Jump to content

Important Information

This site places cookies on your device (Cookie settings). Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

  • Sign Up
  • Join our community!

    Do you have questions about celiac disease or the gluten-free diet?

  • Member Statistics

    84,923
    Total Members
    4,125
    Most Online
    Beckyok
    Newest Member
    Beckyok
    Joined
  • 0

    Safe Gluten-Free Food List (Safe Ingredients)


    Scott Adams
    • This list focuses on safe gluten-free foods and ingredients within the USA and Canada.

    A
    Acacia Gum
    Acesulfame K
    Acesulfame Potassium
    Acetanisole
    Acetophenone
    Acorn Quercus
    Adipic Acid
    Adzuki Bean
    Acacia Gum
    Agar
    Agave
    Albumen
    Alcohol (Distilled Spirits - Specific Types)
    Alfalfa
    Algae
    Algin
    Alginic Acid
    Alginate
    Alkalized Cocoa
    Allicin
    Almond Nut
    Alpha-amylase
    Alpha-lactalbumin
    Aluminum
    Amaranth
    Ambergris
    Ammonium Hydroxide
    Ammonium Phosphate
    Ammonium Sulphate
    Amylose
    Amylopectin
    Annatto
    Annatto Color
    Apple Cider Vinegar
    Arabic Gum
    Arrowroot
    Artichokes
    Artificial Butter Flavor
     Artificial Flavoring
    Ascorbic Acid
    Aspartame (can cause IBS symptoms)
    Aspartic Acid
    Aspic
    Astragalus Gummifer
    Autolyzed Yeast Extract
    Avena Sativia (Oats3)
    Avena Sativia Extract (from Oats3)
    Avidin
    Azodicarbonamide

    B
    Baking Soda
    Balsamic Vinegar
    Beeswax
    Beans
    Bean, Adzuki
    Bean, Hyacinth
    Bean, Lentil
    Bean, Mung
    Bean Romano (Chickpea)
    Bean Tepary
    Benzoic acid
    Besan (Chickpea)
    Beta Glucan (from Oats)
    Betaine
    Beta Carotene
    BHA
    BHT
    Bicarbonate of Soda
    Biotin
    Blue Cheese
    Brown Sugar
    Buckwheat
    Butter (check additives)
    Butylated Hydroxyanisole
    Butyl Compounds

    C
    Calcium Acetate
    Calcium Carbonate
    Calcium Caseinate
    Calcium Chloride
    Calcium Disodium
    Calcium Hydroxide
    Calcium Lactate
    Calcium Pantothenate
    Calcium Phosphate
    Calcium Propionate
    Calcium Silicate
    Calcium Sorbate
    Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate
    Calcium Stearate
    Calcium Sulfate
    Calrose
    Camphor
    Cane Sugar
    Cane Vinegar
    Canola (Rapeseed)
    Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil)
    Caprylic Acid
    Carageenan Chondrus Crispus
    Carbonated Water
    Carboxymethyl Cellulose
    Caramel Color
    Caramel Flavoring
    Carmine
    Carnauba Wax
    Carob Bean
    Carob Bean Gum
    Carob Flour
    Carrageenan
    Casein
    Cassava Manihot Esculenta
    Castor Oil
    Catalase
    Cellulose1
    Cellulose Ether
    Cellulose Gum
    Cetyl Alcohol
    Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol
    Champagne Vinegar
    Channa (Chickpea)
    Chana Flour (Chickpea Flour)
    Cheeses - (most, but check ingredients)
    Chestnuts
    Chickpea
    Chlorella
    Chocolate Liquor
    Choline Chloride
    Chromium Citrate
    Chymosin
    Citric Acid
    Citrus Red No. 2
    Cochineal
    Cocoa
    Cocoa Butter
    Coconut
    Coconut Vinegar
    Collagen
    Colloidal Silicon Dioxide
    Confectioner's Glaze
    Copernicia Cerifera
    Copper Sulphate
    Corn
    Corn Gluten
    Corn Masa Flour
    Corn Meal
    Corn Flour
    Corn Starch
    Corn Sugar
    Corn Sugar Vinegar
    Corn Syrup
    Corn Syrup Solids
    Corn Swetener
    Corn Vinegar
    Corn Zein
    Cortisone
    Cotton Seed
    Cotton Seed Oil
    Cowitch
    Cowpea
    Cream of Tartar
    Crospovidone
    Curds
    Cyanocobalamin
    Cysteine, L
    Dal (Lentils)
    D-Alpha-tocopherol
    Dasheen Flour (Taro)

    D
    Dates
    D-Calcium Pantothenate
    Delactosed Whey
    Demineralized Whey
    Desamidocollagen
    Dextran
    Dextrin
    Dextrimaltose
    Dextrose
    Diglycerides
    Dioctyl Sodium
    Dioctyl Sodium Solfosuccinate
    Dipotassium Phosphate
    Disodium Guanylate
    Disodium Inosinate
    Disodium Phosphate
    Distilled Alcohols
    Distilled Vinegar
    Distilled White Vinegar
    Dutch Processed Cocoa

