Phosphate
    Lactase
    Lactic Acid
    Lactitol
    Lactose
    Lactulose
    Lanolin
    Lard
    L-cysteine
    Lecithin
    Lemon Grass
    Lentils
    Licorice
    Licorice Extract
    Lipase
    L-leucine
    L-lysine
    L-methionine
    Locust Bean Gum
    L-tryptophan
    M
    Magnesium Carbonate
    Magnesium Glutamate (E 625)
    Magnesium Hydroxide
    Magnesium Oxide
    Maize
    Maize Waxy
    Malic Acid
    Maltitol
    Maltodextrin (except in pharmaceuticals)
    Maltol
    Maltose
    Manganese Sulfate
    Manioc
    Masa
    Masa Flour
    Masa Harina
    Meat (fresh)
    Medium Chain Triglycerides
    Menhaden Oil
    Methyl Cellulose2
    Microcrystalline Cellulose
    Micro-particulated Egg White Protein
    Milk
    Milk Protein Isolate
    Millet
    Milo (Sorghum)
    Mineral Oil
    Mineral Salts
    Mixed Tocopherols
    Modified Food Starch
    Modified Starch
    Molybdenum Amino Acid Chelate
    Monoammonium Glutamate (E 624) - msg
    Monocalcium Phosphate
    Monoglycerides
    Mono and Diglycerides
    Monopotassium Glutamate (E 622) - msg
    Monopotassium Phosphate
    Monosaccharides
    Monosodium Glutamate (E 621) - msg
    Monostearates
    MSG
    Mung Bean
    Musk
    Mustard Flour
    Myristic Acid
    N
    Natrium Glutamate (msg)
    Natural Flavoring
    Natural Flavors
    Natural Smoke Flavor
    Niacin-Niacinamide
    Neotame
    Niacin
    Niacinamide
    Nitrates
    Nitrous Oxide
    Non-fat Milk
    Nuts (except wheat, rye & barley)
    Nut, Acron
    Nut, Almond
    O
    Oats
    Oils and Fats
    Oleic Acid
    Oleoresin
    Olestra
    Oleyl Alcohol/Oil
    Orange B
    Oryzanol
    P
    Palmitic Acid
    Pantothenic Acid
    Papain
    Paprika
    Paraffin
    Patially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil
    Patially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil
    Peas
    Pea - Chick
    Pea - Cow
    Pea Flour
    Pea Starch
    Peanuts
    Peanut Flour
    Pearl Millet
    Pectin (E 440)
    Pectinase
    Peppermint Oil
    Peppers
    Pepsin
    Peru Balsam
    Petrolatum
    PGPR (Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate)
    Phenylalanine
    Phosphoric Acid
    Phosphoric Glycol
    Pigeon Peas
    Polenta
    Polydextrose
    Polyethylene Glycol
    Polyglycerol
    Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (PGPR)
    Polysorbates
    Polysorbate 60
    Polysorbate 80
    Potassium Benzoate
    Potassium Caseinate
    Potassium Citrate
    Potassium Iodide
    Potassium Lactate
    Potassium Matabisulphite
    Potassium Sorbate
    Potatoes
    Potato Flour
    Potato Starch
    Povidone
    Prinus
    Pristane
    Propolis
    Propylene Glycol
    Propylene Glycol Monosterate
    Propyl Gallate
    Protease
    Psyllium
    Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
    Q
    Quinoa
    R
    Ragi
    Raisin Vinegar
    Rape
    Recaldent
    Reduced Iron
    Rennet
    Rennet Casein
    Resinous Glaze
    Reticulin
    Riboflavin
    Rice
    Rice (Enriched)
    Rice Flour
    Rice Starch
    Rice Syrup
    Rice Vinegar
    Ricinoleic Acid
    Romano Bean (chickpea)
    Rosematta
    Rosin
    Royal Jelly
    S
    Saccharin
    Saffron
    Sago
    Sago Palm
    Sago Flour
    Sago Starch
    Saifun (bean threads)
    Salt
    Seaweed
    Seeds (except wheat, rye & barley)
    Seed - Sesame
    Seed - Sunflower
    Shea
    Sherry Vinegar
    Silicon Dioxide
    Smoke Flavoring
    Soba (be sure its 100% buckwheat)
    Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
    Sodium Acetate
    Sodium Alginate
    Sodium Ascorbate
    Sodium Benzoate
    Sodium Caseinate (msg)
    Sodium Citrate
    Sodium Erythrobate
    Sodium Hexametaphosphate
    Sodium Hydrogen Glutamate (msg)
    Sodium Lactate
    Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
    Sodium Metabisulphite
    Sodium Nitrate
