• Join our community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

  • Ads by Google:
     




    Get email alerts Subscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter

    Ads by Google:



       Get email alertsSubscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter

  • Member Statistics

    71,935
    Total Members
    3,093
    Most Online
    kamafu
    Newest Member
    kamafu
    Joined
  • Announcements

    • admin

      Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease   04/07/2018

      This Celiac.com FAQ on celiac disease will guide you to all of the basic information you will need to know about the disease, its diagnosis, testing methods, a gluten-free diet, etc.   Subscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter   What are the major symptoms of celiac disease? Celiac Disease Symptoms What testing is available for celiac disease?  Celiac Disease Screening Interpretation of Celiac Disease Blood Test Results Can I be tested even though I am eating gluten free? How long must gluten be taken for the serological tests to be meaningful? The Gluten-Free Diet 101 - A Beginner's Guide to Going Gluten-Free Is celiac inherited? Should my children be tested? Ten Facts About Celiac Disease Genetic Testing Is there a link between celiac and other autoimmune diseases? Celiac Disease Research: Associated Diseases and Disorders Is there a list of gluten foods to avoid? Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List (Unsafe Ingredients) Is there a list of gluten free foods? Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients) Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages Distilled Spirits (Grain Alcohols) and Vinegar: Are they Gluten-Free? Where does gluten hide? Additional Things to Beware of to Maintain a 100% Gluten-Free Diet What if my doctor won't listen to me? An Open Letter to Skeptical Health Care Practitioners Gluten-Free recipes: Gluten-Free Recipes
  • 0

    LAIKI RED RICE CRACKERS


    Advertising Product-Review

    I recently discovered a new snack cracker called Laiki Red Rice Crackers, which I would recommend to anyone who likes a healthy snack cracker.


    Ads by Google:




    ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW ADS
    Ads by Google:



    Laiki Red Rice CrackersDespite their delicious and complex whole grain taste, they are made with only three ingredients: wholegrain red rice, sustainably farmed palm oil, and sea salt. This means that they are a very allergy-friendly snack cracker that is suitable for just about anyone, and of course they are also gluten-free.

    A 21 gram package contains only 100 calories, and has 4% of your recommended daily fiber. They also make a black rice variety, which I plan to try next.

    For more info visit their site: laikicrackers.com.


    Image Caption: Laiki makes a red and black rice variety of their tasty crackers.
    0


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Popular Contributors

  • Ads by Google:

  • Who's Online   11 Members, 0 Anonymous, 1,238 Guests (See full list)

  • Related Articles

    Advertising Banner-Ads

    Now there's a way to enjoy all the safe goodness of Bob's Red Mill just about anywhere, thanks to the new Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Oatmeal Cups. They feature healthy and hearty blends of whole grain gluten free oats, flax seeds, chia seeds, fruits, nuts and spices, and they're high in both fiber and protein. Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Oatmeal Cups are available in four delicious flavors: Classic, Apple Cinnamon, Brown Sugar & Maple, and Blueberry & Hazelnut. Simply add hot water, wait three minutes and enjoy – at home or on the go!
    And because the Cups come from Bob's Red Mill, the leading provider of whole grain gluten free foods for nearly 40 years, you can confidently enjoy them knowing they're safe. As with all Bob's Red Mill's gluten free products, the new Gluten Free Oatmeal Cups adhere to strict standards, including being produced in a 100% dedicated gluten free facility and being ELISA tested to verify gluten free integrity. All four flavors also are dairy free.
    Everything you've come to expect from Bob's Red Mill, all in one convenient carry-anywhere cup. Stock your pantry, throw them in your bag or briefcase, load up your desk – no matter where you enjoy them, Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Oatmeal Cups are good, to go!
    Find Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free Oatmeal cups at your favorite grocer or at bobsredmill.com.

