Jump to content

Important Information

This site places cookies on your device (Cookie settings). Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use, and Privacy Policy.

  • Sign Up
  • About Me

    In 1994 I was diagnosed with celiac disease, which led me to create Celiac.com in 1995. I created this site for a single purpose: To help as many people as possible with celiac disease get diagnosed so they can begin to live happy, healthy gluten-free lives. Celiac.com was the first site on the Internet dedicated solely to celiac disease. In 1998 I founded The Gluten-Free Mall, Your Special Diet Superstore!, and I am the co-author of the book Cereal Killers, and founder and publisher of Journal of Gluten Sensitivity.

  • Related Articles

    Scott Adams
    A
    Acacia Gum
    Acesulfame K
    Acesulfame Potassium
    Acetanisole
    Acetophenone
    Acorn Quercus
    Adipic Acid
    Adzuki Bean
    Acacia Gum
    Agar
    Agave
    Albumen
    Alcohol (Distilled Spirits - Specific Types)
    Alfalfa
    Algae
    Algin
    Alginic Acid
    Alginate
    Alkalized Cocoa
    Allicin
    Almond Nut
    Alpha-amylase
    Alpha-lactalbumin
    Aluminum
    Amaranth
    Ambergris
    Ammonium Hydroxide
    Ammonium Phosphate
    Ammonium Sulphate
    Amylose
    Amylopectin
    Annatto
    Annatto Color
    Apple Cider Vinegar
    Arabic Gum
    Arrowroot
    Artichokes
    Artificial Butter Flavor
     Artificial Flavoring
    Ascorbic Acid
    Aspartame (can cause IBS symptoms)
    Aspartic Acid
    Aspic
    Astragalus Gummifer
    Autolyzed Yeast Extract
    Avena Sativia (Oats3)
    Avena Sativia Extract (from Oats3)
    Avidin
    Azodicarbonamide
    B
    Baking Soda
    Balsamic Vinegar
    Beeswax
    Beans
    Bean, Adzuki
    Bean, Hyacinth
    Bean, Lentil
    Bean, Mung
    Bean Romano (Chickpea)
    Bean Tepary
    Benzoic acid
    Besan (Chickpea)
    Beta Glucan (from Oats)
    Betaine
    Beta Carotene
    BHA
    BHT
    Bicarbonate of Soda
    Biotin
    Blue Cheese
    Brown Sugar
    Buckwheat
    Butter (check additives)
    Butylated Hydroxyanisole
    Butyl Compounds
    C
    Calcium Acetate
    Calcium Carbonate
    Calcium Caseinate
    Calcium Chloride
    Calcium Disodium
    Calcium Hydroxide
    Calcium Lactate
    Calcium Pantothenate
    Calcium Phosphate
    Calcium Propionate
    Calcium Silicate
    Calcium Sorbate
    Calcium Stearoyl Lactylate
    Calcium Stearate
    Calcium Sulfate
    Calrose
    Camphor
    Cane Sugar
    Cane Vinegar
    Canola (Rapeseed)
    Canola Oil (Rapeseed Oil)
    Caprylic Acid
    Carageenan Chondrus Crispus
    Carbonated Water
    Carboxymethyl Cellulose
    Caramel Color
    Caramel Flavoring
    Carmine
    Carnauba Wax
    Carob Bean
    Carob Bean Gum
    Carob Flour
    Carrageenan
    Casein
    Cassava Manihot Esculenta
    Castor Oil
    Catalase
    Cellulose1
    Cellulose Ether
    Cellulose Gum
    Cetyl Alcohol
    Cetyl Stearyl Alcohol
    Champagne Vinegar
    Channa (Chickpea)
    Chana Flour (Chickpea Flour)
    Cheeses - (most, but check ingredients)
    Chestnuts
    Chickpea
