Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Welcome to Celiac.com

  • Member Statistics

    84,357
    Total Members
    4,125
    Most Online
    L. Hackstaff
    Newest Member
    L. Hackstaff
    Joined
  • 0

    Tasty Gluten-free Treats for Valentine's Day


    Jefferson Adams
    Tasty Gluten-free Treats for Valentine's Day
    Image Caption: Gluten-free treats abound for Valentine's Day. Photo: CC--Ella T.

    Celiac.com 02/09/2016 - Valentine's Day is right around the corner, and these gluten-free treats will keep you from getting caught flat footed if your Valentine is gluten-free.

    Be sure to see our Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Halloween Candy list, as it addresses many of the major candy manufacturers and provides contact information.

    Photo: CC--Ella T.Chocolates:

    • See's--See's heart-shaped Valentine's gift boxes are sure to make a splash. And, according to See's website, all See's Candies products are gluten-free.

    Numerous other chocolatiers feature gluten-free chocolates, including:

    • Vosges Chocolate--Offers numerous gluten-free options. Check their website.
    • Gnosis Chocolate--According to the website, Gnosis Chocolate handcrafts their chocolates and other cacao based product using ethically sourced raw cacao. Their products are also 100% free of gluten, refined sugar, dairy, soy, peanuts, and GMO.
    • The Chocolate Trading Company also offers wheat and gluten-free selections.


    Cookies:

    If cookies are your thing, try the Tates Bake Shop Gluten Free Cupids Chocolate Treats Gift Basket.

    This allergy-friendly assortment features Tate's famously delicious crisp chocolate chip cookies, along with fudge brownies, and cookie bark studded with pretty little hearts. It also includes a little plush bear that's sure to get you some attention.

    For more cookie ideas, try the Gluten-free Love Struck Cookie Boxes from Cheryl's.

    The gift boxes include fudge brownies, along with chocolate chip, brownie walnut, Snickerdoodle and buttercream frosted sugar cookies all carefully packaged for perfect delivery.

    These gluten-free cookies and brownies are produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility and meet the FDA regulations for gluten-free foods.

    Meanwhile, AboutHealth has a pretty comprehensive list of UNSAFE Valentine's candy.

    If you're looking to make some special gluten-free something, be sure to check out the recipes at Good Housekeeping. They include Dark Chocolate Mousse, Flourless Chocolate Cake, and Easy Berry Granita, among others.

    0


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    There are no comments to display.



    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,000 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in biology, anatomy, medicine, and science. He previously served as Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and provided health and medical content for Sharecare.com.

    Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book Dangerous Grains by James Braly, MD and Ron Hoggan, MA.

  • Popular Contributors

  • Related Articles

    Destiny Stone
    Celiac.com 03/29/2010 - For many cultures, Easter represents the most important religious feast of the year. In biblical terms, it represents a celebration of Christ being resurrected. Yet, for those of us unable to digest gluten, it is yet another holiday reminding us of all the foods we can't eat.  Many of us that are gluten sensitive, myself included, spend so much time focused on the foods we can't eat, that it's easy to lose sight of all the wonderful foods still available to us. The fact is,  most of our favorite foods are still safe to eat with a little modification of course.
    Being gluten-free doesn't mean that you can't enjoy a holiday meal with your family and friends. If you are going to be a guest for the holiday, make sure your host knows about your food sensitivities, and understands how to accommodate your needs. If they can accommodate you-great! If not, make sure to bring your own gluten-free foods to be sure that you don't go hungry, and to avoid the temptation of eating something you might regret later. You may want to consider hosting Easter brunch at your house this year. Cooking the meal yourself assures that your meal will be gluten-free and eliminates the possibility of cross contamination.
    Whether you are making Easter brunch or Passover dinner, it's all supposed to be fun. That's why I put together a list of links that are all geared toward making it the best gluten-free Easter ever! The following links are a compilation of gluten-free recipes and prepared foods designed to make your holiday easy and fun. Some of the following links will take you out of  Celiac.com and into another site. You may want to bookmark this list so you can reference it easily as needed. Dig in and enjoy!
    Passover wouldn't be complete without matzoh. That's why the first recipe I've included is for gluten-free matzoh. The nice thing about the following matzoh recipe is that it's not only Kosher, it's also gluten, corn, sugar, dairy, and egg free! So even if you have many food restrictions, this is one recipe that is safe for almost everyone. Just add the matzoh to your favorite soup recipe, chicken or mock-chicken and you are ready to celebrate!
    Gluten-Free Matzoh Of course no Rosh Hashanah  is complete without Challah. The following recipe is gluten-free and has an option to be dairy-free as well.
    Gluten-Free Challah with a Dairy-Free Option Most meat in its pure form is gluten-free. However, during processing many meats are injected with gluten ingredients. The following links will help you determine which meats are gluten-free. Although, it is always a good idea to contact the manufacturer to verify that their meat is indeed gluten-free.
    Gluten-Free Turkeys Gluten-Free Hams The following are some  links  that will take you to easy and/or already prepared foods for Easter and Passover.
    Gluten-Free Breads:
    Gluten-Free Breads Gluten-Free Frozen Bread & Rolls Gluten-Free Baking Ingredients Gluten-Free Gravy:
     
