Jump to content
Frequently Asked Questions About Celiac Disease Read more... ×
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

  • 0

    Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages

    Scott Adams
    Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
    Caption: Photo: CC--fklv (Obsolete hipster)

    Celiac.com 02/20/2015 (updated 12/31/2018- Here is Celiac.com's most up-to-date list of gluten-free beers and alcoholic beverages.

    The gluten status of the products listed below is accurate at the present time. However, as product formulations can change without notice, it is best to verify gluten-free product status by checking the ingredients yourself, or by contacting the manufacturer.

    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are gluten-free. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'

    Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid distilled beverages that use cereal grains in the manufacturing process, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

    A List of Naturally Gluten-free Beers

    • Anheuser-Busch Redbridge
    • Bard's Gold
    • Bard's Tale Beer
    • Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre
    • Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche
    • Brunehaut Bio Ambrée
    • Brunehaut Blonde Bio
    • Brunehaut Blanche
    • Burning Brothers Brewing
    • Coors Peak
    • Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale
    • Drummond Gluten Free
    • Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator
    • Ghostfish Brewery
    • Glutenberg American Pale Ale
    • Glutenberg Blonde
    • Glutenberg Belgian Double
    • Glutenberg India Pale Ale
    • Glutenberg Rousse
    • Green's Discovery Amber Ale
    • Green's Endeavour
    • Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager
    • Green's India Pale Ale
    • Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale
    • Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale
    • Ground Breaker IPA No. 5
    • Ground Breaker Dark Ale
    • Holidaily Brewing Company
    • Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison
    • Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail
    • Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale
    • Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style
    • Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free
    • Mongozo Premium Pilsener
    • New Planet Belgian Style Ale
    • New Planet Blonde Ale
    • New Planet Pale Ale
    • New Planet Raspberry Ale
    • New Planet Seclusion IPA
    • New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale
    • Nickel Brook Gluten Free
    • Nouvelle France La Messagère
    • Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits
    • Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale
    • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon
    • Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium
    • Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale
    • Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales
    • Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout
    • To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free
    • Whistler Forager

    A List of Gluten-Removed Beers

    • Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch
    • Brunehaut Bio Tripel
    • Estrella Damm Daura
    • Estrella Damm Daura Marzen
    • Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer
    • Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free
    • Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free
    • Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA
    • Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free
    • New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales
    • Short's Brewing Space Rock
    • Stone Delicious IPA
    • Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager
    • Widmer Omission Lager
    • Widmer Omission IPA
    • Widmer Omission Pale Ale
    • Wold Top Against The Grain
    • Wold Top Marmalade Porter
    • Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA

    Gluten-Free Hard Cider

    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!

    Gluten-free hard cider brands include:

    • Ace Ciders
    • Angry Orchard
    • Blue Mountain Cider Company
    • Blackthorn Cider
    • Bulmer's Hard Cider
    • Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products)
    • Gaymer Cider Company
    • Harpoon Craft Cider
    • J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider
    • Lazy Jack's Cider
    • Magner's Cider
    • Newton's Folly Hard Cider
    • Original Sin Hard Cider
    • Spire Mountain Draft Cider
    • Strongbow Cider
    • Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre
    • Woodchuck
    • Woodpecker Cider

    Gluten-Free Wine

    All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.

    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers

    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products. 

    Gluten-free versions include: 

    • Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages
    • Boones - all EXCEPT their malt beverages

    Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits Include

    • Brandy
    • Campari
    • Champagne
    • Cognac—made from grapes
    • Cointreau
    • Grappa
    • Midori
    • Prosecco
    • Khalua Coffee Liquer
    • Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur)
    • Old Deadly Cider
    • Sambuca
    • Vermouth

    Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols

    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'

    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.

    Gluten-Free Gin

    Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

    Gluten-free gin brands include:

    • Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes

    Brands of standard gin include:

    • Aviation American Gin
    • Beefeater
    • Bombay
    • Bombay Sapphire
    • Boodles British Gin
    • Booth's Gin 
    • Gordon's
    • Leopolds Gin
    • New Amsterdam Gin
    • Seagram's
    • Tanqueray

    Gluten-Free Rum

    Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.

    Gluten-free rum brands include:

    • Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum
    • Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored
    • Bayou Rum
    • Bundaberg Rum
    • Captain Morgan Rum
    • Cruzan Rum
    • Malibu Rum
    • Mount Gay Rum
    • Meyer's Rum

    Gluten-Free Sake

    Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.

    Gluten-Free Tequila

    Made from the agave cactus, all tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.

    Gluten-free tequila brands include:

    • 1519 Tequila
    • 1800 Tequila
    • Cabo Wabo
    • Cazadores
    • Chimayo
    • Don Julio
    • El Jimador
    • Herradura
    • Hornitos
    • Jose Cuervo
    • Patron
    • Sauza

    Gluten-Free Vodka

    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.