    Chlorella
    Chocolate Liquor
    Choline Chloride
    Chromium Citrate
    Chymosin
    Citric Acid
    Citrus Red No. 2
    Cochineal
    Cocoa
    Cocoa Butter
    Coconut
    Coconut Vinegar
    Collagen
    Colloidal Silicon Dioxide
    Confectioner's Glaze
    Copernicia Cerifera
    Copper Sulphate
    Corn
    Corn Gluten
    Corn Masa Flour
    Corn Meal
    Corn Flour
    Corn Starch
    Corn Sugar
    Corn Sugar Vinegar
    Corn Syrup
    Corn Syrup Solids
    Corn Swetener
    Corn Vinegar
    Corn Zein
    Cortisone
    Cotton Seed
    Cotton Seed Oil
    Cowitch
    Cowpea
    Cream of Tartar
    Crospovidone
    Curds
    Cyanocobalamin
    Cysteine, L
    Dal (Lentils)
    D-Alpha-tocopherol
    Dasheen Flour (Taro)
    D
    Dates
    D-Calcium Pantothenate
    Delactosed Whey
    Demineralized Whey
    Desamidocollagen
    Dextran
    Dextrin
    Dextrimaltose
    Dextrose
    Diglycerides
    Dioctyl Sodium
    Dioctyl Sodium Solfosuccinate
    Dipotassium Phosphate
    Disodium Guanylate
    Disodium Inosinate
    Disodium Phosphate
    Distilled Alcohols
    Distilled Vinegar
    Distilled White Vinegar
    Dutch Processed Cocoa
    E
    EDTA (Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid)
    Eggs
    Egg Yolks
    Elastin
    Ester Gum
    Ethyl Alcohol
    Ethylenediaminetetraacetic Acid
    Ethyl Maltol
    Ethyl Vanillin
    Expeller Pressed Canola Oil
    F
    FD&C Blue No. 1 Dye
    FD&C Blue No. 1 Lake
    FD&C Blue No. 2 Dye
    FD&C Blue No. 2 Lake
    FD&C Green No. 3 Dye
    FD&C Green No. 3 Lake
    FD&C Red No. 3 Dye
    FD&C Red No. 40 Dye
    FD&C Red No. 40 Lake
    FD&C Yellow No. 5 Dye
    FD&C Yellow No. 6 Dye
    FD&C Yellow No. 6 Lake
    Ferric Orthophosphate
    Ferrous Gluconate
    Ferrous Fumerate
    Ferrous Lactate
    Ferrous Sulfate
    Fish (fresh)
    Flaked Rice
    Flax
    Folacin
    Folate
    Flavoring
    Flavoring Extracts
    Folic Acid-Folacin
    Food Starch
    Food Starch Modified
    Formaldehyde
    Fructose
    Fruit (including dried)
    Fruit Vinegar
    Fumaric Acid
    G
    Galactose
    Garbanzo Beans
    Gelatin
    Glucoamylase
    Gluconolactone
    Glucose
    Glucose Syrup
    Glutamate (free)
    Glutamic Acid
    Glutamine (amino acid)
    Glutinous Rice
    Glutinous Rice Flour
    Glycerides
    Glycerin
    Glycerol Monooleate
    Glycol Monosterate
    Glycol
    Glycolic acid
    Gram flour (chick peas)
    Grape Skin Extract
    Grits, Corn
    Guar Gum
    Gum Acacia
    Gum Arabic
    Gum Base
    Gum Tragacanth
    H
    Hemp
    Hemp Seeds
    Herbs
    Herb Vinegar
    Hexanedioic Acid
    High Fructose Corn Syrup
    Hominy
    Honey
    Hops
    Horseradish (Pure)
    HPP
    HVP
    Hyacinth Bean
    Hydrogen Peroxide
    Hydrolyzed Caseinate
    Hydrolyzed Meat Protein
    Hydrolyzed Plant Protein
    Hydrolyzed Protein
    Hydrolyzed Soy Protein
    Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein
    Hydroxypropyl Cellulose
    Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose
    Hypromellose
    I
    Illepe
    Iodine
    Inulin
