Jump to content



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams
    Scott Adams

    Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free? What About Other Brands of Taco Seasoning?

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Are Old El Paso, and other brands of taco seasoning gluten-free and safe for celiacs?

    Is Old El Paso Taco Seasoning Gluten-Free? What About Other Brands of Taco Seasoning? - Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--Boz Bros
    Caption: Image: CC BY-SA 2.0--Boz Bros

    Celiac.com 06/30/2020 - Summer is upon us again, and somehow summer always means tacos to me. Sure, I like soft shell tacos, but I also love hard shell tacos. When I make hard shell tacos, I like to go with a seasoning mix. Sometimes I make my own, other times, I like to use a packaged mix. But are taco seasoning mixes okay?

    One of the most common questions we've seen recently in Celiac.com's forum is about Old El Paso Taco Seasoning. People are wanting to know if taco seasoning mixes like Old El Paso Taco Seasoning are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's a list of some top brands of taco seasoning mixes that we consider safe for people with celiac disease.

    McCormick Taco Seasoning



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    No gluten ingredients and no declared allergens. Ingredients per the McCormick.com website: Chili Pepper, Paprika, Oregano, Onion, Salt, Potato Starch, Sugar, Garlic, Natural Flavor.

    McCormick's statement: "If our products have gluten in them, it will be listed clearly in the ingredient statement.  We do not hide any allergens under “natural flavors” or “spices.” This pertains mainly to our Dry Seasoning mixes and some blends.  An example is our Beef Stew Seasoning Mix.  This contains gluten, and states, “Wheat Gluten,” in the ingredient statement.

    McCormick goes a step further.  If an ingredient is derived from wheat source, such as Maltodextrin, it will be listed as “Maltodextrin (WHEAT), in the ingredient statement. McCormick follows good manufacturing practices at our plants and takes extra precautions to eliminate the possibility of mislabeling or cross-contamination."

    CAUTION: Do not use Lawry's Taco Seasoning, which is made by McCormick. Lawry's Taco Seasoning contains wheat ingredients and is UNSAFE for people with celiac disease.

    Old El Paso Taco Seasoning

    No gluten ingredients and no declared allergens. Ingredients per Old El Paso web site: Chili Pepper, Maltodextrin, Salt, Onion Powder, Spice, Corn Starch, Sea Salt (Potassium Magnesium Chloride, Salt). Contains 2% Or Less Of: Vegetable Oil (Canola, High Oleic Soybean And/Or Sunflower Oil), Corn Flour, Silicon Dioxide (Anticaking Agent), Citric Acid, Sugar, Natural Flavor.

    Like most major companies, General Mills, the maker of Old El Paso Taco Seasoning, has a policy of clearly declaring known allergens on the label.

    Ortega Taco Seasoning

    No gluten ingredients and no declared allergens. Ingredients as per Ortega.com: Yellow Corn Flour, Salt, Maltodextrin, Paprika, Spices, Modified Corn Starch, Sugar, Citric Acid, Yeast Extract, Natural Flavors, Silicon Dioxide.

    Recipe for Home Made Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning

    Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Ingredients:

    • 2 tablespoons ground chili powder*
    • 3 teaspoons ground cumin
    • 2 teaspoons salt
    • 2 teaspoons ground black pepper
    • 1 teaspoon ground paprika
    • ½ teaspoon dried oregano
    • ½ teaspoon garlic powder
    • ½ teaspoon onion powder
    • ½ teaspoon dried red pepper flakes

    Directions:
    Mix ingredients in a bowl and place in a jar to use as needed.

    *Note: For less spicy taco mix, cut back on the chili powder. 

    Edited by Scott Adams



    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    I thought McCormick was gluten-free but recently got sick from a meal of ground turkey with McCormick taco seasoning and I called to confirm it is still gluten free and was told that only the package with the green label that says GLUTEN FREE actually is.  Of course none of the stores carry it but I can get it on Amazon in a multi pack.  Same thing for McCormick chili seasoning.

    So many Celiacs count on McCormick I feel like they need to get the word out there that they now make a non-gluten-free version and that's what stores are carrying.

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    On 7/6/2020 at 5:54 PM, Karen B. said:

    I thought McCormick was gluten-free but recently got sick from a meal of ground turkey with McCormick taco seasoning and I called to confirm it is still gluten free and was told that only the package with the green label that says GLUTEN FREE actually is.  Of course none of the stores carry it but I can get it on Amazon in a multi pack.  Same thing for McCormick chili seasoning.

