Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Get help in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Celiac.com's latest gluten-free beer, wine and alcohol guide & listing.


    Caption: Photo: CC by-sa 2.0--hanspetermeyer.com

    Celiac.com 10/25/2019 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.

    Gluten-Free Beer

    In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beers made with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.

    Gluten-Removed Beer

    A number of beers are treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These beers are typically filtered to remove any stray proteins. Such beers can be labeled Gluten-Free in EU, but not in Canada or the US.

    Distilled Spirits

    Distillation removes gluten proteins from the final product. That means all distilled spirits are technically gluten-free. However, some people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to spirits distilled from wheat, barley or rye. Many people with celiac disease have no problems at all with such spirits. The best advice we can give is to trust your gut. Avoid eating or drinking things that upset your stomach. However, unless they have added gluten ingredients, such spirits do not contain gluten, and are safe to drink. If you tolerate them well, you can be comforted by the fact that they are likely just as safe as spirits made from gluten-free ingredients and labeled 'Gluten-Free."

    Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Spirits, Beers and Wines include:

    Naturally Gluten-free Beers

    • Anheuser-Busch Redbridge
    • Bard's Gold
    • Bard's Tale Beer
    • Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre
    • Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche
    • Brunehaut Bio Ambrée
    • Brunehaut Blonde Bio
    • Brunehaut Blanche
    • Burning Brothers Brewing
    • Coors Peak
    • Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale
    • Departed Soles Brewing Company
    • Drummond Gluten Free
    • Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator
    • Ghostfish Brewery
    • Glutenberg American Pale Ale
    • Glutenberg Blonde
    • Glutenberg Belgian Double
    • Glutenberg India Pale Ale
    • Glutenberg Rousse
    • Green's Discovery Amber Ale
    • Green's Endeavour
    • Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager
    • Green's India Pale Ale
    • Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale
    • Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale
    • Ground Breaker IPA No. 5
    • Ground Breaker Dark Ale
    • Holidaily Brewing Company
    • Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison
    • Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail
    • Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale
    • Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style
    • Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free
    • Mongozo Premium Pilsener
    • New Planet Belgian Style Ale
    • New Planet Blonde Ale
    • New Planet Pale Ale
    • New Planet Raspberry Ale
    • New Planet Seclusion IPA
    • New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale
    • Nickel Brook Gluten Free
    • Nouvelle France La Messagère
    • Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits
    • Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale
    • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon
    • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium
    • Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale
    • Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales
    • Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout
    • To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free
    • Whistler Forager

    Gluten-Removed Beers

    • Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch
    • Brunehaut Bio Tripel
    • Estrella Damm Daura
    • Estrella Damm Daura Marzen
    • Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer
    • Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free
    • Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free
    • Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA
    • Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free
    • New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales
    • Short's Brewing Space Rock
    • Stone Delicious IPA
    • Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager
    • Widmer Omission Lager
    • Widmer Omission IPA
    • Widmer Omission Pale Ale
    • Wold Top Against The Grain
    • Wold Top Marmalade Porter
    • Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA

    Gluten-Free Hard Cider

    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!

    Brands of Gluten-Free Hard Cider

    Ace Ciders
    Angry Orchard
    Blue Mountain Cider Company
    Blackthorn Cider
    Bulmer's Hard Cider
    Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
    Gaymer Cider Company
    Harpoon Craft Cider
    J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
    Lazy Jack's Cider
    Magner's Cider
    Newton's Folly Hard Cider
    Original Sin Hard Cider
    Spire Mountain Draft Cider
    Strongbow Cider
    Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
    Woodchuck
    Woodpecker Cider

    Is Wine Gluten-Free?

    All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.

    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols

    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'

    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

    Is Gin Gluten-Free?

    Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

    Brands of Gluten-Free Gin

    • Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes 

    Brands of Standard Gin

    • Aviation American Gin
    • Beefeater
    • Bombay
    • Bombay Sapphire
    • Boodles British Gin
    • Booth's Gin 
    • Gordon's
    • Leopolds Gin
    • New Amsterdam Gin
    • Seagram's
    • Tanqueray

    Is Rum Gluten-Free?

    Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.

    Brands of Gluten-Free Rum

    • Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
    • Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored
    • Bayou Rum
    • Bundaberg Rum
    • Captain Morgan Rum
    • Cruzan Rum
    • Malibu Rum
    • Mount Gay Rum
    • Meyer's Rum

    Gluten-Free Sake

    Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

    Is Tequila Gluten-Free?

    Distilled from the agave cactus, all 100% agave tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.

    Brands of Gluten-free Tequila

    • 1519 Tequila
    • 1800 Tequila
    • Cabo Wabo
    • Casamigos
    • Cazadores
    • Chimayo
    • Don Julio
    • El Jimador
    • Herradura
    • Hornitos
    • Jose Cuervo
    • Patrón
    • Sauza

    Is Vodka Gluten-Free?

    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.

    Brands of Naturally Gluten-Free Vodka

    • Broken Shed Vodka
    • Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV
    • Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong
    • Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
    • Rice Vodka—Kissui
    • Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU

    Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

    Vodkas distilled from cereal grains

    • Barley Vodka—Finlandia
    • Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya, 
    • Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
    • Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka
    • Gluten-Free Whiskey

    Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.