    Sodium Phosphate
    Sodium Polyphosphate
    Sodium Silaco Aluminate
    Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
    Sodium Sulphite
    Sodium Stannate
    Sodium Tripolyphosphate
    Sorbic Acid
    Sorbitan Monostearate
    Sorbitol-Mannitol (can cause IBS symptoms)
    Sorghum
    Sorghum Flour
    Soy
    Soybean
    Soy Lecithin
    Soy Protein
    Soy Protein Concentrate
    Soy Protein Isolate
    Spices (pure)
    Spirits (Specific Types)
    Spirit Vinegar
    Starch (the single word ingredient is, by law, cornstarch)
    Stearates
    Stearamide
    Stearamine
    Stearic Acid
    Stearyl Lactate
    Stevia
    Subflower Seed
    Succotash (corn and beans)
    Sucralose
    Sucrose
    Sulfosuccinate
    Sulfites
    Sulfur Dioxide
    Sweet Chestnut Flour
    T
    Tagatose
    Tallow
    Tapioca
    Tapioca Flour
    Tapioca Starch
    Tara Gum
    Taro
    Tarro
    Tarrow Root
    Tartaric Acid
    Tartrazine
    TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinone
    Tea
    Tea-Tree Oil
    Teff
    Teff Flour
    Tepary Bean
    Textured Soy Protein
    Textured Vegetable Protein
    Thiamin Hydrochloride
    Thiamine Mononitrate
    Thiamine Hydrochloride
    Titanium Dioxide
    Tofu (Soy Curd)
    Tolu Balsam
    Torula Yeast (msg)
    Tragacanth
    Tragacanth Gum
    Triacetin
    Tricalcium Phosphate
    Tri-Calcium Phosphate
    Trypsin
    Turmeric (Kurkuma)
    TVP
    Tyrosine
    U
    Urad/Urid Beans
    Urad/Urid Dal (peas) Vegetables
    Urad/Urid flour
    Urd
    V
    Vinegar (All except Malt)
    Vanilla Extract
    Vanilla Flavoring
    Vanillin
    Vetsin (msg)
    Vinegars (Specific Types - Except Malt Vinegar)
    Vitamin A (retinol)
    Vitamin A Palmitate
    Vitamin B1
    Vitamin B-12
    Vitamin B2
    Vitamin B6
    Vitamin D
    Vitamin E Acetate
    W
    Waxy Maize
    Whey
    Whey Protein
    Whey Protein Concentrate
    Whey Protein Isolate
    White Vinegar
    Wines
    Wine Vinegars (& Balsamic)
    Wild Rice
    X
    Xanthan Gum
    Xylitol
    Y
    Yam Flour
    Yeast (except brewer's yeast)
    Yeast Extract (msg)
    Yeast Food (msg)
    Yeast Nutrient (msg)
    Yellow Nutsedge (tigernut)
    Yogurt (plain, unflavored)
    Z
    Zinc Oxide
    Zinc Proteinate
    Zinc Sulfate
    1) Cellulose is a carbohydrate polymer of D-glucose. It is the structural material of plants, such as wood in trees. It contains no gluten protein. 2) Methyl cellulose is a chemically modified form of cellulose that makes a good substitute for gluten in rice-based breads, etc.  


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/05/2020 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.
    Gluten-Free Beer
    In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beers made with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.
    Gluten-Removed Beer
    A number of beers are treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These beers are typically filtered to remove any stray proteins. Such beers can be labeled Gluten-Free in EU, but not in Canada or the US.
    Distilled Spirits
    Distillation removes gluten proteins from the final product, and starting 9/14/2020 distilled alcohols can be labelled "gluten-free" no matter their source. That means all distilled spirits are technically gluten-free. However, some people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to spirits distilled from wheat, barley or rye. Many people with celiac disease have no problems at all with such spirits. The best advice we can give is to trust your gut. Avoid eating or drinking things that upset your stomach. However, unless they have added gluten ingredients, such spirits do not contain gluten, and are safe to drink. If you tolerate them well, you can be comforted by the fact that they are likely just as safe as spirits made from gluten-free ingredients and labeled 'Gluten-Free."
    Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Spirits, Beers and Wines include:
    Naturally Gluten-free Beers
    Anheuser-Busch Redbridge Bard's Gold Bard's Tale Beer Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche Brunehaut Bio Ambrée Brunehaut Blonde Bio Brunehaut Blanche Burning Brothers Brewing Coors Peak Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale Departed Soles Brewing Company Drummond Gluten Free Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator Ghostfish Brewery Glutenberg American Pale Ale Glutenberg Blonde Glutenberg Belgian Double Glutenberg India Pale Ale Glutenberg Rousse Green's Discovery Amber Ale Green's Endeavour Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager Green's India Pale Ale Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale Ground Breaker IPA No. 5 Ground Breaker Dark Ale Holidaily Brewing Company Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free Mongozo Premium Pilsener New Planet Belgian Style Ale New Planet Blonde Ale New Planet Pale Ale New Planet Raspberry Ale New Planet Seclusion IPA New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale Nickel Brook Gluten Free Nouvelle France La Messagère Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free Whistler Forager Gluten-Removed Beers
    Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch Brunehaut Bio Tripel Estrella Damm Daura Estrella Damm Daura Marzen Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales Short's Brewing Space Rock Stone Delicious IPA Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager Widmer Omission Lager Widmer Omission IPA Widmer Omission Pale Ale Wold Top Against The Grain Wold Top Marmalade Porter Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA Gluten-Free Hard Cider
    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!
    Brands of Gluten-Free Hard Cider
    Ace Ciders
    Angry Orchard
    Blue Mountain Cider Company
    Blackthorn Cider
    Bulmer's Hard Cider
    Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
    Gaymer Cider Company
    Harpoon Craft Cider
    J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
    Lazy Jack's Cider
    Magner's Cider
    Newton's Folly Hard Cider
    Original Sin Hard Cider
    Spire Mountain Draft Cider
    Strongbow Cider
    Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
    Woodchuck
    Woodpecker Cider
    Is Wine Gluten-Free?
    All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.
    Is Gin Gluten-Free?
    Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Brands of Gluten-Free Gin
    Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes  Brands of Standard Gin
    Aviation American Gin Beefeater Bombay Bombay Sapphire Boodles British Gin Booth's Gin  Gordon's Leopolds Gin New Amsterdam Gin Seagram's Tanqueray Is Rum Gluten-Free?
    Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.
    Brands of Gluten-Free Rum
    Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored Bayou Rum Bundaberg Rum Captain Morgan Rum Cruzan Rum Malibu Rum Montanya Distillers Mount Gay Rum Meyer's Rum Gluten-Free Sake
    Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.
    Is Tequila Gluten-Free?
    Distilled from the agave cactus, all 100% agave tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.
    Brands of Gluten-free Tequila
    1519 Tequila 1800 Tequila Cabo Wabo Casamigos Cazadores Chimayo Don Julio El Jimador Herradura Hornitos Jose Cuervo Patrón Sauza Is Vodka Gluten-Free?
    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.
    Brands of Naturally Gluten-Free Vodka
    Broken Shed Vodka Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac Rice Vodka—Kissui Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Vodkas distilled from cereal grains
    Barley Vodka—Finlandia Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,  Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka Gluten-Free Whiskey Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.
    Gluten-free Whiskey Brands
    Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum Gold Spur Corn Whiskey by Cowboy Country Distilling is made with corn, millet and oats Whiskeys Distilled from Cereal Grains
    Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal, Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel. Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,  Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker  Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?
    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products, and so contain gluten. There are a few exceptions.
    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers
    Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages Boones - all EXCEPT malt beverages Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits
    Brandy Campari Champagne Cognac—made from grapes Cointreau Grappa Jaegermeister Midori Prosecco Khalua Coffee Liquer Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur) Old Deadly Cider Sambuca Vermouth Gluten-Free Drink Mixes
    Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape) Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape) Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri. TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix. Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol
    Club Tom Collins—made with corn Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes Mead—made from honey Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane Ouzo - made from grapes and anise Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice Additives Are Sometimes Used in Alcohols/Spirits
    Certain spirits use chemical additives and preservatives such as glycerin to create a specific "mouth feel" and texture in an alcoholic beverage. Propylene glycol is used in foods and spirits, and although these ingredients are gluten-free, some people do have allergic reactions to them. Sulfites are often added to red wines, and many people are allergic to them. 


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/16/2019 - Here are some of the most common questions we get about gluten-free alcoholic beverages.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, under US labeling law, beverages made from ingredients containing wheat, rye, or barley, cannot be labeled or advertised as 'gluten-free.'So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process. You'll find an extensive list of gluten-free alcohol, booze and liquor here.