    Easy Gluten-free Gravy Mixes Gluten-Free Desserts:
     
     
    Linzertorte Frozen Desserts Frozen Pies Easter Candy:
    It is so tempting to sample all of the yummy Easter candy out there, but don't forget that many Easter Candies are NOT gluten-free. During Passover and Easter, there are so many opportunities to go to parties with friends and family where there is a plethora of Easter snacks and candy; even office events will put your sweet tooth to the test. I recommend avoiding the temptation to sample Easter candy that may contain gluten, by bringing your own gluten-free candy to social events. Bringing gluten-free Easter candy to share with others will make it easier on you when it comes to sampling, because you can sample the candy you brought while also sharing with others. Informing your friends of your gluten-free candy requirements is also an option, it  might even make a good  conversation topic. The following is a list of gluten-free Easter candy. Please remember to check with the manufacturer if you have any questions.
     
     
    Gluten-free Candy Easter Candy Safe/Unsafe List As a newbie to the gluten-free community, I also have many other dietary restrictions. That's why finding gluten-free food is only half the battle for me. I also need to find food that fits all my other dietary requirements. Here is a site that I came across while looking for gluten-free, vegan recipes. These recipes all sound really amazing and I can't wait to try as many as possible! I must emphasize however, that I could not possibly try all of these recipes. So it is up to you to try the recipes that sound good to you and decide for yourself if you like them or not. I know first-hand how frustrating it is to spend time and money trying out a new, yummy sounding recipe, only to follow the recipe exactly as it is written, and discover that it tastes so bad I end up going to bed hungry. Rather than going to bed hungry, I recommend trying a few recipes before your holiday meal as a trial run. If you try a recipe before your holiday event, you will  have an opportunity to decide if you like the recipe and to modify the recipe to fit your taste buds if necessary.
     
     
    Destiny's Gluten-Free/Vegetarian/Vegan/Other Dietary Alternatives  
    Gluten-Free Easter Eggs:

    The following recipe is great for those with dye sensitivities or anyone looking for a natural, healthy alternative to Easter egg dyes. Most Easter coloring kits require vinegar. Be sure to use gluten-free vinegar.
     
    Gluten-Free Vinegar Natural/Food Based Dyes:
    Red and Pink- pomegranate juice, raspberries, cherries, cranberries, red grape juice, and beets, red onions. (less boiling or dying produces a pink color)
    Orange – carrots, chili powder or paprika
    Yellow – turmeric, orange or lemon peels, chamomile tea, celery seed (turmeric does not need to be boiled.)
    Brown – coffee, black tea or black walnut shells
    Green – spinach or liquid chlorophyll
    Blue – blueberries, purple grape juice
    Purple – grape juice or blackberries, concentrated grape juice, violet blossoms, and hibiscus tea
    Gold - curry powder, yellow delicious apple peels, dill seeds
    Deep yellow- soak eggs in turmeric for a long time
    Teal- Soak eggs in turmeric solution for 30 minutes and then cabbage soak for 5 seconds.
    Bright Blue- Soak eggs in cabbage solution overnight (or just for a long time)
    Red/Pink-less boiling or dying produces a pink color

    Instructions:
    To begin, boil your eggs and when they are cool, store them in your refrigerator until you are ready to dye them. Alternatively, you can boil eggs with dye or cold dip, for 5 seconds up to overnight, and dry on wire wrap.
    To make each dye, bring water, vinegar, and color element to a boil, lower the heat, simmer 30 min and strain dye. Please note, you will need a separate base for each primary dye color you make.
    The rule of thumb for the dye is to use four cups of chopped fruit, vegetable or plant material to four cups of water. Add two tablespoons of vinegar. Bring to a boil and then simmer for 15 to 30 minutes (depending on how intense you want the colors).
     
    Eggs colored in natural dyes generally have a dull finish and are not glossy. If you want your eggs to look glossy,  rub them with cooking or mineral oil after they dry.
    Keep your eggs refrigerated until it's time to hide them or eat them.
    Caution: Food safety experts recommend not eating eggs that have been sitting at room temperature for more than two hours.
    Gluten-Free Quick-Check:
    Watch out for hidden gluten-ingredients,(caramel color, natural and artificial flavors or colors, etc) Keep your hands clean Host Easter brunch Make sure all of your kitchen equipment is clean and free of gluten contaminates Bring gluten-free Easter candy & snacks to share If you buy prepared meats, check with the manufacturer to make sure they are gluten-free Trust yourself. If you think something might make you sick, don't take any chances Above all else, have fun!
     
