Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Scott Adams

    Omission Handcrafted Lager Beer is Real Beer for Real Gluten-Free Beer Lovers

    Scott Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    During college I spent a year and a half living and studying in Tuebingen, Germany. This was before my diagnosis with celiac disease, and it was there that I really learned to know and love beer. After my diagnosis, and around the time I founded this Web site, I spent around two years trying to perfect a gluten-free beer made of sorghum and rice malts. I got close, but it never tasted quite right.

    The same can be said of many of the gluten-free beers that are made without using barley, which, according to Germany's 1516 "Reinheitgebot," or German Beer Purity Law, can't even be called "beer" in Germany.



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Omission Handcrafted Lager Beer, on the other hand, can be called real beer in Germany, as it is made using only traditional beer ingredients: malted barely, hops, yeast and water. How could it be safe for celiacs you ask? Because it is made using a process that removes the harmful gluten to below 10 ppm, and each batch is tested using an independent lab (utilizing the R5 Competitive ELISA test).

    So now, thanks to Omission Beer, I can once again enjoy the flavor of a real German-style beer. This wonderful lager beer stands on its own against any other great lager beer, and even those who are not gluten-free wouldn't notice that it was "different."

    Visit their site for more info: omissionbeer.com.

     

     

    Note: Articles that appear in the "Gluten-Free Food Reviews" section of this site are paid advertisements. For more information about this see our Advertising Page.

     

    Edited by Scott Adams

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Scott, I am not familiar with worldwide regulations, but for the US, I recommend that you read the May 24, 2012 ruling by the TTB (Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau) regarding gluten-free labeling. It prohibits the use of the term "gluten-free" on any beer derived from barley malt, even if it has been crafted to remove gluten.

     

    "....One of the following qualifying statements must also appear legibly and conspicuously on the label or in the advertisement as part of the above statement: “Product fermented from grains containing gluten and [processed or treated or crafted] to remove gluten.

    The gluten content of this product cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten....â€

     

    Regarding the R5 Mendez Competitive Assay for gluten, this has not been approved by the FDA:

     

    "....Because the current tests used to measure the gluten content of fermented products have not been scientifically validated, such statements may not include any reference to the level of gluten in the product..."

     

    [i would post a link to the regulation, but this is not permitted by celiac.com. Details can be found by searching for: "Interim Policy on Gluten Content Statements in the Labeling and Advertising of Wines, Distilled Spirits, and Malt Beverages"].

     

    It is exciting that breweries are working on innovative approaches to remove gluten from barley-based beer, and the work looks very promising, but I agree with the TTB that it is premature to declare these as "gluten-free". I look forward to future research into valid methods for determining both "gluten" levels and the safety of complex protein mixtures.

     

    Peter Olins, PhD

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Scott, I am not familiar with worldwide regulations, but for the US, I recommend that you read the May 24, 2012 ruling by the TTB (Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau) regarding gluten-free labeling. It prohibits the use of the term "gluten-free" on any beer derived from barley malt, even if it has been crafted to remove gluten.

     

    "....One of the following qualifying statements must also appear legibly and conspicuously on the label or in the advertisement as part of the above statement: “Product fermented from grains containing gluten and [processed or treated or crafted] to remove gluten.

    The gluten content of this product cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten....â€

     

    Regarding the R5 Mendez Competitive Assay for gluten, this has not been approved by the FDA:

     

    "....Because the current tests used to measure the gluten content of fermented products have not been scientifically validated, such statements may not include any reference to the level of gluten in the product..."

     

    [i would post a link to the regulation, but this is not permitted by celiac.com. Details can be found by searching for: "Interim Policy on Gluten Content Statements in the Labeling and Advertising of Wines, Distilled Spirits, and Malt Beverages"].

     

    It is exciting that breweries are working on innovative approaches to remove gluten from barley-based beer, and the work looks very promising, but I agree with the TTB that it is premature to declare these as "gluten-free". I look forward to future research into valid methods for determining both "gluten" levels and the safety of complex protein mixtures.

     

    Peter Olins, PhD

    Your comments speak to labeling laws for alcoholic beverages--which Omission Beer is conforming to. Their beer does not say "gluten-free" on the label, even though it is.

    Scott

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Scott, I am not familiar with worldwide regulations, but for the US, I recommend that you read the May 24, 2012 ruling by the TTB (Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau) regarding gluten-free labeling. It prohibits the use of the term "gluten-free" on any beer derived from barley malt, even if it has been crafted to remove gluten.