    Invert Sugar
    Iron Ammonium Citrate
    Isinglass
    Isolated Soy Protein
    Isomalt
    J
    Job's Tears
    Jowar (Sorghum)
    K
    Karaya Gum
    Kasha (roasted buckwheat)
    Keratin
    K-Carmine Color
    K-Gelatin
    Koshihikari (rice)
    Kudzu
    Kudzu Root Starch
    L
    Lactalbumin Phosphate
    Lactase
    Lactic Acid
    Lactitol
    Lactose
    Lactulose
    Lanolin
    Lard
    L-cysteine
    Lecithin
    Lemon Grass
    Lentils
    Licorice
    Licorice Extract
    Lipase
    L-leucine
    L-lysine
    L-methionine
    Locust Bean Gum
    L-tryptophan
    M
    Magnesium Carbonate
    Magnesium Hydroxide
    Magnesium Oxide
    Maize
    Maize Waxy
    Malic Acid
    Maltitol
    Maltodextrin (except in pharmaceuticals)
    Maltol
    Maltose
    Manganese Sulfate
    Manioc
    Masa
    Masa Flour
    Masa Harina
    Meat (fresh)
    Medium Chain Triglycerides
    Menhaden Oil
    Methyl Cellulose2
    Microcrystalline Cellulose
    Micro-particulated Egg White Protein
    Milk
    Milk Protein Isolate
    Millet
    Milo (Sorghum)
    Mineral Oil
    Mineral Salts
    Mixed Tocopherols
    Modified Food Starch
    Modified Starch
    Modified food Starch
    Molybdenum Amino Acid Chelate
    Monocalcium Phosphate
    Monoglycerides
    Mono and Diglycerides
    Monopotassium Phosphate
    Monosaccharides
    Monosodium Glutamate (MSG)
    Monostearates
    MSG
    Mung Bean
    Musk
    Mustard Flour
    Myristic Acid
    N
    Natural Flavoring
    Natural Flavors
    Natural Smoke Flavor
    Niacin-Niacinamide
    Neotame
    Niacin
    Niacinamide
    Nitrates
    Nitrous Oxide
    Non-fat Milk
    Nuts (except wheat, rye & barley)
    Nut, Acron
    Nut, Almond
    O
    Oats
    Oils and Fats
    Oleic Acid
    Oleoresin
    Olestra
    Oleyl Alcohol/Oil
    Orange B
    Oryzanol
    P
    Palmitic Acid
    Pantothenic Acid
    Papain
    Paprika
    Paraffin
    Patially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil
    Patially Hydrogenated Soybean Oil
    Peas
    Pea - Chick
    Pea - Cow
    Pea Flour
    Pea Starch
    Peanuts
    Peanut Flour
    Pectin
    Pectinase
    Peppermint Oil
    Peppers
    Pepsin
    Peru Balsam
    Petrolatum
    PGPR (Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate)
    Phenylalanine
    Phosphoric Acid
    Phosphoric Glycol
    Pigeon Peas
    Polenta
    Polydextrose
    Polyethylene Glycol
    Polyglycerol
    Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (PGPR)
    Polysorbates
    Polysorbate 60
    Polysorbate 80
    Potassium Benzoate
    Potassium Caseinate
    Potassium Citrate
    Potassium Iodide
    Potassium Lactate
    Potassium Matabisulphite
    Potassium Sorbate
    Potatoes
    Potato Flour
    Potato Starch
    Povidone
    Prinus
    Pristane
    Propolis
    Propylene Glycol
    Propylene Glycol Monosterate
    Propyl Gallate
    Protease
    Psyllium
    Pyridoxine Hydrochloride
    Q
    Quinoa
    R
    Ragi
    Raisin Vinegar
    Rape
    Recaldent
    Reduced Iron
    Rennet
    Rennet Casein
    Resinous Glaze
    Reticulin
    Riboflavin