    E
    EDTA (Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid)
    Eggs
    Egg Yolks
    Elastin
    Ester Gum
    Ethyl Alcohol
    Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid
    Ethyl Maltol
    Ethyl Vanillin
    Expeller Pressed Canola Oil

    F
    FD&C Blue No. 1 Dye
    FD&C Blue No. 1 Lake
    FD&C Blue No. 2 Dye
    FD&C Blue No. 2 Lake
    FD&C Green No. 3 Dye
    FD&C Green No. 3 Lake
    FD&C Red No. 3 Dye
    FD&C Red No. 40 Dye
    FD&C Red No. 40 Lake
    FD&C Yellow No. 5 Dye
    FD&C Yellow No. 6 Dye
    FD&C Yellow No. 6 Lake
    Ferric Orthophosphate
    Ferrous Gluconate
    Ferrous Fumerate
    Ferrous Lactate
    Ferrous Sulfate
    Fish (fresh)
    Flaked Rice
    Flax
    Folacin
    Folate
    Flavoring
    Flavoring Extracts
    Folic Acid-Folacin
    Food Starch
    Food Starch Modified
    Formaldehyde
    Fructose
    Fruit (including dried)
    Fruit Vinegar
    Fumaric Acid

    G
    Galactose
    Garbanzo Beans
    Gelatin
    Glucoamylase
    Gluconolactone
    Glucose
    Glucose Syrup
    Glutamate (free)
    Glutamic Acid
    Glutamine (amino acid)
    Glutinous Rice
    Glutinous Rice Flour
    Glycerides
    Glycerin
    Glycerol Monooleate
    Glycol Monosterate
    Glycol
    Glycolic acid
    Gram flour (chick peas)
    Grape Skin Extract
    Grits, Corn
    Guar Gum
    Gum Acacia
    Gum Arabic
    Gum Base
    Gum Tragacanth

    H
    Hemp
    Hemp Seeds
    Herbs
    Herb Vinegar
    Hexanedioic Acid
    High Fructose Corn Syrup
    Hominy
    Honey
    Hops
    Horseradish (Pure)
    HPP
    HVP
    Hyacinth Bean
    Hydrogen Peroxide
    Hydrolyzed Caseinate
    Hydrolyzed Meat Protein
    Hydrolyzed Plant Protein
    Hydrolyzed Protein
    Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
    Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
    Hydroxypropyl Cellulose
    Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose
    Hypromellose

    I
    Illepe
    Iodine
    Inulin
    Invert Sugar
    Iron Ammonium Citrate
    Isinglass
    Isolated Soy Protein
    Isomalt

    J
    Job's Tears
    Jowar (Sorghum)

    K
    Karaya Gum
    Kasha (roasted buckwheat)
    Keratin
    K-Carmine Color
    K-Gelatin
    Koshihikari (rice)
    Kudzu
    Kudzu Root Starch

    L
    Lactalbumin Phosphate
    Lactase
    Lactic Acid
    Lactitol
    Lactose
    Lactulose
    Lanolin
    Lard
    L-cysteine
    Lecithin
    Lemon Grass
    Lentils
    Licorice
    Licorice Extract
    Lipase
    L-leucine
    L-lysine
    L-methionine
    Locust Bean Gum
    L-tryptophan

    M
    Magnesium Carbonate
    Magnesium Hydroxide
    Magnesium Oxide
    Maize
    Maize Waxy
    Malic Acid
    Maltitol
    Maltodextrin (except in pharmaceuticals)
    Maltol
    Maltose
    Manganese Sulfate
    Manioc
    Masa
    Masa Flour
    Masa Harina
    Meat (fresh)
    Medium Chain Triglycerides
    Menhaden Oil
    Methyl Cellulose2
    Microcrystalline Cellulose
    Micro-particulated Egg White Protein
    Milk
    Milk Protein Isolate
    Millet
    Milo (Sorghum)
    Mineral Oil
    Mineral Salts
    Mixed Tocopherols
    Modified Food Starch
    Modified Starch
    Modified food Starch
    Molybdenum Amino Acid Chelate
    Monocalcium Phosphate
    Monoglycerides
    Mono and Diglycerides
    Monopotassium Phosphate
    Monosaccharides
    Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
    Monostearates
    MSG
    Mung Bean
    Musk
    Mustard Flour
    Myristic Acid

    N
    Natural Flavoring
    Natural Flavors
    Natural Smoke Flavor
    Niacin-Niacinamide
    Neotame
    Niacin
    Niacinamide
    Nitrates
    Nitrous Oxide
    Non-fat Milk
    Nuts (except wheat, rye & barley)
    Nut, Acron
    Nut, Almond

    O
    Oats
    Oils and Fats
    Oleic Acid
    Oleoresin
    Olestra
    Oleyl Alcohol/Oil
    Orange B
    Oryzanol

