Jump to content
Celiac Disease FAQ | This site uses cookies GDPR notice. Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

  • Jefferson Adams
    Jefferson Adams
    2 2

    Are Snickers Candy Bars Gluten-Free?

      Are Snickers candy bars gluten-free? It's one of the most popular products questions we see.

    Caption: Image: CC--An Mai

    Celiac.com 01/22/2019 - We see a lot of questions about the gluten-free status of certain foods, candies, or snacks. One of the most common product questions we see is: Are Snickers candy bars gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is that, currently, all flavors of Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, Snickers fun size and Snickers mini's are gluten-free, according to website for parent company Mars. The longer answer is that it's always wise to check, as product formulation can change, sometimes suddenly.

    Look to Manufacturers for Gluten and Allergen Information

    Manufacturers are required to list any allergens on the product label. Mars lists allergen information for each product they produce. For any given Mars product, you can learn more by going to the Mars Chocolates website. Once there, click on any product. Scroll down and click the button that says "Ingredients and Dietary Suitability." You will find ingredients and allergens listed for that product. Remember, even this information is subject to change, so double-check if you're unsure. 

    Gluten-Free Status Can Vary by Product Size

    A size difference in a Snickers or other candies can sometimes mean a change in the gluten-free status. Always check the ingredients for minis, bite sized, regular, jumbo and popable versions of your favorite candies. Each version can be different, and they may change suddenly. Some versions may be gluten-free or gluten-safe, while others are not gluten-free or gluten-safe. This rule applies for almost all foods. Of course, avoid eating anything you’re not sure about, or which doesn’t agree with your system. Trust your gut.

    Meantime, here’s an excerpt from the Mars' website statement on dietary suitability for those sensitive to gluten and other allergens:

    “At Mars, we take food allergies very seriously because they affect our consumers. We have an extensive allergen management program which includes staff training, evaluating our ingredients and validating our cleaning procedures.

    In order to avoid an allergic reaction to food, we know you must avoid the allergen. To do so, you count on the ingredient statements on food labels to be truthful and accurate. We want you to be able to trust the information on our labels. At Mars, our goal is to provide safe, high quality food products for our consumers. Therefore, we have developed strict rules about the labeling of allergens on our products.”

    Celiac.com strives to provide accurate, reliable and up to date information to help people with celiac disease to make safe, informed choices about gluten-free and gluten-safe products.

    For more information on allergens in Snickers or any other Mars product, visit the Mars, Incorporated Policy on Allergen Labeling.

    For questions about hundreds of other popular candies, check our List of Gluten-Free and Gluten-Safe Candies


    2 2


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    I worked for Mars for 4 years and have Celiac Disease so I know the answer. All regular size Snickers are gluten free with the exception of Fun Size or Mini Snickers. The minis are manufactured on a special line that also processes mini Milky Way and mini Twix which are not gluten free so you take a risk eating the smaller Snickers.  Milky Way Dark are gluten free but sadly regular Milky Way (my favorite) are not gluten free. 

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I love snickers, so glad they are gluten free. I was 66 yrs old when I was diagnosed with celiac. My town was not very gluten free friendly. Thankfully my daughter lived in Colorado and when I went to visit I loaded up on bread,cereal and such.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Donna I'm 63 and was diagnosed at 60. I get a lot of my gluten free stuff from Target, they ship $35.  Type in gluten free on their website and you will be surprised. Sees Candy is also gluten free, that's my indulgence. 

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,000 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in biology, anatomy, medicine, and science. He previously served as Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and provided health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.

×