No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter





Ads by Google:


Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts
SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Canada Requires All Food Labels to Declare Gluten, Other Allergens

Celiac.com 08/31/2012 - Since August 4th, 2012, Canadian Food Allergen Labeling Regulations require all food products containing gluten, or any of ten other major allergens, to clearly state their presence on the label.

Photo: Jefferson AdamsThis change marks an important step in consumer safety that will benefit the estimated three million Canadians with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity, as well as others with sensitivities to major food allergens.

For people with celiac disease, consuming gluten can cause anemia, nutritional deficiencies, a blistering skin rash, and an increased risk of other autoimmune diseases such as Type 1 diabetes. It can also lead to some cancers of the gut.

One major problem for people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity is that, unless clearly stated on the label, it can be difficult to tell whether or not gluten is present in foods they may buy.

Ads by Google:

A 2009 Health Canada survey of approximately 7,000 people revealed that 96.1% of individuals read every ingredient on all food products to figure out whether the product contains gluten.

Nearly eighty percent of those surveyed said that their greatest challenge was with incomplete labeling.

For people who are sensitive to gluten and/or other major allergens, this new labeling rule will remove much of the guesswork from grocery shopping, and substantially reduce the risk to individuals sensitive or intolerant to gluten or other allergens.

Those risks include an estimated 14,000 emergency hospital wards each year that are the result of reactions to gluten and other allergens, which carry a projected $5 million in extra health care costs.

Source:

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).










Related Articles



9 Responses:

 
Susan
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
31 Aug 2012 8:16:56 AM PDT
This is good news for Canadians. I wonder if the product in the picture is really gluten-free if it contains mixed tocopherols. Do celiacs still need to worry that some of the vitamin E might come from wheat germ even though the product claims it is gluten-free?

 
cate
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
03 Sep 2012 1:19:53 PM PDT
Good question from Susan. Here in Australia, I've discovered that if it isn't actually an 'ingredient' then it doesn't always get on the label, e.g. flour used to stop food items sticking together during processing or in packaging. Good on you, though, to the Canadian government.

 
Barb
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
03 Sep 2012 2:21:09 PM PDT
The above is not gluten free. The definition of gluten is sadly lacking.

All grains have gluten in them and since it has rice in it, it is not gluten free. Yes, It is a different form of gluten but the body can't tell the difference.

 
Jefferson
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated ( Author)
said this on
06 Sep 2012 2:13:21 PM PDT
I am unaware of any study that shows that the bodies of people with celiac disease react the same to rice gluten as to the gluten in wheat, barley or rye? I am also not aware of any study that indicates that rice gluten provokes any adverse reaction in people with celiac disease. Perhaps you could cite your sources for this (mis)information?

 
Ted
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
28 Oct 2012 11:00:20 AM PDT
Wrong. Rice doesn't contain glutenin and gliadin which are the proteins that celiacs and gluten intolerant people react to.

 
TheWendybird
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
03 Sep 2012 11:53:44 PM PDT
I'm originally from Canada and go back at least once a year to visit family. I'd be very interested to know if their labeling for gluten will include if it's made on the same lines/cross contamination etc.

 
jacobite
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
04 Sep 2012 7:00:52 AM PDT
What a pity that Canada, unlike the EU, has still not seen fit to label GMO foods.

 
Richie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
04 Sep 2012 12:35:54 PM PDT
Curious that an article about Canadian food labels shows an American food label with a gluten-free product in it. It should show a Canadian label with allergens in it to demonstrate the headline of this article. We need all the help we can get!

 
Rebecca Black
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingempty Unrated
said this on
19 Sep 2012 8:41:32 AM PDT
This is wonderful! I wish this would happen in the USA.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:

All Activity
Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

Welcome to the forum. Be sure to browse through the DH section for advice and tips. Glad your wife is gluten free. My hubby was gluten free some 12 years before my diagnosis. Sure makes it a bit easier!

As I am sitting here, I am wearing a retainer. Yep, had a tooth extracted a few months ago. To keep the space open for a future transplant, my dentist ordered a retainer. I read that PUB MED study. One kid. Not very scientific at all! Gluten Free Watchdog agrees that the odds of this kid being glutened by her retainer is slim and none. Like my PCV sprinklers lines, retainers probably do not last a lifetime. Ask your dentist how long they should last. No one wants to eat plastic!

I've had them about six or seven times at several different Starbucks locations. My sister has, also. Neither one of us have had any signs of getting glutened. They are served in a parchment paper bag that should be handed to you straight from the oven sealed. I've heard many internet complaints about the bags being dusty, too many ingredients, unhealthy, etc., but honestly, they are pretty darned tasty! And, when you are traveling and hungry, they are even tastier. They sell out quickly at most Starbucks, but I've been able to purchase one as late at 6 p.m.

I wish they didn't use " gluten" as a headline. People abuse and starve children for a variety of " reasons". gluten-free was just one they picked, it could have been paleo or kosher or whatever...

Ugh! This again..... first ...it was one person...not a study... just someone's speculation. if I am remembering correctly - no one actually tested the retainer. The kid was a 12-16 yr old an drew could have gotten caught eating gluten, etc, etc, etc. And then those internet folks who love to spread " bad news" or use that stuff to further their purpose, jumped on it. And then let's talk to a chemist or plastic scientist - if the plastic leaches our actual proteins, like gluten, wouldn't the plastic piece break down after a while? welcome to the world of Celiac internet myths. adding - none of the Celiac Centers, Associations, etc have warned people not to use a retainers.