Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):


Join eNewsletter


Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-m):



Join eNewsletter
  • Join Our Community!

    Ask us a question in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Jefferson Adams

    Velveeta and Twenty Other Surprisingly Gluten-Free Foods

    Jefferson Adams
    2 2
    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      From buckwheat to Velveeta, from Cool-Whip to Cheez Whiz, here are twenty-one popular foods and products that you might not know are gluten-free.


    Velveeta Cheese. Image: CC BY 3.0--PeRshGo
    Caption: Velveeta Cheese. Image: CC BY 3.0--PeRshGo

    Celiac.com 09/19/2019 - At Celiac.com, we get a lot of questions about which foods and products are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Sometimes the answers can be surprising. The list of foods that are gluten-free and safe, and the list of foods that contain gluten and are unsafe can be long and tricky. To help clarify, we've looked to our celiac disease and gluten-free forum for some popular foods and products that people might not know are gluten-free. As always, if you know about a surprisingly gluten-free food or product we've missed, be sure to let us know in the comments section below.

    Here are twenty-one foods that you might be surprised to find out are gluten-free.

    Buckwheat



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12):






    Celiac.com Sponsor (A12-m):




    Despite the fact that it has 'wheat' in the name, buckwheat is actually a fruit. It is also gluten-free. So feel free to include buckwheat in your gluten-free diet.

    Cool Whip 

    Cool Whip is gluten-free! Enjoy!

    Corn Nuts

    Corn Nuts are labeled gluten-free and are safe for people with celiac disease. Also here's a list of other gluten-free corn products.

    Cheetos

    Cheetos are listed as gluten-free. Here's a list of Cheetos and other gluten-free puffed cheese snacks.

    Cheez Whiz

    Kraft reliably discloses any gluten ingredients in their products. Cheez Whiz has no gluten ingredients, and ingredients, and is considered gluten-free.

    Cotton Candy

    In case anyone was wondering if cotton candy, that favorite staple of country fairs everywhere, is gluten-free, wonder no longer. Cotton candy is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. As always, when dealing with anything prepackaged, read the label, just to be sure.

    Doritos

    Doritos can get tricky. At the moment, only Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips are labeled as gluten-free. Other flavors of Doritos are not labeled gluten-free.

    Fritos

    Currently, the following types of Fritos are gluten free: Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips; Fritos Original Corn Chips; Fritos SCOOPS! Corn Chips

    Gatorade

    According to PepsiCo’s site, Gatorade Thirst Quencher, G2 and Gatorade Endurance Formula sports drinks are all gluten free.

    Jell-O

    Jell-O fans rejoice! Jell-O is gluten-free.

    Jell-O Pudding

    Kraft reliably discloses any gluten ingredients in their products. Most Jell-O Pudding has no gluten ingredients and is considered gluten-free, but be sure to check the ingredients because a couple of their flavors may not be gluten-free.

    Marshmallows

    Nearly every major brand of marshmallow is gluten-free. Check labels to be sure, but we've never seen a non-gluten-free marshmallow. Read more on marshmallows here.

    Miracle Whip

    Yes, Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Enjoy!

    Philadelphia Cream Cheese

    Kraft discloses all sources of gluten on the label. There is no such warning for Philadelphia Cream Cheese, so the product can be regarded as gluten-free and safe. 

    Penzeys Spices

    Popular spice brand Penzeys confirmed via email that all Penzey's products, "including spices, herbs, salts and all ingredients used in our seasoning blends, are naturally gluten free, however we are not certified gluten free."

    Skittles

    Yes! Skittles are clearly labeled gluten-free.

    Snickers

    Currently, all flavors of Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, Snickers fun size and Snickers mini's are gluten-free, according to the website for parent company Mars.

    Stubb's Original BBQ Sauce

    All flavors of Stubb's BBQ Sauce are gluten free. Here's list of more gluten-free barbecue sauces.

    Tater Tots

    Tater Tots are a trademarked product of the Ore-Ida company. The tater tots are listed as gluten-free on the Ore-Ida website, and they tested gluten-free by Nima

    Velveeta

    Kraft reliably discloses any gluten ingredients in their products. Velveeta has no gluten ingredients, and is widely considered gluten-free by the gluten-free and celiac community.

     

    2 2

    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments



    On 9/19/2019 at 1:00 PM, kareng said:

    I have actually seen marshmallows with gluten in the US.  They are the cure shaped ones that come with hot cocoa gift sets.  Just another example of they you need to read ingredient  lists.

    I am having tator tots, drizzled with Velveeta cheese and BBQ sauce YUMMMMM. 