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/30/2007 - Mmmmm...Toast. The smell of toast filling the room in the morning.
    A perfectly toasted piece of white bread transformed to a perfectly golden brown at the center and at the edges, an aroma packed with memories, evoking deep sighs and wistful smiles.
    Toast is the perfect comfort food. It's also something I've practically given up on bread since I became gluten-free. So, when my Garbo gluten free, dairy free Toast bread arrived, I tried not to get too excited. I'd never tried it and was taking a stab at joy.
    Most of the breads I've tried required toasting first to be anywhere near palatable, and even then, the ones I've tried have been too dense, too chewy, way too sticky, and distinctly lacking in flavor. Most of all, I've yet to find one that gives off the memory-rich aroma of freshly toasted white bread.
    Until now. Garbo Toast Bread has officially rocked my world! Gluten-Free and dairy-free, Garbo Toast bread brings the joy of toast back to the world of the gluten-free diet.
    First, I tried it straight from the toaster and slathered with butter. It was perfectly chewy, and not at all sticky like so many gluten-free breads I've tried and given up on. If I hadn't known it was gluten-free, I would have had to double check. It looked and smelled and tasted like some kind of exotic European white bread.
    Later on, I experimented. Since I still eat dairy, I toasted a slice andtried it with a soft-boiled egg! I was in heaven.For lunch I toasted two slices,buttered them, then added a slice of cheese. I then grilled it gently overa medium heat for the most wonderful toasty, gluten free grilled cheesesandwich. The next morning I had a slice with butter and my favorite jam.More heaven. I went through my first bag of Garbo Toast bread in two days!I promptly ordered not one, not two, but four more loaves!With their gluten free, dairy free Toast bread, Garbo has brought the joy of toast...warm, aromatic, perfectly golden, perfectly chewy, perfectly yummy toast back to my previously untoasty gluten-free life.
    For those us whose lives are dark without toast, and only a bit brighter with our previous toast choices, we salute Garbo!
    For those about to toast, Garbo salutes you!

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/30/2007 - When I was growing up, one of the favorite things for my brother and I to have for dinner was fish sticks served hot out of the oven along with our favorite French fries.
    Sure, my mom made many healthy and nutritious meals. In fact, much to our chagrin, she favored healthy and nutritious meals, while my brother and I used to beg for things that tasted great and were sure to put a smile on our faces; like warm, crunchy fish sticks.
    Even   through college, every so often, when I was in need of a comfort food fix, I'   head to the store for a box of my favorite fish sticks and a bag of my favorite   French fries, careful to remember the requisite bottle of ketchup.
    So, when I began to follow a gluten-free diet, I thought I'd never again know the joys of sitting down to a plate of piping hot fish sticks.
    Fortunately, Dr. Praeger's feels my pain, and offers relief in the shape of tasty gluten-free fish sticks and fish fillets.
    Dr. Praeger's fish sticks and fillets are tender, crunchy and fill of flavor.
    Best of all, Dr. Praeger's fish sticks are gluten-free. So, next time you get   the hankering for the comfort of a plate of tasty fish sticks, don't let your   gluten-free get you down. Reach for Dr.   Praeger's gluten-free fish stick and fish fillets and satisfy your craving   for fish sticks which still honoring your gluten-free diet.
    About the Author: Jefferson Adams is a freelance health writer who lives in San Francisco and is a frequent author of articles for Celiac.com.


    admin
    There is no skimping on ingredients or quality when it comes to Brookfarm’s Gluten-Free Macadamia Muesli.  This muesli is a true medley of gluten-free grains, and it includes buckwheat, brown rice, and amaranth—but there’s more…it also contains macadamia nuts, cranberries, raisins, soy flour and pumpkin kernels.
    Upon opening the bag, I immediately noticed an array of colors from this amazing variety of grains, nuts, seeds and fruit.  It was a pleasant surprise to see that they were using buckwheat, brown rice and amaranth as their main gluten-free grains, probably due to their outstanding nutritional benefits, including their high fiber content.  Likewise, macadamia nuts have been shown in studies to reduce bad cholesterol, and increase good cholesterol, so I always try to find way to add them to my diet.
    I filled my bowl about half-full with this delicious muesli mixture, and then poured about two cups of plain yogurt on top and mixed it all together.  Upon tasting it I discovered that this muesli has a very nice texture combination—it is not overly crunchy, sweet or salty—as I have found to be the case with other brands of muesli.  It seems to have just the right-balance of crunchiness, sweetness and saltiness, and all of its wholesome ingredients seem to blend together perfectly to create an outstanding muesli. 
    Brookfarm’s Gluten-Free Macadamia Muesli is much better than the muesli that I got used to eating when I was exchange student in Germany, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a healthy meal to start their day.  This is a “feel good” meal or snack that will leave you satisfied.  If you are a fan of muesli you will love this Australian treat, and even if you are not a muesli fan I believe you will still enjoy Brookfarm’s Gluten-Free Macadamia Muesli!
    Brookfarm can be found in selected Whole Foods, Wegmans, Central Markets, and many other fine food stores. More info can be found at their Web site: www.brookfarm.com.au