     
     
     

    Destiny Stone
    Gluten-Free Mother's Day
    Celiac.com 04/15/2010 - Mother's day is right around the corner, and what better way to tell your mom you love her, than to make her  a lovely gluten-free brunch. Even if your mom is a gluten eater, it is still a  perfect opportunity to try out some new gluten-free recipes. Many people with gluten sensitivities are also sensitive to foods other than gluten. That is why for this special day, I am including some gluten-free recipes that are also free of most common allergens.
    Making brunch for your mom on Mother's Day doesn't have to be expensive, and a gluten-free brunch isn't hard at all. If you have a recipe that you love, but you don't know how to make it gluten-free, do an Internet search for your favorite dish and add "gluten-free” to the beginning of your search. You will be amazed at how many recipes have already been converted to gluten-free, and are on the Internet to be shared by all.
    The following recipes are gluten-free, dairy/casein-free, egg-free, nut-free, corn free, and shell-fish free-actually free of all animal products. Even if you don't need to avoid other allergens, you might find that you like  these gluten free recipes better than you expect.  Although, the following recipes can also be modified to fit your taste buds. So if a recipe calls for non-dairy margarine for example, use butter, or coconut oil if you prefer. Don't hesitate to dig in and get creative!
    The following link is for a recipe that I can't wait to try. This basic recipe can be elaborated on, and you can top with the fruit of your choice. This is an excellent idea for brunch, or wrap them up and present them as a gift.

    Vegan Gluten Free Lemon Coconut Cream Scones  The wonderful thing about the following Tofu Benedict  recipe,  is that it can be modified to suit your taste buds. If you eat meat, you can add gluten-free meat to your Benedict, or anything that you think your mom would enjoy on her special day. It's also a very easy recipe and doesn't take long to prepare.
    Gluten-Free Tofu Benedict Recipe
    Ingredients:
    1 lb. extra firm tofu 1/4 cup distilled apple cider vinegar 1/4 tsp. Himalyan salt (or table salt) 1/4 cup olive oil 4 Tbsp. gluten-free nondairy butter substitute 8 oz. nondairy gluten-free sour cream 1 tsp. gluten-free paprika 1/2 tsp. gluten-free nutmeg Pinch of gluten-free cayenne 1 Tbsp. fresh squeezed lemon juice 4 gluten-free  English muffins, toasted (or 8 slices of toast) Gluten-Free English Muffins   8 slices  tomato Preheat the oven to 450ºF. Drain the tofu, cut it into 8 slices, and arrange it in a single layer in an oiled 9”x13” baking dish.
    In a small bowl, whisk together the vinegar, salt, and olive oil and pour the mixture over the tofu. Bake the tofu for 20 minutes, basting it occasionally and turning it over after 10 minutes. Pour off any excess liquid and bake the tofu for a few more minutes—until it is brown and crispy.
    To make the hollandaise sauce, melt the butter substitute  in a small saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the nondairy sour cream, paprika, nutmeg, cayenne, and lemon juice. Make sure that the mixture is heated through but don’t allow it to boil.
    Top each English muffin half with a slice of tofu, tomato slice, and a generous spoonful of hollandaise sauce to taste.
    Serve immediately & Enjoy!
    Gluten-Free Gift Baskets
    Giving your mom a thoughtful Mother's Day gift doesn't have to be expensive. Gift baskets come in all shapes and sizes, so you don't have to spend a fortune to show your mom how much you love her.*Tip: To save money, make your own gluten-free gift basket. Purchase an inexpensive basket at your local craft store, fill it up with gluten-free goodies, wrap it with cellophane and a pretty bow and in no time, you have a customized gluten-free gift basket made especially for your mom.
    Fill your gluten-free gift basket up with gluten-free goodies; below are some ideas.

    Gluten-Free Desserts Gluten-Free Cookies Gluten-Free Crackers Gluten-Free Candy Gluten-Free Personal Care, Lotions etc. If your mom likes to cook, what better way to pamper her, than to give her the gift that keeps on giving. Below is a link of gluten-free cookbooks. Cookbooks also make a wonderful addition to your gift basket.
    Cookbooks Don't forget the chocolate! No gift basket is complete without chocolate and most moms enjoy a little chocolate on occasion. The following is a list of gluten-free chocolate treats. You will find everything from chocolate cakes and cookies, to chocolate mousse and chocolate chips. So even if you don't have time to bake her a cake, you can still give your mom some yummy gluten-free chocolate treats to enjoy on  Mother's Day.
    Gluten-Free Chocolate
    Keep your mom in style this Spring. Our celiac awareness shirts are a welcome addition to any gift basket or even by themselves.
    Celiac Awareness Shirts
    What do you get for the gluten-free mom that has everything? Try a giftvoucher for the Gluten Free Mall. Vouchers can accommodate any budgetand they also make an excellent last minute gift. So this year, thereis no excuse for not giving your mom something nice for  Mother's Day.
    Gluten-Free Gift Vouchers
    Mother's Day Ideas:
    Make gluten-free brunch Convert your favorite recipes to “gluten-free” Make your mom a gluten-free gift basket Happy Mother's Day!