    So many Celiacs count on McCormick I feel like they need to get the word out there that they now make a non-gluten-free version and that's what stores are carrying.

    The regular McCormick taco seasoning is made on shared lines. They clean the lines in between products, but those of us with celiac know gluten can hide in tiny nooks and crannies. The gluten free McCormick is made on separate line AND certified gluten free. It’s the only taco seasoning I trust. This article does not take into account cross contamination which is vital if you have celiac. Just because an item has no gluten ingredients does not mean it’s safe. You have to do your own research as companies do not have to disclose on the package whether or not an item is made on shared lines. 

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    On 7/6/2020 at 5:54 PM, Karen B. said:

    I thought McCormick was gluten-free but recently got sick from a meal of ground turkey with McCormick taco seasoning and I called to confirm it is still gluten free and was told that only the package with the green label that says GLUTEN FREE actually is.  Of course none of the stores carry it but I can get it on Amazon in a multi pack.  Same thing for McCormick chili seasoning.

    So many Celiacs count on McCormick I feel like they need to get the word out there that they now make a non-gluten-free version and that's what stores are carrying.

    Not sure who you talked to, or where you live, but I just looked at the product on the McCormick website. The ingredients listed are: Spices (Including Chili Pepper, Paprika, Oregano), Corn Starch, Salt, Onion, and Garlic. No allergens are listed. No wheat or gluten ingredients are listed. https://www.mccormick.com/spices-and-flavors/recipe-mixes/mexican/taco-seasoning-mix

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    On 8/29/2020 at 5:19 PM, Guest Jefferson Adams said:

    Not sure who you talked to, or where you live, but I just looked at the product on the McCormick website. The ingredients listed are: Spices (Including Chili Pepper, Paprika, Oregano), Corn Starch, Salt, Onion, and Garlic. No allergens are listed. No wheat or gluten ingredients are listed. https://www.mccormick.com/spices-and-flavors/recipe-mixes/mexican/taco-seasoning-mix

    We called the number on the package and they told me if I need gluten free, I need to buy the package that is labeled gluten free. Fortunately, I can find it on Amazon. 

    Maybe something has changed in their sourcing or processing. There are no gluten ingredients listed but it definitely had cross-contamination or something in it that wasn’t gluten-free. No problems with the McCormicks labeled Gluten Free.

    https://www.amazon.com/Mccormick-Seasoning-Gluten-free-Taco-1-25oz/dp/B00MTVWJHU/ref=mp_s_a_1_4?dchild=1&keywords=mccormick+taco+seasoning+gluten+free&qid=1598839215&sprefix=mccormick+taco+seasoning+gl&sr=8-4#

     

     

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    As a kid, the first tacos I ever had were far from traditional Mexican style tacos. The were much closer to the style of tacos later made famous by chains like Taco Bell and others. They were made with ground beef, lettuce, cheese, and tomatoes. If your kids are partial to the fast food version, they will likely love these little gems.
    Ingredients:
    1 tablespoon vegetable oil ½ cup of water 1½ pounds lean ground beef 2 cups shredded lettuce 2 cups diced tomato 1½ cups shredded cheese ½ cup chopped onion (as desired) 3 tablespoons taco seasoning (see recipe below) 10-12 crispy corn tortilla shells Your favorite hot sauce or salsa, as desired.
    Taco Directions:
    Heat oil to medium heat in a large skillet.
    Add onions (if desired) and cook until clear.
    Add ground beef and cook until brown, draining away any excess oil.
    Add water and bring to a brief boil, then reduce the heat to a slow simmer.
    Add taco seasoning to taste. Add more or less as desired.
    Allow the mixture to cook down for about 10 minutes or so until the water cooks off.
    Remove from heat and serve meet in crispy corn tortilla shells. Garnish with lettuce, tomato and cheese.
    Add your favorite hot sauce or salsa as desired.
    Taco Seasoning Ingredients:
    2 tablespoons ground chili powder
    3 teaspoons ground cumin
    2 teaspoons salt
    2 teaspoons ground black pepper
    1 teaspoon ground paprika
    ½ teaspoon dried oregano
    ½ teaspoon garlic powder
    ½ teaspoon onion powder
    ½ teaspoon dried red pepper flakes
    Directions:
    Mix ingredients in a bowl and place in a jar to use as needed.