    Note: Articles that appearin the "Gluten-Free Product Reviews" section ofthis site are paid advertisements. For more information about this seeour Advertising Page.


    admin
    Purity Gluten-Free Bread is an amazing product for many reasons.  First off it is cultured for 8 hours (you can notice a slight sourdough flavor), so it is easier to digest, and, according to the Julian Bakery “you get more energy out of it than it takes to digest it.” Second, gluten-free Purity Bread has only 2 net carbs, 7 grams of protein, and 8 grams of fiber per slice, and I doubt that there are other gluten-free breads that can make this claim.  Third, Purity Bread has zero refined ingredients and is excellent for those with diabetes, celiac disease, candida overgrowth, and hypoglycemia—so it really is in a class of its own.
    On top of all this the bread tastes fantastic!
    Find out more at: julianbakery.com/bread-product/purity-bread/.
    Get $3 off with coupon: 1559
     
    Note: Articles that appear in the "Gluten-Free Product Reviews" section of this site are paid advertisements. For more information about this see our Advertising Page.

    Advertising Product-Review
    The new gluten-free cookbook "A World of Flavor" is clearly a labor of love for its authors, Amber Barrett and Nancy Miller. Amber is also a gifted photographer, and the photographs in this book could be the best of any cookbook I've ever seen.
    On top of this, the book includes some amazing recipes that everyone will like, including: Hot Wings, Bacon and Cheddar Scones, Donuts, Sandwich Bread, Rocky Road Brownies, Crepes, General Tso's Chicken, Croutons, and many more (I counted 77).
    From breakfasts, appetizers, desserts, main dishes and snacks, to salads, vegetables, and side dishes, this outstanding gluten-free cookbook has much to offer anyone who is on a gluten-free diet.
    For more info visit: www.thewhiskandthespoon.com/cookbook

    Advertising Banner-Ads
    Our products are a concerted effort to bridge the gap between perception of the natural products industry and the reality of solution driven regimes.
    RawSkinCeuticals Family Brand of Holistic Skin Nutrition 100% Raw Vegan Skin Care . Raw Oils Herbs & Butters. Chemical Free, Gluten Free, Cruelty Free
    Mission
    To bridge the gap between perception of mainstream skin care and cosmetics and the reality of true skin nutrition. Our goal is to provide nutritionally balanced skin treatments to combat common skin problems including acne, rosacea, eczema, aging skin, dehydration, oily skin and much more from infants to seniors and including your pets. RawSkinCeuticals....truth in skin nutrition.
    Bringing together skin solutions found in traditional "herbal apothecaries" combined with the appeal and demand for "mainstream skin care and cosmetics" to provide the most complete pure and balanced nutrition for your skin. Each RawSkinCeutical formula is a balance of triple infused raw herbs, raw unrefined oils and butters in proprietary herb and aloe tea blends.
    For more info visit their site.

  • Recent Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 04/20/2018 - A digital media company and a label data company are teaming up to help major manufacturers target, reach and convert their desired shoppers based on dietary needs, such as gluten-free diet. The deal could bring synergy in emerging markets such as the gluten-free and allergen-free markets, which represent major growth sectors in the global food industry. 
    Under the deal, personalized digital media company Catalina will be joining forces with Label Insight. Catalina uses consumer purchases data to target shoppers on a personal base, while Label Insight works with major companies like Kellogg, Betty Crocker, and Pepsi to provide insight on food label data to government, retailers, manufacturers and app developers.
    "Brands with very specific product benefits, gluten-free for example, require precise targeting to efficiently reach and convert their desired shoppers,” says Todd Morris, President of Catalina's Go-to-Market organization, adding that “Catalina offers the only purchase-based targeting solution with this capability.” 
    Label Insight’s clients include food and beverage giants such as Unilever, Ben & Jerry's, Lipton and Hellman’s. Label Insight technology has helped the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) build the sector’s very first scientifically accurate database of food ingredients, health attributes and claims.
    Morris says the joint partnership will allow Catalina to “enhance our dataset and further increase our ability to target shoppers who are currently buying - or have shown intent to buy - in these emerging categories,” including gluten-free, allergen-free, and other free-from foods.
    The deal will likely make for easier, more precise targeting of goods to consumers, and thus provide benefits for manufacturers and retailers looking to better serve their retail food customers, especially in specialty areas like gluten-free and allergen-free foods.
    Source:
    fdfworld.com

