Celiac.com 09/23/2020 - We get more than a few question about popcorn. Specifically, is popcorn gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is that, yes, popcorn is gluten-free. Corn is gluten-free. That means that plain popcorn, either air-popped, or cooked in oil, is gluten-free. It's still gluten-free if you add some butter and salt.
Beware of Gluten in Popcorn Seasonings
Unless wheat or gluten ingredients are added, popcorn is always gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Watch out for seasonings, including any pre-mixed brands. Read labels carefully to avoid wheat or gluten in seasonings you may add to your popcorn.
For a list of SAFE gluten-free ingredients, please check celiac.com's list of SAFE Gluten-Free Foods and Ingredients.
Is Commercial Popcorn Gluten-Free?
What about commercial popcorn you buy in the store? The same answer applies to commercial popcorn. Plain, or salted popcorn is gluten-free. The only thing that will change that are additives, so beware of additives and seasonings that might contain wheat or gluten ingredients.
Remember, any wheat or gluten should be declared on the allergen warning.
As always, please read labels carefully. When in doubt, check manufacturer websites.