• Join our community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

  • Ads by Google:
     




    Get email alerts Subscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter

    Ads by Google:



       Get email alertsSubscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter

  • Member Statistics

    77,651
    Total Members
    3,093
    Most Online
    Kitty11
    Newest Member
    Kitty11
    Joined
  • 0

    CeliAct Gluten-Free Diet Support


    Advertising Product-Review

    As a person with an intolerance to wheat, barley, and other grains and products with gluten in them, I have sampled numerous vitamins and supplements over the years.  One of the best I have ever taken is CeliAct. I am happy to say that this supplement has recently been reformulated and it is now better than ever. 


    Ads by Google:




    ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW ADS
    Ads by Google:



    Gluten-Free Diet SupportOne of the biggest changes to CeliAct is the recommended dosage.  The new serving size is 2 soft capsules a day compared to the former serving size of 6 large hard tablets taken two times a day.  These old tablets were so big I had to cut them in half to take them - but that is no longer a problem because the new capsules are soft and very easy to swallow.  This is a big improvement! 

    There are several other significant changes to this supplement in terms of the ingredients, the amount per serving, and the percent of Daily Value (%DV) including increases in Vitamin D, Biotin and Zinc, as well as the addition of Folate and Magnesium Oxide.  Another benefit of this supplement is that it provides 2 billion live cultures per serving of Bacillus Coagulans for intestinal health. 

    If you have celiac disease and you plan on trying a supplement to help you feel better, I highly recommend CeliAct Gluten Free Diet Support. 

    For more information visit: www.Celiact.com

    0


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Ads by Google:

  • About Me

    This article is a paid advertising product review for this Web site. For more information about our advertising programs, including how you can see your ad on this site, please visit our advertising page.

  • Popular Contributors

  • Ads by Google:

  • Who's Online   14 Members, 0 Anonymous, 695 Guests (See full list)

  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    For immediate release. Please post.
    Celiac.com 07/13/2010 - Writer, researcher, and celiac advocate, Dr. Ron Hoggan, Ed. D., and long-time celiac advocate Scott Adams, founder and owner of Celiac.com, the largest and longest running website that caters to the gluten-free lifestyle, have joined forces to bring you a new, broad spectrum book about the many facets of gluten-induced illnesses and how to avoid or reverse them. In their new book, Hoggan, Adams, and their 27 co-authors reveal many of the hidden secrets of this widespread, insidious health hazard. This is more than a book about celiac disease and gluten sensitivity. It is a how-to manual for getting a diagnosis, reversing symptoms, improving one’s health, and living well on a gluten-free diet.
    Cereal Killers: Celiac Disease and Gluten-Free A to Z is a new resource that provides the most diverse exploration of this topic currently available. From the research scientist to the concerned parent, all voices are heard in this novel approach to curing gluten-induced ailments. There is information here for all levels of interest in this burgeoning new area of research and health care.
    "Hoggan & Adams have brought together a wide range of viewpoints at multiple levels. This book should appeal to a broad spectrum of readers who want a full and enriched perspective." --Robert Machon, July 12, 2010
    Newly diagnosed celiac and gluten sensitive patients complain about conflicting information, from the safety of oats to the hazards of older grains. Cereal Killers has the answers to these and many other questions. Even seasoned members of the gluten-free community want a better understanding of their illness and the bounds of a safe diet. These questions are also addressed.
    Common errors, common misconceptions about the diet, and unusual insights into the dynamics of inflammation, disease, and recovery are all offered by one or more of the many voices that form this unique offering. But the information runs much deeper than that. Cereal Killers explores subtle nuances of immune reactions, often overlooked signs and symptoms of celiac disease, and a host of elements of associated illnesses that miraculously clear up on the diet. Questions about non-celiac gluten sensitivity are addressed in detail, along with explorations of what signs and symptoms should signal testing for gluten sensitivity and how much credence these indicators of disease should be given.
    In all, readers are offered a rich resource for understanding the importance of dietary compliance along with the cracks in the system through which patients sometimes slip because of current deficiencies in the understanding of gluten sensitivity and celiac disease.
    Jointly published by CreateSpace, Cereal Killers ISBN: 978-1449918200 is available through Celiac.com, and quality book sellers such as Blackbond Books.


    Dyani Barber
    I just enjoyed the most amazing gluten-free tiramisu, something I've missed since going gluten-free nine years ago!  This traditional Italian dessert from GlutenOut is made in Italy, but amazingly it can be delivered right to your door.  Each layer of the tiramisu was perfect, and it had such a wonderful light and fluffy texture--yet each bite was so wonderfully rich and satisfying.  Each package of the tiramisu held two perfectly proportioned servings which took only a short period of time to defrost. Did I mention that they are also made in a dedicated gluten-free facility?
    More info is at: http://www.byebyegluti.com.



     
     
    Note:Articles thatappearin the "Gluten-Free Food & SpecialtyProduct Companies" section ofthis site are paid advertisements. Formoreinformation about this seeour AdvertisingPage.