    P
    Palmitic Acid
    Pantothenic Acid
    Papain
    Paprika
    Paraffin
    Patially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil
    Patially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil
    Peas
    Pea - Chick
    Pea - Cow
    Pea Flour
    Pea Starch
    Peanuts
    Peanut Flour
    Pectin
    Pectinase
    Peppermint Oil
    Peppers
    Pepsin
    Peru Balsam
    Petrolatum
    PGPR (Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate)
    Phenylalanine
    Phosphoric Acid
    Phosphoric Glycol
    Pigeon Peas
    Polenta
    Polydextrose
    Polyethylene Glycol
    Polyglycerol
    Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (PGPR)
    Polysorbates
    Polysorbate 60
    Polysorbate 80
    Potassium Benzoate
    Potassium Caseinate
    Potassium Citrate
    Potassium Iodide
    Potassium Lactate
    Potassium Matabisulphite
    Potassium Sorbate
    Potatoes
    Potato Flour
    Potato Starch
    Povidone
    Prinus
    Pristane
    Propolis
    Propylene Glycol
    Propylene Glycol Monosterate
    Propyl Gallate
    Protease
    Psyllium
    Pyridoxine Hydrochloride

    Q
    Quinoa

    R
    Ragi
    Raisin Vinegar
    Rape
    Recaldent
    Reduced Iron
    Rennet
    Rennet Casein
    Resinous Glaze
    Reticulin
    Riboflavin
    Rice
    Rice (Enriched)
    Rice Flour
    Rice Starch
    Rice Syrup
    Rice Vinegar
    Ricinoleic Acid
    Romano Bean (chickpea)
    Rosematta
    Rosin
    Royal Jelly

    S
    Saccharin
    Saffron
    Sago
    Sago Palm
    Sago Flour
    Sago Starch
    Saifun (bean threads)
    Salt
    Seaweed
    Seeds (except wheat, rye & barley)
    Seed - Sesame
    Seed - Sunflower
    Shea
    Sherry Vinegar
    Silicon Dioxide
    Smoke Flavoring
    Soba (be sure its 100% buckwheat)
    Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
    Sodium Acetate
    Sodium Alginate
    Sodium Ascorbate
    Sodium Benzoate
    Sodium Caseinate
    Sodium Citrate
    Sodium Erythrobate
    Sodium Hexametaphosphate
    Sodium Lactate
    Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
    Sodium Metabisulphite
    Sodium Nitrate
    Sodium Phosphate
    Sodium Polyphosphate
    Sodium Silaco Aluminate
    Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
    Sodium Sulphite
    Sodium Stannate
    Sodium Tripolyphosphate
    Sorbic Acid
    Sorbitan Monostearate
    Sorbitol-Mannitol (can cause IBS symptoms)
    Sorghum
    Sorghum Flour
    Soy
    Soybean
    Soy Lecithin
    Soy Protein
    Soy Protein Isolate
    Spices (pure)
    Spirits (Specific Types)
    Spirit Vinegar
    Starch (the single word ingredient is, by law, cornstarch)
    Stearates
    Stearamide
    Stearamine
    Stearic Acid
    Stearyl Lactate
    Stevia
    Subflower Seed
    Succotash (corn and beans)
    Sucralose
    Sucrose
    Sulfosuccinate
    Sulfites
    Sulfur Dioxide
    Sweet Chestnut Flour

    T
    Tagatose
    Tallow
    Tapioca
    Tapioca Flour
    Tapioca Starch
    Tara Gum
    Taro
    Tarro
    Tarrow Root
    Tartaric Acid
    Tartrazine
    TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinone
    Tea
    Tea-Tree Oil
    Teff
    Teff Flour
    Tepary Bean
    Textured Vegetable Protein
    Thiamin Hydrochloride
    Thiamine Mononitrate
    Thiamine Hydrochloride
    Titanium Dioxide
    Tofu (Soy Curd)
    Tolu Balsam
    Torula Yeast
    Tragacanth
    Tragacanth Gum
    Triacetin
    Tricalcium Phosphate
    Tri-Calcium Phosphate
    Trypsin
    Turmeric (Kurkuma)
    TVP
    Tyrosine

    U
    Urad/Urid Beans
    Urad/Urid Dal (peas) Vegetables
    Urad/Urid flour
    Urd

    V
    Vinegar (All except Malt)
    Vanilla Extract
    Vanilla Flavoring
    Vanillin
    Vinegars (Specific Types - Except Malt Vinegar)
    Vitamin A (retinol)
    Vitamin A Palmitate
    Vitamin B1
    Vitamin B-12
    Vitamin B2
    Vitamin B6
    Vitamin D
    Vitamin E Acetate

    W
    Waxy Maize
    Whey
    Whey Protein Concentrate
    Whey Protein Isolate
    White Vinegar
    Wines
    Wine Vinegars (& Balsamic)
    Wild Rice

    X
    Xanthan Gum
    Xylitol

    Y
    Yam Flour
    Yeast (except brewer's yeast)
    Yogurt (plain, unflavored)

    Z
    Zinc Oxide
    Zinc Sulfate

    • 1) Cellulose is a carbohydrate polymer of D-glucose. It is the structural material of plants, such as wood in trees. It contains no gluten protein.
    • 2) Methyl cellulose is a chemically modified form of cellulose that makes a good substitute for gluten in rice-based breads, etc.

