Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
  • 0

    Are Distilled Vinegars Made from Wheat Safe?

    Scott Adams

    White vinegar or just plain vinegar are typically distilled, and, if so, are gluten-free. Distilled vinegar can be distilled from wheat, corn, potatoes, beets, wood, apples and many other things. Most in the USA are not made from wheat, but are instead made from corn, potatoes or wood, which are all safe (Heinz white vinegar is distilled from corn). Distilled vinegars that are made from wheat are probably gluten-free because of the distillation process described in Frederik Willem Janssens article on this site.

    Distilled vinegar made from wood are gluten-free. Wood-based vinegar is often the vinegar used in processed foods.

    Flavored vinegars are made with white, distilled vinegar, and flavorings are then added. Some of these may also not be gluten-free (the cheapest vinegars are used since the flavors are masked by the herbs and flavoring).

    Malted vinegars are usually not gluten-free.

    Red and white wine and balsamic vinegars are gluten-free.


    0


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    Guest Dianna Beegle

    Posted

    Thank you for clearing up question. Printed and will keep.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Nan Rosendale

    Posted

    I had heard all vinegar may have wheat. Thank you for this information.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Susan Bellomo

    Posted

    Thank you for clarifying whether certain vinegars are safe (gluten-free) and why.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Thank you so much for taking the time to do this for all of us to use!!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Thanks. I was wondering if ricotta cheese made with distilled vinegar was gluten-free and this cleared up the question.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Regina

    Posted

    Whenever I have a question, I know I can find the answer on the Celiac.com website. Thank you for all your time in creating this website.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Jean Vancil

    Posted

    Celiac can be so confusing, thank you for adding to my diet possibilities.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Terry Kott

    Posted

    Thank you for helping a person who is very sensitive to gluten. Even if products are labeled "gluten free", I still will not buy them if the building or equipment used to process them has processed gluten-containing products.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Thank you for helping a person who is very sensitive to gluten. Even if products are labeled "gluten free", I still will not buy them if the building or equipment used to process them has processed gluten-containing products.

    Same here, had reaction too many times with such labeled foods.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I have had reaction to products that simply said vinegar, but did not notice any effect when a product said distilled vinegar like with Heinz ketchup.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    In 1994 I was diagnosed with celiac disease, which led me to create Celiac.com in 1995. I created this site for a single purpose: To help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives. Celiac.com was the first site on the Internet dedicated solely to celiac disease. In 1998 I founded The Gluten-Free Mall, Your Special Diet Superstore!, and I am the co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.

×