Celiac.com 07/29/2016 - There's a great little story by Pete Brown about his visit to the Zatec brewery in the Czech Republic. Officially known as Zatecky Pivovar, but called Zatec, the brewery offers both an interesting war history, and a great dark beer that just happens to be gluten-free.
Most gluten-free beers are made with non-barley grains, such as sorghum, which is naturally gluten-free. The problem is that many of these beverages cannot be considered beer under German law, and many don't taste all that great either.
But Celia is brewed with barley, just like normal beer, then de-glutenised with the addition of a special enzyme that breaks down the gluten molecules, binds to them and sinks to the bottom of the fermentation tank, where it is then filtered out before bottling.
Rather than thinking of it as a gluten-free beer, says Martin, it's more useful to describe it as a great beer that just happens to be gluten-free.
Read more in the Morning Advertiser.co.uk.