Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Jefferson Adams

    Is Manwich Gluten-Free?

    Jefferson Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      A Super Bowl party favorite since it was first introduced in 1969, Manwich is America’s perennially popular way to serve sloppy joes. But is Manwich gluten-free?


    Image: CC--chispita_666
    Caption: Image: CC--chispita_666

    Celiac.com 01/24/2019 - It’s just about time for Super Bowl LIII, and longtime party favorite Manwich is in the house. A Super Bowl party favorite since it was first introduced in 1969, Manwich is America’s perennially popular way to serve sloppy joes. But is Manwich gluten-free? The short answer is no. The longer answer is that it is likely gluten-safe. Here’s the skinny.

    Manwich Contains No Gluten Ingredients

    ConAgra divides their food offerings into three groups: foods that are gluten-free, foods that should not contain gluten, but have not yet been validated as gluten-free, and foods that contain gluten.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Obviously, people seeking gluten-free products are concerned with the first two categories, and sensitive celiacs should only stick with the gluten-free one. The ConAgra company website says that “ConAgra products that are labeled “gluten-free” undergo rigorous ingredient selection and preparation, along with testing to validate the product’s gluten-free status.” 

    Process Key to Eliminating Gluten

    According to the information on the site, ConAgra reviews both the label and the recipe, and then and then works with their ingredient suppliers to eliminate any sources of gluten. They then review the product preparation and cleaning process. Lastly, they test the food to ensure it contains less than 20 parts per million gluten. Products that pass this process are labeled “Gluten-Free.”

    The other category of ConAgra foods are foods that shouldn't contain gluten, but have not been tested and confirmed to be gluten-free. For every such product, ConAgra reviews the label, the recipe and the ingredient list to confirm that no gluten is added to a food. Foods that pass this process are added to the list of foods that contain no gluten ingredients, and “should not contain gluten.” 

    Manwich Likely Contains No Gluten

    Foods that contain no gluten ingredients, but are not confirmed as "gluten-free" may be okay for some people with gluten sensitivities, but these products have not been tested or certified gluten-free. In many cases, foods with no gluten ingredients and listed in the “should not contain gluten” category are in the process of being tested, validated, and may eventually be labeled as “gluten-free.” 

    Check the ConAgra website for updates to the list of officially Gluten-Free products.

    In addition to Manwich Original flavor, Manwich comes in Bourbon BBQ, Bold, and Thick & Chunky varieties. According to allergen statements on the Manwich.com website, none of the Manwich varieties contain milk, peanuts, eggs, fish, crustacean shellfish, soy, tree nuts or wheat.

    As always, people with celiac disease, and serious gluten intolerance should be very cautious about products that are not clearly labeled “Gluten-Free.” Check websites and read labels. That said, many celiacs report tolerating such products with no adverse effects. Use your own judgement, and trust your gut. 

    Meanwhile, if you’re planning on whipping up a big bunch of Manwich sloppy joes for your Super Bowl party friends, remember to check with anyone who might have celiac disease or a serious gluten intolerance. They need to be able to make an informed choice. Also, remember to include gluten-free bread or buns for serving those folks who do opt in.

    For more about the nutritional status, including gluten and other allergens, in any Manwich product, visit Manwich.com.

     

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There is also a product called “Not so sloppy joe” that is gluten-free, comes in glass and in my opinion tastes better than Manwich. I have celiac and have never had a problem with this alternative.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    "ConAgra divides their food offerings into three groups: foods that are gluten-free, foods that should not contain gluten, but have not yet been validated as gluten-free, and foods that contain gluten."

    1-2-3-4 I guess?

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/23/2015 - This Superbowl Sunday gluten-free fans can celebrate with gluten-free Pizza Hut pizza, and, in a few lucky test markets, gluten-free Coors beer.
    You read right. First, Pizza Hut has announced that, starting Jan. 26, it will be debuting a gluten-free pizza in about 2,400 locations in the U.S. The new pizza will be a 10-inch, six-slice pizza, which will go for $9.99. The pizza crust will be made by popular gluten-free brand Udi’s Foods, and certified gluten-free by the Gluten Intolerance Group.
    Pizza Hut’s gluten-free pie will be one of the restaurant’s lowest-calorie pizzas, with about 100 fewer calories per serving than ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/26/2018 - Party retailer Party City finds itself in hot water over a recent commercial that implies that people who eat gluten free are "gross." The ad, which was part of a pre-Super Bowl effort to tout deals at the discount party store, has offended customers and non-customers alike.
    The commercial depicts the host of a Super Bowl party chatting with a guest. When the guest asks about a sad-looking plate of gluten-free snacks, the host replies: "Those are some gluten-free options."
    The guest asks: "Do we even know people that are like that?"
    To which the host replies: "Tina."
    The the guest delivers the big, supposedly funny...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/20/2018 - Party City has pulled a controversial advertising spot that provoked outrage in gluten-free community by tagging gluten-free dieters as 'gross.'
    Moreover, both Party City, and the advertising firm behind the pre-Super bowl ad, Hill Holliday, have issued public apologies in an effort to mitigate the outrage caused by its obviously insensitive ad.
    The ad starred two women attending a Super Bowl party and standing in front of an "inflatable snack stadium."
    When one of the women points out the gluten-free options, the other asks "Do we even know people that are like that?"
    The first woman answers: "Tina."
    To which...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/11/2019 - When Super Bowl LIII kicks off on Sunday, Feb. 3rd, you’ll want to have your snack selection well-nailed down, including your gluten-free choices. With a bit of planning, you can avoid the unplanned halftime rush to get snacks that could have been gotten long before Maroon 5 takes the stage. Who wants to miss Maroon 5 just to stand in line at the store? Here’s a list of gluten-free snacks that are ideal for your Super Bowl party, and other great gluten-safe snacks that are wheat, rye and barley-free.
    We’ve broken the list in two, and listed fully gluten-free snacks first, with a list of gluten-safe snacks that that are wh...