Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


  • Join Our Community!

    Get help in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Jefferson Adams

    Gluten-Free Hard Seltzers Make a Splash on the Drinking Scene

    Jefferson Adams
    1 1
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.   eNewsletter: Get our eNewsletter

      Move over craft beers, hard seltzer is the new drink on the scene. The best part is that most hard seltzers are gluten-free, and lower in alcohol and calories than most traditional beers.


    Caption: Bodega Bay Hard Seltzers. Image: CC BY-SA 4.0--Charliemarkland

    Celiac.com 03/26/2020 - Hard seltzers are the new drink on the scene, and many are gluten-free. Most of these products are brewed on premises by small breweries, and so not intended for mass consumption. So, brands like Stray Forth, and K4 may not be household names yet, but the market is thirsty enough to see a small explosion of hard seltzers in breweries around the country, especially in the midwest. You can experience the phenomenon in many small brew pubs across the nation, in places like Kinney Creek in Rochester, Minnesota.

    In addition to being gluten-free, hard ciders are lower alcohol than traditional beers, with fewer calories. They also come in novel flavors, like Root Beer, Citrus, Spicy Pineapple, Margarita, Strawberry Lemonade, and many more. The combination of novelty and fewer calories makes them a strong alternative choice among younger drinkers.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):




    Many, like Kinney Creek seltzers are also gluten-free. “I believe this is a new generation of drinkers that want something a bit lighter on the calories and carbs that you see in traditional beer styles,” says Kinney Creek owner and head brewer Donovan Seitz.

    Seitz adds that the growing popularity of hard seltzers, along with the need to produce products that were vegan and gluten-free, "made it an easy decision to brew a malt beverage that is gluten-free and vegan-friendly."

    Kinney Creek is located at 1016 7th St. NW, Rochester, MN, and produces 13 different hard seltzers, all of which are gluten-free and vegan.

    So far, the seltzers have been a major success at Kinney Creek. According to Seitz, “When we started selling them in October, we really had no idea what to expect. Today, it has added a noticeable increase in regular beer sales and the seltzers now have their own dedicated production space in the brewery, so we can keep up with demand. Rochester loves the hard seltzers.”

    What do you think? Have you tried gluten-free hard ciders yet? Curious? Share your comments below.

    For more information about hard seltzer brewers, check out Postbulletin.com

     

    1 1

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/25/2019 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.
    Gluten-Free Beer
    In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/20/2015 - Most all gins and whiskeys, and many vodkas, are distilled from grain. While many people with celiac disease and gluten-intolerance can drink them with no adverse effects, many others cannot.
    These brands of gin, whiskey and vodka are made with gluten-free ingredients, and safe for people with celiac disease and wheat sensitivity.
    So anyone...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/14/2016 - It's almost October, and that means beer, or, at least it means Oktoberfest is near. And in so many ways, gluten-free beer lovers have never had it better, with dozens of selections now available commercially, and more on the way every month, it seems.
    So grab a beer, and celebrate Oktoberfest. But before we get to the list of beer purveyors, let's quickly...

    Jefferson Adams
    12/13/2018 - Is wine gluten-free? Wine Spectator recently weighed in on gluten and wine. The article is worth a read, and there’s a link at the bottom of this page. Meantime, here’s a quick rundown of the basics of wine and gluten.
    Wine is generally regarded as gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease and other gluten-related sensitivities. That said, there are ...