Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Jefferson Adams

    Is Wine Gluten-Free and Safe for People with Celiac Disease?

    Jefferson Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      Wine Spectator recently weighed in on gluten and wine. Meantime, here's a quick rundown.


    Image: CC--Jeremy Keith
    Caption: Image: CC--Jeremy Keith

    12/13/2018 - Is wine gluten-free? Wine Spectator recently weighed in on gluten and wine. The article is worth a read, and there’s a link at the bottom of this page. Meantime, here’s a quick rundown of the basics of wine and gluten.

    Wine is generally regarded as gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease and other gluten-related sensitivities. That said, there are a couple of ways that wine could come to contain gluten; but they are mostly due to old and discontinued wine making practices.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):




    First, in the old days, barrel makers used to seal barrels with with wheat paste, which contains gluten. Wine aged in these barrels could contain trace amounts of gluten. However, these days, nearly every winery in the world now uses non-gluten-based wax products to seal their barrels. Even if barrels commonly contained wheat paste, a 2012 test run by Tricia Thompson, founder of GlutenFreeWatchdog.org, found that gluten levels of two different wines finished in wheat paste–sealed barrels contained under 5ppm gluten—thus meeting the FDA gluten-free standard. So, that method of possible contact with gluten is unlikely to be a problem for most people with celiac disease or a medical gluten-sensitivity.

    Another way wine could be exposed to gluten is if wheat gluten is used for a process called ‘fining.’ However, these days, the use of wheat gluten in fining is practically nonexistent. And even if wheat gluten were used for fining, it is unlikely to be an issue.  A 2011 study published in the Journal of Agricultural and Food Chemistry found that wines fined with gluten contained either extremely low, or undetectable, levels of gluten.

    Furthermore, "even if any traces of gluten would accidentally enter a wine—let's say the winemaker falls into a tank holding a whole-wheat sandwich—as a protein, gluten would react with [wine's] phenolics," said Dr. Christian Butzke, a professor of enology at Purdue University. 

    So, the vast majority of wines are gluten-free and likely safe for with celiac disease or a medical gluten-sensitivity.

    "One thing for consumers to watch for is any wine or wine product that contains added colors or flavors, or that is made from barley malt, such as bottled wine coolers," says Marilyn Geller, CEO of the nonprofit Celiac Disease Foundation.

    Bottom line: Check the label. If the product is a straight red or white or rosé wine, then it is almost certainly gluten-free. Watch out for coolers or wine with added ingredients. Read labels. If you still have questions, do not hesitate to contact the winery directly.

    Read more at: WINESPECTATOR.COM

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Winemakers are only required to indicate sulfites on their labels.
    It is my understanding that there are dozens of additives that could be
    used, i.e., to intensify color, where that would NOT be on the label at
    all.  So how is one to know?  Also, some grape vines are grown on
    former barley fields where I live in California.  Is that an issue??

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Join eNewsletter



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 10/25/2019 (Updated. originally published 02/20/2015) - There's a lot of confusion about which alcoholic beverages are gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease. Here's Celiac.com's latest list of gluten-free, gluten-safe beer, wine and alcohol.
    Gluten-Free Beer
    In the United States, products labeled gluten-free must not contain or be made from wheat, rye or barley. That means many beers cannot be labeled gluten-free. Beers made with gluten-free ingredients and are gluten-free and can be labeled gluten-free.
    Gluten-Removed Beer
    A number of beers are treated with enzymes to break down gluten. These beers ...

    Gryphon Myers
    Celiac.com 10/22/2012 - Wine is naturally gluten-free, making it a go-to alcoholic drink for sufferers of celiac disease. However, some vintners use oak barrels sealed with wheat paste, which has made some people wonder if it is really gluten-free. An article posted by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD on her Gluten-Free Watchdog website may have finally put this worry to rest, as she has done a series of sandwich R5 ELISA and competitive R5 ELISA tests of various wines aged in such barrels.
    So there's a wine you'd like to try, but you've heard that wine can be cross contaminated from the wheat paste some vintners use to seal oak barrels. The first thing to consider...

    Gryphon Myers
    Celiac.com 07/16/2013 - Gluten has a way of popping up in some very unexpected products.  Peers (whether online or otherwise) are sometimes our best resource for information regarding these oft-overlooked gluten-containing products, but sometimes speculation gets passed along the grapevine as fact. This has led to some very believable, but ultimately questionable rumors. Alcohol in particular has some of the most persistent rumors regarding gluten content. This is likely because the processes involved with alcohol production are confusing and widely misunderstood. With this article, I hope to address and clear up a few of the most persistent gluten-free ...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/18/2018 - Okay, so wine is good for lots of things, drinking notwithstanding. But try to wrap your head around this: wine flour.
    Yeah, flour made from wine grapes. There's no such thing you say? Well, wine flour is in fact a thing. The mashed post-crush grapes used to make top wines are indeed being milled into a unique flour.
    Creator Hillary Niver-Johnson calls her product Finger Lakes Wine Flour. Her wine flour is made from the the pomace, or grape skins and seeds, are typically discarded in the wine making process. Niver-Johnson and her team of three collect the from local wineries in the Finger Lakes of New York. They then sort...