Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Great Gluten-Free Cocktails with Absolut Vodka

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Looking for some great gluten-free Absolut vodka cocktail recipes? Look no further.

    Great Gluten-Free Cocktails with Absolut Vodka - Image: CC BY-SA 2.0-- jessica.diamond
    Caption: Image: CC BY-SA 2.0-- jessica.diamond

    Celiac.com 03/31/2021 - Even with a clear declaration by the FDA that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free, we still get a lot of questions about alcohol, and cocktails. Specifically, which brands of alcohol and what type of cocktails are gluten-free.

    We especially get a lot of questions about gluten-free cocktails with Absolut vodka. Since all vodkas are are distilled, and therefor gluten-free, these recipes can also apply to those brands. Remember, unless you specifically add something to the vodka that contains gluten, any cocktail you make with it will be gluten-free.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Here are some great gluten-free cocktail recipes to make with Absolut vodka.

    For more great gluten-free Absolut vodka cocktail recipes, check out the Absolut website.

    Gluten-Free Absolut Vodka Tonic

    Ingredients:

    • Ice Cubes
    • 1½ Parts Absolut Vodka
    • 5 Parts Tonic Water
    • 1 Wedge Lime

    How to mix

    • Fill a highball glass with ice cubes. 
    • Add all ingredients. 
    • Garnish with a lime wedge.

    Gluten-Free Absolut Vodka & Soda

    Ingredients:

    • Ice Cubes
    • 1⅓ Parts Absolut Vodka
    • 5 Parts Soda Water
    • 1 Spiral Grapefruit Zest

    How to mix

    • Fill a rocks glass with ice cubes. 
    • Add all ingredients. 
    • Garnish with a twist of lime, lemon or a grapefruit zest.

    Gluten-Free Absolut Vodka Collins

    Ingredients:

    • Ice Cubes
    • 1½ Parts Absolut Vodka
    • 1 Part Lemon Juice
    • ⅔ Part Simple Syrup
    • Soda Water
    • 1 Whole Cherry
    • 2 Wedges Orange

    How to mix

    • Fill a shaker with ice cubes. 
    • Add Absolut Vodka, lemon juice and simple syrup. 
    • Shake and strain into a highball glass. 
    • Top up with soda water. 
    • Garnish with a cherry and two wedges of orange or grapefruit.

    Gluten-Free Absolut Moscow Mule

    Ingredients:

    • Ice Cubes
    • 1½ Parts Absolut Vodka
    • ½ Part Lime Juice
    • Ginger Beer
    • 1 Wedge Lime

    How to mix

    • Fill a mule mug with ice cubes. 
    • Add Absolut Vodka and lime juice. 
    • Top up with ginger beer. 
    • Garnish with a lime wedge.

    Gluten-Free Absolut Vodka Martini

    Ingredients:

    • Ice Cubes
    • 1½ Parts Absolut Vodka
    • ¼ Part Dry Vermouth
    • 1 Twist Lemon Zest
    • 1 Whole Green Olive

    How to mix

    • Fill a mixing glass with ice cubes. 
    • Add all ingredients. 
    • Stir and strain into a cocktail glass. 
    • Garnish with a twisted lemon zest and a green olive.


    Gluten-Free Absolut Bloody Mary

    Ingredients:

    • 1½ Parts Absolut Vodka
    • 4 Parts Tomato Juice
    • 1 Part Horseradish
    • 4 Dashes Hot Sauce
    • ⅓ Part Worcestershire Sauce
    • ⅓ Part Lemon Juice
    • 1 Wedge Lemon
    • 1 Stick Celery

    How to mix

    • Fill a mixing glass with ice cubes. 
    • Add all ingredients. 
    • Stir and pour into a highball glass. 
    • Garnish with a lemon wedge and a celery stick

    Did we miss one of your favorite gluten-free cocktails? Share it in the comments below.