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 04/19/2018 - Previous genome and linkage studies indicate the existence of a new disease triggering mechanism that involves amino acid metabolism and nutrient sensing signaling pathways. In an effort to determine if amino acids might play a role in the development of celiac disease, a team of researchers recently set out to investigate if plasma amino acid levels differed among children with celiac disease compared with a control group.
     
    The research team included Åsa Torinsson Naluai, Ladan Saadat Vafa, Audur H. Gudjonsdottir, Henrik Arnell, Lars Browaldh, and Daniel Agardh. They are variously affiliated with the Institute of Biomedicine, Department of Microbiology & Immunology, Sahlgrenska Academy, University of Gothenburg, Gothenburg, Sweden; the Institute of Clinical Sciences, Sahlgrenska Academy at the University of Gothenburg, Gothenburg, Sweden; the Department of Pediatric Gastroenterology, Hepatology and Nutrition, Karolinska University Hospital and Division of Pediatrics, CLINTEC, Karolinska Institute, Stockholm, Sweden; the Department of Clinical Science and Education, Karolinska Institute, Sodersjukhuset, Stockholm, Sweden; the Department of Mathematical Sciences, Chalmers University of Technology, Gothenburg, Sweden; the Diabetes & Celiac Disease Unit, Department of Clinical Sciences, Lund University, Malmö, Sweden; and with the Nathan S Kline Institute in the U.S.A.
    First, the team used liquid chromatography-tandem mass spectrometry (LC/MS) to analyze amino acid levels in fasting plasma samples from 141 children with celiac disease and 129 non-celiac disease controls. They then crafted a general linear model using age and experimental effects as covariates to compare amino acid levels between children with celiac disease and non-celiac control subjects.
    Compared with the control group, seven out of twenty-three children with celiac disease showed elevated levels of the the following amino acids: tryptophan; taurine; glutamic acid; proline; ornithine; alanine; and methionine.
    The significance of the individual amino acids do not survive multiple correction, however, multivariate analyses of the amino acid profile showed significantly altered amino acid levels in children with celiac disease overall and after correction for age, sex and experimental effects.
    This study shows that amino acids can influence inflammation and may play a role in the development of celiac disease.
    Source:
    PLoS One. 2018; 13(3): e0193764. doi: & 10.1371/journal.pone.0193764

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 04/18/2018 - To the relief of many bewildered passengers and crew, no more comfort turkeys, geese, possums or other questionable pets will be flying on Delta or United without meeting the airlines' strict new requirements for service animals.
    If you’ve flown anywhere lately, you may have seen them. People flying with their designated “emotional support” animals. We’re not talking genuine service animals, like seeing eye dogs, or hearing ear dogs, or even the Belgian Malinois that alerts its owner when there is gluten in food that may trigger her celiac disease.
    Now, to be honest, some of those animals in question do perform a genuine service for those who need emotional support dogs, like veterans with PTSD.
    However, many of these animals are not service animals at all. Many of these animals perform no actual service to their owners, and are nothing more than thinly disguised pets. Many lack proper training, and some have caused serious problems for the airlines and for other passengers.
    Now the major airlines are taking note and introducing stringent requirements for service animals.
    Delta was the first to strike. As reported by the New York Times on January 19: “Effective March 1, Delta, the second largest US airline by passenger traffic, said it will require passengers seeking to fly with pets to present additional documents outlining the passenger’s need for the animal and proof of its training and vaccinations, 48 hours prior to the flight.… This comes in response to what the carrier said was a 150 percent increase in service and support animals — pets, often dogs, that accompany people with disabilities — carried onboard since 2015.… Delta said that it flies some 700 service animals a day. Among them, customers have attempted to fly with comfort turkeys, gliding possums, snakes, spiders, and other unusual pets.”
    Fresh from an unsavory incident with an “emotional support” peacock incident, United Airlines has followed Delta’s lead and set stricter rules for emotional support animals. United’s rules also took effect March 1, 2018.
    So, to the relief of many bewildered passengers and crew, no more comfort turkeys, geese, possums or other questionable pets will be flying on Delta or United without meeting the airlines' strict new requirements for service and emotional support animals.
    Source:
    cnbc.com

