Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Jefferson Adams
    Jefferson Adams

    Holidaily Gluten-free Brewery Opens in Coors' Backyard

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.
    Holidaily Gluten-free Brewery Opens in Coors' Backyard - Holidaily Brewing Company, Golden Colorado.
    Caption: Holidaily Brewing Company, Golden Colorado.

    Celiac.com 03/08/2016 - A tiny new brewery, the 3,000-square-foot, totally gluten-free, Holidaily Brewing Company is now open in Golden, Colorado, home to beer industry giant Coors.

    Holidaily Gluten-free BreweryHolidaily will brew all of its beers without barley or wheat, free from gluten and the component proteins that can adversely affect people with celiac disease or gluten intolerance.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Holidaily joins a handful of other small Colorado breweries producing gluten-free beers, including New Planet Beer in Boulder and Great Frontier Brewing Co. in Lakewood. And, several major brewers make gluten-free beers, including Anheuser-Busch, maker of gluten-free Redbridge Ale, and Widmer Brothers Brewing, makers of gluten-free Omission beer.

    However, Holidaily is Colorado's only dedicated, gluten-free brewing facility, and just the the 5th in the United States. That means there is no gluten ingredients anywhere on the premises, so there is no chance of cross-contamination.

    Operations at Holidaily are overseen by head brewer Wayne Burns, who was quoted in Craftbeer.com saying: "The key to the deliciousness of our beer is high quality ingredients and knowledgeable employees. We use the finest locally sourced, malted, gluten-free grains as the base for our beers."

    In a statement on the website, owner Karen Hertz says that Holidaily is out not just to sell beer, but to actually improve "the lives of people who have likely been sick with a wide range of symptoms. We are on a mission to give people a good, gluten-free beer drinking experience. It's really about so much more than beer."

    Currently, Holidaily beers include Favorite Blonde Ale, which has an A.B.V. of 5%, and is made with American Ale Yeast, Bravo, Cascade, Centennial Hops, and Pale Millet, Pale Buckwheat and Munich Millet supplied locally by Grouse Malting and Roasting in Wellington, Colorado.

    In their taproom, Holidaily also offers two other specialty craft brews, Riva Stout A.B.V 6.75%, and Fat Randy's IPA, A.B.V 7%. Holidaily Brewing Co.'s brewery and tasting room are located in Golden, Co. at 801 Brickyard Circle.

    Have you tried any of the Holidaily beers? Would you? Share your thoughts below.

    Find out more about Holidaily beers at Holidaily.com.

    Read more at: RockyMountainBrewRuns.com and at BizJournals.com.



    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    People need to be aware that not all beers labeled as gluten-free are truly gluten-free. For example Omission beer, listed in this article, is made with gluten ingredients but then supposedly the gluten is removed but it's very likely a good amount of gluten remains. For Celiacs, this is obviously not good. This is a gluten-reduced beer, NOT a gluten-free beer.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    People need to be aware that not all beers labeled as gluten-free are truly gluten-free. For example Omission beer, listed in this article, is made with gluten ingredients but then supposedly the gluten is removed but it's very likely a good amount of gluten remains. For Celiacs, this is obviously not good. This is a gluten-reduced beer, NOT a gluten-free beer.

    Omission is tested to be sure it is gluten-free.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    People need to be aware that not all beers labeled as gluten-free are truly gluten-free. For example Omission beer, listed in this article, is made with gluten ingredients but then supposedly the gluten is removed but it's very likely a good amount of gluten remains. For Celiacs, this is obviously not good. This is a gluten-reduced beer, NOT a gluten-free beer.

