Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Is Baileys Irish Cream Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Wondering if Bailey's Irish cream is gluten-free? Look no further.


    Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--DaPuglet
    Caption: Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--DaPuglet

    Celiac.com 01/07/2021 - One question we get a lot is about gluten-free alcohol. Specifically, which brands of Irish cream are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? 

    Irish cream is basically sugar, cream and whiskey mixed together. Whiskey is gluten-free. Cream is gluten-free. Sugar is gluten-free. The ingredients themselves are gluten-free. So are they labeled gluten-free, and are they safe for people with celiac disease?



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Baileys Original Irish Cream says that the ingredients used to make the popular drink are gluten-free. 

    Though we don't know of any Irish creams that are specifically labeled "Gluten-Free," all of the top brands we've looked at are made without gluten-ingredients, and none list wheat as an allergen. They can be considered gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease, including:

    • Bailey's 
    • St. Brendan's
    • Carolan's
    • Ryan's
    • Emmitt's

    As always, read labels, look for allergens, and trust your gut. Do you have a favorite brand of gluten-free cereal that we might have missed? Share it below in the comments.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/22/2020 - We get a lot of questions about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. The safest answer is that alcohol that is brewed or distilled using no gluten ingredients and which is labeled gluten-free is the safest bet. That said, the actual answer is more complex. 
    According to the American Dietetic Association (ADA) all distilled spirits are gluten-free, that is, there is no gluten in the final product of any distilled alcohol. ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including whiskey, bourbon and gin. 
    Also, some people with celiac disease claim to b...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/16/2019 - Here are some of the most common questions we get about gluten-free alcoholic beverages.
    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, under US labeling law, beverages made from ingredients containing wheat, rye, or barley, cannot be labeled or advertised as 'gluten-free.'So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process. You'll find an extensive list of gluten-free alcohol, booze and liquor here.
    Gluten Sensitivity Can Vary ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 08/19/2020 - The US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) has ruled that distilled foods and spirits made from gluten-containing grains can be labelled as ‘gluten-free.’ The FDA ruling covers fermented and distilled foods, or foods that contain fermented or distilled ingredients, which are made using gluten-containing grains such as rye, barley and wheat. The ruling changes the previous FDA requirement that distilled products labeled "gluten-free" must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish.
    The change was hailed by Chris Swonger, president and CEO of the the Distilled Spirits Council of the United States (Discus), who said: “W...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/26/2020 - The U.S. Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) has announced a new policy that permits any distilled spirits made from gluten-containing grains to be labeled as "gluten-free." The move follows a ruling by the US Food and Drug Administration (FDA) in July that permits any distilled foods made from gluten-containing grains to be labelled "gluten-free." Previously, both rules permitted gluten-free labeling only on distilled spirits made from non-gluten ingredients, such as grapes, corn or potatoes.
    Following the FDA rule change, the Distilled Spirits Council of the US (Discus), an alcohol industry trade group, urged...