    admin
    WHAT IS CELIAC DISEASE?
    Celiac disease is an autoimmune condition that affects around 1% of the population. People with celiac disease suffer an autoimmune reaction when they consume wheat, rye or barley. The immune reaction is triggered by certain proteins in the wheat, rye, or barley, and, left untreated, causes damage to the small, finger-like structures, called villi, that line the gut. The damage occurs as shortening and villous flattening in the lamina propria and crypt regions of the intestines. The damage to these villi then leads to numerous other issues that commonly plague people with untreated celiac disease, including poor nutritional uptake, fatigue, and myriad other problems.
    Celiac disease mostly affects people of Northern European descent, but recent studies show that it also affects large numbers of people in Italy, China, Iran, India, and numerous other places thought to have few or no cases.
    Celiac disease is most often uncovered because people experience symptoms that lead them to get tests for antibodies to gluten. If these tests are positive, then the people usually get biopsy confirmation of their celiac disease. Once they adopt a gluten-free diet, they usually see gut healing, and major improvements in their symptoms. 
    CLASSIC CELIAC DISEASE SYMPTOMS
    Symptoms of celiac disease can range from the classic features, such as diarrhea, upset stomach, bloating, gas, weight loss, and malnutrition, among others.
    LESS OBVIOUS SYMPTOMS
    Celiac disease can often less obvious symptoms, such fatigue, vitamin and nutrient deficiencies, anemia, to name a few. Often, these symptoms are regarded as less obvious because they are not gastrointestinal in nature. You got that right, it is not uncommon for people with celiac disease to have few or no gastrointestinal symptoms. That makes spotting and connecting these seemingly unrelated and unclear celiac symptoms so important.
    NO SYMPTOMS
    Currently, most people diagnosed with celiac disease do not show symptoms, but are diagnosed on the basis of referral for elevated risk factors. 

    CELIAC DISEASE VS. GLUTEN INTOLERANCE
    Gluten intolerance is a generic term for people who have some sort of sensitivity to gluten. These people may or may not have celiac disease. Researchers generally agree that there is a condition called non-celiac gluten sensitivity. That term has largely replaced the term gluten-intolerance. What’s the difference between celiac disease and non-celiac gluten-sensitivity? 
    CELIAC DISEASE VS. NON-CELIAC GLUTEN SENSITIVITY (NCGS)
    Gluten triggers symptoms and immune reactions in people with celiac disease. Gluten can also trigger symptoms in some people with NCGS, but the similarities largely end there.

    There are four main differences between celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity:
    No Hereditary Link in NCGS
    Researchers know for certain that genetic heredity plays a major role in celiac disease. If a first-degree relative has celiac disease, then you have a statistically higher risk of carrying genetic markers DQ2 and/or DQ8, and of developing celiac disease yourself. NCGS is not known to be hereditary. Some research has shown certain genetic associations, such as some NCGS patients, but there is no proof that NCGS is hereditary. No Connection with Celiac-related Disorders
    Unlike celiac disease, NCGS is so far not associated with malabsorption, nutritional deficiencies, or a higher risk of autoimmune disorders or intestinal malignancies. No Immunological or Serological Markers
    People with celiac disease nearly always test positive for antibodies to gluten proteins. Researchers have, as yet, identified no such antobodies or serologic markers for NCGS. That means that, unlike with celiac disease, there are no telltale screening tests that can point to NCGS. Absence of Celiac Disease or Wheat Allergy
    Doctors diagnose NCGS only by excluding both celiac disease, an IgE-mediated allergy to wheat, and by the noting ongoing adverse symptoms associated with gluten consumption. WHAT ABOUT IRRITABLE BOWEL SYNDROME (IBS) AND IRRITABLE BOWEL DISEASE (IBD)?
    IBS and IBD are usually diagnosed in part by ruling out celiac disease. Many patients with irritable bowel syndrome are sensitive to gluten. Many experience celiac disease-like symptoms in reaction to wheat. However, patients with IBS generally show no gut damage, and do not test positive for antibodies to gliadin and other proteins as do people with celiac disease. Some IBS patients also suffer from NCGS.