    Not true. Omission is made with wheat and barley ingredients, but is filtered to remove gluten, contains under 20 ppm gluten. Omission routinely tests their products, and they routinely test under they 20ppm gluten allowed by the FDA. They cannot label Omission "Gluten-Free," due to FDA restrictions, but it does meet FDA standards in terms of gluten content.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Frederik Willem Janssen is head of the Chemistry Department, Food Inspection Service in Zutphen, and a subsidiary of the Inspector of Health Protection (similar to the FDA in America). Their lab has a special interest in.... modified gluten, edible packaging materials (which may contain gluten), and detection of hidden gluten in foods, including the development of improved detection methods. He is also a member of the Medical/Scientific Advisory Committee of the Dutch Celiac Society.
    Distillation quite effectively removes the gluten and it is very unlikely that splashes of fermented (we call it "moutwijn", i.e. malt wine, can't remember the correct English word for it) will be carried over to the final distillate. If they are present they must have been added afterwards. A couple of years ago we analyzed some distilled liquor for presence of gluten proteins but we couldn't detect any in this set (about 40 different types). The beer test, which consisted of a set of 50 different brands, showed that most brands (35) did contain immunoreactive protein in amounts between 1 and 200 mg/liter. Only 15 contained less than 1 mg/liter. There was a strong correlation between the gluten content and whether wheat had been used as an ingredient!
    I found a report in a periodical by the Flemish Celiac Society of an investigation that was published in 1992 about immunological determination of gluten in beer and some distilled liquor. This confirmed our findings that the gluten content of beer is quite variable (the authors found levels from zero to 400 mg /liter gluten).
    They did find gluten in distilled liquor! The levels varied from zero to 200-mg gluten/liter. The highest amount was found in a "Creme de Framboise" (200 mg/liter) but second was a French brandy VSOP with a score of 180 m g/liter. A Dutch gin was negative, which might be an indication that gluten in these type of liquor is not a carry over to the distillate! My guess is that this gluten is derived from the caramel coloring, though there is no proof about this yet. I always advise sensitive patients to abstain from brown colored liquor!
    I would like to stress that the determination of gluten in these types of products is very unreliable and we have to count with false positive as well as false negative values. The gluten proteins could have been broken down to small (but still toxic) peptides and in that case a sandwich-type ELISA might produce false negative results because in that case you always need to two epitopes (binding sites for the antiserum) on one molecule to get a positive reaction. A competitive type assay would be the choice for this type of product, but we haven't tried this type of analysis yet. We did use it on a soy sauce, which was prepared with wheat gluten and didn't find any gliadin, which might be an indication that gluten had been broken down to very small peptides with less than one binding site.
    Best wishes,
    Frederik Willem Janssen, Zutpen, The Netherlands. 
     


    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 07/12/2004 - There have been numerous claims that traditional barley-based beers are gluten free or that all beers are gluten free. Unfortunately, the area is very grey and substantiated on technicalities. The purpose of this post is to eliminate the confusion about gluten as it relates to beer. Gluten is an umbrella term used to describe a mixture of individual proteins found in many grains. Celiac disease (celiac sprue or gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity) is an autoimmune disorder that is triggered by the ingestion of some of these glutens. People with classic celiac disease are intolerant to the gluten proteins found in wheat, barley, rye, spelt and a couple other lesser known grains. All these grains have a relative of the gluten protein. Interestingly, corn, rice and sorghum also have gluten proteins but are not toxic to celiacs. Herein lies one of the fundamental problems; the use of the term gluten intolerance to cover only certain gluten containing grains is confusing for consumers and food manufacturers alike. Unfortunately, it seems that the inertia for using celiac disease and gluten intolerance as synonyms is unstoppable. Therefore, it becomes the responsibility of both consumers and manufacturers to make sure the terms being discussed are defined and understood.
    As this relates to beer, there is a gluten protein found in barley. This protein is known as hordein. Wheat gluten is known as gliadin. Rye gluten is known as secalin. Presently, assay tests (or lab tests) are only commercially available for the testing of gliadin. We are unaware of any tests for hordein or any manufacturer that presently tests for hordein (Note: If you know of anyone that does in fact test specifically for hordein, please let us know). Therefore the idea that a barley based beer can be considered gluten free based upon the lack of testing is very difficult to fathom. It should be understood that a company using an assay test for gliadin to test for hordein will not return accurate results.
    There has been widespread speculation that the brewing process eliminates these hordein proteins making all beers gluten-free. Although commercial assay tests for hordein are not available there is conclusive evidence that the brewing process does not degrade hordein to non-toxic levels. A research study in Australia on improving beer haze shows that hordein is still present in beer after the brewing process (http://www.regional.org.au/au/abts/1999/sheehan.htm). Therefore, claims that hordein or gluten is destroyed in the brewing process is unsubstantiated and clearly, based upon the Australian research, is highly questionable.
    Based upon the continuous claims by beer companies that beers are gluten free, it is clear that the issue is misunderstood and, as always, it is up to the consumer to educate them on the facts. Hopefully, the information provided here will give consumers and manufacturers alike the ability to discuss these gluten issues intelligently and effectively.
    About the author: Kevin Seplowitz is the President and Co-founder of the Bards Tale Research Company, LLC and organization that researches the correlations between nutrition, diet, and autoimmune disorders. Bards Tale Research owns and operates Bards Tale Beer Company, LLC (www.bardsbeer.com) a company that develops commercial gluten-free beers. Mr. Seplowitz is a diagnosed Celiac.