    Gluten-free vodka brands include:

    • Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV
    • Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong
    • Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
    • Rice Vodka—Kissui
    • Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU

    Vodkas distilled from cereal grains include:
    Many vodkas made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

    • Barley Vodka—Finlandia
    • Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya, 
    • Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
    • Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka

    Gluten-Free Whiskey

    Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.

    Gluten-free whiskey brands include:

    • Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum

    Whiskeys distilled from cereal grains include:

    • Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
    • Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
    • Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel.
    • Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
    • Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka, 
    • Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
    • Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt
    • Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse
    • Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker 
    • Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic

    Gluten-Free Drink Mixes

    • Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape)
    • Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape)
    • Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut
    • Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders
    • Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix
    • Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix
    • TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri.
    • TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix.

    Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol

    • Club Tom Collins—made with corn
    • Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery
    • Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes
    • Mead—made from honey
    • Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane
    • Ouzo - made from grapes and anise
    • Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White
    • Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice.

    Edited by Scott Adams


    0


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    For #4, 7, and 8. It seems many vodkas are only single distilled and poorly at that (thus the burning sensation and smell). If you get a higher end or at least a triple distilled vodka, you should be fine. I would think the same would apply for gin.

     

    I know Smirnoff Triple Distilled is fine. Although, after having Chopin (potato) I have no care to consider any other vodka.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest bronwhn

    Posted

    I have had problems with grain vodkas. I do not think they are gluten free. Perhaps Scott is correct that the gluten is removed in distillation but perhaps there is grain present at the distillery and that contaminates the final product. Whatever the reason, I have trouble with it.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I've just been diagnosed with coeliac disease pending my biopsy scheduled for midday today. I am also going to a birthday party with BIG drinkers this Saturday night. Think I'll be drinking Smirnoff Vodka. The comments above were great. Nice to know I'm not alone.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    This list is awesome. The other day I though that this is the season for Kahlua and coffee and I was really wondering if it would be safe. Thank you very much!!!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    This is an excellent resource. I love Chicken Marsala. Is Marsala Wine in the gluten free list?

    I found a recipe and said (gluten free Marsala wine)

    So, is there a Gluten free one?

    Thanks

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    We're also new to celiac disease, my husband has had 2 doctors tell him that's probably what he has, his biopsy is next Wednesday. So we're starting to look into what his diet will likely be. Unfortunately I'm finding a lot of discrepancies from resource to resource. e.g. No ketchup, HEINZ ketchup, ok. Gin bad, gin okay. Grain based vodkas and whiskeys okay as long as they're distilled, only potato vodkas okay, no whiskeys but bourbon and scotch. It's all very confusing. And 'unfortunately' he had no symptoms but anemia, so he can't even go by how he feels from eating or drinking something 'bad' like some of you who get deathly ill from drinking cheap vodka!! What to do, what to do.....

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Wow! Thank God for you people who forged ahead and 'experimented' for people like us who are still clueless as to what to drink this holiday season. Here I was thinking I shouldn't even socialize in fear of drinking the wrong stuff, but you all saved me and now I don't have to be so bah humbug! I know I can still have wine and anything potato vodka or triple distilled stuff or Kahlua. Let's hope I don't screw up by adding the wrong thing to the alcohol. I guess just juice to keep it safe! Thank you all so much and happy holidays! Here is to a healthier 2008 for all of us!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Awesome I have lost a lot of weight and got very sick before they figured I had celiac. I have searched high and low for info and people to talk to. This site is great.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Thjomas

    Posted

    I have known that I've had Celiac Disease pretty much all of my life. I have stayed away from all whiskey drinks, malted beverages, and non-gluten free beers and have never been sick (besides drinking too much). To date, I have NOT had a problem with any varieties of vodka, rum, tequila, wine, or gin. I have even consumed a couple of shots worth of Ketel One Vodka one night and still didn't feel sick afterwards. However, Ketel One Vodka sucks and don't waste your time, money, or taste buds.

     

    Usually, if you want to play it safe, stick to rum or gluten-free beer. Here are some examples of gluten-free beer: Bard's Tale Beer, New Grist, and Woodchuck Draft Cider.

     

    For verification, I do get intestinally sick from eating any sort of gluten (wheat, barley, oat, or rye) products, and therefore maintain a strict, gluten free diet. I still feel bitter sometimes about the foods that I cannot eat, but my special diet forces me to eat healthy, and in response, it makes me a healthy person. Celiac Disease in no way means the end of a happy life. I hope that this information helps people.

     

    DISCLAIMER: Everybody has a different reaction to gluten products. Some people's reactions might be more sensitive than other people's response. What I have posted is only my experiences with different kinds of alcohol. Know your own body and how it reacts.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Julie Higgins

    Posted

    Very informative.....expanded information on liquors would be helpful.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Guest
    This is now closed for further comments

  • About Me

    In 1994 I was diagnosed with celiac disease, which led me to create Celiac.com in 1995. I created this site for a single purpose: To help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives. Celiac.com was the first site on the Internet dedicated solely to celiac disease. In 1998 I founded The Gluten-Free Mall, Your Special Diet Superstore!, and I am the co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.

×