Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):


  • You've found your Celiac Tribe! Join our like-minded, private community and share your story, get encouragement and connect with others.

    💬

    • Sign In
    • Sign Up
  • Jefferson Adams

    Storied Czech Brewery Quietly Brews Great Gluten-free Dark Beer

    Jefferson Adams
    0
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

    Celiac.com 07/29/2016 - There's a great little story by Pete Brown about his visit to the Zatec brewery in the Czech Republic. Officially known as Zatecky Pivovar, but called Zatec, the brewery offers both an interesting war history, and a great dark beer that just happens to be gluten-free.

    Zatec makes both their main brand, the light 11° pilsner, and another brand called Celia Dark. The company used to make a dark beer called Xantho, but now sells only Celia Dark as their main dark beer because, says Martin Kec, managing director, "no one can tell the difference."



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Most gluten-free beers are made with non-barley grains, such as sorghum, which is naturally gluten-free. The problem is that many of these beverages cannot be considered beer under German law, and many don't taste all that great either.

    But Celia is brewed with barley, just like normal beer, then de-glutenised with the addition of a special enzyme that breaks down the gluten molecules, binds to them and sinks to the bottom of the fermentation tank, where it is then filtered out before bottling.

    Rather than thinking of it as a gluten-free beer, says Martin, it's more useful to describe it as a great beer that just happens to be gluten-free.

    Read more in the Morning Advertiser.co.uk.

    0

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    Isn't this just another Omission then? A beer that is not totally gluten-free, but has its ppm numbers below a certain threshold? If so, it is still dangerous for those whose celiac is very sensitive.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Mistakes happen. Not sure I'd be willing to take the risk on any beer made with gluten ingredients on the faith that all the gluten has been removed every time with no error. Not worth it.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 04/22/2016 - To label a beer 'gluten-free' it must contain no gluten ingredients from start to finish. But, without wheat or barley, how does a brewer create the foundation for the beer?
    One problem gluten-free beers have is that, because they are brewed without wheat and/or barley, they are technically not beers under German beer laws, whatever their legal status here. Another issue is that since purely gluten-free beers must be brewed with all gluten-free ingredients, they have been often regarded as lackluster in the taste department, especially by beer connoisseurs, gluten-free or not.
    In an effort to provide a genuine, high...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 04/29/2016 - Efforts to develop gluten-free version of traditional grains like wheat have been underway for some time, with limited success.
    Now, scientists in Australia say they've developed the world's first World Health Organization-approved "gluten-free" barley.
    Since barley is a key ingredient in traditional beers, you might imagine that the beer viewing world would be keenly interested in such a development, and you would be right.
    Developed by the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organization (CSIRO), the product, called Kebari barley, has already drawn interest from a number of commercial breweries. One German...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/17/2016 - What role does individual sensitivity play in celiac disease severity and reactions to gluten?
    Researchers in Italy reported on an interesting case of a of a man with a clear diagnosis of celiac disease who nevertheless drank gluten-containing beer, with no physical symptoms, and no clinical issues.
    The research team included Fabiana Zingone, Ilaria Russo, Angelo Massari, and Carolina Ciacci. They are variously affiliated with the Department of Medicine and Surgery, and the Department of Clinical Pathology and Transfusion Medicine at AOU San Giovanni di Dio e Ruggi D'Aragona in Salerno, Italy.
    The team found that a 4...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 07/15/2016 - Germans are particular about their beer. Since the 14th century, they have had a beer purity law, called Reinheitsgebot. That law says that beer must be made with wheat or barley, if it is to be called beer.
    That means that many gluten-free beers brewed without wheat or barley cannot be considered beer in Germany. Now, German brewers are using special "ultra-low" gluten Australian barley to brew the first gluten-free beer that conforms to the strict requirements of the law.
    The barley is called "Kebari" barley, and was developed by Csiro, an Australian government scientific research agency, which used conventional breeding...