    To add more confusion, many cases of IBS are, in fact, celiac disease in disguise.

    That said, people with IBS generally react to more than just wheat. People with NCGS generally react to wheat and not to other things, but that’s not always the case. Doctors generally try to rule out celiac disease before making a diagnosis of IBS or NCGS. 
    Crohn’s Disease and celiac disease share many common symptoms, though causes are different.  In Crohn’s disease, the immune system can cause disruption anywhere along the gastrointestinal tract, and a diagnosis of Crohn’s disease typically requires more diagnostic testing than does a celiac diagnosis.  
    Crohn’s treatment consists of changes to diet and possible surgery.  Up to 10% of Crohn's patients can have both of conditions, which suggests a genetic connection, and researchers continue to examine that connection.
    Is There a Connection Between Celiac Disease, Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity and Irritable Bowel Syndrome? Large Number of Irritable Bowel Syndrome Patients Sensitive To Gluten Some IBD Patients also Suffer from Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity Many Cases of IBS and Fibromyalgia Actually Celiac Disease in Disguise CELIAC DISEASE DIAGNOSIS
    Diagnosis of celiac disease can be difficult. 

    Perhaps because celiac disease presents clinically in such a variety of ways, proper diagnosis often takes years. A positive serological test for antibodies against tissue transglutaminase is considered a very strong diagnostic indicator, and a duodenal biopsy revealing villous atrophy is still considered by many to be the diagnostic gold standard. 
    But this idea is being questioned; some think the biopsy is unnecessary in the face of clear serological tests and obvious symptoms. Also, researchers are developing accurate and reliable ways to test for celiac disease even when patients are already avoiding wheat. In the past, patients needed to be consuming wheat to get an accurate test result. 
    Celiac disease can have numerous vague, or confusing symptoms that can make diagnosis difficult.  Celiac disease is commonly misdiagnosed by doctors. Read a Personal Story About Celiac Disease Diagnosis from the Founder of Celiac.com Currently, testing and biopsy still form the cornerstone of celiac diagnosis.
    TESTING
    There are several serologic (blood) tests available that screen for celiac disease antibodies, but the most commonly used is called a tTG-IgA test. If blood test results suggest celiac disease, your physician will recommend a biopsy of your small intestine to confirm the diagnosis.
    Testing is fairly simple and involves screening the patients blood for antigliadin (AGA) and endomysium antibodies (EmA), and/or doing a biopsy on the areas of the intestines mentioned above, which is still the standard for a formal diagnosis. Also, it is now possible to test people for celiac disease without making them concume wheat products.

    BIOPSY
    Until recently, biopsy confirmation of a positive gluten antibody test was the gold standard for celiac diagnosis. It still is, but things are changing fairly quickly. Children can now be accurately diagnosed for celiac disease without biopsy. Diagnosis based on level of TGA-IgA 10-fold or more the ULN, a positive result from the EMA tests in a second blood sample, and the presence of at least 1 symptom could avoid risks and costs of endoscopy for more than half the children with celiac disease worldwide.