     

    "....One of the following qualifying statements must also appear legibly and conspicuously on the label or in the advertisement as part of the above statement: “Product fermented from grains containing gluten and [processed or treated or crafted] to remove gluten.

    The gluten content of this product cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten....â€

     

    Regarding the R5 Mendez Competitive Assay for gluten, this has not been approved by the FDA:

     

    "....Because the current tests used to measure the gluten content of fermented products have not been scientifically validated, such statements may not include any reference to the level of gluten in the product..."

     

    [i would post a link to the regulation, but this is not permitted by celiac.com. Details can be found by searching for: "Interim Policy on Gluten Content Statements in the Labeling and Advertising of Wines, Distilled Spirits, and Malt Beverages"].

     

    It is exciting that breweries are working on innovative approaches to remove gluten from barley-based beer, and the work looks very promising, but I agree with the TTB that it is premature to declare these as "gluten-free". I look forward to future research into valid methods for determining both "gluten" levels and the safety of complex protein mixtures.

     

    Peter Olins, PhD

    Your comments speak to labeling laws for alcoholic beverages--which Omission Beer is conforming to. Their beer does not say "gluten-free" on the label, even though it is.

    Scott

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Scott,

     

    Peter is right. Currently the science shows that it is premature to call Omission gluten free. Recent studies even suggest that it is not, and their current test underestimates gluten content in hydrolyzed products.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Scott,

     

    Peter is right. Currently the science shows that it is premature to call Omission gluten free. Recent studies even suggest that it is not, and their current test underestimates gluten content in hydrolyzed products.

    The Sandwich R5 ELISA has been shown to underestimate gluten content, but they are not using that test. They are using the Competitive R5 ELISA, which was specifically designed to test for hydrolyzed gluten.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Scott Adams was diagnosed with celiac disease in 1994, and, due to the nearly total lack of information available at that time, was forced to become an expert on the disease in order to recover. In 1995 he launched the site that later became Celiac.com to help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives.  He is co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of the (formerly paper) newsletter Journal of Gluten Sensitivity. In 1998 he founded The Gluten-Free Mall which he sold in 2014. Celiac.com does not sell any products, and is 100% advertiser supported.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    The other day I tried a bag of Crunchmaster Multi-seed Gluten-Free Crackers, which are a healthy oven-baked cracker, and I must say that they are an outstanding and very tasty gluten-free cracker.  In addition to being gluten-free they are also all natural, low sodium and cholesterol-free. 
    In addition to their great taste, what I really like about these crackers is the fact that they are made with whole grains and seeds, including brown rice meal, sesame seeds, quinoa seeds, flax seeds and amaranth seeds.  One serving size of 15 crackers packs a whopping 2 grams of dietary fiber and 280 mg of Omega-3, so these crackers are an excellent source of di...

    Celiac.com Sponsor: Review
    Celiac.com 03/09/2012 - I just discovered a gluten free Kosher (for Passover) Cookbook that is primarily based for those who follow Ashkenazi traditions.  It has over 90 gluten-free passover recipes and is the first recipe book that I have found to be kosher as well as gluten-free.  The content of this book ranges from appetizers to main dishes, including vegetarian meals.  I really liked that most of the recipes have a "variation" at the end of the section which allows you to change the recipe based on dietary requirements and taste preference.  It could only be improved by adding "gluten-free" to certain ingredients that are used in some of the recipes.

    Dyani Barber
    I am not a fan of any flavored gluten-free instant oatmeal, but Apple Pie Flavored Instant Oatmeal from Bakery On Main is the exception to my rule.  There are no artificial flavors and they only use real dried apples and cinnamon which gives it a true homemade comfort taste.
     
    This instant oatmeal is also blended with chia seeds, quinoa, and amaranth for additional nutritional value but you would never know if you didn't read the ingredients.  Just add hot water, which makes the individual packets perfect for traveling, or to keep on hand as a healthy snack.


    Visit their site for more info.


     
     
    Note: Articles that...

    Celiac.com Sponsor: Review
    It is no coincidence that Goodie Girl's slogan is "Just the Right Amount of Wrong." The first thing I noticed when I put a Midnight Brownie gluten-free cookie in my mouth was a rush of intense chocolaty flavor, which was followed by a rich buttery taste.
    These cookies really are "Midnight" in color, and may be the blackest cookie I've ever seen (similar in color to the cookie part of an Oreo). I'll attribute their color to the rich ingredients used in making them, and their baking process. The chocolate chips in the cookies actually look light in color when compared to the rest of the cookie...if you can believe that!
    I loved the rich taste of these...