Jump to content
  • Sign Up
  • Join Our Community!

    Get help in our celiac / gluten-free forum.

  • Jefferson Adams
    Jefferson Adams

    Velveeta and Twenty Other Surprisingly Gluten-Free Foods

    Reviewed and edited by a celiac disease expert.

      From buckwheat to Velveeta, from Cool-Whip to Cheez Whiz, here are twenty-one popular foods and products that you might not know are gluten-free.


    Caption: Velveeta Cheese. Image: CC BY 3.0--PeRshGo

    Celiac.com 09/19/2019 - At Celiac.com, we get a lot of questions about which foods and products are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. Sometimes the answers can be surprising. The list of foods that are gluten-free and safe, and the list of foods that contain gluten and are unsafe can be long and tricky. To help clarify, we've looked to our celiac disease and gluten-free forum for some popular foods and products that people might not know are gluten-free. As always, if you know about a surprisingly gluten-free food or product we've missed, be sure to let us know in the comments section below.

    Here are twenty-one foods that you might be surprised to find out are gluten-free.

    Buckwheat

    Despite the fact that it has 'wheat' in the name, buckwheat is actually a fruit. It is also gluten-free. So feel free to include buckwheat in your gluten-free diet.

    Cool Whip 

    Cool Whip is gluten-free! Enjoy!

    Corn Nuts

    Corn Nuts are labeled gluten-free and are safe for people with celiac disease. Also here's a list of other gluten-free corn products.

    Cheetos

    Cheetos are listed as gluten-free. Here's a list of Cheetos and other gluten-free puffed cheese snacks.

    Cheez Whiz

    Kraft reliably discloses any gluten ingredients in their products. Cheez Whiz has no gluten ingredients, and ingredients, and is considered gluten-free.

    Cotton Candy

    In case anyone was wondering if cotton candy, that favorite staple of country fairs everywhere, is gluten-free, wonder no longer. Cotton candy is gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease. As always, when dealing with anything prepackaged, read the label, just to be sure.

    Doritos

    Doritos can get tricky. At the moment, only Doritos Toasted Corn Tortilla Chips are labeled as gluten-free. Other flavors of Doritos are not labeled gluten-free.

    Fritos

    Currently, the following types of Fritos are gluten free: Fritos Lightly Salted Corn Chips; Fritos Original Corn Chips; Fritos SCOOPS! Corn Chips

    Gatorade

    According to PepsiCo’s site, Gatorade Thirst Quencher, G2 and Gatorade Endurance Formula sports drinks are all gluten free.

    Jell-O

    Jell-O fans rejoice! Jell-O is gluten-free.

    Jell-O Pudding

    Kraft reliably discloses any gluten ingredients in their products. Jell-O Pudding has no gluten ingredients, and ingredients, and is considered gluten-free.

    Marshmallows

    Nearly every major brand of marshmallow is gluten-free. Check labels to be sure, but we've never seen a non-gluten-free marshmallow. Read more on marshmallows here.

    Miracle Whip

    Yes, Miracle Whip is gluten-free. Enjoy!

    Philadelphia Cream Cheese

    Kraft discloses all sources of gluten on the label. There is no such warning for Philadelphia Cream Cheese, so the product can be regarded as gluten-free and safe. 

    Penzeys Spices

    Popular spice brand Penzeys confirmed via email that all Penzey's products, "including spices, herbs, salts and all ingredients used in our seasoning blends, are naturally gluten free, however we are not certified gluten free."

    Skittles

    Yes! Skittles are clearly labeled gluten-free.

    Snickers

    Currently, all flavors of Snickers, Snickers Dark bars, Snickers fun size and Snickers mini's are gluten-free, according to the website for parent company Mars.

    Stubb's Original BBQ Sauce

    All flavors of Stubb's BBQ Sauce are gluten free. Here's list of more gluten-free barbecue sauces.

    Tater Tots

    Tater Tots are a trademarked product of the Ore-Ida company. The tater tots are listed as gluten-free on the Ore-Ida website, and they tested gluten-free by Nima

    Velveeta

    Kraft reliably discloses any gluten ingredients in their products. Velveeta has no gluten ingredients, and is widely considered gluten-free by the gluten-free and celiac community.

     


    User Feedback

    Recommended Comments

    I have actually seen marshmallows with gluten in the US.  They are the cure shaped ones that come with hot cocoa gift sets.  Just another example of they you need to read ingredient  lists.

    Edited by kareng

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    Guest Adele Dezign x 2

    Posted

    On 9/19/2019 at 1:00 PM, kareng said:

    I have actually seen marshmallows with gluten in the US.  They are the cure shaped ones that come with hot cocoa gift sets.  Just another example of they you need to read ingredient  lists.

    I am having tator tots, drizzled with Velveeta cheese and BBQ sauce YUMMMMM. 

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites
    On 9/24/2019 at 8:55 AM, Guest Ermanno D'Angelo said:

    I’m wondering if Cavendish Farms Potatoe Patties are gluten-free

    A quick check of their website lists no gluten ingredients. Double check with the manufacturer, but there are no gluten or wheat ingredients listed, and no wheat allergen warnings.

    Share this comment


    Link to comment
    Share on other sites


    Join the conversation

    You are posting as a guest. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
    Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

    Guest
    Add a comment...

    ×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

      Only 75 emoji are allowed.

    ×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

    ×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

    ×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


  • About Me

    Jefferson Adams is Celiac.com's senior writer and Digital Content Director. He earned his B.A. and M.F.A. at Arizona State University, and has authored more than 2,000 articles on celiac disease. His coursework includes studies in science, scientific methodology, biology, anatomy, medicine, logic, and advanced research. He previously served as SF Health News Examiner for Examiner.com, and devised health and medical content for Sharecare.com. Jefferson has spoken about celiac disease to the media, including an appearance on the KQED radio show Forum, and is the editor of the book "Cereal Killers" by Scott Adams and Ron Hoggan, Ed.D.

×
×
  • Create New...