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/05/2020 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.
    Gluten-Free Beer
    In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beers made with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.
    Gluten-Removed Beer
    A number of beers are treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These beers are typically filtered to remove any stray proteins. Such beers can be labeled Gluten-Free in EU, but not in Canada or the US.
    Distilled Spirits
    Distillation removes gluten proteins from the final product, and starting 9/14/2020 distilled alcohols can be labelled "gluten-free" no matter their source. That means all distilled spirits are technically gluten-free. However, some people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity have adverse reactions to spirits distilled from wheat, barley or rye. Many people with celiac disease have no problems at all with such spirits. The best advice we can give is to trust your gut. Avoid eating or drinking things that upset your stomach. However, unless they have added gluten ingredients, such spirits do not contain gluten, and are safe to drink. If you tolerate them well, you can be comforted by the fact that they are likely just as safe as spirits made from gluten-free ingredients and labeled 'Gluten-Free."
    Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Spirits, Beers and Wines include:
    Naturally Gluten-free Beers
    Anheuser-Busch Redbridge Bard's Gold Bard's Tale Beer Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche Brunehaut Bio Ambrée Brunehaut Blonde Bio Brunehaut Blanche Burning Brothers Brewing Coors Peak Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale Departed Soles Brewing Company Drummond Gluten Free Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator Ghostfish Brewery Glutenberg American Pale Ale Glutenberg Blonde Glutenberg Belgian Double Glutenberg India Pale Ale Glutenberg Rousse Green's Discovery Amber Ale Green's Endeavour Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager Green's India Pale Ale Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale Ground Breaker IPA No. 5 Ground Breaker Dark Ale Holidaily Brewing Company Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free Mongozo Premium Pilsener New Planet Belgian Style Ale New Planet Blonde Ale New Planet Pale Ale New Planet Raspberry Ale New Planet Seclusion IPA New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale Nickel Brook Gluten Free Nouvelle France La Messagère Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free Whistler Forager Gluten-Removed Beers
    Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch Brunehaut Bio Tripel Estrella Damm Daura Estrella Damm Daura Marzen Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales Short's Brewing Space Rock Stone Delicious IPA Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager Widmer Omission Lager Widmer Omission IPA Widmer Omission Pale Ale Wold Top Against The Grain Wold Top Marmalade Porter Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA Gluten-Free Hard Cider
    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!
    Brands of Gluten-Free Hard Cider
    Ace Ciders
    Angry Orchard
    Blue Mountain Cider Company
    Blackthorn Cider
    Bulmer's Hard Cider
    Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
    Gaymer Cider Company
    Harpoon Craft Cider
    J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
    Lazy Jack's Cider
    Magner's Cider
    Newton's Folly Hard Cider
    Original Sin Hard Cider
    Spire Mountain Draft Cider
    Strongbow Cider
    Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
    Woodchuck
    Woodpecker Cider
    Is Wine Gluten-Free?
    All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.
    Is Gin Gluten-Free?
    Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Brands of Gluten-Free Gin
    Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes  Brands of Standard Gin
    Aviation American Gin Beefeater Bombay Bombay Sapphire Boodles British Gin Booth's Gin  Gordon's Leopolds Gin New Amsterdam Gin Seagram's Tanqueray Is Rum Gluten-Free?
    Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.
    Brands of Gluten-Free Rum
    Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored Bayou Rum Bundaberg Rum Captain Morgan Rum Cruzan Rum Malibu Rum Montanya Distillers Mount Gay Rum Meyer's Rum Gluten-Free Sake
    Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.
    Is Tequila Gluten-Free?
    Distilled from the agave cactus, all 100% agave tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.
    Brands of Gluten-free Tequila
    1519 Tequila 1800 Tequila Cabo Wabo Casamigos Cazadores Chimayo Don Julio El Jimador Herradura Hornitos Jose Cuervo Patrón Sauza Is Vodka Gluten-Free?
    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.
    Brands of Naturally Gluten-Free Vodka
    Broken Shed Vodka Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac Rice Vodka—Kissui Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Vodkas distilled from cereal grains
    Barley Vodka—Finlandia Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,  Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka Gluten-Free Whiskey Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.
    Gluten-free Whiskey Brands
    Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum Gold Spur Corn Whiskey by Cowboy Country Distilling is made with corn, millet and oats Whiskeys Distilled from Cereal Grains
    Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal, Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel. Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,  Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker  Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic Are Wine Coolers Gluten-Free?
    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products, and so contain gluten. There are a few exceptions.
    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers
    Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages Boones - all EXCEPT malt beverages Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits
    Brandy Campari Champagne Cognac—made from grapes Cointreau Grappa Jaegermeister Midori Prosecco Khalua Coffee Liquer Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur) Old Deadly Cider Sambuca Vermouth Gluten-Free Drink Mixes
    Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape) Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape) Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri. TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix. Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol
    Club Tom Collins—made with corn Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes Mead—made from honey Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane Ouzo - made from grapes and anise Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice Additives Are Sometimes Used in Alcohols/Spirits
    Certain spirits use chemical additives and preservatives such as glycerin to create a specific "mouth feel" and texture in an alcoholic beverage. Propylene glycol is used in foods and spirits, and although these ingredients are gluten-free, some people do have allergic reactions to them. Sulfites are often added to red wines, and many people are allergic to them. 


