• Join our community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

  • Ads by Google:
     




    Get email alerts Subscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter

    Ads by Google:



       Get email alertsSubscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter

  • Member Statistics

    74,199
    Total Members
    3,093
    Most Online
    EleanorRiley
    Newest Member
    EleanorRiley
    Joined
  • Announcements

    • Scott Adams

      Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease   04/24/2018

      This Celiac.com FAQ on celiac disease will guide you to all of the basic information you will need to know about the disease, its diagnosis, testing methods, a gluten-free diet, etc.   Subscribe to Celiac.com's FREE weekly eNewsletter   What is Celiac Disease and the Gluten-Free Diet? What are the major symptoms of celiac disease? Celiac Disease Symptoms What testing is available for celiac disease?  Celiac Disease Screening Interpretation of Celiac Disease Blood Test Results Can I be tested even though I am eating gluten free? How long must gluten be taken for the serological tests to be meaningful? The Gluten-Free Diet 101 - A Beginner's Guide to Going Gluten-Free Is celiac inherited? Should my children be tested? Ten Facts About Celiac Disease Genetic Testing Is there a link between celiac and other autoimmune diseases? Celiac Disease Research: Associated Diseases and Disorders Is there a list of gluten foods to avoid? Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List (Unsafe Ingredients) Is there a list of gluten free foods? Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients) Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages Distilled Spirits (Grain Alcohols) and Vinegar: Are they Gluten-Free? Where does gluten hide? Additional Things to Beware of to Maintain a 100% Gluten-Free Diet What if my doctor won't listen to me? An Open Letter to Skeptical Health Care Practitioners Gluten-Free recipes: Gluten-Free Recipes
  • 0

    Van's Simply Delicious Totally Original Gluten-Free Waffles


    Any company that has been around as long as Van's has must be doing something right. For the few of you who don't know of Van's, they are a true pioneer in the prepared, ready-to-eat gluten-free food world. I've known of their products and have been gladly eating them for close to 20 years now, and chances are, so have you. When Van's got in contact with me recently to review one of their top gluten-free waffles, "Van's Simply Delicious Totally Original Gluten-Free Waffles," I jumped at the opportunity.


    Ads by Google:




    ARTICLE CONTINUES BELOW ADS
    Ads by Google:



    Van's Simply Delicious Totally Original Gluten-Free WafflesThe base ingredient of Van's Simply Delicious Totally Original Gluten-Free Waffles is whole grain brown rice, which is probably why just two of these waffles contain a full serving of whole grains. This is great for those of you who, like myself, are trying to reduce cholesterol by eating more fiber. In addition to being gluten-free, these waffles are also egg-, corn-, and dairy-free, which is great for those of you who must also avoid one or more of these ingredients. (In addition to gluten, I also avoid chicken eggs.) A quick look at the ingredients indicates that they also do not contain any artificial flavors or colors, and they are Kosher and free of cholesterol.

    Preparation is as simple as dropping them in a toaster for 3-4 minutes until they are crispy and hot. The true greatness of these waffles becomes apparent with your first bite—they are just like perfect versions of their wheat-based counterpart, and even have a delicate, light texture, yet they hold together perfectly—even with your favorite syrup and toppings. Even though I made them in a toaster they taste just like homemade waffles that came fresh off a hot waffle iron.

    I would recommend Van's Simply Delicious Totally Original Gluten-Free Waffles to anyone, and not just those who avoid gluten. These waffles are truly a cross-over "home run" product that will be enjoyed by everyone who tries them.

    Visit their site for more info: www.vansfoods.com.


     

    Review written by Scott Adams.