    Jefferson Adams
    Be My Gluten-free Valentine!
    Celiac.com 02/08/2011 - Valentine's Day is upon us once again, and, once again, the options are many. Dine in? Dine out? Sweets or no sweets? Chocolates? Cakes? Candies? How to make sure it's all gluten-free?
    The choices can be daunting enough, but for people with a gluten-free spouse or loved one, those choices can make or break a Valentine's Day celebration.
    To make things easier and to help you have the best possible gluten-free Valentine's Day, celiac.com has prepared this list of ideas and tips.
    Candy:
    For a comprehensive list of gluten-free candies, please see Celiac.com's Gluten-friendly and Gluten-Free Candy and Treats.
    Dine-in:
    For an easy, intimate Valentine's dinner at home, try gluten-free Cornish Game Hens.
    Dessert:
    Gluten-free Chocolate Valentine's Mousse
    Ingredients:
    8 strawberries (optional)
    Chocolate Hearts (optional)
    1/3 cup sugar
    3 tablespoons cornstarch
    1 cup milk
    ½ cup water
    4 egg yolks, beaten
    1 ¾ cups Hershey's Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips or Hershey's Milk Chocolate Chips
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    ¾ cup whipping cream, whipped
    ½ cup whipping cream, whippedDirections:

    Prepare Chocolate Hearts. Stir together sugar and cornstarch in medium heavy saucepan. Stir in milk and water. Cook and stir over medium-high heat until boiling. Stir about half of hot mixture into beaten egg yolks. Return all to saucepan. Boil gently 1 minute, stirring constantly. Remove from heat. Add chocolate chips and vanilla to hot mixture; stir until chocolate is melted. Pour into small metal bowl. Set bowl inside a larger bowl filled with ice water. Beat on high speed of mixer about 5 minutes or until chocolate mixture is completely cooled. Fold in the whipped ¾ cup cream. Spoon into martini glasses or dessert dishes. Cover lightly with plastic wrap. Refrigerate 30 minutes or up to 2 days. Just before serving, top each with a dollop of the whipped ½ cup cream and a strawberry, if desired. Peel chocolate hearts from wax paper; place one on each dessert. 8 servings. Chocolate Hearts: Place ¼ cup Hershey's Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips or Milk Chocolate Chips and ½ teaspoon shortening (do not use butter, margarine, spread or oil) in small microwave-safe bowl. Microwave at HIGH (100%) 45 seconds; stir until melted. Let stand 2 minutes. Pour into heavy duty small plastic bag, Cut off a tiny corner of the bag. Squeeze bag to pipe mixture into heart shapes on wax paper. Refrigerate until firm.Tip: To form perfectly shaped chocolate hearts, trace around a small heart-shaped cookie cutter on a piece of white paper. Tape wax paper over the white paper; pipe chocolate on wax paper following the outline.
    For an alternative to chocolate mousse, gluten-free baked apples make a great Valentine's treat.
    If baking is the path to the heart of your beloved, then try making this flowerless chocolate cake.

    Flourless Chocolate Valentine's Cake
    Ingredients:
    8-10 strawberries
    1/2 cup water
    1/4 teaspoon salt
    3/4 cup white sugar
    1 tablespoon of powdered sugar
    18 ounces bittersweet chocolate in small pieces
    1 cup unsalted butter
    6 eggs
    Sprig of mint (garnish)Directions:
    Heat oven to 300 degrees F (150 degrees C).
    Grease one 10 inch round cake pan and set aside.
    In a small saucepan over medium heat combine the water, salt and sugar. Stir until completely dissolved and set aside.
    Use a double boiler or a microwave oven to melt the bittersweet chocolate.
    Pour the melted chocolate into a mixing bowl.
    Cut the butter into small pieces and beat the butter into the chocolate, 1 piece at a time. Beat in the hot sugar-water. Slowly beat in the eggs, one at a time.
    Pour the mixture into the greased cake pan.
    Fill a pan that is larger than the cake pan halfway with boiling water.
    Place the cake pan and mixture into the pan with the boiling water.
    Bake cake in the water bath at 300 degrees F (150 degrees C) for 45 minutes. When the cake is done, the center will still look wet.
    Remove the pan from the water and place in a refrigerator overnight. To release from the mold, place the bottom of the cake pan in hot water for 10-15 seconds and flip onto a serving plate. Dust with powdered sugar. Garnish each slice with strawberry, and a sprig of mint.
    Gluten-free Valentine Cookie Delivery:
    If baking is the key to your gluten-free Valentine's heart, yet you have no time to bake, try ordering some delicious gluten-free cookies from Beautiful Sweets, the cookies Al Rokker calls "the most beautiful cookies in the world."
    Dine-out:
    Dining out at a romantic restaurant is a time-honored way to put a smile on your Valentine's face. You'll get extra points if you can pull off a romantic Valentine restaurant dinner for your gluten-free loved one.
    Remember, certain types of cuisine are more naturally gluten-free than others. Generally speaking, Asian, Mexican, Central- and South American cuisines are a good bet. However, with a bit of scouting, even Italian can deliver a great gluten-free Valentine's dinner.
    Many full-service Italian restaurant feature secondi piatti, such as roasted meats, seafoods, and risottos, Many of these are gluten-free, or can be prepared without flour.
    Whatever cuisine you choose, be sure to call ahead to the restaurant, and to ask about any menu item, or method of preparation if you are not sure about the gluten status.
    So, the key to a great gluten-free Valentine's Day is a bit of planning, some double-checking, and dash of pure romance.
    With those things in your favor, your'e sure to deliver a great gluten-free Valentine's Day!