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “We commend FDA for this consumer-friendly ruling that will allow ‘gluten-free’ labelling claims to be included on distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains, and urge TTB to act swiftly to align policies allowing the same for distilled spirits products."
    Text of the new FDA ruling reads, in part:
    The change means that manufacturers of distilled foods and beverages can now label their products as gluten-free without explanations about their gluten removal process.
    Gluten-free marketing has long been an issue of contention among regulatory bodies, people with celiac disease, and experts, with most scientists agreeing that the distillation process removes gluten from the final product. Health professionals and celiac support groups, like Celiac.com, and Coeliac UK, have long advised that distilled spirits are gluten-free and safe for celiacs on a gluten-free diet.
    Swonger said that “Allowing distillers to include a "gluten-free" statement on products made from gluten-containing grains will provide additional clarity for consumers to make informed choices about which products meet their dietary needs.”
    The rule will take effect on September 14, 2020.
    Read the full text at FDA.gov  Read more at thespiritbusiness.com Resources:
    Here are some of the most common questions about gluten-free alcoholic beverages. Here's a helpful list of Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 03/10/2021 - Even though the FDA recently confirmed that all distilled spirits, including rum, are gluten-free, we get a lot of questions from celiac community members wondering if certain brands and products are gluten-free. One question we see a lot is about Malibu Rum. Specifically, is Malibu Rum gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    This is logical as some ingredients added to flavor distilled alcohol can include gluten. Original Malibu Rum is just rum liqueur flavored with coconut. All distilled rum is gluten-free, unless gluten is added after distillation, which is very rare. According to the Malibu website, the company does "not add any known gluten ingredients in Malibu Original or in any of the Malibu Flavors.” The only allergen listed it coconut, which is a tree nut.
    The short answer is that Original Malibu Rum is considered gluten-free and safe for celiacs. The same is true for other Malibu Rum flavors, and associated Malibu Rum products, including Malibu Splash, Malibu Cans, Malibu Pouches. 
    Still, always be careful with any pre-made drink mixes that contain rum, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients. Read labels and choose carefully.
    Malibu Rum's Gluten-Free By Ingredient Products:
    Malibu Rum Malibu Original Malibu Watermelon Malibu Lime Malibu Strawberry Malibu Pineapple Malibu Mango Malibu Passion Fruit Malibu Tropical Banana Malibu Black Malibu Red Malibu Splash Strawberry Malibu Splash Lime Malibu Splash Passion Fruit Malibu Splash Pineapple Malibu Fizzy Pink Lemonade Malibu Strawberry Kiwi Malibu Fizzy Mango Malibu Pina Colada Malibu Pineapple Malibu Rum Punch Pouches Malibu Blue Hawaiian Pouches Lastly, Malibu makes a coconut-flavored beer that is NOT gluten-free, so be careful with that.
     


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 03/19/2021 - Even in light of the FDA ruling that all distilled alcohol is gluten-free, we get lots of questions about alcohol, especially flavored alcohols, such as Malibu Rum. We recently did an article clarifying that Malibu Rum is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. 
    In celebration of the end of winter and the approach of warm weather cocktail season, we'll be looking to include some great gluten-free cocktail recipes for you to enjoy all spring and summer long.
    Here are some great gluten-free cocktails that you can make with Malibu Rum Original, and with other Malibu flavors. You can find more gluten-free rum cocktail recipes at the Malibu Rum website.
    Some Great Gluten-Free Cocktails with Malibu Rum:
    Malibu Piña Colada
    Ingredients:
    1 part Malibu Original 1½ parts Pineapple juice ½ part Coconut cream To Mix:
    Pour everything into a shaker with ice. Shake well, pour and enjoy! Malibu Coconut Water Piña Colada
    For anyone looking for a low calories version of the classic Piña Colada, this is your drink.
    Ingredients:
    1½ part Malibu Original 1½ part Coconut water 2 part Pineapple juice ½ part Fresh lime juice To Mix:
    Pour all ingredients into an ice-filled shaker. Shake well and strain into a chilled glass filled with ice cubes. Top up with pineapple juice and a slice of pineapple. Malibu Lime Frozen Daiquiri
    Ingredients:
    1 part Malibu Lime ½ part Fresh lime juice ½ part Simple syrup (if using Rose's Lime Juice, mix one to one with Malibu Lime) To Mix:
    Blend all ingredients in a blender with ice. Pour into a cocktail glass and top with a slice of lime. Serve immediately. Malibu Mojito
    Ingredients:
    1 part Malibu Original ⅓ part Fresh lime juice 3 parts Soda water 10 Mint leaves To Mix:
    Muddle the mint leaves and lime juice in a glass. Add ice. Add Malibu Original and top with soda water. Stir gently and serve. Malibu & Pineapple
    Ingredients:
    1 part Malibu Original 2 parts Pineapple juice To Mix:
    Pour everything into a glass with ice. Enjoy! Malibu Bay Breeze
    Ingredients:
    1 part Malibu Original 1 part Cranberry juice 1 part Pineapple juice To Mix:
    Pour all the ingredients into a glass with ice. Stir gently. Top with sliced pineapple or other fruit. Malibu Lemonade
    For anyone looking to put a spin on the classic Tom Collins, try this version.
    Ingredients:
    1 part Malibu Original ⅓ part Lemon juice 2 parts Soda water To Mix:
    Fill a glass with ice cubes. Add Malibu, Fresh Lemon juice and Soda Water. Top off with a wedge of lemon.
     


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...