    WHY A GLUTEN-FREE DIET?
    Currently the only effective, medically approved treatment for celiac disease is a strict gluten-free diet. Following a gluten-free diet relieves symptoms, promotes gut healing, and prevents nearly all celiac-related complications. 
    A gluten-free diet means avoiding all products that contain wheat, rye and barley, or any of their derivatives. This is a difficult task as there are many hidden sources of gluten found in the ingredients of many processed foods. Still, with effort, most people with celiac disease manage to make the transition. The vast majority of celiac disease patients who follow a gluten-free diet see symptom relief and experience gut healing within two years.
    For these reasons, a gluten-free diet remains the only effective, medically proven treatment for celiac disease.
    WHAT ABOUT ENZYMES, VACCINES, ETC.?
    There is currently no enzyme or vaccine that can replace a gluten-free diet for people with celiac disease.
    There are enzyme supplements currently available, such as AN-PEP, Latiglutetenase, GluteGuard, and KumaMax, which may help to mitigate accidental gluten ingestion by celiacs. KumaMax, has been shown to survive the stomach, and to break down gluten in the small intestine. Latiglutenase, formerly known as ALV003, is an enzyme therapy designed to be taken with meals. GluteGuard has been shown to significantly protect celiac patients from the serious symptoms they would normally experience after gluten ingestion. There are other enzymes, including those based on papaya enzymes.

    Additionally, there are many celiac disease drugs, enzymes, and therapies in various stages of development by pharmaceutical companies, including at least one vaccine that has received financial backing. At some point in the not too distant future there will likely be new treatments available for those who seek an alternative to a lifelong gluten-free diet. 

    For now though, there are no products on the market that can take the place of a gluten-free diet. Any enzyme or other treatment for celiac disease is intended to be used in conjunction with a gluten-free diet, not as a replacement.

    ASSOCIATED DISEASES
    The most common disorders associated with celiac disease are thyroid disease and Type 1 Diabetes, however, celiac disease is associated with many other conditions, including but not limited to the following autoimmune conditions:
    Type 1 Diabetes Mellitus: 2.4-16.4% Multiple Sclerosis (MS): 11% Hashimoto’s thyroiditis: 4-6% Autoimmune hepatitis: 6-15% Addison disease: 6% Arthritis: 1.5-7.5% Sjögren’s syndrome: 2-15% Idiopathic dilated cardiomyopathy: 5.7% IgA Nephropathy (Berger’s Disease): 3.6% Other celiac co-morditities include:
    Crohn’s Disease; Inflammatory Bowel Disease Chronic Pancreatitis Down Syndrome Irritable Bowel Syndrome (IBS) Lupus Multiple Sclerosis Primary Biliary Cirrhosis Primary Sclerosing Cholangitis Psoriasis Rheumatoid Arthritis Scleroderma Turner Syndrome Ulcerative Colitis; Inflammatory Bowel Disease Williams Syndrome Cancers:
    Non-Hodgkin lymphoma (intestinal and extra-intestinal, T- and B-cell types) Small intestinal adenocarcinoma Esophageal carcinoma Papillary thyroid cancer Melanoma CELIAC DISEASE REFERENCES:
    Celiac Disease Center, Columbia University
    Gluten Intolerance Group
    National Institutes of Health
    U.S. National Library of Medicine
    Mayo Clinic
    University of Chicago Celiac Disease Center

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 04/17/2018 - Could the holy grail of gluten-free food lie in special strains of wheat that lack “bad glutens” that trigger the celiac disease, but include the “good glutens” that make bread and other products chewy, spongey and delicious? Such products would include all of the good things about wheat, but none of the bad things that might trigger celiac disease.
    A team of researchers in Spain is creating strains of wheat that lack the “bad glutens” that trigger the autoimmune disorder celiac disease. The team, based at the Institute for Sustainable Agriculture in Cordoba, Spain, is making use of the new and highly effective CRISPR gene editing to eliminate the majority of the gliadins in wheat.
    Gliadins are the gluten proteins that trigger the majority of symptoms for people with celiac disease.
    As part of their efforts, the team has conducted a small study on 20 people with “gluten sensitivity.” That study showed that test subjects can tolerate bread made with this special wheat, says team member Francisco Barro. However, the team has yet to publish the results.
    Clearly, more comprehensive testing would be needed to determine if such a product is safely tolerated by people with celiac disease. Still, with these efforts, along with efforts to develop vaccines, enzymes, and other treatments making steady progress, we are living in exciting times for people with celiac disease.
    It is entirely conceivable that in the not-so-distant future we will see safe, viable treatments for celiac disease that do not require a strict gluten-free diet.
    Read more at Digitaltrends.com , and at Newscientist.com