Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Get help in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Lauren Lindsey
    Lauren Lindsey

    How to Safely Order Gluten-Free Sushi

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Journal of Gluten Sensitivity Autumn 2013 Issue


    Caption: Photo: CC--pauldesu.com

    Celiac.com 10/28/2013 - Meticulously picking apart menu items is not fun or convenient while enjoying a meal. At times, sticking to a gluten-free diet tends to result in unappetizing dishes and an unsatisfying experience. With a few alterations sushi is an excellent option for gluten-free dieting. Rice, fish, and vegetables contain simple, natural ingredients, and are gluten-free.

    Photo: CC--pauldesu.comConsider the following list of safe and unsafe items for gluten-free consumption as a guide when ordering sushi. Treat the rolls listed as examples in identifying unsafe ingredients and how to alter them. Remember, gluten is sneaky and hidden among unsuspicious ingredients and food items.

    Before Ordering
    Always notify your server of dietary restrictions before ordering. Do not be afraid to speak up or feel like you’re being a nuisance. Servers prefer taking an order once, no matter how precise, as opposed to having their customer fall ill.

    Unsafe Items Commonly Found in Sushi

    • Soy sauce: Be wary of all sauces but soy sauce undoubtedly contains wheat ingredients and is not safe to eat.  Gluten-free soy sauce has increasingly become more available in restaurants. Ask your server if there is gluten-free soy sauce in the back.
    • Tempera: Fish or vegetable that has been battered and deep-fried.
    • Imitation Crab: This is not crab at all! It’s processed fish parts that have been dyed orange, combined with food starch and flavorings, then frozen. Some restaurants are starting to indicate which items contain imitation crab. RA Sushi in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida has a disclaimer listed at the bottom of their menu.
    • Eel Sauce: home-made and traditional eel sauce is made from sugar, rice wine, and soy. Each restaurant varies with added ingredients in their sauces and extra precaution should be taken before eating them.  Ask the manager to find out if the sauce is safe.
    • Imitation Crab: This is essentially fish slush that has been processed, frozen, and dyed. It is not gluten-free.
    • Teriyaki: Another unsafe wheat-containing sauce.
    • Ponzu Sauce: contains soy sauce and is not gluten-free.
    • Spicy: spicy tuna or any fish mix usually contains mayonnaise, which is not always gluten-free. Most contain unsafe sauces.
    • Wasabi: In its original form is a root taken from a rare plant primarily grown in Japan. The wasabi served in restaurants is most always horseradish, mustard, and coloring, and it can be mixed with corn starch or wheat flour.  Mustard is not always gluten-free and neither is “coloring.”

    Unsafe key words:
    Crab, sauce, spicy, mayo, tempura, mixed, marinated, creamy, soy, dressing, crispy, wasabi.

    Safe Ingredients Commonly Found in Sushi

    • Lobok: A Chinese radish that is used when a recipe calls for Daikon radish. Unless fried or cooked in sauce, this is a safe item.
    • Masago/Tobiko: These are the little eggs on top of the sushi. Masago is the inexpensive rendition of tobiko. Masago is usually dyed to give a more appealing appearance and should be used as a garnish rather than the main ingredient of the roll. Some versions of this can contain soy sauce, so avoid it if you are not sure.
    • Sushi Rice is gluten-free. It is up to the discretion of the individual with the intolerance whether or not to consume grains. Some feel fine after eating white rice while others do not.
    • Fish: that has NOT been covered in sauce or has been fried is safe.
    • King Crab: NOT imitation crab.
    • Nori: Another name for seaweed paper and is gluten-free.
    • Vegetables: sushi is usually prepared with avocados, cucumbers, carrots, and other vegetables. Be certain no contamination has occurred from unsafe sauces.

    Sample Rolls
    The Rainbow and California Rolls are tasty go-to options. A rainbow Roll is a California roll with sashimi (raw fish) on top. These traditional rolls are gluten-free with a few modifications:
    A selection of fish, usually halibut, tuna, salmon, and yellowtail are placed on top of the roll. The inside of the roll contains imitation crab, which needs to be replaced. Ask your server to swap the crab out for avocado. For a California roll, swap the crab out for a piece of fish to your liking.

