Celiac.com 03/25/2016 - There seems to be some confusion about the gluten-free status of Cadbury Creme Eggs. Are Cadbury Creme Eggs gluten-free? The short answer is "not officially," but the full answer is more detailed.
Any Cadbury product processed in a plant that processes wheat products will be clearly labeled. So, this is a case of read the label, and make your own judgement based on your own experience or sensitivity levels.
The same is true in the UK, where possible allergens are all clearly listed. For example, the UK, the ingredient label for CADBURY DAIRY MILK HOLLOW BUNNY lists an allergen warning that the product MAY CONTAIN NUTS, WHEAT, as do other Cadbury UK products.
We feel that products containing no wheat or gluten ingredients, and made in a plant that does not process wheat, are likely safe for people on a gluten-free diet.
At the end of the day, both for Easter candy and for every day candy, it is important to read labels, check manufacturers websites, check ingredients and allergen lists, and to make judgements based on your own judgement about your sensitivity and comfort levels.
Accordingly, we have added the following Cadbury products to the SAFE section of our Gluten-free Easter Candy List for 2016. These Cadbury products contain no gluten ingredients, and their allergen label does not list wheat:
- Cadbury Caramel Eggs
- Cadbury Creme Eggs
- Cadbury Easter Egg Trail Pack
- Cadbury Egg Heads
- Cadbury Orange Creme Eggs
- Cadbury Caramel Eggs
- Cadbury Creme Filled Eggs
- Cadbury Creme Mini Filled Eggs
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Buttons Chick
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Mini Filled Eggs
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Daim Mini Filled Eggs
- Cadbury Dairy Milk Mousse Bunny
- Cadbury Mini Eggs
While Celiac.com places Cadbury Creme Eggs and several other Cadbury products in the SAFE section of our Gluten-free Easter Candy List for 2016, we do not recommend them for sensitive individuals. We also remind people to make decisions based on their own sensitivity and comfort levels, and to do their own research on any product they intend to consume.
We have added the following Cadbury products to the UNSAFE section of our Gluten-free Easter Candy List for 2016. These Cadbury products either contain listed gluten ingredients, or their possible allergen label lists wheat:
- Dairy Milk Hollow Milk Chocolate Freddos
- Dairy Milk Hollow Bunny
- Dairy Milk Mini Hollow Bunnies
- Dairy Milk Egg 'N' Spoon Chocolate
- Dairy Milk Egg 'N' Spoon Vanilla
- Dairy Milk Oreo Mini Filled Eggs