No popular authors found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter

Categories

No categories found.







Ads by Google:


Questions? Join Our Forum:
~1 Million Posts
& Over 66,000 Members!



SHARE THIS PAGE:
Celiac.com Sponsors:

New FDA Gluten-Free Label Rules Include Dietary Supplements

Celiac.com 09/12/2013 - Good news for consumers of gluten-free foods and other products: The FDA's new standards for the labeling of gluten-free food and other products apply to all foods and products labeled gluten-free, including dietary supplements and vitamins.

GIEThe FDA rules state that any product declaring the contents to be "gluten-free," "no gluten," "free of gluten" or "without gluten," must meet all parts of FDA's gluten-free definition, including the requirement that the food contains less than 20 parts per million of gluten.

People with celiac disease who consume gluten from wheat, rye, or barley risk gradual damage to the intestines, leading to poor absorption of vitamins and minerals and leading to a host of other health problems, including nutritional deficiencies, osteoporosis, miscarriages, and cancer," according to Virginia Cox, Associate Commissioner of FDA's Office of External Affairs.

Ads by Google:

Creating uniform rules and conditions for the use of the term 'gluten-free' in the labeling of foods and other products is "necessary to ensure that individuals with celiac disease are not misled and are provided with truthful and accurate information with respect to foods so labeled, " according to the text of the final rule, which was published last week in the Federal Register.

FDA projects the new requirements will yield annual health benefits of roughly $110 million, compared to estimated annual costs (related to testing and relabeling) of $7 million.

Manufacturers of gluten-free foods and products will have one year to comply with the FDA's labeling requirements.

Source:

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).












Related Articles



2 Responses:

 
john j acres
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
16 Sep 2013 5:28:19 PM PST
I can't even eat buckwheat which is very low in gluten that is how sensitive my coeliac disease is & now you want to put it in gluten free products.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
17 Sep 2013 3:52:50 PM PST
FYI: Buckwheat is gluten-free, not related to wheat, and is in the rhubarb family of plants.




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:


Thank you so so much.

OMG Thank you so much!!! If it?s ok my email is sara.crowe@bstamerica.com i have no problem posting it - if you email me that would be great! thank you! sara

Absolutely. I'll see if the admins can give you my contact info so I don't have to post it. BTW, I'm still active duty and was deployed to Afghanistan last year for 9 months.

Hertzya last was here in 2011. But I sent a message to see if they will come back and respond.

You are replying to a 7 year old post, so I doubt you will hear back.