    Jefferson Adams
    Gluten-free Halloween Candy 2015
    Celiac.com 10/16/2015 - It's time for ghouls and goblins to take to the streets and demand candy from the neighbors!
    Here is Celiac.com's latest, most current list of Gluten-free and Gluten-safe Candy for Halloween 2015. This year, we offer our most comprehensive list, which includes new gluten-free treats like Kinder Surprise Eggs, among others.
    Below the gluten-free candy list, you will find a list of UNSAFE, NON–gluten–free candies, along with a partial list of major candy makers with links to their company websites.
    Please keep in mind that this list is not complete, or definitive, and should only be used as a guideline.
    As always, before eating any candy on the list, be sure to read labels, check manufacturer's information, and gauge your purchases according to your own sensitivity levels, or those of your children.
    Be sure to check manufacturer websites for official information on any specific products.
    Halloween 2015:
    3 Musketeers fun size 3 Musketeers Mint with dark chocolate A
    Act II Popcorn Balls Adams & Brooks Fun Pops Scooby Doo Ingredients free of: peanuts, tree nuts, egg, milk, wheat/gluten, soy Albert's Gummy Eyeballs Albert's Iced Halloween pops (lollipops) Alien Pop, Baseball Pop, Basketball Pop, Boo Pop, Carousel Pop, ColorBlaster Pop, Football Pop, Happy Heart Pop, Hoppin' Pop, Lickin' Lips Pop, Lolliday Pop, Lollinotes, Pop—A—Bear, Soccer Pop, Alien Glow Pop, Buggin' Glow Pop, Burstin Bits, and Ghostly Glow Pop Almond Joy — All Except ALMOND JOY PIECES Candy Almond Joy fun size bars Altoids (except for Altoids Smalls Peppermint) Amanda's Own Confections Chocolate shapes and chocolate lollipops Annie's Organic Bunny Fruit snacks Andes mints and candies Applehead, Grapehead, Cherryhead B
    Baby Ruth original and fun size Barrels of Candy Bazooka Big Mix (includes bubble gum, bubble gum filled candy, candy chews, and bubble gum filled lollipops) Bazooka Ring Pops Bazooka Push Pops Bazooka Baby Bottle Pops Betty Crocker Fruit by the Foot Wicked Webs Berry Wave mini feet Betty Crocker Halloween fruit flavored snacks, including Fruit Gushers, Fruit Roll–ups, and Mini Rolls Bit•O•Honey Big Blow bubblegum Black Forest Gummy Tarantulas Black Forest Gummy Fun Bugs Juicy Oozers Bubbly lollipop and gum Butterfinger bar, original and fun size C
    Cadbury Adams Swedish Fish Cadbury Adams Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme Candy Checkers (made for Target) Caramel Apple Pops (made by Tootsie Roll) Charleston Chew original and fun size Charms Blow Pops and Blow Pop Minis—may contain milk or soy Charms Candy Carnival Package—Blow Pops, Sugar Babies, Zip a Dee mini pops, Sugar Daddy, Pops, Sugar Mama Caramel, Tear Jerkers sour bubble gum, Blow Pop Bubble Gum—may contain milk or soy Charms Fluffy Stuff Spider Web cotton candy Chewy Atomic Fireballs Chewy Lemonheads and Friends Chupa Chups Fruit Lollipops Circus Peanuts by Spangler Clark Bars Cliff—Fruit Rope, all flavors "gluten-free" Coastal Bay Confections Candy Corn, Mellocreme Pumpkins, Autumn Mix Colombina Scary Eyeballs bubblegum Colombina Fizzy Pops Comix Mix Candy Sticks—Tom and Jerry, Flintstones, Scooby Doo, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Popeye Cracker Jack caramel coated popcorn and peanuts Crispy Cat Mint Coconut Candy Bar Crispy Cat Toasted Almond Candy Bar Crispy Cat Chocolate Marshmallow Candy Bar CVS Brand Candy Bracelet with Pendant D
    Disney Halloween Candy Mix—jelly beans, gummies, candy bracelets and characters from Cars, Tinkerbell and Toy Story Dots Gumdrops—including Candy Corn Dots, Ghost Dots, and Bat Dots Dove pieces—Dark Chocolate, Milk Chocolate, Peanut Butter Milk Chocolate, Caramel Milk Chocolate Dubble Bubble bubblegum Dum Dum Chewy Pops Dum Dum Lollipops (including Shrek Pops) F