     

    Edited by Scott Adams


    0


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    This site is a life saver for me. I have only been diagnosed with celiac disease since March 2007, and I am still trying to get familiar with the 'safe foods.' Thanks you so much.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Solange Milan

    Posted

    Thanks again!

     

    This is so helpful.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    My son was just diagnosed in May and this will be so helpful. Thanks!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    AWESOME!!! Thank you so much! I own a small vegan/vegetarian cafe in Baltimore, and I can now offer customers gluten free items! Hope more restaurants follow...

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest A very thankful mother!!!

    Posted

    I have been trying for ten years to figure out what was wrong with my son. Finally after ten years of unsure doctors, lotion that stings skin that was like leather, and a extended malnourished looking belly we finally know what has made him a year and a half behind in his growth and was threatening the life of my son. In April of 2007 he was finally diagnosed with celiac disease. With the help of your lists and a change of diet, he no longer has skin of leather, no longer is always starving and is finally gaining weight. Thank you so much for your time in making these lists. Also, because of his diagnosis, I changed my diet to match his and have lost forty pounds because of it. Thank you so much.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest cindy coughlin

    Posted

    This was really helpful because there are a lot of ingredients listed on items that I was unsure of as being safe or not. Thanks!

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Your content will need to be approved by a moderator

    Guest
    You are commenting as a guest. If you have an account, please sign in.
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    In 1994 I was diagnosed with celiac disease, which led me to create Celiac.com in 1995. I created this site for a single purpose: To help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives. Celiac.com was the first site on the Internet dedicated solely to celiac disease. In 1998 I founded The Gluten-Free Mall, Your Special Diet Superstore!, and I am the co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.

  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    A
    Abyssinian Hard (Wheat triticum durum)
    Alcohol (Spirits - Specific Types)
    Atta Flour
    B
    Barley Grass (can contain seeds)
    Barley Hordeum vulgare
    Barley Malt
    Beer (most contain barley or wheat)
    Bleached Flour
    Bran
    Bread Flour
    Brewer's Yeast
    Brown Flour
    Bulgur (Bulgar Wheat/Nuts)
    Bulgur Wheat
    C
    Cereal Binding
    Chilton
    Club Wheat (Triticum aestivum subspecies compactum)
    Common Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
    Cookie Crumbs
    Cookie Dough
    Cookie Dough Pieces
    Couscous
    Criped Rice
    D
    Dinkle (Spelt)
    Disodium Wheatgermamido Peg-2 Sulfosuccinate
    Durum wheat (Triticum durum)
    E
    Edible Coatings
    Edible Films
    Edible Starch
    Einkorn (Triticum monococcum)
    Emmer (Triticum dicoccon)
    Enriched Bleached Flour
    Enriched Bleached Wheat Flour
    Enriched Flour
    F
    Farik
    Farina
    Farina Graham
    Farro
    Filler
    Flour (normally this is wheat)
    Freekeh
    Frikeh
    Fu (dried wheat gluten)
    G
    Germ
    Graham Flour
    Granary Flour
    Groats (barley, wheat)
    H
    Hard Wheat
    Heeng
    Hing
    Hordeum Vulgare Extract
    Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
    K
    Kamut (Pasta wheat)
    Kecap Manis (Soy Sauce)
    Ketjap Manis (Soy Sauce)
    Kluski Pasta
    M
    Maida (Indian wheat flour)
    Malt
    Malted Barley Flour
    Malted Milk
    Malt Extract
    Malt Syrup
    Malt Flavoring
    Malt Vinegar
    Macha Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
    Matza
    Matzah
    Matzo
    Matzo Semolina
    Meripro 711
    Mir
    N
    Nishasta
    O
    Oriental Wheat (Triticum turanicum)
    Orzo Pasta
    P
    Pasta
    Pearl Barley
    Persian Wheat (Triticum carthlicum)
    Perungayam
    Poulard Wheat (Triticum turgidum)
    Polish Wheat (Triticum polonicum)
    R
    Rice Malt (if barley or Koji are used)
    Roux
    Rusk
    Rye
    S
    Seitan
    Semolina
    Semolina Triticum
    Shot Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
    Small Spelt
    Spirits (Specific Types)
    Spelt (Triticum spelta)
    Sprouted Wheat or Barley
    Stearyldimoniumhydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
    Strong Flour
    Suet in Packets
    T
    Tabbouleh
    Tabouli
    Teriyaki Sauce
    Timopheevi Wheat (Triticum timopheevii)
    Triticale X triticosecale
    Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Flour Lipids
    Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Extract
    Triticum Vulgare (Wheat) Germ Oil
    U
    Udon (wheat noodles)
    Unbleached Flour
    V
    Vavilovi Wheat (Triticum aestivum)
    Vital Wheat Gluten
    W
    Wheat, Abyssinian Hard triticum durum
    Wheat Amino Acids
    Wheat Bran Extract
    Wheat, Bulgur
    Wheat Durum Triticum
    Wheat Germ Extract
    Wheat Germ Glycerides
    Wheat Germ Oil
    Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein
    Wheat Grass (can contain seeds)
    Wheat Nuts
    Wheat Protein
    Wheat Starch
    Wheat Triticum aestivum
    Wheat Triticum Monococcum
    Wheat (Triticum Vulgare) Bran Extract
    Whole-Meal Flour
    Wild Einkorn (Triticum boeotictim)
    Wild Emmer (Triticum dicoccoides)
    The following items may or may not contain gluten depending on where and how they are made, and it is sometimes necessary to check with the manufacturer to find out:
    Amp-Isostearoyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein2 Artificial Color2 Baking Powder2 Clarifying Agents2 Coloring2 Dry Roasted Nuts2 Emulsifiers2 Enzymes2 Fat Replacer2 Gravy Cubes2 Ground Spices2 Hydrolyzed Wheat Gluten2 Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein2 Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein Pg-Propyl Silanetriol2 Hydrolyzed Wheat Starch2 Hydrogenated Starch Hydrolysate2 Hydroxypropylated Starch2 Miso2 Natural Juices2 Non-dairy Creamer2 Pregelatinized Starch2 Protein Hydrolysates2 Seafood Analogs2 Seasonings2 Sirimi2 Soba Noodles2 Soy Sauce2 Soy Sauce Solids2 Sphingolipids2 Stabilizers2 Starch1, 2 Stock Cubes2 Suet2 Tocopherols2 Vegetable Broth2 Vegetable Gum2 Vegetable Protein2 Vegetable Starch2 Vitamins2 1) If this ingredient is made in North America it is likely to be gluten-free. 2) Can utilize a gluten-containing grain or by-product in the manufacturing process, or as an ingredient.