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 05/04/2011 - Agriculture officials in Colorado looking to increase millet sales are turning to beer-brewers for help. At present, millet makes up just a fraction of the cereal grains sold in the U.S. Each year, America produces just $50 million worth of millet, compared to several billion dollars worth of wheat, according to the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
    Millet represents an opportunity to increase revenue for rural Colorado businesses, according to Timothy Larsen, senior international marketing specialist for the state agriculture department. He adds that agriculture needs to nurture numerous niche markets in order to expand.
    Colorado produces about 60 percent of all millet produced in the U.S. production, about 200,000 acres of millet. The millet can be rotated with wheat, which grows on about 2 million acres. Commonly used as birdseed, Colorado agriculture officials have been promoting millet's gluten-free qualities, and working with Colorado State University to develop recipes using millet.
    Hoping to create an entirely new business sector officials are asking the Colorado Malting Co. to ship malted samples to Colorado-based brewers so they can experiment with millet-based beers. The company is currently preparing about 6,000 pounds of millet from the Fort Morgan area — 2,000 pounds each of three varieties — for commercial brewers this spring.
    The company recently finished malting golden German millet, which, according to co-owner Jason Cody, yielded some impressive nutty flavors.
    Pedro Gonzalez, co-founder of gluten-free beer company New Planet Beer, said he's eager to see if the brewers his company works with can find a recipe that appeals to customers the way some millet-based imports do. New Planet's existing beers primarily use sorghum, corn and brown rice, along with ingredients such as raspberry puree and molasses to add flavor.
    Because people's taste-buds are geared toward malted barley, and the gluten, and the proteins that make beer thick and full-bodied, working without barley can be a challenge.
    "When you choose not to have barley or wheat in your beer, then you lose those qualities, says Gonzalez."
    Being able to use Colorado-grown millet will help New Planet meet its company mission of being environmentally responsible by using ingredients that don't have to be shipped far, Gonzalez said.
    Among the establishments scheduled to participate in the millet-beer experiment are Eddyline Restaurant and Brewing Co., in Buena Vista, Pagosa Brewing Co. in Pagosa Springs. Eddyline head brewer Scott Kimball won't promise his customers a millet beer until he knows how it tastes. Pagosa Springs head brewer Tony Simmons says malted millet presents "an opportunity where if we have a gluten-free beer that actually tastes good, let's try it," adding that he's done some home-brewing with millet, and that he's "a big fan."
    The project is being made possible in part by a $42,000 USDA grant to help Colorado's millet industry market itself, domestically and overseas.
    Source:

     http://www.greenfieldreporter.com/view/story/c03f9954de0b4eaf8514c5eeb1dba418/CO--Colorado-Millet-Beer/


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/18/2013 - If you brew a bunch of beer using traditional wheat and barley, then add enzymes to break down gluten proteins so that the final product tests negative for gluten, is the beer actually gluten-free? Should it be labeled as gluten-free?
    Many brewmasters, and some with celiac disease say 'yes.' Others, including government regulators say 'no.'
    That's the root of the big fight brewing between Oregon brewmasters at Craft Brew Alliance and U.S. government regulators over what kinds of beer can and cannot be labeled gluten-free.
    On the one hand, numerous brewmasters are now brewing beer with traditional barley, and then using an enzymatic process to break down the gluten proteins so that the final product has no detectable levels of gluten.
    Some regulators, and some gluten-free beer drinkers accept this approach, some do not. The U.S. government does not, and federal alcohol regulators have barred Craft Brew from calling Omission "gluten-free" outside Oregon. Currently, Craft Brew Alliance can label their Omission beers as 'gluten-free' only in Oregon, Canada, and Denmark.
    However, the regulators have said that the company can label their product as 'gluten-removed,' rather than gluten-free.'
    U.S. regulators argue that labeling beers made with wheat and/or barley as 'gluten-free' is likely to mislead consumers. They also add concerns about the small fragments of gluten that do remain in the final product. There simply isn't enough evidence to show that these beers are safe for people with celiac disease in the same way that beers made from gluten-free ingredients are safe.
    Recent tests by Canada's public health agency did show gluten fragments in beers from Spain and Belgium that use a gluten-removal process similar to the one used by Craft Brew for Omission beers. It's unclear whether the fragments are a health concern, Health Canada spokeswoman Blossom Leung said via email.
    In fact, some gluten-free individuals have had reactions that they attribute to such beers, though others have not. Could this be a sensitivity to the broken-down fragments of gluten protein? That important question remains unanswered.
    In the U.S., all sides are currently awaiting new rules by the FDA, which should provide labeling guidance for such cases.
    Since 2007, the FDA has considered allowing foods with less than 20 parts per million of gluten to be labeled "gluten-free." But its final proposal, now under review by the OMB, would prohibit such labeling on foods where no valid test exists to determine safety.
    Under such a rule, beers like Omission could not be labeled as 'gluten-free,' but could be labels as 'gluten-removed.' Craft Beers calls that part of the prospective rule "unnecessarily rigid."
    What do you think? Have you tried these kinds of beers? Do you support labeling them gluten-free, or should they be labeled 'gluten-removed?' Do we need to know more about possible adverse effects from these kinds of beers before we can say for sure?


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...