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    On 9/24/2019 at 8:55 AM, Guest Ermanno D'Angelo said:

    I’m wondering if Cavendish Farms Potatoe Patties are gluten-free

    A quick check of their website lists no gluten ingredients. Double check with the manufacturer, but there are no gluten or wheat ingredients listed, and no wheat allergen warnings.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I have celiac. Yesterday I planned and made taco filling using ground beef and one can of Hormel chili with no beans as the flavoring. I became ill a few hours after and remained symptomatic for nearly 24 hours. I retrieved the can of Hormel chili without beans from the trash and the label said it contained wheat gluten. I called the company and asked if they made any gluten-free products and I was told that they make Hormel chili without beans but it’s labeled as chunky. There was Hormel chili chunky style and with beans or without beans. The clue to it being gluten-free was the word chunky in the description. The Hormel chunky chili without beans will be my go to item to season ground meat to make taco filling. I have also ordered online gluten-free dry taco seasoning which I add to the mixture in the sauté pan, with additional cumin.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    10 hours ago, Guest Stu B. said:

    I have celiac. Yesterday I planned and made taco filling using ground beef and one can of Hormel chili with no beans as the flavoring. I became ill a few hours after and remained symptomatic for nearly 24 hours. I retrieved the can of Hormel chili without beans from the trash and the label said it contained wheat gluten. I called the company and asked if they made any gluten-free products and I was told that they make Hormel chili without beans but it’s labeled as chunky. There was Hormel chili chunky style and with beans or without beans. The clue to it being gluten-free was the word chunky in the description. The Hormel chunky chili without beans will be my go to item to season ground meat to make taco filling. I have also ordered online gluten-free dry taco seasoning which I add to the mixture in the sauté pan, with additional cumin.

    No matter how long you have had celiac disease, always read the labels.  Products can change.  

    I hope you recover fast.   

     

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    Celiac.com,

    I was diagnosed a celiac for 23 years and I want to express my immense gratitude to your educating us on our disease. I am fortunate to have the world's best gastro, Dr Joseph Murray at Mayo. I appreciate the product listings I got those years ago and have paid it forward by hosting the Arrowhead Celiac Assoc until the internet help us all. Velveeta in wild rice soup is the best!

     

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites

    I called Kraft Heinz about Velveeta Cheese today, and they told me it isn’t gluten free it contains traces of gluten, none of their Velveeta products are gluten free I was told they get some of their flavorings and ingredients from other suppliers, and they can’t guarantee they are not cross contaminated with gluten containing ingredients people need to be aware that this product isn’t gluten free Kraft Heinz says they label all their gluten free items that have FDA approved gluten free ingredients.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites



    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Restore formatting

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,500 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-m):




  • Related Articles

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 01/08/2019 - Doritos are one of the perennially popular snacks. They are also a major favorite for Super Bowl parties. But are Doritos gluten-free? We’ve heard that question more than a few times. The answer varies by flavor. Some Doritos varieties are gluten-free, some are not, and other flavors are free of wheat, rye, barley and oats. Use this handy list to help you choose your gluten-free snacks when Super Bowl LIII kicks off on Sunday, Feb. 3rd.
    These flavors of Doritos are labeled as Gluten-Free:
    DORITOS Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips DORITOS Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips The following f...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 02/13/2019 - We see a lot of questions about the gluten-free status of certain foods, candies, or snacks. One of the most common questions we see is: Is Kraft Cool Whip gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?
    The good news for Cool Whip fans is that, currently, Kraft Cool Whip products are gluten-free, including the flavored "Season's Delight" varieties. As such, Cool Whip is regarded as safe for people with celiac disease.
    Kraft marks all sources of gluten clearly in its ingredient listings, several of which are given below, and no Cool Whip products contain any reported sources of gluten. Cool Whip is not dairy-...

    Jefferson Adams
    Celiac.com 06/06/2019 - One question we hear regularly is: Are Cheetos Gluten-Free? And what about other top brands of puffed, cheese flavored snacks? Well, Chester Cheetah can purr proudly, because America's best-selling brand of puffed cheese flavored snacks are in fact gluten-free. What other brands of cheesy puffed snacks are gluten-free?
    Gluten-Free Cheetos and Cheese Flavored Snacks
    Gluten-Free Cheetos and Cheese flavored puffed snacks include:
    Annie's Organic Cheddar Cheesy Puffs--Organic, gluten-free and made with 8 grams of baked whole grains. Biena Chickpea Puffs--Made with chickpeas, and lentils, Biena Chickpea ...

    Scott Adams
    Celiac.com 06/25/2020 - Jell-O Pudding and Jell-O Instant Pudding are manufactured by Kraft Foods, and while Kraft does not specifically label Jell-O pudding products as gluten-free, nearly all of them are made without gluten ingredients, and so we regard them as gluten-free, and safe for people with celiac disease.
    Officially, Celiac.com puts Jell-O Pudding and Jell-O Instant Pudding in the Gluten-Safe category. Gluten-Safe products are products that do not contain gluten ingredients, and for which we have not received any credible complaints of gluten-contamination. While not officially labeled "Gluten-Free," Gluten-Safe products are very unlikely...