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 12/10/2000 - As reported in Ann Whelans September/October issue of Gluten-Free Living, the American Dietetic Association (ADA) has released the 6th edition of its Manual of Clinical Dietetics, which offers revised guidelines for the treatment of celiac disease. This manual is currently used by hospitals and doctors all over North America, and represents the most up-to-date source of information with regard to the dietary treatment of various illnesses. The new standards set in this publication conform more closely with current international standards. Included on their safe list are items that have been on Celiac.coms safe list for over five years, including: amaranth, buckwheat, distilled vinegar (no matter what its source), distilled alcoholic beverages (including rum, gin, whiskey and vodka), millet, quinoa and teff.
    A team of American and Canadian dietitians wrote the new gluten-free guidelines, including: Shelley Case, RD, Mavis Molloy, RD, Marion Zarkadas, M.Sc.RD (all from Canada and all members of the Professional Advisory Board of the Canadian Celiac Association), and Cynthia Kupper, CRD, CDE (Executive Director of the Gluten Intolerance Group and celiac). Additional findings of this team regarding buckwheat and quinoa contradict what has been accepted as common knowledge for years by some US support groups, mainly that these two grains are more likely to be contaminated by wheat than other grains. In fact, according to the team, buckwheat and quinoa are far less likely to be contaminated than most other grains.
    At the most basic level the new guidelines mean that celiacs do not need to avoid foods containing unidentified vinegar or distilled alcohol, this alone will allow much more freedom when shopping or eating out. Further, celiacs who drink alcohol will have much more freedom and a far greater choice when they want to have a drink. Additionally, celiacs will be able to more easily maintain a well-rounded and nutritious diet because they will have access to a far greater number of highly nutritious and safe grains.
    The ADAs 6th edition of the Manual of Clinical Dietetics represents the first time that Canadian and United States dietary guidelines have come together to create a united North American gluten-free standard, and will hopefully lead to the adoption of a single standard by all US support groups so that hundreds of thousands of celiacs will not have to unnecessarily exclude more foods than necessary. These new guidelines go a long way towards an international standard, which should be the ultimate goal for all celiacs and celiac organizations in the world.