    RA Sushi lists a “King Crab Roll” on their menu. It contains: king crab mix, cucumber, avocado rolled and topped with king crab; served with an Asian Pesto sauce. The king crab mix needs to be removed. Ask the server if the mix could be replaced with plain king crab- not imitation and not mixed with any mayonnaise, sauce, etc. The king crab on top needs to be confirmed that it is whole king crab. Replace the Asian pesto sauce with a bit of gluten-free soy sauce. If none is available, squeeze a bit of lemon on the roll for flavor.

    Also, stick with simple rolls such as the tuna and vegetarian rolls. Always double check to make sure there are no added ingredients! For instance, RA sushi added wasabi in their tuna roll. Ask the server to add tuna to your vegetable roll for some extra sustenance.

    Get Creative
    Order some kiwi on the side and place it on top of your roll. This adds sweetness and texture and is completely safe. There is no end to the alterations you can make with sushi. Learn how to make sushi and create renditions of your favorite recipes at home as well!

    Sources:


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Some chefs will add soy sauce to Ikura (salmon roe); some don't. It typically comes as is. Also, tobiko (the tiny fish roe) can also have added soy sauce. You should ask your chef to show you the packaging. Eel is often packed in a sweet brown sauce, which will contain soy sauce. I always tell the chef "no brown sauce".

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    My sushi chef gave me a great guide to gluten-free and warned me that tobiko is manufactured using soy sauce. Therefore, all those lovely California rolls are off the list.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    My sushi chef gave me a great guide to gluten-free and warned me that tobiko is manufactured using soy sauce. Therefore, all those lovely California rolls are off the list.

    I doubt tobiko contains gluten--if they used soy sauce they would likely turn brown. In any case, many fake crab does contain wheat, and this is a much better reason to avoid California rolls.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    OMG, why even bother with sushi? I'm so disappointed to learn all of this, as the sauces and variety of rolls are what I want when I have sushi. I am now afraid to even go out for sushi ever again. I hate being gluten-free!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Secret to eating Sushi as a Celiac:

    I bought a sushi making kit & rice cooker on Amazon.

    I buy sushi grade salmon and tuna from Wegmans (in blocks)

    I use imitation crab from a company called TransOcean, it IS gluten-free and made in a gluten-free facility.

    I use Kikkoman Rice vinegar (gluten-free)

    I use certified gluten free sushi rice

    I use Tamari certified gluten-free soy sauce.

    Although all these items cost some money up front - after you have made sushi at home once or twice, it is far cheaper than going to a restaurant. It is a lot of fun and amazingly easy. I even feel my Sushi tastes better than many restaurants!!

    Enjoy!!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Yes, there is wheat in the rice, by way of the rice vinegar. I tried to buy some gluten and soy free rice vinegar on line...very difficult, and you know the restaurants are buying the cheap stuff. If you order anything containing fake crab, like a California roll, you are getting soy and gluten via wheat, which is added to the crab to make it feel more in texture like real crab. I am playing it safe and not relying on wait staff at restaurants, or thinking I am ok bringing in my tamari. The paleo diet, which eliminates all processed foods, and grains, avoids any cross contamination, etc. Really the safest way to go. I've done it for two years, and have felt wonderful. All illness and allergies, fibermyalgia etc. has disappeared.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Yes, there is wheat in the rice, by way of the rice vinegar. I tried to buy some gluten and soy free rice vinegar on line...very difficult, and you know the restaurants are buying the cheap stuff. If you order anything containing fake crab, like a California roll, you are getting soy and gluten via wheat, which is added to the crab to make it feel more in texture like real crab. I am playing it safe and not relying on wait staff at restaurants, or thinking I am ok bringing in my tamari. The paleo diet, which eliminates all processed foods, and grains, avoids any cross contamination, etc. Really the safest way to go. I've done it for two years, and have felt wonderful. All illness and allergies, fibermyalgia etc. has disappeared.

    Rice vinegar doe snot contain wheat.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Lauren is a south Florida native and currently earning a masters degree in mental health/marriage and family counseling. Her professional goals and intent as an author are to help others towards fulfillment, wellness, and healthy living among diet restrictions. Lauren seeks to promote celiac disease awareness and has developed a team that makes assessments and standards for gluten-free dining in cafeterias: www.glutenfreenourishme.com

×
×
  • Create New...