No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:


Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts
SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Savory Quinoa Muffins (Gluten-Free)

These savory muffins make the perfect dessert, or just have them for a snack!

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free and Vegetarian

Savory Quinoa Muffins (Gluten-Free)Ingredients:

  • 1 cup uncooked quinoa
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup Vidalia onions, finely chopped
  • 1 cup dairy-free shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1/3 cup grape tomatoes, diced
  • 1/2 tsp. sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp. freshly ground pepper
  • 1 tsp. chili powder
  • 2 chives, finely chopped, for garnish
  • 2 cups salsa, for serving

Instructions:
Cook quinoa according to package directions. Prepare muffin pan with nonstick baking spray.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F.

Ads by Google:

In a large bowl, combine cooked quinoa with remaining ingredients, except chives and salsa; mix well to combine.

Transfer quinoa mixture to prepared muffin pan. Using a tablespoon, fill each muffin cup to the top, then using a spatula, press down on the mixture to create a flat surface.

Bake for 20 minutes or until golden brown. Remove from oven; set aside to cool for 15 minutes. Using a teaspoon, gently remove quinoa muffins from the muffin cups.

Transfer to a serving platter; serve with a sprinkle of fresh chives and a side of salsa for dipping.

Enjoy!

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).










Related Articles



11 Responses:

 
Huntress
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
28 May 2012 1:18:55 PM PDT
I have a question:

The directions state the following: "Transfer quinoa and rice mixture to prepared muffin pan".

What rice? There is no rice listed in the ingredients.

 
Anne
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
06 Jun 2012 12:56:14 PM PDT
These quinoa muffins contain cheese, yet it is stated that they are 'Dairy-Free'. Am I missing something? I thought that cheese was a dairy product.

 
diana
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
11 Jul 2012 8:25:59 AM PDT
No, they do make a soy cheese. I found it at Wal-Mart with the egg roll wrappers.

 
Kathy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Nov 2014 4:33:52 PM PDT
Soy products are extremely dangerous because of the estrogen effects, etc. The only way to eat soy safely is to ferment it: soy sauce. Dr. Weston Price was a leading authority on soy and other foods. Soy is especially dangerous to infants yet it is in all formulas.

 
Kathy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Nov 2014 4:36:29 PM PDT
Sorry, but "mozzarella" means mozzarella. You cannot have dairy free "mozzarella". If it tastes like mozzarella and is not mozzarella, you are probably getting fake food. Read ingredients on packages.

 
gfjoy
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
13 Jul 2012 2:50:25 PM PDT
Thank you for your recipe. I am saying "finally... a savory rather than a breakfast quinoa muffin!"

 
Heiid
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
04 Mar 2013 4:15:17 PM PDT
These look good and I'm anxious to try them. Is this recipe for large muffins? (Just wondering what type of muffin pan I should use.)

 
Heidi

said this on
29 Mar 2013 4:11:29 PM PDT
I've made these at least three times. They are great with chili, and we also have them as a grain with steamed vegetables and a soup. I usually add more diced tomatoes and also put a piece of sweet pepper on top.

 
Michelle

said this on
10 Jan 2014 9:51:55 AM PDT
Does anyone know how many calories these are?

 
Kevala
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
31 Mar 2013 6:30:11 PM PDT
These look amazing, have you frozen them before? Do they come out ok? Cheers!

 
Olga
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
08 Mar 2015 6:51:21 AM PDT
Daiya and other companies make dairy free mozzarella or you can make your own. Let your index finger do the Googling for you!




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:

All Activity
Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

Welcome to the forum. Be sure to browse through the DH section for advice and tips. Glad your wife is gluten free. My hubby was gluten free some 12 years before my diagnosis. Sure makes it a bit easier!

As I am sitting here, I am wearing a retainer. Yep, had a tooth extracted a few months ago. To keep the space open for a future transplant, my dentist ordered a retainer. I read that PUB MED study. One kid. Not very scientific at all! Gluten Free Watchdog agrees that the odds of this kid being glutened by her retainer is slim and none. Like my PCV sprinklers lines, retainers probably do not last a lifetime. Ask your dentist how long they should last. No one wants to eat plastic!

I've had them about six or seven times at several different Starbucks locations. My sister has, also. Neither one of us have had any signs of getting glutened. They are served in a parchment paper bag that should be handed to you straight from the oven sealed. I've heard many internet complaints about the bags being dusty, too many ingredients, unhealthy, etc., but honestly, they are pretty darned tasty! And, when you are traveling and hungry, they are even tastier. They sell out quickly at most Starbucks, but I've been able to purchase one as late at 6 p.m.

I wish they didn't use " gluten" as a headline. People abuse and starve children for a variety of " reasons". gluten-free was just one they picked, it could have been paleo or kosher or whatever...

Ugh! This again..... first ...it was one person...not a study... just someone's speculation. if I am remembering correctly - no one actually tested the retainer. The kid was a 12-16 yr old an drew could have gotten caught eating gluten, etc, etc, etc. And then those internet folks who love to spread " bad news" or use that stuff to further their purpose, jumped on it. And then let's talk to a chemist or plastic scientist - if the plastic leaches our actual proteins, like gluten, wouldn't the plastic piece break down after a while? welcome to the world of Celiac internet myths. adding - none of the Celiac Centers, Associations, etc have warned people not to use a retainers.