    Scott Adams
    Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
    Celiac.com 02/20/2015 - Here is Celiac.com's most up-to-date list of gluten-free beers and alcoholic beverages.
    The gluten status of the products listed below is accurate at the present time. However, as product formulations can change without notice, it is best to verify gluten-free product status by checking the ingredients yourself, or by contacting the manufacturer.
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are gluten-free. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
    Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid distilled beverages that use cereal grains in the manufacturing process, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.
    A List of Naturally Gluten-free Beers
    Anheuser-Busch Redbridge Bard's Gold Bard's Tale Beer Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche Brunehaut Bio Ambrée Brunehaut Blonde Bio Brunehaut Blanche Burning Brothers Brewing Coors Peak Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale Drummond Gluten Free Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator Ghostfish Brewery Glutenberg American Pale Ale Glutenberg Blonde Glutenberg Belgian Double Glutenberg India Pale Ale Glutenberg Rousse Green's Discovery Amber Ale Green's Endeavour Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager Green's India Pale Ale Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale Ground Breaker IPA No. 5 Ground Breaker Dark Ale Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free Mongozo Premium Pilsener New Planet Belgian Style Ale New Planet Blonde Ale New Planet Pale Ale New Planet Raspberry Ale New Planet Seclusion IPA New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale Nickel Brook Gluten Free Nouvelle France La Messagère Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free Whistler Forager A List of Gluten-Removed Beers
    Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch Brunehaut Bio Tripel Estrella Damm Daura Estrella Damm Daura Marzen Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales Short's Brewing Space Rock Stone Delicious IPA Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager Widmer Omission Lager Widmer Omission IPA Widmer Omission Pale Ale Wold Top Against The Grain Wold Top Marmalade Porter Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA Gluten-Free Hard Cider
    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!
    Gluten-free hard cider brands include:
    Ace Pear Cider Angry Orchard Blue Mountain Cider Company Blackthorn Cider Bulmer's Hard Cider Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products) Gaymer Cider Company Harpoon Craft Cider J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider Lazy Jack's Cider Magner's Cider Newton's Folly Hard Cider Original Sin Hard Cider Spire Mountain Draft Cider Strongbow Cider Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre Woodchuck Woodpecker Cider Gluten-Free Wine
    All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers
    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products. 
    Gluten-free versions include: 
    Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages Boones - all EXCEPT their malt beverages Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits Include
    Brandy Campari Champagne Cognac—made from grapes Cointreau Grappa Midori Prosecco Khalua Coffee Liquer Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur) Old Deadly Cider Sambuca Vermouth Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.
    Gluten-Free Gin
    Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Gluten-free gin brands include:
    Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes Brands of standard gin include:
    Aviation American Gin Beefeater Bombay Bombay Sapphire Boodles British Gin Booth's Gin  Gordon's Leopolds Gin New Amsterdam Gin Seagram's Tanqueray Gluten-Free Rum
    Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.
    Gluten-free rum brands include:
    Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored Bayou Rum Bundaberg Rum Captain Morgan Rum Cruzan Rum Malibu Rum Mount Gay Rum Meyer's Rum Gluten-Free Sake
    Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-Free Tequila
    Made from the agave cactus, all tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-free tequila brands include:
    1519 Tequila 1800 Tequila Cabo Wabo Cazadores Chimayo Don Julio El Jimador Herradura Hornitos Jose Cuervo Patron Sauza Gluten-Free Vodka
    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.
    Gluten-free vodka brands include:
    Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac Rice Vodka—Kissui Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU Vodkas distilled from cereal grains include:
    Many vodkas made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Barley Vodka—Finlandia Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,  Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka Gluten-Free Whiskey
    Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.
    Gluten-free whiskey brands include:
    Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum Whiskeys distilled from cereal grains include:
    Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal, Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel. Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,  Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker  Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic Gluten-Free Drink Mixes
    Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape) Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape) Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri. TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix. Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol
    Club Tom Collins—made with corn Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes Mead—made from honey Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane Ouzo - made from grapes and anise Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice.