    Rice
    Rice (Enriched)
    Rice Flour
    Rice Starch
    Rice Syrup
    Rice Vinegar
    Ricinoleic Acid
    Romano Bean (chickpea)
    Rosematta
    Rosin
    Royal Jelly
    S
    Saccharin
    Saffron
    Sago
    Sago Palm
    Sago Flour
    Sago Starch
    Saifun (bean threads)
    Salt
    Seaweed
    Seeds (except wheat, rye & barley)
    Seed - Sesame
    Seed - Sunflower
    Shea
    Sherry Vinegar
    Silicon Dioxide
    Smoke Flavoring
    Soba (be sure its 100% buckwheat)
    Sodium Acid Pyrophosphate
    Sodium Acetate
    Sodium Alginate
    Sodium Ascorbate
    Sodium Benzoate
    Sodium Caseinate
    Sodium Citrate
    Sodium Erythrobate
    Sodium Hexametaphosphate
    Sodium Lactate
    Sodium Lauryl Sulfate
    Sodium Metabisulphite
    Sodium Nitrate
    Sodium Phosphate
    Sodium Polyphosphate
    Sodium Silaco Aluminate
    Sodium Stearoyl Lactylate
    Sodium Sulphite
    Sodium Stannate
    Sodium Tripolyphosphate
    Sorbic Acid
    Sorbitan Monostearate
    Sorbitol-Mannitol (can cause IBS symptoms)
    Sorghum
    Sorghum Flour
    Soy
    Soybean
    Soy Lecithin
    Soy Protein
    Soy Protein Isolate
    Spices (pure)
    Spirits (Specific Types)
    Spirit Vinegar
    Starch (the single word ingredient is, by law, cornstarch)
    Stearates
    Stearamide
    Stearamine
    Stearic Acid
    Stearyl Lactate
    Stevia
    Subflower Seed
    Succotash (corn and beans)
    Sucralose
    Sucrose
    Sulfosuccinate
    Sulfites
    Sulfur Dioxide
    Sweet Chestnut Flour
    T
    Tagatose
    Tallow
    Tapioca
    Tapioca Flour
    Tapioca Starch
    Tara Gum
    Taro
    Tarro
    Tarrow Root
    Tartaric Acid
    Tartrazine
    TBHQ is Tetra or Tributylhydroquinone
    Tea
    Tea-Tree Oil
    Teff
    Teff Flour
    Tepary Bean
    Textured Vegetable Protein
    Thiamin Hydrochloride
    Thiamine Mononitrate
    Thiamine Hydrochloride
    Titanium Dioxide
    Tofu (Soy Curd)
    Tolu Balsam
    Torula Yeast
    Tragacanth
    Tragacanth Gum
    Triacetin
    Tricalcium Phosphate
    Tri-Calcium Phosphate
    Trypsin
    Turmeric (Kurkuma)
    TVP
    Tyrosine
    U
    Urad/Urid Beans
    Urad/Urid Dal (peas) Vegetables
    Urad/Urid flour
    Urd
    V
    Vinegar (All except Malt)
    Vanilla Extract
    Vanilla Flavoring
    Vanillin
    Vinegars (Specific Types - Except Malt Vinegar)
    Vitamin A (retinol)
    Vitamin A Palmitate
    Vitamin B1
    Vitamin B-12
    Vitamin B2
    Vitamin B6
    Vitamin D
    Vitamin E Acetate
    W
    Waxy Maize
    Whey
    Whey Protein Concentrate
    Whey Protein Isolate
    White Vinegar
    Wines
    Wine Vinegars (& Balsamic)
    Wild Rice
    X
    Xanthan Gum
    Xylitol
    Y
    Yam Flour
    Yeast (except brewer's yeast)
    Yogurt (plain, unflavored)
    Z
    Zinc Oxide
    Zinc Sulfate
    1) Cellulose is a carbohydrate polymer of D-glucose. It is the structural material of plants, such as wood in trees. It contains no gluten protein. 2) Methyl cellulose is a chemically modified form of cellulose that makes a good substitute for gluten in rice-based breads, etc.  