    Jefferson Adams
    Fish tacos have gained a large and growing following over the last few decades. You can find them featured at numerous taquerias and Mexican restaurants. Too often, though, they are coated in batter and so off limits to people with celiac disease and gluten-sensitivity. After watching so many of my friends writhe in culinary ecstasy as they enjoyed their fish tacos, while I was relegated to standard tacos, I resolved to find a a gluten-free fish taco recipe that I could enjoy; one that would honor the simple roots of the fish taco and bring me the same level of joy as my friends so often enjoy. This simple recipe is makes delicious fish tacos without breaking your budget, or chewing up too much of your time.
    Ingredients:
    1 pound fresh swordfish, halibut or other firm white fish
    1 dozen corn tortillas (3 per person)
    2 Avocados, ripe
    4 Limes, cut into wedges
    Olive oil
    Fresh salsa
    Cabbage
    1 tablespoon cider vinegar
    1 teaspoon salt
    Pepper to taste
    Directions:
    First, get the salsa ready. Either make your own, or choose your favorite salsa from the store.
    Next, slice cabbage into thin strips and place in a small serving bowl. Sprinkle with cider vinegar and salt, and mix well.
    Peel the avocado and remove seed. Chop and reserve for later.
    Warm the tortillas, either by heating in a microwave for 20-25 seconds on high heat, on top of a napkin or paper towel to absorb excess moisture.
    Otherwise, heat the tortillas in a pan on medium-high, flipping regularly until warm and soft. Place warm tortillas on a towel and fold to cover.
    Soak the fish fillets in cold water for at least one minute. Pat dry with a paper towel. Heat a large non-stick pan to medium-high heat. Add a couple of teaspoons of cooking oil to pan. Place fish in pan. Cook fish until barely translucent, but do not overcook. When done, remove to a separate plate. Season with salt and pepper.
    Place a tortilla on a plate, add fish, salsa, cabbage, and avocado. Serve with Mexican style rice. Makes four servings. Adjust recipe as necessary.


    Celiac.com Sponsor: Review
    Who would have thought that, if it is done correctly, mixing meat with fruit and vegetables would make an outstanding paleo bar snack? Before I tasted Wild Zora's Taco Pork Meat & Veggie Bar, I certainly would not have believed it.
    It is hard to improve upon plain old jerky, but Wild Zora has done just this by mixing it up with healthy fruits like dates, tomatoes, and apricots; and vegetables like bell peppers, onions, celery, and cilantro. The result is a jerky-fruity-vegetable tasting bar that is easy to bite, tastes wonderful, and is perfect for a healthy gluten-free diet.
    For more info visit their site.


    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 10/26/2019 - This easy to make gluten-free taco casserole will be a major hit on taco night. A blend of gluten-free taco seasoning, ground beef, cheese, pinto beans, corn, and tortilla chips, this casserole comes together in a snap and is sure to please.
    Ingredients:
    1½ pounds lean ground beef 1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese 1 packet McCormick Gluten-Free Taco Seasoning Mix or the homemade version below 1 16 ounce can pinto beans, drained and rinsed 1 15 ounce can tomato sauce 1 11 ounce can Mexican-style corn, drained 1¼ cup lightly crushed gluten-free tortilla chips Directions:
    Heat oven to 400°F. 
    Brown meat in large skillet on medium-high heat. Drain away fat.
    Stir in seasoning mix, beans, tomato sauce and corn. 
    Bring to boil, then reduce heat to low. 
    Simmer 5 minutes, then spoon into 2-quart baking dish. 
    Sprinkle with cheese and tortilla chips.
    Bake 5 to 10 minutes or until cheese is melted. 
    Serve with desired toppings.
    Want to make your own gluten-free taco seasoning?
    Homemade Taco Seasoning Ingredients:
    2 tablespoons ground chili powder* 3 teaspoons ground cumin 2 teaspoons salt 2 teaspoons ground black pepper 1 teaspoon ground paprika ½ teaspoon dried oregano ½ teaspoon garlic powder ½ teaspoon onion powder ½ teaspoon dried red pepper flakes Directions:
    Mix ingredients in a bowl and place in a jar to use as needed.
    *Note: For less spicy taco mix, cut back on the chili powder. 


  • Popular Now

×
×
  • Create New...