    Megan Tichy Ph.D.
    What is Gluten?
    Gluten is a huge molecule held together by smaller molecules linked together called amino acids. A very tiny part of the gluten molecule can initiate a response. If each amino acid that makes up gluten is represented as a single letter that very tiny part would be: SGQGSFQPSQQ. There are other sequences of amino acids that cause a reaction in gluten sensitive individuals, but the point is, as tiny as this fragment is with respect to the entire gluten protein, it is still HUGE with respect to the size of ethanol (the stuff you are drinking).
    What is Alcohol?
    The alcohol you drink is ethanol. Ethanol is smaller than the size of the smallest amino acid in the smallest fragment of gluten that has been shown to initiate an autoimmune reaction. More specifically, ethanol is about 10 atomic mass units smaller than just the G in the sequence shown above.
    What are Amino Acids?
    The G is glycine, and by the way, each of these amino acids (represented by letters) by themselves is safe, and sold at most health food stores. For example Q = glutamine (yes, “L-glutamine,” the same amino acid mentioned in a recent post and used to heal intestinal damage). If the protein is viewed as beads on a string, then one of those beads might be good for you, but certain sequences strung together can initiate an allergic reaction of many types from acute peanut allergy to less-than-obvious gluten sensitivity.
    What is Distillation?
    When a distillation is performed, pure ethanol is separated away from all of the other “stuff” that forms as a result of fermentation. This is because ethanol is volatile (meaning it becomes a gas in the distillation process). Imagine a vat of fermentation products, you heat it, and only the volatile molecules like ethanol enter a tube attached to the vat. This tube is not just any tube - it is a curved condensation tube! Here is what it does: While the heated gas form of ethanol floats into it (because that is what gases do), the molecules are cooled and condense back into a liquid, and fall into a new sparkling clean vessel containing the stuff that intoxicates you and any other volatiles. So the fancier distillation columns that are actually used industrially also purify the ethanol away from other volatiles. Gluten does not stand a chance of “crossing over” because it is not volatile.
    Here is a simplified analogy. Let's say you put some sand in the bottom of your tea kettle. If you take the spout off your tea kettle, and attach a condensing tube to the opening (a curved tube would be the simplest type of condensing tube but there are many elaborate types), you could distill your water away from the sand. The condensing tube would be curved so as to open into a new clean pot. Let us pretend that the sand is gluten and the water is ethanol. When you heat to the boiling point, the liquid becomes gas so it travels into the condenser, cools and becomes liquid, then falls into the clean pot.
    Now having read that, is there any way that the new clean pot would contain any sand? No, and distilled alcohol (ethanol) does not contain any gluten. Remember, gluten is not volatile. Another non-volatile compound is table salt. So you could perform a distillation at home, with salt water. Has anyone ever inadvertently done this? Boiled a pot of salt water, perhaps to make some Tinkyada pasta, and walked away to do something else. You came back to find your pot almost empty with white crusty stuff (salt) all inside the pot.
    So the gluten is left behind in a distillation process. If malt is added to the distilled product it will be disclosed on the ingredients label.
    What is Vinegar?
    Vinegar is formed by fermentation in a similar way that ethanol is formed by fermentation. The process is to take ethanol and ferment it with bacteria. Later, there is a filtration to remove the bacteria. Rarely, vinegar is fermented from wheat-based alcohol. “Distilled vinegar,” gets its name from the fact that it was fermented from distilled alcohol.
    Why is Vinegar Still Questioned?
    The answer could be, perhaps, because so many people report a reaction to it and vinegar-based products. The never-ending fear is that cross-contamination during the fermentation process is leading to barely detectable amounts of gluten in the finished product (by barely detectable, I mean in terms of commercially available tests). Since the vinegar is rarely distilled post fermentation from the ethanol, the “messy” nature of the second fermentation step could pose a problem, especially for highly sensitive individuals. If the alcohol gets all used up by the bacteria, the bacteria go on to form carbon dioxide and water from the vinegar. So alcohol is periodically added in the fermentation process. Conceivably, one “shortcut” would be to just add beer at this juncture. Adding beer or some other form of cheap malted alcohol would keep the culture alive, and increase the “quality” and yield of the vinegar. Another fear is that the bacterial “mother” as it is called, contains trace gluten through cross-contamination. Claims that these practices actually take place are unsubstantiated by evidence.
    Why are Distilled Spirits Still Questioned?
    That is a good question, I do not know.Take a Short Quiz on this Topic:
    You bought mustard and pickles at the grocery store. These products contain “distilled vinegar” according to the ingredients labels, and the label does NOT say “contains: wheat.” Are the mustard and pickles gluten-free? Rum, gin, whiskey, and vodka are distilled beverages. If they are not flavored with something that contains wheat (would be declared on the label), rye, or barley (usually in the form of “malt”), are they gluten-free?  What is wrong with the following statements (they have all been cut and pasted from various blogs and forums on the topic of celiac disease)?a. “Most alcohols are distilled in such a way that any wheat gluten is no longer present.”b. “Even trace amounts of gluten that make it past the filter system can be harmful.”c. “It seems improbable to me, too, that gliadin could survive the distillation process.”

    Answers:
    Yes, unless you have reason to believe otherwise, in which case you should simply avoid them.
    Yes.
    3a. All alcohols, if distilled, have been removed from any type of gluten.
    3b. Distillation is nothing like a filtration. We are not separating small from large, there is no filter. Filtration would be like how your coffee pot separates water from the coffee grains. A tear in the filter would result in a big problem, right? Filtration is a separation based on size, distillation is a separation based on volatility.
    3c. Do we care whether gliadin (a name given to part of wheat gluten) “survives” the process or not? No, because it has been left behind to stew in its own juices in the distillation pot. Your stuff (the ethanol) has floated away, and entered a new, clean pot. Some people have this idea that we heat the fermented mixture to smithereens and it somehow decomposes the molecules of gluten. Clearly, such a process would be ineffective or else we could simply “cook,” “roast,” “fry,” or “burn” the gluten out of our foods, and we know that we cannot do that.

  • Popular Contributors

  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      111,067
    • Total Posts
      953,252
  • Topics

  • Who's Online (See full list)