    Scott Adams
    Rice and soy beverages because their production process may utilize barley enzymes. Bad advice from health food store employees (i.e., that spelt and/or kamut is/are safe for celiacs). Cross-contamination between food store bins selling raw flours and grains (usually via the scoops). Wheat-bread crumbs in butter, jams, toaster, counter, etc. Lotions, creams and cosmetics (primarily for those with dermatitis herpetaformis). Toothpaste and mouthwash. Medicines: many contain gluten. Cereals: most contain malt flavoring, or some other non-gluten-free ingredient. Some brands of rice paper. Sauce mixes and sauces (soy sauce, fish sauce, catsup, mustard, mayonnaise, etc.). Ice cream. Packet & canned soups. Dried meals and gravy mixes. Laxatives. Grilled restaurant food - gluten contaminated grill. Fried restaurant foods - gluten contaminated grease. Ground spices - wheat flour is sometimes used to prevent clumping.

    Scott Adams
    Gluten-Free Alcoholic Beverages
    Celiac.com 02/20/2015 - Here is Celiac.com's most up-to-date list of gluten-free beers and alcoholic beverages.
    The gluten status of the products listed below is accurate at the present time. However, as product formulations can change without notice, it is best to verify gluten-free product status by checking the ingredients yourself, or by contacting the manufacturer.
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are gluten-free. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
    Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid distilled beverages that use cereal grains in the manufacturing process, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.
    A List of Naturally Gluten-free Beers
    Anheuser-Busch Redbridge Bard's Gold Bard's Tale Beer Brasserie Dupont Forêt Libre Brasseurs Sans Gluten Glutenberg Blanche Brunehaut Bio Ambrée Brunehaut Blonde Bio Brunehaut Blanche Burning Brothers Brewing Coors Peak Dogfish Head Craft Brewed Ales: Tweason'ale Drummond Gluten Free Epic Brewing Company: Glutenator Ghostfish Brewery Glutenberg American Pale Ale Glutenberg Blonde Glutenberg Belgian Double Glutenberg India Pale Ale Glutenberg Rousse Green's Discovery Amber Ale Green's Endeavour Green's Enterprise Dry-Hopped Lager Green's India Pale Ale Green's Quest Tripel Blonde Ale Ground Breaker Corsa Rose Gold Ale Ground Breaker IPA No. 5 Ground Breaker Dark Ale Ipswich Ale Brewery: Celia Saison Joseph James Brewing Fox Tail Lakefront New Grist Ginger Style Ale Lakefront New Grist Pilsner Style Minhas Lazy Mutt Gluten Free Mongozo Premium Pilsener New Planet Belgian Style Ale New Planet Blonde Ale New Planet Pale Ale New Planet Raspberry Ale New Planet Seclusion IPA New Planet Tread Lightly Session Ale Nickel Brook Gluten Free Nouvelle France La Messagère Nouvelle-France Messagère Aux Fruits Nouvelle-France Messagère Red Ale Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Lemon Schnitzer Bräu Hirse Premium Sprecher Brewing Company's Shakparo Ale Steadfast Beer gluten-free Blonde and Pale Ales Steadfast Beer Company's Oatmeal Cream Stout To Øl Reparationsbajer Gluten Free Whistler Forager A List of Gluten-Removed Beers
    Alley Kat Scona Gold Kölsch Brunehaut Bio Tripel Estrella Damm Daura Estrella Damm Daura Marzen Lammsbräu Glutenfrei Lager Beer Mikkeller American Dream Gluten Free Mikkeller Green Gold Gluten Free Mikkeller I Wish Gluten Free IPA Mikkeller Peter, Pale And Mary Gluten Free New Belgium Glutiny brand Golden and Pale Ales Short's Brewing Space Rock Stone Delicious IPA Sufferfest Brewing Company Pale Ale and Lager Widmer Omission Lager Widmer Omission IPA Widmer Omission Pale Ale Wold Top Against The Grain Wold Top Marmalade Porter Wold Top Scarborough Fair IPA Gluten-Free Hard Cider
    Most ciders are fermented from apples or other fruits. Most are safe, however, some add barley for enzymes and flavor. Read labels!
