Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
  • 1 1

    Are Doritos Gluten-Free?

    Jefferson Adams
    • Are doritos gluten-free and safe for your Super Bowl party? The answer is yes, no, and maybe. It depends on the Doritos.

    Are Doritos Gluten-Free?
    Caption: Image: CC--torroid

    Celiac.com 01/08/2019 - Doritos are one of the perennially popular snacks. They are also a major favorite for Super Bowl parties. But are Doritos gluten-free? We’ve heard that question more than a few times. The answer varies by flavor. Some Doritos varieties are gluten-free, some are not, and other flavors are free of wheat, rye, barley and oats. Use this handy list to help you choose your gluten-free snacks when Super Bowl LIII kicks off on Sunday, Feb. 3rd.

    These flavors of Doritos are labeled as Gluten-Free:

    • DORITOS Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips

    The following flavors of Doritos contain No Wheat, Rye, Barley or Oat ingredients:

    • DORITOS Blaze Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Cool Ranch Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Dinamita Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Flamas Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Jacked Ranch Dipped Hot Wings Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Poppin' Jalapeno Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips 
    • DORITOS Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
    • DORITOS Tapatio Flavored Tortilla Chips

    To be 100% safe, those with celiac disease should only eat Doritos with "gluten-free" on the label. Although Frito-Lay does a thorough cleaning after each run, they cannot guarantee that the Doritos in the lower list are gluten-free below 20 ppm.

    Any Doritos flavor not listed above likely contains gluten. Check the Frito-Lay website to be sure.

    1 1

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Guest Laura


    Let's be real for a moment.  This would be an okay snack for a person concerned with eliminating or reducing gluten intake.  It is not particularly safe for gluten sensitivity or celiac patients due to several factors:

    1. gluten cross reactors: dairy

    2. toxic heat extracted oils (these include vegetable oil (typically soybean), corn, sunflower, safflower, seed & canola oils. Only extra-virgin (cold pressed) oils do not contain chemical residues of: hexane (a gasoline byproduct), bleach, deodorizers (used to mask odor from the putrification process), defoaming agents, fertilizers, etc.

    3. I tried "corn chips" once since it only contained corn & corn oil. The result?  Only 3 trips to the bathroom rather than the usual 27 that occurs with gluten exposure. 

    Share this comment

    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,000 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in biology, anatomy, medicine, and science. He previously served as Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and provided health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.