    Gluten Sensitivity Can Vary
    Many people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity can tolerate whiskey, gin and other liquor distilled from grains, but many cannot. Use your own judgement and trust your gut when it comes to choosing alcohol. If something disagrees with you, it's likely best avoided. That said, we've tried to provide some depth and nuance to the answers here. Where possible, we reference truly gluten-free alternatives.
    Is Whiskey Gluten-Free?
    As a distilled beverage, whiskey contains no gluten. However, as a beverage made from gluten-containing cereal grains, whisky cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.
    Gluten-free Whiskey Brands
    Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum
    Gold Spur Corn Whiskey by Cowboy Country Distilling is made with corn, millet and oats
    Is Bourbon Gluten-Free?
    Bourbon is a kind of whiskey made exclusively in the United States. Recognized by Congress in 1964 as a "distinctive product of the United States," Bourbon sold in the U.S. must be made in America from at least 51% corn and stored in a new container of charred oak. Other rules apply.
    As a distilled beverage, bourbon whiskey contains no gluten, unless added after distillation. However, as a beverage made from gluten-containing cereal grains, bourbon cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid bourbon, while many others drink it with no adverse effects. 
    Many brands of bourbon add a portion of the original mash back into the finished product to retard bacteria that could taint the whiskey, and to create a proper pH balance for yeast growth. In part because of the strict rules governing bourbon production, there are no bourbons currently labeled 'gluten-free."
    Is Bailey's Irish cream gluten-free?
    Baileys Irish Cream is a liqueur blended Irish whiskey and dairy cream. If you can tolerate whiskey and dairy, you can likely tolerate Bailey's.
    Is Gin Gluten-Free?
    As a distilled beverage, gin does not contain gluten. However, as a beverage made from cereal grain ingredients, gin cannot be labeled gluten-free. 
    Brands of Gluten-Free Gin
    Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes  Is hard cider gluten-free?
    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels to be sure!
    Is Rum Gluten-Free?
    Most rum is distilled from sugar cane and is gluten-free. However, be careful about additives. Read labels, especially for flavored or premixed products, just to be sure.
    Brands of Gluten-Free Rum Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored Bayou Rum Bundaberg Rum Captain Morgan Rum Cruzan Rum Malibu Rum Mount Gay Rum Meyer's Rum Is Scotch Gluten-Free?
    Scotch is a type of whiskey. As a distilled beverage, Scotch is gluten-free. However, as a beverage made from ingredients containing wheat, rye or barley, Scotch cannot be labeled gluten-free. 
    Is Tequila Gluten-Free?
    Distilled from the agave cactus, all 100% agave tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.
    Is Wine Gluten-Free?
    Yes. All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.
    Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?
    Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?
    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products, and so contain gluten. There are a few exceptions.
    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers
    Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages Boones - all EXCEPT malt beverages Is Vodka Gluten-Free?
    Some vodka is labeled, some is not. Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients, and which contain no gluten ingredients, and can be labeled 'gluten-free.' Vodka distilled from grain contains no gluten, but cannot be labeled 'gluten-free.' Many people with celiac disease drink either one without issues. Many prefer vodka made with no gluten ingredients and labeled 'gluten-free.'
    Is Beer Gluten-Free?
    In the United States, products labeled 'gluten-free' must not be made from ingredients containing wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free, including both traditional gluten-containing beers, and gluten-removed beers. 
    Gluten-Free Beer
    Beers made with gluten-free ingredients, and which test below 20ppm gluten, are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.
    Gluten-Removed Beer
    A number of beers are made with traditional wheat or barley and treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These beers are typically filtered to remove any stray proteins. Such beers can be labeled Gluten-Free in EU, but not in Canada or the US.
    See a long list of gluten-free and gluten-removed beers here.
    Is Ale Gluten-Free?
    Ale is a kind of beer. In the United States, products labeled 'gluten-free' must not be made from ingredients containing wheat, rye or barley. That means many ales cannot be labeled gluten-free. See our list of gluten-free and gluten-removed beers for more information. 
    Is Jaegermeister gluten-free?
    Jägermeister is an herb liqueur made from 56 herbs, roots, fruits, and other natural ingredients. The company says that Jägermeister can be considered free from gluten, starch and lactose. The actual recipe is secret, so no one can know for sure, so we'll have to take the company at its word.


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...