    Gluten-free hard cider brands include:
    Ace Pear Cider Angry Orchard Blue Mountain Cider Company Blackthorn Cider Bulmer's Hard Cider Crispin Cider (including Fox Barrel products) Gaymer Cider Company Harpoon Craft Cider J.K. Scrumpy's Organic Hard Cider Lazy Jack's Cider Magner's Cider Newton's Folly Hard Cider Original Sin Hard Cider Spire Mountain Draft Cider Strongbow Cider Stella Artois Apple and Pear Hard Cidre Woodchuck Woodpecker Cider Gluten-Free Wine
    All wines, including brandy, champagne, cognac, port wine, sherry, and vermouth are safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-Free Wine Coolers
    The majority of wine coolers are made from barley products. 
    Gluten-free versions include: 
    Bartle & Jaymes - all EXCEPT malt beverages Boones - all EXCEPT their malt beverages Other Gluten-Free Alcoholic Brews, Wines and Spirits Include
    Brandy Campari Champagne Cognac—made from grapes Cointreau Grappa Midori Prosecco Khalua Coffee Liquer Kirschwasser (cherry liqueur) Old Deadly Cider Sambuca Vermouth Gluten-Free Distilled Alcohols
    Unless gluten is added after distillation, all distilled alcohols are free of gluten. However, US labeling laws prohibit beverages that use cereal grains at any point in the manufacturing process from advertising themselves as 'gluten-free.'
    So, when you do see a 'gluten-free' label on a distilled beverage, it means that no gluten ingredients have been used at any point in the production process.
    Gluten-Free Gin
    Most gins are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final distilled product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Gluten-free gin brands include:
    Cold River Gin—distilled from potatoes Brands of standard gin include:
    Aviation American Gin Beefeater Bombay Bombay Sapphire Boodles British Gin Booth's Gin  Gordon's Leopolds Gin New Amsterdam Gin Seagram's Tanqueray Gluten-Free Rum
    Distilled from sugar cane, most rums are gluten-free and safe for celiacs. Beware of pre-made drink mixes, such as those intended for piña coladas — many of these contain gluten ingredients as flavoring.
    Gluten-free rum brands include:
    Appleton Estate Jamaica Rum Bacardi—only Gold, Superior, 151, and flavored Bayou Rum Bundaberg Rum Captain Morgan Rum Cruzan Rum Malibu Rum Mount Gay Rum Meyer's Rum Gluten-Free Sake
    Fermented with rice and Koji enzymes. The Koji enzymes are grown on Miso, which is usually made with barley. The two-product separation from barley, and the manufacturing process should make it safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-Free Tequila
    Made from the agave cactus, all tequilas are gluten-free and safe for celiacs.
    Gluten-free tequila brands include:
    1519 Tequila 1800 Tequila Cabo Wabo Cazadores Chimayo Don Julio El Jimador Herradura Hornitos Jose Cuervo Patron Sauza Gluten-Free Vodka
    Vodkas distilled from potatoes, gluten-free grains or other gluten-free ingredients contain no gluten ingredients and can be labeled as gluten-free.
    Gluten-free vodka brands include:
    Corn Vodka—Deep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito's, UV Grape Vodka—Bombora, Cooranbong Potato Vodka—Boyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson's, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac Rice Vodka—Kissui Sugar Cane—Downunder, DOT AU Vodkas distilled from cereal grains include:
    Many vodkas made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.
    Barley Vodka—Finlandia Grain Vodka—Absolwent, Blavod, Bowman's, Fleischmann's, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,  Wheat Vodka—Absolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka Rye Vodka—Belvedere, BiaÅ‚a Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka Gluten-Free Whiskey
    Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.
