Celiac.com 03/10/2020 - One question we get a lot at celiac.com is: Is fonio gluten free and safe for people with celiac disease? Fonio is a highly nutritious African grain that is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.
Our recent article on fonio talks about its origins, and how it is traditionally grown only in the Sahel region of Africa — a narrow belt that runs south of the Sahara and north of the savannah from the Atlantic Ocean to the Red Sea.
Another good thing mentioned in the article is the fact that a new state-of-the-art processing plant in Senegal in West Africa, coupled with a pasteurization and quality control plant in North Dakota will likely raise annual exports of fonio, and help to make this gluten-free grain much more familiar to people with celiac disease and gluten-sensitivity.
So, yes, fonio is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.