    0


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoticons maximum are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • Popular Contributors

  • Ads by Google:

  • Who's Online   3 Members, 0 Anonymous, 222 Guests (See full list)

  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/30/2007 - When I was growing up, one of the favorite things for my brother and I to have for dinner was fish sticks served hot out of the oven along with our favorite French fries.
    Sure, my mom made many healthy and nutritious meals. In fact, much to our chagrin, she favored healthy and nutritious meals, while my brother and I used to beg for things that tasted great and were sure to put a smile on our faces; like warm, crunchy fish sticks.
    Even   through college, every so often, when I was in need of a comfort food fix, I'   head to the store for a box of my favorite fish sticks and a bag of my favorite   French fries, careful to remember the requisite bottle of ketchup.
    So, when I began to follow a gluten-free diet, I thought I'd never again know the joys of sitting down to a plate of piping hot fish sticks.
    Fortunately, Dr. Praeger's feels my pain, and offers relief in the shape of tasty gluten-free fish sticks and fish fillets.
    Dr. Praeger's fish sticks and fillets are tender, crunchy and fill of flavor.
    Best of all, Dr. Praeger's fish sticks are gluten-free. So, next time you get   the hankering for the comfort of a plate of tasty fish sticks, don't let your   gluten-free get you down. Reach for Dr.   Praeger's gluten-free fish stick and fish fillets and satisfy your craving   for fish sticks which still honoring your gluten-free diet.
    About the Author: Jefferson Adams is a freelance health writer who lives in San Francisco and is a frequent author of articles for Celiac.com.


    Dyani Barber
    I just enjoyed the most amazing gluten-free tiramisu, something I've missed since going gluten-free nine years ago!  This traditional Italian dessert from GlutenOut is made in Italy, but amazingly it can be delivered right to your door.  Each layer of the tiramisu was perfect, and it had such a wonderful light and fluffy texture--yet each bite was so wonderfully rich and satisfying.  Each package of the tiramisu held two perfectly proportioned servings which took only a short period of time to defrost. Did I mention that they are also made in a dedicated gluten-free facility?
    More info is at: http://www.byebyegluti.com.



     
     
    Note:Articles thatappearin the "Gluten-Free Food & SpecialtyProduct Companies" section ofthis site are paid advertisements. Formoreinformation about this seeour AdvertisingPage.

    Dyani Barber
    Petit Bites Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Coconut Nibbles are not your traditional coconut macaroon, and maybe that's why I might just consider it my favorite. 
    They have a beautifully golden shell on the outside, and a soft and chewy coconut inside, mixed with enough chocolate chips to satisfy any chocolate lover.  The best part is that I don't feel guilty after indulging in a few.  They are made with only five pure ingredients (sweet potato is actually second on the ingredient list, but you'd never know) and are free from preservatives, trans fats and cholesterol.  They are a must try if you love coconut and chocolate!
     
    For more info visit their site: http://www.petitbite.com/#!products.
     
     
     
    Note: Articles that appear in the "Gluten-Free Food Reviews"  section of this site are paid advertisements. For more information about this see our Advertising Page.

    Advertising Product-Review
    Libre Naturals has made a gluten free granola bar that is hard to resist.  Why do I love these bars so much?  Let me count the ways. 
    For one, these gluten-free chewy granola bars are made in a dedicated gluten-free facility, and contain 55% organic cocoa mini chocolate chips and whole grain certified gluten-free oats.  They use evaporated cane sugar and brown rice syrup to add sweetness that is perfectly sublime, but not overpowering. 
    The bars are crunchy and satisfying. I found them to be a perfect snack anytime of the day.
    For more information visit:  www.librenaturals.com
     
     
     
     
    Review written by Patricia Seeley.

  • Recent Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 05/22/2018 - Proteins are the building blocks of life. If scientists can figure out how to create and grow new proteins, they can create new treatments and cures to a multitude of medical, biological and even environmental conditions.
    For a couple of decades now, scientists have been searching for a biological Rosetta stone that would allow them to engineer proteins with precision, but the problem has remained dauntingly complex.  Researchers had a pretty good understanding of the very simple way that the linear chemical code carried by strands of DNA translates into strings of amino acids in proteins. 
    But, one of the main problems in protein engineering has to do with the way proteins fold into their various three-dimensional structures. Until recently, no one has been able to decipher the rules that will predict how proteins fold into those three-dimensional structures.  So even if researchers were somehow able to design a protein with the right shape for a given job, they wouldn’t know how to go about making it from protein’s building blocks, the amino acids.
    But now, scientists like William DeGrado, a chemist at the University of California, San Francisco, and David Baker, director for the Institute for Protein Design at the University of Washington, say that designing proteins will become at least as important as manipulating DNA has been in the past couple of decades.
    After making slow, but incremental progress over the years, scientists have improved their ability to decipher the complex language of protein shapes. Among other things, they’ve gained a better understanding of how then the laws of physics cause the proteins to snap into folded origami-like structures based on the ways amino acids are attracted or repelled by others many places down the chain.
    It is this new ability to decipher the complex language of protein shapes that has fueled their progress. UCSF’s DeGrado is using these new breakthroughs to search for new medicines that will be more stable, both on the shelf and in the body. He is also looking for new ways to treat Alzheimer’s disease and similar neurological conditions, which result when brain proteins fold incorrectly and create toxic deposits.
    Meanwhile, Baker’s is working on a single vaccine that would protect against all strains of the influenza virus, along with a method for breaking down the gluten proteins in wheat, which could help to generate new treatments for people with celiac disease. 
    With new computing power, look for progress on the understanding, design, and construction of brain proteins. As understanding, design and construction improve, look for brain proteins to play a major role in disease research and treatment. This is all great news for people looking to improve our understanding and treatment of celiac disease.
    Source:
    Bloomberg.com