    There are no registered users currently online

  • Posts

    • Maureen and Cyclinglady, Of the foods you listed. . .. I would focus on the Chocolate. Chocolate has Tyramine in it and it could/can cause rashes that  might be confused for DH. Sometimes Tyramine get's confused for/in high sulfite foods as triggers. Here is a great overview article on this topic. http://www.chicagotribune.com/lifestyles/health/sc-red-wine-headache-health-0608-20160525-story.html you might also have trouble with headaches if it tyramine is causing you your trouble. People who have trouble Tyramine might also have trouble with consuming cheeses. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC2738414/ As for the Milk causing/triggering your DH don't rule Adult onset dairy allergy. While rare it does occur in the literature/research when you search it out. I am including the research here in the hopes it might help you or someone else entitled "Adult onset of cow's milk protein allergy with small‐intestinal mucosal IgE mast cells" https://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/j.1398-9995.1996.tb04640.x It is generally thought most of grow out of a Milk Allergy at approx. 3 years old. But for some lucky one (I guess) we never do apparently.  (I speak for my friend on this board JMG).  He found out he was having trouble with dairy as an adult better never realized until about 6 months ago. With delayed onset allergies it is often hard to tell if it (allergen) is effecting us because we might not associate it with our dairy consumption because it might happen a day or two latter. See this WHFoods article about food allergens/sensitivies.  It is very long/exhaustive but it is very helpful if you have time to study it in more detail. http://www.whfoods.com/genpage.php?pfriendly=1&tname=faq&dbid=30 I will quote some key points for your information. Symptoms of Food Allergies "The most common symptoms for food allergies include vomiting, diarrhea, blood in stools, eczema, hives, skin rashes, wheezing and a runny nose. Symptoms can vary depending upon a number of variables including age, the type of allergen (antigen), and the amount of food consumed. It may be difficult to associate the symptoms of an allergic reaction to a particular food because the response time can be highly variable. For example, an allergic response to eating fish will usually occur within minutes after consumption in the form of a rash, hives or asthma or a combination of these symptoms. However, the symptoms of an allergic reaction to cow's milk may be delayed for 24 to 48 hours after consuming the milk; these symptoms may also be low-grade and last for several days. If this does not make diagnosis difficult enough, reactions to foods made from cow's milk may also vary depending on how it was produced and the portion of the milk to which you are allergic. Delayed allergic reactions to foods are difficult to identify without eliminating the food from your diet for at least several weeks and slowly reintroducing it while taking note of any physical, emotional or mental changes as it is being reintroduced." Here is their information on Tyramine's. Tyramine "Reactions to tyramine (an amino acid-like molecule) or phenylalanine (another amino acid-like molecule) can result from eating the following foods: Fermented cheeses Fermented Sausage Chocolate Sour Cream Red wine Avocado Beer Raspberries Yeast Picked Herring Symptoms of tyramine intolerance can include urticaria (hives), angioedema (localized swelling due to fluid retention), migraines, wheezing, and even asthma. In fact, some researchers suggest that as many as 20 percent of migraines are caused by food intolerance or allergy, and tyramine intolerance is one of the most common of these toxic food responses." Here is an old thread on tyramine and especially how it can trigger headaches. https://www.celiac.com/forums/topic/95457-headache-culprit-is-tyramine/ I would also suggest your research a low histamine food diet.  Rashes/hives etc. can be triggered my disregulaton of histamine in the body. The other thing in chocolate that might be causing your problems is Sulfites. Here is a website dedicated to a Sulftie allergy. http://www.allergy-details.com/sulfites/foods-contain-sulfites/ Chocolate bars are on their list of sulfite contaning foods but probably most noted in dried fruits and red wine. Knitty Kitty on this board knows alot about a sulfite allergy. I want to go back to the possible dairy allergy for a second as a possible trigger. . .because it has been established as connected to DH . . .it is just not well known. Here is current research (as I said earlier) most dairy allergies are studied in children but it does occur in approx. 10 pct of the GP unless your of Asian descent where it is much more common. https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed/29555204 quoting the new research from this year on children. "When CMP (Cow's Milk Protein) was re-introduced, anti-tTG increased, and returned to normal after the CMP was withdrawn again." and if adults can also (though rarely) it seem develop "Adult onset of cow's milk protein allergy with small‐intestinal mucosal IgE mast cells" (see research linked above) as the research shows  you should at least trial removing dairy from your diet if you haven't already and see if your DH doesn't come back when you re-introduce it. It just takes 15 or 20 years for medical doctor' to incorporate new research/thinking into clinical practice.  And note the research on this happening in adults is 20+ years old and as far I know doctor's . . . are not aware of this.  I know I wasn't until recently and I research things alot of to help myself and my friends. But I know you can't do what you don't know about.  So this is why I am trying to share what I learned so that other might be helped and this research might not  lay hidden another 20 years before doctor's and their Celiac/DH patients become aware of it. And if it helps you come back on the board and let us know so it can help others too! If it helps you it will/can help someone else! if they know it helped you then they will/can have hope it might help them too and why I share and research these things for others'. . . who don't know or don't have time to research this for themselves. I hope this is helpful but it is not medical advice. Good luck on your continued journey. I know this is a lot of information to digest at one time but I hope at least some of if it helpful and you at least have a better idea of what in your chocolate could be causing your DH (idiopathic) as the doctor's say (of an unknown cause mild) DH symptom's. Or at least it is not commonly known yet that Milk can also cause trigger (DH) in children and adults who have a Milk allergy undiagnosed. . .because we don't don't typically think  or associate it with adults like maybe we should if we are not of Asian descent. Maureen if this doesn't help you you might want to start a thread in the DH section of the forum. As always  2 Timothy 2: 7   “Consider what I say; and the Lord give thee understanding in all things” this included. Posterboy by the grace of God,
    • I hooe you can get some answers with your new GI doc.
    • Many of us deal with doctor issues and diagnosis, you got a really bad draw indeed. Most doctors dismiss Celiac as their is no money in the cure for them IE a gluten free diet and not medications.

      Keep up updated on your new doctor and testing, good to see you finally found one that listens and can help, I got through on doc #5 I think it was.
  • Upcoming Events

  • Most Popular Articles

  • Blog Entries

  • Topics

×