    Dyani Barber
    I just tried Kay's Naturals Gluten-free Almond Delight Protein Puffs and I have to say that they were not a disappointment. 
    With only 115 calories, 12 grams of protein and 2.5 grams of fat (no trans fats) per serving, I was a bit skeptical, but this crunchy snack kept me satisfied between meals--guilt free!  I love that it is made with real almond meal and almond butter because I just despise any artificial flavorings.  These little puffs are packaged in individual serving sized bags, which are not only convenient but they help keep the flavors and textures fresh. 
    To find out more visit shop.kaysnaturals.com.


     
     
    Note: Articles that appear in the "Gluten-Free Food Reviews"  section of this site are paid advertisements. For more information about this see our Advertising Page.

    Advertising Product-Review
    It's always wonderful to have the opportunity to review a versatile product you can use for seasoning, cooking, and baking. Paleo Powder is gluten-free and also free of MSG. 
    Paleo Powder adds a nice taste to many different foods.  I tried it on a frozen hamburger patty before grilling, and it was so much more tender and juicy.  I also tried it on chicken before baking.   The chicken turned out very moist inside with a crunchy but delicate thickness on the outside. 
    Curious about it as a topping, I tried it on lettuce and it turned a regular Caesar salad into a delicious healthy meal.  The powder has the "just-right" combination of chili, garlic, onion, and cumin to make it flavorful, but not overpowering. I no longer need separate shakers for salt and pepper and other spices, as a few shakes of the Paleo Powder Seasoning and food that seemed bland before is now tastier than ever.  You can also add a little water to your saucepan while cooking to make a delicious basting sauce.
    You don't have to be on the Paleo diet to enjoy Paleo Powder.  It  is the perfect spice for every gluten-free cook's kitchen.
    For more information, visit their site.
     


    Review written by Patricia Seeley.

  • Recent Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/21/2018 - Would you buy a house advertised as ‘gluten-free’? Yes, there really is such a house for sale. 
    It seems a Phoenix realtor Mike D’Elena is hoping that his trendy claim will catch the eye of a buyer hungry to avoid gluten, or, at least one with a sense of humor. D’Elena said he crafted the ads as a way to “be funny and to draw attention.” The idea, D’Elena said, is to “make it memorable.” 
    Though D’Elena’s marketing seeks to capitalizes on the gluten-free trend, he knows Celiac disease is a serious health issue for some people. “[W]e’re not here to offend anybody….this is just something we're just trying to do to draw attention and do what's best for our clients," he said. 
    Still, the signs seem to be working. D'elena had fielded six offers within a few days of listing the west Phoenix home.
    "Buying can sometimes be the most stressful thing you do in your entire life so why not have some fun with it," he said. 
    What do you think? Clever? Funny?
    Read more at Arizonafamily.com.

    Advertising Banner-Ads
    Bakery On Main started in the small bakery of a natural foods market on Main Street in Glastonbury, Connecticut. Founder Michael Smulders listened when his customers with Celiac Disease would mention the lack of good tasting, gluten-free options available to them. Upon learning this, he believed that nobody should have to suffer due to any kind of food allergy or dietary need. From then on, his mission became creating delicious and fearlessly unique gluten-free products that were clean and great tasting, while still being safe for his Celiac customers!
    Premium ingredients, bakeshop delicious recipes, and happy customers were our inspiration from the beginning— and are still the cornerstones of Bakery On Main today. We are a fiercely ethical company that believes in integrity and feels that happiness and wholesome, great tasting food should be harmonious. We strive for that in everything we bake in our dedicated gluten-free facility that is GFCO Certified and SQF Level 3 Certified. We use only natural, NON-GMO Project Verified ingredients and all of our products are certified Kosher Parve, dairy and casein free, and we have recently introduced certified Organic items as well! 
    Our passion is to bake the very best products while bringing happiness to our customers, each other, and all those we meet!
    We are available during normal business hours at: 1-888-533-8118 EST.
    To learn more about us at: visit our site.

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/20/2018 - Currently, the only way to manage celiac disease is to eliminate gluten from the diet. That could be set to change as clinical trials begin in Australia for a new vaccine that aims to switch off the immune response to gluten. 
    The trials are set to begin at Australia’s University of the Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials Centre. The vaccine is designed to allow people with celiac disease to consume gluten with no adverse effects. A successful vaccine could be the beginning of the end for the gluten-free diet as the only currently viable treatment for celiac disease. That could be a massive breakthrough for people with celiac disease.
    USC’s Clinical Trials Centre Director Lucas Litewka said trial participants would receive an injection of the vaccine twice a week for seven weeks. The trials will be conducted alongside gastroenterologist Dr. James Daveson, who called the vaccine “a very exciting potential new therapy that has been undergoing clinical trials for several years now.”
    Dr. Daveson said the investigational vaccine might potentially restore gluten tolerance to people with celiac disease.The trial is open to adults between the ages of 18 and 70 who have clinically diagnosed celiac disease, and have followed a strict gluten-free diet for at least 12 months. Anyone interested in participating can go to www.joinourtrials.com.
    Read more at the website for Australia’s University of the Sunshine Coast Clinical Trials Centre.