    Gluten-free Whiskey Brands

    • Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum
    • Gold Spur Corn Whiskey by Cowboy Country Distilling is made with corn, millet and oats

    Whiskeys Distilled from Cereal Grains

    • Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
    • Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
    • Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel.
    • Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
    • Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka, 
    • Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
    • Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt
    • Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse
    • Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker 
    • Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic

    Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?

    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products, and so contain gluten. There are a few exceptions.

    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers

    • Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages
    • Boones - all EXCEPT malt beverages

    Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits

    • Brandy
    • Campari
    • Champagne
    • Cognac—made from grapes
    • Cointreau
    • Grappa
    • Jaegermeister
    • Midori
    • Prosecco
    • Khalua Coffee Liquer
    • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
    • Old Deadly Cider
    • Sambuca
    • Vermouth

    Gluten-Free Drink Mixes

    • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
    • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
    • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
    • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
    • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
    • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
    • TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri.
    • TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix.

    Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol

    • Club Tom Collins—made with corn
    • Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
    • Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
    • Mead—made from honey
    • Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane
    • Ouzo - made from grapes and anise
    • Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White
    • Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice

    Edited by Scott Adams


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Very confusing info, I thought Ketel One was Potato vodka, I found a vodka called Iceberg Vodka. Their website claims to be gluten free.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I have Celiac, but the dermatitis herpetaformis variety. It's on my skin...horribly itchy. But I can tell within an hour if I eat any gluten. I itch all over severely. The ONLY alcohol celiacs should drink are: Sorghum based beer, potato vodka, most wines, Rum, Tequila, and pure gin (made from Juniper berries ONLY). Many alcohols are made from cheap wheat and barley grains, and are added to other products to add alcohol content, while keeping the flavor. I can tell immediately when the drink is 'adulterated' in this way. Be safe. Don't drink anything you can't verify. I found that Kahlua has grain based alcohol added. I'm still trying to find out about Tia Maria.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I live in the home of scotch whisky and have been celiac for 12 years...I've still not tasted them all but I'm happy to tell you that so far so good with the 'research'

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Thank you so much for the valuable info. I have just been diagnosed with H-pylori and need to go on a gluten free and dairy free diet for 6 mos to a year. This is very helpful.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I am new to Celiac Disease and love me a glass of Bourbon. I can drink any hard liquor that is distilled more than once without a problem. Maker's Mark is nice at the bar but not when you want to drown your sorrows on your living room floor--unless you have the coin, and I don't.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I am a current college student at Marquette University and have been diagnosed for over a year. I understand that there is a lot of discrepancy between what alcohols are safe and those which are not. From personal experience, I have tried numerous vodkas such as Sky, Burnett's, Absolute, Grey Goose, Smirnoff's, UV, all of which I have not had any reaction to. As far as rum goes, I mainly stick to Captain Morgan and Admiral Nelson, both of which I have never had a reaction to. Also I used to drink a lot of whiskey and for the whiskey lovers, I have tried Seagram's 7 as well as Maker's Mark and once again, no reaction. I would advise to try just a little before consuming Maker's Mark and Seagram's 7 just because I have heard people could not tolerate it as well. But as I said before, I had no reaction. As a college student, I understand the pressure of drinking at parties or bars, but hopefully I have given a few people some new options.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I think this was an informative piece. I found out in June 2007 that I had Celiac. I had such a terrible pregnancy, sick all nine months and gained only 10 pounds in 2006. (Thankfully I got a healthy baby). For the months after I delivered, I was still sick.

     

    It was due to my pregnancy that the Celiac finally came out. I lived most of my life doing just fine. As a child, I never really liked bread or pasta, eating it occasionally. Now I am on a gluten-free diet and feeling much better. This is a great site, as I am the only one in my family who has this disease.

     

    I have to get my son tested when he gets older.

     

     

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I'm not quite sure what the point is of this particular list. Of course no one should consume anything that makes them feel badly. However, all speakers at a recent Celiac conference at Stanford University, including chemists, researchers, doctors (including Gail Pyle, herself a Celiac), and dietitians, were unanimous in their agreement that distilled alcohol, like vinegar, does NOT contain gluten unless the gluten is added POST processing.

     

    I've been a Celiac for 28 years and the information I was initially given upon diagnosis did suggest restriction of vinegar and grain distilled vinegar at that time. However, informed doctors and Celiac specialists have now retracted this restriction.

     

    See the following article from this very site based on revisions made by the American Dietetic Association:

     

    https://www.celiac.com/articles/184/1/American-Dietetic-Association-Revises-Its-Gluten-Free-Guidelines---Distilled-Vinegar-is-Safe-for-a-Gluten-Free-Diet/Page1.html

     

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Guest
    This is now closed for further comments

  • About Me

    Celiac.com's Founder and CEO, Scott was diagnosed with celiac disease  in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. Scott launched the site that later became Celiac.com in 1995 "To help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives."  In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.

×
×
  • Create New...