- Rice and soy beverages because their production process may utilize barley enzymes.
- Bad advice from health food store employees (i.e., that spelt and/or kamut is/are safe for celiacs).
- Cross-contamination between food store bins selling raw flours and grains (usually via the scoops).
- Wheat-bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc.
- Lotions, creams and cosmetics (primarily for those with dermatitis herpetaformis).
- Toothpaste and mouthwash.
- Medicines: many contain gluten.
- Cereals: most contain malt flavoring, or some other non-gluten-free ingredient.
- Some brands of rice paper.
- Sauce mixes and sauces (soy sauce, fish sauce, catsup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc.).
- Ice cream.
- Packet & canned soups.
- Dried meals and gravy mixes.
- Grilled restaurant food - gluten contaminated grill.
- Fried restaurant foods - gluten contaminated grease.
- Ground spices - wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping.
By Scott Adams •Additional Things to Beware of to Maintain a 100% Gluten-Free Diet
Edited by Scott Adams
- Articles linking to this article: Unsafe Gluten-Free Food List (Unsafe Ingredients)
- American Dietetic Association Revises Its Gluten-Free Guidelines - Distilled Vinegar is Safe for a Gluten-Free Diet
- Distilled Spirits (Grain Alcohols) and Vinegar: Are they Gluten-Free?
- Is Wine Aged in Wheat-glued Oak Barrels Gluten-free?
- Common Misunderstandings of Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
- Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
In 1994 I was diagnosed with celiac disease, which led me to create Celiac.com in 1995. I created this site for a single purpose: To help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives. Celiac.com was the first site on the Internet dedicated solely to celiac disease. In 1998 I founded The Gluten-Free Mall, Your Special Diet Superstore!, and I am the co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.