Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Is Captain Crunch Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Is Captain Crunch gluten-free? It's actually Cap'n Crunch, but is it gluten-free?


    Cap'n Crunch. Image: CC BY 2.0--killrzr
    Caption: Cap'n Crunch. Image: CC BY 2.0--killrzr

    Celiac.com 02/09/2021 - We get a lot of questions about which breakfast cereals are gluten-free, and we recently made up a list of Cheerios, Chex, and nearly one hundred gluten-free breakfast cereals.

    We've also compiled a List of Unsafe Non-Gluten-Free Breakfast Cereals.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    We've also fielded some questions about individual cereals, like Trix, and Corn Pops. But, the questions keep coming, especially about some of the most popular cereals that are not gluten-free. 

    The number of popular breakfast cereals that are not gluten-free is too long to count, but we get a lot of questions about Cap'n Crunch. One question we get a lot is about Captain Crunch, or, actually, because people don't realize that the cereal uses a unique spelling, the question we get is usually written as:  Is Captain Crunch gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is no. Because Cap'n Crunch contains a non-gluten-free version oat flour (non-contaminated with wheat), it is not considered to be gluten-free and not safe for celiacs.

    The sad answer to that question is 'No.' However you spell it, Cap'n Crunch cereal is made with regular oat flour which may be contaminated with gluten. That means Cap'n Crunch is not considered gluten-free and is not safe for children (or adults) with celiac disease.

    Because oats are regularly cross-contaminated with small amounts of wheat, rye or barley, products made with oats that are not certified gluten-free are not considered gluten-free for people who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/10/2016 - Good news for anyone on a gluten-free diet who misses their beloved Lucky Charms breakfast cereal.
    Lucky Charms joins a number of General Mills' other brands with gluten-free versions, including Chex and Cheerios. In this case, the company turned an old brand into a gluten-free product.
    Like Cheerios, Lucky Charms are made from oats, which are gluten-free, except that most major commercial oat supplies have minor, but problematic, amounts of other grains.
    To solve that, General Mills has created a process that sorts "out the small amount of wheat, rye and barley in our supply of whole oats that are inadvertently introduced...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 12/31/2020 - One question we get a lot is about gluten-free breakfast cereals. Specifically, which brands of breakfast cereals are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    Finding a good gluten-free breakfast cereal can be a challenge. Fortunately more and more manufacturers are making gluten-free breakfast cereals, so the choices are many. Here are nearly a hundred of America's top gluten-free cereal brands. These top breakfast cereal brands are labeled "Gluten-Free." That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.
    Note that some cereals on this list use gluten-free oats...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 01/12/2021 - We get a lot of questions about which breakfast cereals are gluten-free, and we recently made up a list of Cheerios and nearly one hundred gluten-free breakfast cereals. 
    Still, the questions keep coming, especially about some of the most popular cereals that are not gluten-free. The number of popular breakfast cereals that are not gluten-free is too long to count, but here are more than a hundred popular breakfast cereals that lots of folks wonder about, and wish were gluten-free. These cereals are not gluten-free, however, so be sure to avoid them if you have celiac disease.
    As always, check labels and choose carefully....

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 01/08/2021 - We know Trix is for kids, but is Trix cereal gluten-free for celiac kids?
    We get a lot of questions about which breakfast cereals are gluten-free, and we recently made up a list of nearly one hundred gluten-free breakfast cereals. 
    We've also compiled a list of unsafe non-gluten-free breakfast cereals. But, the questions keep coming, especially about some of the most popular cereals that are not gluten-free.
    The number of popular breakfast cereals that are not gluten-free is too long to count, but we get a lot of questions about Trix. Specifically, is Trix gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?...