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 05/21/2018 - Just a year ago, Starbucks debuted their Canadian bacon, egg and cheddar cheese gluten-free sandwich. During that year, the company basked in praise from customers with celiac disease and gluten-sensitivity for their commitment to delivering a safe gluten-free alternative to it’s standard breakfast offerings.
    But that commitment came to an ignoble end recently as Starbucks admitted that their gluten-free sandwich was plagued by  “low sales,” and was simply not sustainable from a company perspective. The sandwich may not have sold well, but it was much-loved by those who came to rely on it.
    With the end of that sandwich came the complaints. Customers on social media were anything but quiet, as seen in numerous posts, tweets and comments pointing out the callous and tone-deaf nature of the announcement which took place in the middle of national Celiac Disease Awareness Month. More than a few posts threatened to dump Starbucks altogether.
    A few of the choice tweets include the following:  
    “If I’m going to get coffee and can’t eat anything might as well be DD. #celiac so your eggbites won’t work for me,” tweeted @NotPerryMason. “They’re discontinuing my @Starbucks gluten-free sandwich which is super sad, but will save me money because I won’t have a reason to go to Starbucks and drop $50 a week,” tweeted @nwillard229. Starbucks is not giving up on gluten-free entirely, though. The company will still offer several items for customers who prefer gluten-free foods, including Sous Vide Egg Bites, a Marshmallow Dream Bar and Siggi’s yogurt.
    Stay tuned to learn more about Starbucks gluten-free foods going forward.

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 05/19/2018 - Looking for a nutritious, delicious meal that is both satisfying and gluten-free? This tasty quinoa salad is just the thing for you. Easy to make and easy to transport to work. This salad of quinoa and vegetables gets a rich depth from chicken broth, and a delicious tang from red wine vinegar. Just pop it in a container, seal and take it to work or school. Make the quinoa a day or two ahead as needed. Add or subtract veggies as you like.
    Ingredients:
    1 cup red quinoa, rinsed well ½ cup water ½ cup chicken broth 2 radishes, thinly sliced 1 small bunch fresh pea sprouts 1 small Persian cucumber, diced 1 small avocado, ripe, sliced into chunks Cherry or grape tomatoes Fresh sunflower seeds 2 tablespoons red wine vinegar  Kosher salt, freshly ground pepper Directions:
    Simmer quinoa in water and chicken broth until tender.
    Dish into bowls.
    Top with veggies, salt and pepper, and sunflower seeds. 
    Splash with red wine vinegar and enjoy!