    Farley's Kiddie Mix — Smarties, SweetTarts, Now and Later, Jaw Breakers, Super Bubble and Lolli—pops Ferrara Pan Caramels Ferrara Pan Lemonhead & Friends candy mix—including Applehead, Cherryhead, Grapehead, Chewy Lemonhead & Friends, Chewy Atomic Fireball, and Red Hots FLIX Spooky Lip Pops Lollipops, Angry Birds Lollipops, Gummy Boo Bands, Monsters, Inc. Character Candies, Lollipops and Marshmallow Eyeballs Florida's Natural Healthy Treats Nuggets, Sour String, Fruit Stiks Fright Fingers Popcorn Kit Frankford's Bugs Gummy Candy Frankford's Gummy Body Parts Frankford's Marshmallow Pals Fun Dip Fun Dip Sour G
    Game Night boxes of candy game pieces (includes Operation, Sorry!, Monopoly, Life, and Clue) Gimbal's Fine Candies Jelly Beans, Sour Lovers, Cherry Lovers, Cinnamon Lovers, LavaBalls, Licorice Scotties Goldenberg's peanut chews Goobers Grave Gummies (Yummy Gummies) Greenbriar Skull and Bones Fruit Hard Candy, Spooky Lollipop Rings, Grave Gummies Gummy Brush Paint Shop Gummy Pirate Choppers H
    Haribo Gold—Bears Heath milk chocolate English toffee bar and snack size — contains almonds Hershey's Kisses Milk Chocolate & Filled Chocolates — ALL Hershey's Milk Chocolate bars Hershey's Milk Chocolate with Almonds Hershey's Milk Duds Hershey's Nuggets (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Toffee and Almonds, Special Dark, Special Dark with Almonds), Hershey's Skor Toffee Bars Hot Tamales Hot Tamales Spray Hubba Bubba Gum Humphrey Popcorn Balls I
    Ice Cream Dipper (Blue Raspberry, Strawberry) J
    Jelly Belly beans—gluten–free, dairy–free Jolly Rancher hard candy and Doubles Candy Jolly Rancher Hard Candy Stix, Lollipops and Fruit Chews Junior Mints Just Born Jelly Beans Just Born marshmallow treats K
    Kellogg's Spongebob Squarepants fruit flavored snacks Kinder Surprise Eggs Kraft Caramels Kraft Jet–Puffed Boo Mallows and Ghost Mallows Kraft Swedish Fish Kraft Sour Patch Kids and Sour Patch Extreme L
    Laffy Taffy Plain, Stretchy & Tangy and Rope Lemonheads Lifesavers LifeSavers Gummies including Big Ring Gummies, Sweet 'n' Sour, and Scary Assortment Lollipop Paint Shop M
    M&M's—original, peanut, peanut butter Mars M&M's—except pretzel M&M's Mars Dove chocolate products Mars Munch Nut bar Mars Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, fun size and mini's—may contain almonds Mary Janes Mallo Cup Marvel Heroes Candy Sticks (Hulk, Spiderman, Wolverine) Mega Warheads Melster Chocolate Covered Marshmallow Melster Peanut Butter Kisses Milk Duds Mike and Ike Mike and Ike Spray Mini Mentos Mini Sour Dudes Straws Monstaz Pops (jack–o–lantern lollipops) Monster Hunt plastic monster eggs filled with candy bones, skulls and pumpkins (made for Target) Mounds Mounds dark chocolate fun size bars Mr. Goodbar N Necco's Sky Bar 4 in 1 chocolate bar Necco Wafers Necco Mary Janes Necco Mary Jane Peanut Butter Kisses—does contain peanuts Necco Sweethearts Conversation Hearts (available for Valentine's Day only) Necco Canada Mint & Wintergreen Lozenges Necco Haviland Thin Mints and Candy Stix Necco Clark Bars Necco Skybars Necco Haviland Peppermint & Wintergreen Patties Necco Candy Eggs Necco Talking Pumpkins (available at Halloween only) Necco Squirrel Nut Caramels and Squirrel Nut Zippers Necco Banana Split and Mint Julep Chews Necco Ultramints Nestle Milk Chocolate fun size bars Nestle Baby Ruth Nestle Bit–O–Honey Nestle Butterfinger (NOT Butterfinger Crisp or Butterfinger Stixx) Nestle Goobers—does contain peanuts Nestle Nips (both regular and sugar–free) Nestle Oh Henry! Nestle Raisinets—made on equipment that processes peanuts Nestle Sno–Caps Nestle Wonka Pixy Stix Nestle Wonka Laffy Taffy Nestle Wonka Lik–M–Aid Fun Dip Nestle Wonka Spree Nik—L—Nip wax bottles with juice Now and Later O
    Oh Henry! Operation Gummy Candy P
    Palmer Peanut Butter Cups—does contain peanuts Pay Day peanut caramel bar snack size Peanut M&M's Pearson's Bun candy—maple and roasted peanuts Pearson's Mint Patties, Pearson's Nut Goodies Pearson's Salted Nut Rolls Peeps Jack–O–Lanterns, Marshmallow Pumpkins, Marshmallow Ghosts, Marshmallow Tombstones, Chocolate Mousse Cats, Milk Chocolate Covered Pumpkins, Dark Chocolate Covered Pumpkins, and Milk Chocolate Dipped Orange Chicks—"Gluten Free" Pez candy—All PEZ products are "Gluten Free" Pop Rocks Popcorn Expressions Kettle Corn Snack Bags Pixie Stix Pure Fun Halloween Pure Pops R
