No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter




Ads by Google:



Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Omission Handcrafted Lager Beer is Real Beer for Real Gluten-Free Beer Lovers

During college I spent a year and a half living and studying in Tuebingen, Germany. This was before my diagnosis with celiac disease, and it was there that I really learned to know and love beer. After my diagnosis, and around the time I founded this Web site, I spent around two years trying to perfect a gluten-free beer made of sorghum and rice malts. I got close, but it never tasted quite right.

Omission Handcrafted Lager BeerThe same can be said of many of the gluten-free beers that are made without using barley, which, according to Germany's 1516 "Reinheitgebot," or German Beer Purity Law, can't even be called "beer" in Germany.

Omission Handcrafted Lager Beer, on the other hand, can be called real beer in Germany, as it is made using only traditional beer ingredients: malted barely, hops, yeast and water. How could it be safe for celiacs you ask? Because it is made using a process that removes the harmful gluten to below 10 ppm, and each batch is tested using an independent lab (utilizing the R5 Competitive ELISA test).

So now, thanks to Omission Beer, I can once again enjoy the flavor of a real German-style beer. This wonderful lager beer stands on its own against any other great lager beer, and even those who are not gluten-free wouldn't notice that it was "different."

Ads by Google:

Visit their site for more info: omissionbeer.com.

 

 

Note: Articles that appear in the "Gluten-Free Food Reviews" section of this site are paid advertisements. For more information about this see our Advertising Page.

 

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).





Spread The Word







Related Articles



5 Responses:

 
Peter Olins
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
22 Oct 2012 6:13:25 PM PDT
Scott, I am not familiar with worldwide regulations, but for the US, I recommend that you read the May 24, 2012 ruling by the TTB (Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau) regarding gluten-free labeling. It prohibits the use of the term "gluten-free" on any beer derived from barley malt, even if it has been crafted to remove gluten.

"....One of the following qualifying statements must also appear legibly and conspicuously on the label or in the advertisement as part of the above statement: “Product fermented from grains containing gluten and [processed or treated or crafted] to remove gluten.
The gluten content of this product cannot be verified, and this product may contain gluten....”

Regarding the R5 Mendez Competitive Assay for gluten, this has not been approved by the FDA:

"....Because the current tests used to measure the gluten content of fermented products have not been scientifically validated, such statements may not include any reference to the level of gluten in the product..."

[I would post a link to the regulation, but this is not permitted by celiac.com. Details can be found by searching for: "Interim Policy on Gluten Content Statements in the Labeling and Advertising of Wines, Distilled Spirits, and Malt Beverages"].

It is exciting that breweries are working on innovative approaches to remove gluten from barley-based beer, and the work looks very promising, but I agree with the TTB that it is premature to declare these as "gluten-free". I look forward to future research into valid methods for determining both "gluten" levels and the safety of complex protein mixtures.

Peter Olins, PhD

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
30 Oct 2012 9:03:05 AM PDT
Your comments speak to labeling laws for alcoholic beverages--which Omission Beer is conforming to. Their beer does not say "gluten-free" on the label, even though it is.
Scott

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
30 Oct 2012 9:07:03 AM PDT
Your comments speak to labeling laws for alcoholic beverages--which Omission Beer is conforming to. Their beer does not say "gluten-free" on the label, even though it is.
Scott

 
Sarah
Rating: ratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
09 Nov 2012 11:23:22 AM PDT
Scott,

Peter is right. Currently the science shows that it is premature to call Omission gluten free. Recent studies even suggest that it is not, and their current test underestimates gluten content in hydrolyzed products.

 
gryphon
( Author)
said this on
09 Nov 2012 3:01:55 PM PDT
The Sandwich R5 ELISA has been shown to underestimate gluten content, but they are not using that test. They are using the Competitive R5 ELISA, which was specifically designed to test for hydrolyzed gluten.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:

All Activity
Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

Next time just take a box of rat poisoning and extract ONE granule. Toss it into his food (while he is watching) and give it a good stir. Hand the food over and see if he is willing to eat it.

Gertrude.....just a few comments after reading your posts..........no other disease but Celiac disease will cause a positive on the EMA test. I have never heard of a false positive on that either. It is a test that is done by hand and not by a machine because of the way it has to be done, so having a false positive is almost impossible. Your doctor should have known that. Many people trip just 1 or 2 tests on the panel and they have Celiac Disease. With autoimmune testing, you can test 2 different people with Celiac Disease and they can have wildly different test results. Couple those with a positive gene test and the likelihood of it being Celiac is almost 100%. The fact that the doc didn't find villus atrophy just means the damage is not extensive enough for them to find.......yet. I am sure they would prefer you to keep eating gluten until that happens but you do not want to do that. So.........after you have been gluten-free for awhile, have them run the Celiac panel again to see if your EMA goes to normal, which it should if you eat very gluten free. With positive gene results, positives on your Celiac antibody testing, and positive dietary response, that is a diagnosis!

That's great, Gertrude! I'm glad your doctors sound more competent than mine. And that you're starting to feel better. I haven't had any abdominal or joint pain in the last few days, and I feel like I have more energy for sure. I've been feeling a little off/dizzy but that might be from gluten withdrawal. Good luck with everything!

By the way, I got my biopsy pathology report and the doctor took 2 biopsies, not the recommended 4-6. It says no "significant villous blunting not seen." I don't know if I should laugh or cry---so frustrating.

Thank you, this does feel helpful and reassuring. Did you end up getting blood tests again after going gluten-free? Do you have to worry about cross contamination as much as with a celiac diagnosis? How do you explain it to friends and family? Non-Celiac gluten sensitivity sounds so vague and I know it's dumb, but I worry about people not taking me seriously.