Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Is Gatorade Gluten-Free?

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Is Gatorade gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?


    Gatorade Alyx. Image: CC BY 2.0--kaleid
    Caption: Gatorade Alyx. Image: CC BY 2.0--kaleid

    Celiac.com 01/06/2021 - One question we get often is about celiac disease and sports drinks, especially Gatorade. Specifically, is Gatorade gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?

    First, it's important to distinguish which Gatorade we're actually talking about. Once upon a time the answer would have been a simple 'yes.' But these days, Gatorade makes numerous products. This article is mainly focused on Gatorade the sports hydration drink, but we will also mention their energy, protein and other special products.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Gatorade sports hydration drinks, like most sports hydration drinks, are made with water, sugar, salt and flavorings, along with some coloring and preservatives. The ingredients themselves are gluten-free, and so most of these drinks are likely safe for people with celiac disease.

    Now, Gatorade products are not specifically labeled gluten-free, so that means they are not tested, and not officially recommended for people with celiac disease. So, it's not officially gluten-free. However, we have been tracking Gatorade products for many years, and have fielded no complaints about any Gatorade product that is made with non-gluten ingredients. We regard Gatorade products as gluten-safe, even for people with celiac disease. As always, read labels and allergen warnings to be sure.

    Gluten-Safe Gatorade Products include all Gatorade Hydration, Gatorade Energy, and Gatorade GX products, along with Gatorade Protein products, EXCEPT Gatorade Recover Whey Protein Bars, and Gatorade Recover Whey Protein Powder, which both contain WHEAT.

    The complete list of gluten-free Gatorade products includes:

    Gluten-Safe Gatorade Hydration Products Include:

    Gatorade Thirst Quencher

    • Citrus Cooler
    • Cool Blue
    • Fierce Blue Cherry
    • Fierce Fruit Punch+Berry
    • Fierce Grape
    • Fierce Strawberry
    • Frost Arctic Blitz
    • Frost Glacier Cherry
    • Frost Glacier Freeze
    • Frost Icy Charge
    • Frost Tropical Mango
    • Fruit Punch
    • Lemon-Lime
    • Lime Cucumber
    • Orange
    • Strawberry
    • Strawberry Raspberry
    • Strawberry Watermelon
    • Tropical Cooler

    G Zero

    • Berry
    • Glacier Cherry
    • Glacier Freeze
    • Grape
    • Lemon-Lime
    • Orange

    G2

    • Cool Blue
    • Fruit Punch
    • Glacier Freeze
    • Grape
    • Lemon-Lime
    • Mixed Berry
    • Orange
    • Raspberry Lemonade

    Organic Thirst Quencher

    • Mixed Berry
    • Passionfruit
    • Strawberry

    Gatorade Juiced

    • Apple Raspberry
    • Citrus Berry Punch
    • Mixed Berry

    Gluten-Safe Gatorade Energy Products Include:

    • Gatorade Endurance Hydration Formula
    • Gatorade Gatorlytes
    • Endurance Carb Energy Chews
    • Energy Gel
    • Energy Gel with Caffeine
    • BOLT24 Antioxidant
    • BOLT24 Energize

    Gluten-Safe Gatorade Protein Products Include (ALL FLAVORS CONTAIN MILK INGREDIENTS):

    • Gatorade Super Shake
    • Gatorade Recover Protein Shake

    Gluten-Safe Gatorade GX Products Include:

    • A new hydration system – Pods filled with concentrated Gatorade formulas ready to mix with water. Gatorade calls GX a "customizable hydration system." Essentially, they are specialized dispensers with premixed Gatorade in various flavors.

    Non-Gluten-Free Gatorade Products Include:

    • Gatorade Recover Whey Protein Bar [NOT GLUTEN-FREE]
    • Gatorade Recover Whey Protein with Almond Butter Bar [NOT GLUTEN-FREE]
    • Gatorade Recover Whey Protein Powder [NOT GLUTEN-FREE]

    ALL FLAVORS OF GATORADE RECOVER WHEY PROTEIN BAR CONTAIN MILK AND SOY INGREDIENTS. MAY CONTAIN TRACES OF PEANUT, TREE NUTS, AND WHEAT!

    For more information, including products and ingredients, check the official Gatorade website at Gatorade.com.

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Guest Alternative to Gatorade

    Posted

    As a healthy alternative to Gatorade you could try Ultima Replenisher @goultima. It is gluten-free, vegan, nonGMO project verified, has all 6 electrolytes, no sugar, no artificial ingredients, and is made with plant-based flavors and colors and sweetened with organic stevia leaf. The taste is amazing and it's just nice to know you are not drinking artificial chemicals and loads of sugar.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/22/2020 - We get a lot of questions about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. The safest answer is that alcohol that is brewed or distilled using no gluten ingredients and which is labeled gluten-free is the safest bet. That said, the actual answer is more complex. 
    According to the American Dietetic Association (ADA) all distilled spirits are gluten-free, that is, there is no gluten in the final product of any distilled alcohol. ADA guidelines indicate that all 100% distilled spirits are safe, including whiskey, bourbon and gin. 
    Also, some people with celiac disease claim to b...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/05/2020 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.
    Gluten-Free Beer
    In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beers made with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.
    Gluten-Removed Beer
    A number of beers are treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These b...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 09/09/2014 - Looking for a winning summertime drink that will please the kids and put a smile on the faces of your grown-up guests?
    This recipe delivers tasty, refreshing lemon-watermelon coolers that also happen to make good mixers for grown-up drinks.
    Ingredients:
    4 cups seedless watermelon chunks (about 1 pound) 1½ cups lemonade 8-10 fresh mint sprigs Directions:
    In a blender, puree the watermelon and lemonade, and strain into a pitcher.
    Muddle the mint in a glass, add ice, and top with cooler.
    For a tasty, refreshing grown-up cooler: Add vodka, clear rum, or silver tequila as desired.
    ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 08/12/2014 - Here’s another easy summertime drink that will turn a few heads. It blends watermelon with sweetened lime juice and crushed ice to deliver a refreshing burst of summer!
    Ingredients:
    8-10 cups seedless watermelon chunks (about 2 pounds) 2-3 tablespoons Rose’s Lime Juice, to taste 3 tablespoons fresh lime juice 2 cups crushed ice lime slices for garnish vodka, rum, or tequila, as desired (select gluten-free varieties if you have concerns) Directions:
    Combine all ingredients in a blender and puree until smooth (add a few tablespoons of water, if necessary).
    Add lime juice to get desired sweetness.
    Transfer to ...