    Rain Blo Bubble Gum Eyes of Terror Raisinets Razzles candy gum Red Hots Reese's Fast Break candy bars and snack size Reese's Peanut Butter Cups snack size and miniatures—Except Reese's Peanut Butter Cup Unwrapped Minis and Seasonal Shaped Items Reese's Pieces Reese's Select Peanut Butter Cremes Reese's Select Clusters Reese's Whipps Riviera Spooky Candy Rings Rolo chocolate covered caramels—Except ROLO Minis S
    Sidewalk Chalk Sixlets Skeleton Pops (lollipops) Skittles includes Original, Sour, Wild Berry, Fizzl'd Fruits, and Crazy Core, including fun—size Smarties—(the small pastel–colored candies sold in rolls and made by Ce De). Also Candy Money, Candy Necklace, Easter Smarties, Giant Smarties, Giant Smarties Pops, Love Hearts, Mega Smarties, Smarties in a Pouch, Tropical Smarties, Smarties Double Lollies, Smarties Mega Lollies, Smarties Parties, Smarties Pops, and X—TREME Sour Smarties. Manufacturer states: These products contains NO: gluten, milk, egg, fish, crustacean shellfish, tree nuts, wheat, peanuts, or soy. (US only, NOT gluten-free in Canada). Snickers Snickers Fudge bar Sno—Caps Sno—Cone Soda Pop Sour Patch Spooky Candy Rings (eyeballs, Frankenstein heads and other shapes on rings) Starburst Fruit Chews and fun—size Starburst Gummibursts and Sour Gummibursts Sugar Babies Sugar Daddy Caramel Pops Sugar Mama Caramels Super Bubble bubble gum Surf Sweets Gummy Worms Surf Sweets Gummy Swirls Surf Sweets Gummy Bears Surf SweetsFruity Bears Surf Sweets Jelly Beans Surf Sweets Sour Worms Surf Sweets Sour Berry Bears Swedish Fish Sweethearts conversation hearts Forbidden Fruits (candy packaging of The Twilight Saga, New Moon the movie) Sweet's Candy Corn Taffy T
    TIC TACS Tootsie Caramel Apple Pops Tootsie Pops—original and mini Tootsie Rolls Midgies and snack bars Topps — Baby Bottle Pop, Ring Pops, Push Pops, Ring Pop Gummies, Bazooka Gum, Bazooka Gum Nuggets Transformers Candy Mix—gummy shields, fruit chews, candy shields, gum rocks Twist and Glow, Twist and Glow Heart, Twist and Glow Pumpkin W
    Warheads—Extreme Sour hard candy and Sour QBZ chewy cubes Warheads Sour Chewy Cubes Warheads Super Sour Spray, Sour Dippers, Double Drops Welches Fruit Snacks—All flavors Wonka Bottlecaps Wonka Chocolate Laffy Taffy Wonka Giant Chewy Nerds Jelly Beans Wonka Giant Pixy Stix Wonka Gobstopper Everlasting Wonka Gobstopper Chewy Wonka Fruit Tart Chews Wonka Fun Dip and Fun Dip Sour Wonka Laffy Taffy Ropes Wonka Mix–Ups Wonka Monster Mix–Ups—SweetTarts Skulls and Bones, Spooky Nerds, Howlin' Laffy Taffy Wonka Nerds—carry a cross contamination warning on the Spooky Nerds orange and fruit punch flavors Wonka Pixy Stix Wrigley's Gum X
    X–scream Mouth Morphers Fruit Gushers Y
    York Peppermint Patties York Peppermint Patties Pumpkins Z
    Zed Candy Skulls and Bones
    With all these selections, finding some good, gluten–free candy should be a snap. As always, be sure to read labels, as some ingredients can vary.
    **WARNING! THESE UNSAFE CANDIES CONTAIN OR MAY CONTAIN GLUTEN:
    AIRHEADS Packaging states that Airheads are: "Manufactured in a facility that processes wheat flour." Airheads.com FAQs state that: "Airheads do not contain gluten; however, they are processed in a facility that uses wheat flour, so the company does not guarantee that Airheads are gluten-free. Airheads Xtremes Rolls contains wheat flour ANNABELLE'S Abba Zabba—contains: peanuts, soybean oil and soy lecithin, wheat/gluten Big Hunk—Package statement: "made in a facility that uses milk, egg, tree nuts, wheat and peanuts" Look—Contains: milk, peanuts, soy lecithin, eggs, wheat/gluten Rocky Road, Rocky Road Mint, Rocky Road Dark—Contain wheat/gluten Uno—Contains: milk, almonds, soy lecithin, wheat/gluten AMERICAN LICORICE CO. Sour Punch Sticks, Twists, Bits, Bites, Straws—contains wheat/gluten Red Vines—all varieties and flavors contain wheat/gluten BEE INTERNATIONAL Zombee Bloody Bites (glow in the dark plastic fangs with oozing candy blood bags) Zombee Candy Corn (in a tall tube with plastic pumpkin lid) Package