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 05/18/2018 - Across the country, colleges and universities are rethinking the way they provide food services for students with food allergies and food intolerance. In some cases, that means major renovations. In other cases, it means creating completely new dining and food halls. To document both their commitment and execution of gluten-free and allergen-free dining, these new food halls are frequently turning to auditing and accreditation firms, such as Kitchens with Confidence.
    The latest major player to make the leap to allergen-free dining is Syracuse University. The university’s Food Services recently earned an official gluten-free certification from Kitchens with Confidence for four of the University’s dining centers, with the fifth soon to follow.
    To earn the gluten-free certification from Kitchens with Confidence, food services must pass a 41 point audit process that includes 200 control check points. The food service must also agree to get any new food item approved in advance, and to submit to monthly testing of prep surfaces, to furnish quarterly reports, and to provide information on any staffing changes, recalls or incident reports. Kitchens with Confidence representatives also conduct annual inspections of each dining center.
    Syracuse students and guests eating at Ernie Davis, Shaw, Graham and Sadler dining centers can now choose safe, reliable gluten-free food from a certified gluten-free food center. The fifth dining center, Brockway, is currently undergoing renovations scheduled for completion by fall, when Brockway will also receive its certification.
    Syracuse Food Services has offered a gluten-free foods in its dining centers for years. According to Jamie Cyr, director of Auxiliary Services, the university believes that the independent Gluten-Free Certification from Kitchens with Confidence will help ease the anxiety for parents and students.”
    Syracuse is understandably proud of their accomplishment. According to Mark Tewksbury, director of residence dining operations, “campus dining centers serve 11,000 meals per day and our food is made fresh daily. Making sure that it is nutritious, delicious and safe for all students is a top priority.”
    Look for more colleges and universities to follow in the footsteps of Syracuse and others that have made safe, reliable food available for their students with food allergies or sensitivities.
    Read more.

    Zyana Morris
    Celiac.com 05/17/2018 - Celiac disease is not one of the most deadly diseases out there, but it can put you through a lot of misery. Also known as coeliac, celiac disease is an inherited immune disorder. What happens is that your body’s immune system overreacts to gluten and damages the small intestine. People who suffer from the disease cannot digest gluten, a protein found in grain such as rye, barley, and wheat. 
    While it may not sound like a severe complication at first, coeliac can be unpleasant to deal with. What’s worse is it would lower your body’s capacity to absorb minerals and vitamins. Naturally, the condition would cause nutritional deficiencies. The key problem that diagnosing celiac is difficult and takes take longer than usual. Surprisingly, the condition has over 200 identified symptoms.
    More than three million people suffer from the coeliac disease in the United States alone. Even though diagnosis is complicated, there are symptoms that can help you identify the condition during the early stages to minimize the damage. 
    Here is how you can recognize the main symptoms of celiac disease:
    Diarrhea
    In various studies conducted over years, the most prominent symptom of celiac disease is chronic diarrhea.
    People suffering from the condition would experience loose watery stools that can last for up to four weeks after they stop taking gluten. Diarrhea can also be a symptom of food poisoning and other conditions, which is why it makes it difficult to diagnose coeliac. In certain cases, celiac disease can take up to four years to establish a sound diagnosis.
    Vomiting
    Another prominent symptom is vomiting.  
    When accompanied by diarrhea, vomiting can be a painful experience that would leave you exhausted. It also results in malnutrition and the patient experiences weight loss (not in a good way though). If you experience uncontrolled vomiting, report the matter to a physician to manage the condition.
    Bloating
    Since coeliac disease damages the small intestine, bloating is another common system. This is due to inflammation of the digestive tract. In a study with more than a 1,000 participants, almost 73% of the people reported bloating after ingesting gluten. 
    Bloating can be managed by eliminating gluten from the diet which is why a gluten-free diet is necessary for people suffering from celiac disease.
    Fatigue
    Constant feeling of tiredness and low energy levels is another common symptom associated with celiac disease. If you experience a lack of energy after in taking gluten, then you need to consult a physician to diagnose the condition. Now fatigue can also result from inefficient thyroid function, infections, and depression (a symptom of the coeliac disease). However, almost 51% of celiac patients suffer from fatigue in a study.
    Itchy Rash
    Now the chances of getting a rash after eating gluten are slim, but the symptom has been associated with celiac disease in the past. The condition can cause dermatitis herpetiformis, which causes a blistering skin rash that occurs around the buttocks, knees, and elbows. 
    A study found out that almost 17% of patients suffering from celiac disease might develop dermatitis herpetiformis due to lack of right treatment. Make sure you schedule an online appointment with your dermatologist or visit the nearest healthcare facility to prevent worsening of symptoms.
    Even with such common symptoms, diagnosing the condition is imperative for a quick recovery and to mitigate the long-term risks associated with celiac disease. 
    Sources:
    ncbi.nlm.nih.gov  Celiac.com ncbi.nlm.nih.gov  mendfamily.com