    Source:
    FoodProcessing.com.au

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/19/2018 - Could baking soda help reduce the inflammation and damage caused by autoimmune diseases like rheumatoid arthritis, and celiac disease? Scientists at the Medical College of Georgia at Augusta University say that a daily dose of baking soda may in fact help reduce inflammation and damage caused by autoimmune diseases like rheumatoid arthritis, and celiac disease.
    Those scientists recently gathered some of the first evidence to show that cheap, over-the-counter antacids can prompt the spleen to promote an anti-inflammatory environment that could be helpful in combating inflammatory disease.
    A type of cell called mesothelial cells line our body cavities, like the digestive tract. They have little fingers, called microvilli, that sense the environment, and warn the organs they cover that there is an invader and an immune response is needed.
    The team’s data shows that when rats or healthy people drink a solution of baking soda, the stomach makes more acid, which causes mesothelial cells on the outside of the spleen to tell the spleen to go easy on the immune response.  "It's most likely a hamburger not a bacterial infection," is basically the message, says Dr. Paul O'Connor, renal physiologist in the MCG Department of Physiology at Augusta University and the study's corresponding author.
    That message, which is transmitted with help from a chemical messenger called acetylcholine, seems to encourage the gut to shift against inflammation, say the scientists.
    In patients who drank water with baking soda for two weeks, immune cells called macrophages, shifted from primarily those that promote inflammation, called M1, to those that reduce it, called M2. "The shift from inflammatory to an anti-inflammatory profile is happening everywhere," O'Connor says. "We saw it in the kidneys, we saw it in the spleen, now we see it in the peripheral blood."
    O'Connor hopes drinking baking soda can one day produce similar results for people with autoimmune disease. "You are not really turning anything off or on, you are just pushing it toward one side by giving an anti-inflammatory stimulus," he says, in this case, away from harmful inflammation. "It's potentially a really safe way to treat inflammatory disease."
    The research was funded by the National Institutes of Health.
    Read more at: Sciencedaily.com

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/18/2018 - Celiac disease has been mainly associated with Caucasian populations in Northern Europe, and their descendants in other countries, but new scientific evidence is beginning to challenge that view. Still, the exact global prevalence of celiac disease remains unknown.  To get better data on that issue, a team of researchers recently conducted a comprehensive review and meta-analysis to get a reasonably accurate estimate the global prevalence of celiac disease. 
    The research team included P Singh, A Arora, TA Strand, DA Leffler, C Catassi, PH Green, CP Kelly, V Ahuja, and GK Makharia. They are variously affiliated with the Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts; Lady Hardinge Medical College, New Delhi, India; Innlandet Hospital Trust, Lillehammer, Norway; Centre for International Health, University of Bergen, Bergen, Norway; Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Boston, Massachusetts; Gastroenterology Research and Development, Takeda Pharmaceuticals Inc, Cambridge, MA; Department of Pediatrics, Università Politecnica delle Marche, Ancona, Italy; Department of Medicine, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, New York; USA Celiac Disease Center, Columbia University Medical Center, New York, New York; and the Department of Gastroenterology and Human Nutrition, All India Institute of Medical Sciences, New Delhi, India.
    For their review, the team searched Medline, PubMed, and EMBASE for the keywords ‘celiac disease,’ ‘celiac,’ ‘tissue transglutaminase antibody,’ ‘anti-endomysium antibody,’ ‘endomysial antibody,’ and ‘prevalence’ for studies published from January 1991 through March 2016. 
    The team cross-referenced each article with the words ‘Asia,’ ‘Europe,’ ‘Africa,’ ‘South America,’ ‘North America,’ and ‘Australia.’ They defined celiac diagnosis based on European Society of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology, and Nutrition guidelines. The team used 96 articles of 3,843 articles in their final analysis.
    Overall global prevalence of celiac disease was 1.4% in 275,818 individuals, based on positive blood tests for anti-tissue transglutaminase and/or anti-endomysial antibodies. The pooled global prevalence of biopsy-confirmed celiac disease was 0.7% in 138,792 individuals. That means that numerous people with celiac disease potentially remain undiagnosed.
    Rates of celiac disease were 0.4% in South America, 0.5% in Africa and North America, 0.6% in Asia, and 0.8% in Europe and Oceania; the prevalence was 0.6% in female vs 0.4% males. Celiac disease was significantly more common in children than adults.
    This systematic review and meta-analysis showed celiac disease to be reported worldwide. Blood test data shows celiac disease rate of 1.4%, while biopsy data shows 0.7%. The prevalence of celiac disease varies with sex, age, and location. 
    This review demonstrates a need for more comprehensive population-based studies of celiac disease in numerous countries.  The 1.4% rate indicates that there are 91.2 million people worldwide with celiac disease, and 3.9 million are in the U.S.A.
    Source:
    Clin Gastroenterol Hepatol. 2018 Jun;16(6):823-836.e2. doi: 10.1016/j.cgh.2017.06.037.