statement: "Made in a facility that also processes milk, wheat, peanuts, tree nuts." BRACH'SAll Brach's candy should be considered NOT gluten–free! Please be careful, as I have seen Brach's candies included on gluten-free safe lists! CADBURY ADAMSSour Patch Xploderz CHUCKLESChuckles Ju Jubes CVS Candy Corn, Autumn Mix, Candy Pumpkins Ingredients free of: wheat/gluten, milk, tree nuts, peanuts Package statement: "This product was packaged in a facility where other products containing peanuts, tree nuts, milk, wheat, soy and egg are also packaged." FARLEY'S AND SATHERS Harvest Mix and Candy Corn—This product is made by Brach's. All Brach's candies are considered to contain gluten. See Brach's blistings. Heide candies—Jujyfruits, Jujubes, Red Raspberry Dollars, Red Hot Dollars Wild Cherry, Heide Gummi Bears Super Bubble and Super Bubble Blast Trolli Gummi Bears, Trolli Sour Brite (Frite) Crawlers "Packaged on equipment that packages products containing traces of milk, wheat, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and/or soy protein." FERREROFerrero Rocher Chocolates FLIX Bag of Boogers Gummies — "Manufactured in a facility that processes gluten (wheat), milk, egg, peanuts, tree nuts and soy." FRANKFORD Frankford Fun Size Mix (Peanut Butter, Caramel and Crispy Chocolate Covered Candies) Crispy Candies SpongeBob Gummy Krabby Patties GOETZEGoetze's Caramel Creams, Cow Tales—Contain wheat flour, milk, and soy HARIBO Black Licorice Wheels Brixx Fruity Pasta Konfekt and Pontefract Cakes Red Licorice Wheels Sour S'ghetti HERSHEY Hershey Snack Sized Bars — ALL Kit Kat—contains wheat Reese's Minis Reese's Peanut Butter Pumpkins Reese's Seasonal Rolo Minis Twizzlers—contains wheat Whoppers—contains barley malt and wheat flour Hershey's Bliss (Milk Chocolate, Milk Chocolate with Almonds, Milk Chocolate with Meltaway Center, White Chocolate with Meltaway Center, Milk Chocolate with Raspberry Meltaway Center, Dark Chocolate)—No gluten ingredients, but not on Hershey's official gluten-free list. Hershey's Good & Plenty Hershey's Mr. Goodbar fun size Hershey's Twizzlers, Flavored Twists IMPACT CONFECTIONSWarheads Sour Twists—contain wheat/gluten, milk MARS and WRIGLEY M&M White Chocolate, Mint and M&M Coconut flavors—Check individual packages to be sure Milky Way—contains barley malt Twix—contains wheat NESTLE Butterfinger Crisp or Butterfinger Stixx—contains wheat flour Crunch—contains barley malt Hundred Grand Bar—contains barley malt Wonka Oompas and the Wonka Bar are NOT gluten–free. PALMER Palmer Bag of Boo's fudge bars Palmer Tricky Treats (mix of Googley Eyes, Boneheads, and Pumpkin Patch chocolate candies) Palmer Trick or Treat Mix Palmer Peppermint Patties RUSSELL STOVER'S—Russell Stover's products are produced on equipment that also processes peanuts, tree nuts, eggs and wheat gluten. YORKYork Pieces, York Minis and York Shapes WONKA Wonka Bar Wonka Chewy Runts Wonka Chewy Spree Wonka Giant and Mini Chewy SweeTarts Wonka Nerds Wonka Oompas Wonka Runts Wonka Runts Chewy Wonka SweetTarts Wonka Sweetarts (regular) Wonka Sweetarts Chew Wonka Sweetarts Chewy Twists Wonka Sweetarts Giant Chewy Wonka Sweetarts Mini Chewy Wonka Shockers Wonka Sweetarts Gummy Bugs—contains wheat/gluten Wonka Sweetarts Rope—contains wheat/gluten Wonka Sweetarts Shockers Wonka Tart N Tinys Wonka Tart N Tinys Chew Wonka SweetTarts Boo Bag Mix Additional information and lists of gluten-free safe and unsafe Halloween candies can be found at:
    About.com Celiaccentral.com CeliacSupportAssociation.org Celiacfamily.com DivineCaroline.com Surefoodliving.com Foodallergyfeast Medpedia Glutenfreefacts Here is a partial list of major candy manufacturers and how to contact them:
    Adams & Brooks American Licorice Co. BEE International  Ferrara Candy Company  Ferrero Rocher  FLIX  Gimbal's Fine Candies  Goetze's Candy Company  Hershey's. Here's a link to Hershey's official gluten-free list. Impact Confections  Jelly Belly Just Born. Here's a link to Just Born Gluten-free FAQs Kraft Foods Mars Chocolate Necco  Nestle USA Palmer Pearson's PEZ  Pop Rocks  Tootsie Roll 

×