Jump to content
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

  • Jefferson Adams
    Jefferson Adams

    Are Marshmallows Gluten-Free and Safe for Celiac Disease Diets?

      It's marshmallow season! Celiac.com answers the question: Are marshmallows gluten free and safe for people with celiac disease?

    Caption: Image: CC--sand_and_sky

    Celiac.com 06/05/2019 - Campfire and cookout season is upon us once again, and that means roasted marshmallow season is also upon us. People often ask us if marshmallows are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease.

    The short answer is that nearly all major brand marshmallows sold in the United States are gluten-free and safe for a gluten-free celiac diet, even when not specifically labeled. Marshmallows made outside the U.S. may contain wheat starch or other gluten ingredients, so be careful if you're dealing with non-American brands.

    In the U.S., there are two major marshmallow makers, Kraft Foods Inc. and Doumak Inc. Both make marshmallows without gluten ingredients. These companies make nearly all major marshmallow brands, like Kraft, Campfire, Jet, and store brands. They also make most marshmallows sold as private store brands.

    Kraft

    Kraft's policy is to disclose all gluten-containing ingredients on its labels. Although Kraft marshmallows are not labeled "gluten-free" or tested for trace gluten, Kraft says that their marshmallows are not subject to gluten cross-contamination in production.

    Doumak

    Doumak calls itself "The American Marshmallow Company," and makes Campfire brand marshmallows, as well as many private store brands, including Walmart and CVS brands. All Doumak marshmallows are gluten-free. 

    As always, read labels, and check with manufacturers as needed, and trust your gut. 

    Make Your Own Gluten-Free Marshmallows

    Don't want to bother with major brands? Make your own gluten-free marshmallows at home with this recipe for Gluten-Free Vanilla Marshmallows from Blessherheartyall.com. 

    Starbucks Gluten-Free Marshmallow Dream Bar

    If you need a reliable marshmallow treat, try Starbucks Gluten-Free Marshmallow Dream Bar

    Lastly, while nearly all marshmallows are gluten-free, products made with marshmallows may or may not be gluten-free, so read labels carefully. If you're dealing with a marshmallow product, like Peeps, say, be sure to look for clearly marked Gluten-Free labels.

    Do you have a marshmallow story? Share it below!


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,000 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in biology, anatomy, medicine, science, and advanced research, and scientific methods. He previously served as Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.

×
×
  • Create New...