    Gluten-free whiskey brands include:
    Queen Jennie Whiskey, by Old Sugar Distillery is made entirely from sorghum Whiskeys distilled from cereal grains include:
    Bourbon—Benjamin Prichard's, Booker's, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson's Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad Canadian Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal, Tenesse Whiskey—Jack Daniels, George Dickel. Irish Whiskey—Bushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew Japanese Blended Whiskey—Hibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,  Japanese Single Malt Whiskey—Hakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi Rye Whiskey—Alberta Premium, Bulleitt Scotch Whiskey Blends—Ballentine's, Bell's, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar's, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher's, Whitehorse Scotch Whiskey Single Malts—Bowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker  Taiwanese Whiskey—Kavalan Classic Gluten-Free Drink Mixes
    Club Extra Dry Martini (corn & grape) Club Vodka Martini (corn & grape) Coco Casa and Coco Lopez Brands: Cream of Coconut Jose Cuervo Brand: Margarita Mix and All Jose Cuervo Blenders Master of Mixes Brand: Tom Collins, Whiskey Sour, Strawberry Daiquiri, Sweet & Sour Mixer, and Margarita Mix Mr. & Mrs. T—Except Bloody Mary Mix TGI Friday's Brand: On The Rocks, Long Island Ice Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, Pina Colada, and Strawberry Daiquiri. TGI Friday's Club Cocktails including: Gin Martini, Manhattan, Screwdriver, Vodka Martini, and Whiskey Sour mix. Other Gluten-free Beverages Mixes & Cooking Alcohol
    Club Tom Collins—made with corn Diamond Jims Bloody Mary Mystery Holland House - all EXCEPT Teriyaki Marinade and Smooth & Spicy Bloody Mary Mixes Mead—made from honey Mistico: Jose Cuervo Mistico—agave and cane Ouzo - made from grapes and anise Spice Islands - Cooking Wines - Burgundy, Sherry and White Also Godiva products contain gluten as do Smirnoff FMB's, Twisted V, and Smirnoff Ice.

    Megan Tichy Ph.D.
    What is Gluten?
    Gluten is a huge molecule held together by smaller molecules linked together called amino acids. A very tiny part of the gluten molecule can initiate a response. If each amino acid that makes up gluten is represented as a single letter that very tiny part would be: SGQGSFQPSQQ. There are other sequences of amino acids that cause a reaction in gluten sensitive individuals, but the point is, as tiny as this fragment is with respect to the entire gluten protein, it is still HUGE with respect to the size of ethanol (the stuff you are drinking).
    What is Alcohol?
    The alcohol you drink is ethanol. Ethanol is smaller than the size of the smallest amino acid in the smallest fragment of gluten that has been shown to initiate an autoimmune reaction. More specifically, ethanol is about 10 atomic mass units smaller than just the G in the sequence shown above.
    What are Amino Acids?
    The G is glycine, and by the way, each of these amino acids (represented by letters) by themselves is safe, and sold at most health food stores. For example Q = glutamine (yes, “L-glutamine,” the same amino acid mentioned in a recent post and used to heal intestinal damage). If the protein is viewed as beads on a string, then one of those beads might be good for you, but certain sequences strung together can initiate an allergic reaction of many types from acute peanut allergy to less-than-obvious gluten sensitivity.
    What is Distillation?
    When a distillation is performed, pure ethanol is separated away from all of the other “stuff” that forms as a result of fermentation. This is because ethanol is volatile (meaning it becomes a gas in the distillation process). Imagine a vat of fermentation products, you heat it, and only the volatile molecules like ethanol enter a tube attached to the vat. This tube is not just any tube - it is a curved condensation tube! Here is what it does: While the heated gas form of ethanol floats into it (because that is what gases do), the molecules are cooled and condense back into a liquid, and fall into a new sparkling clean vessel containing the stuff that intoxicates you and any other volatiles. So the fancier distillation columns that are actually used industrially also purify the ethanol away from other volatiles. Gluten does not stand a chance of “crossing over” because it is not volatile.
