Celiac.com 06/23/2020 (updated 02/18/2021) - If you have celiac disease, or are gluten-free for other medical reasons, getting a good gluten-free ice cream bar, ice cream sandwich or ice cream cone can be a struggle. Every summer, we get questions like this one: Are Klondike Bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? In fact, we get a lot of questions about ice cream, and specifically about which ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Just in time for summer, here are five top gluten-free ice cream bars, sandwiches and cones that are widely available at stores near you.
- All Dove ice cream bars are gluten-free except for Vanilla with Fudge brownies. Gluten-free Dove Bar flavors include:
- Dove Bar Chocolate Ice Cream with Dove Dark Chocolate
- Dove Bar Mango Sorbet with Dove Dark Chocolate
- Dove Bar Salted Caramel Gelato with Dove Dark Chocolate and Butter Toffee Bits
- Dove Bar Strawberry Sorbet with Dove Milk Chocolate
- Dove Bar Raspberry Sorbet with Dove Dark Chocolate
- Dove Bar Vanilla Ice Cream with Dove Dark Chocolate
- Dove Bar Vanilla Ice Cream with Dove Milk Chocolate
- Dove Bar Vanilla Ice Cream with Dove Milk Chocolate and Almonds
- Dove Bar Vanilla-Caramel Swirl Ice Cream with Dove Milk Chocolate and Cashews
- Fat Boy now makes gluten-free ice cream sandwiches and cones.
- Fat Boy Gluten-Free Ice Cream Cones
- Fat Boy Gluten-Free Ice Cream Sandwiches
- Haagen-Dazs Chocolate Dark Chocolate Ice Cream Bar
- Haagen-Dazs Coffee Almond Crunch Ice Cream Bar
- Haagen-Dazs Peppermint Bark Ice Cream Bar
- Haagen-Dazs Vanilla Milk Chocolate Ice Cream Bar
- Haagen-Dazs Vanilla Milk Chocolate Almond Ice Cream Bar
- Jolly Llama Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Ice Cream Cones
- Jolly Llama Gluten-Free Dairy-Free Ice Cream Sandwiches
The Original Klondike Bar, and the following Klondike Bars are not specifically advertised as gluten-free, but according to allergen labels, they contain no wheat or gluten ingredients, and may be considered by some people to be gluten-safe. They have a standard CYA type warning on their site which states:
QuoteAre your Klondike® bars gluten free?
Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):
Nope. Klondike® products are not gluten-free. We do not operate allergen-free manufacturing sites, however we do have allergen management programs in all our facilities. The intent of these programs is to avoid unintentional cross-contamination of allergens between products. Our product labels adhere to the FDA’s strict regulations regarding declaration of ingredients and allergens. We do not use the terms “Natural” or “Artificial Flavorings” to hide the existence of any allergens. RECIPES CAN CHANGE. We strongly recommend that allergic consumers refer to ingredient declarations EVERY TIME they purchase processed foods.
The following Klondike Bars do not contain any gluten in their ingredient lists, but do not have "gluten-free" on their labels:
- The Original Klondike Bar
- Klondike Dark Chocolate Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Dale Jr Checkered Flag Vanilla Chocolate Vanilla Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Double Chocolate Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Heath Toffee Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Mint Chocolate Chip Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Neapolitan Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Reese's Peanut Butter Dairy Dessert Bar
The following Klondike Bars contain gluten ingredients, and are UNSAFE for people with celiac disease:
- Klondike Brownie Fudge Swirl Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Krunch Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
- Klondike Oreo Frozen Dairy Dessert Bar
Do you have a favorite ice cream bar, sandwich, or cone that we might have missed? Let us know in the comment section below, and we'll be sure to add them to our list.