    Here is a simplified analogy. Let's say you put some sand in the bottom of your tea kettle. If you take the spout off your tea kettle, and attach a condensing tube to the opening (a curved tube would be the simplest type of condensing tube but there are many elaborate types), you could distill your water away from the sand. The condensing tube would be curved so as to open into a new clean pot. Let us pretend that the sand is gluten and the water is ethanol. When you heat to the boiling point, the liquid becomes gas so it travels into the condenser, cools and becomes liquid, then falls into the clean pot.
    Now having read that, is there any way that the new clean pot would contain any sand? No, and distilled alcohol (ethanol) does not contain any gluten. Remember, gluten is not volatile. Another non-volatile compound is table salt. So you could perform a distillation at home, with salt water. Has anyone ever inadvertently done this? Boiled a pot of salt water, perhaps to make some Tinkyada pasta, and walked away to do something else. You came back to find your pot almost empty with white crusty stuff (salt) all inside the pot.
    So the gluten is left behind in a distillation process. If malt is added to the distilled product it will be disclosed on the ingredients label.
    What is Vinegar?
    Vinegar is formed by fermentation in a similar way that ethanol is formed by fermentation. The process is to take ethanol and ferment it with bacteria. Later, there is a filtration to remove the bacteria. Rarely, vinegar is fermented from wheat-based alcohol. “Distilled vinegar,” gets its name from the fact that it was fermented from distilled alcohol.
    Why is Vinegar Still Questioned?
    The answer could be, perhaps, because so many people report a reaction to it and vinegar-based products. The never-ending fear is that cross-contamination during the fermentation process is leading to barely detectable amounts of gluten in the finished product (by barely detectable, I mean in terms of commercially available tests). Since the vinegar is rarely distilled post fermentation from the ethanol, the “messy” nature of the second fermentation step could pose a problem, especially for highly sensitive individuals. If the alcohol gets all used up by the bacteria, the bacteria go on to form carbon dioxide and water from the vinegar. So alcohol is periodically added in the fermentation process. Conceivably, one “shortcut” would be to just add beer at this juncture. Adding beer or some other form of cheap malted alcohol would keep the culture alive, and increase the “quality” and yield of the vinegar. Another fear is that the bacterial “mother” as it is called, contains trace gluten through cross-contamination. Claims that these practices actually take place are unsubstantiated by evidence.
    Why are Distilled Spirits Still Questioned?
    That is a good question, I do not know.Take a Short Quiz on this Topic:
    You bought mustard and pickles at the grocery store. These products contain “distilled vinegar” according to the ingredients labels, and the label does NOT say “contains: wheat.” Are the mustard and pickles gluten-free? Rum, gin, whiskey, and vodka are distilled beverages. If they are not flavored with something that contains wheat (would be declared on the label), rye, or barley (usually in the form of “malt”), are they gluten-free?  What is wrong with the following statements (they have all been cut and pasted from various blogs and forums on the topic of celiac disease)?a. “Most alcohols are distilled in such a way that any wheat gluten is no longer present.”b. “Even trace amounts of gluten that make it past the filter system can be harmful.”c. “It seems improbable to me, too, that gliadin could survive the distillation process.”

    Answers:
    Yes, unless you have reason to believe otherwise, in which case you should simply avoid them.
    Yes.
    3a. All alcohols, if distilled, have been removed from any type of gluten.
    3b. Distillation is nothing like a filtration. We are not separating small from large, there is no filter. Filtration would be like how your coffee pot separates water from the coffee grains. A tear in the filter would result in a big problem, right? Filtration is a separation based on size, distillation is a separation based on volatility.
    3c. Do we care whether gliadin (a name given to part of wheat gluten) “survives” the process or not? No, because it has been left behind to stew in its own juices in the distillation pot. Your stuff (the ethanol) has floated away, and entered a new, clean pot. Some people have this idea that we heat the fermented mixture to smithereens and it somehow decomposes the molecules of gluten. Clearly, such a process would be ineffective or else we could simply “cook,” “roast,” “fry,” or “burn” the gluten out of our foods, and we know that we cannot do that.

  • Popular Contributors

×