No popular authors found.
Ads by Google:

Categories

No categories found.


Get Celiac.com's E-Newsletter




Ads by Google:



Follow / Share


  FOLLOW US:
Twitter Facebook Google Plus Pinterest RSS Podcast Email  Get Email Alerts

SHARE:

Popular Articles

No popular articles found.
Celiac.com Sponsors:

Is Gluten-free Vodka a Gimmick?

Celiac.com 12/19/2013 - There's a bit of controversy following an interim ruling by the Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau (TTB) that has permitted a number of companies to advertise certain products as 'gluten-free.'

Photo: Karola Riegler PhotographyBlue Ice vodka’s American Potato Vodka became the first spirit to receive gluten-free labeling in May 2013. The 'gluten-free' label, says Thomas Gibson, the chief operating officer for 21st Century Spirits, Blue Ice’s parent company, assures American Potato Vodka consumers that it is 100-percent gluten free.

So are vodkas and other distilled spirits labeled as 'gluten-free' just using the term as a marketing gimmick?

The reality is that, unless gluten is added afterward, all pure distilled vodkas and spirits are, in fact, gluten-free, even those fermented with wheat or wheat-based ingredients.

Because of the distillation process, the resulting alcohol does not contain detectable gluten residues or gluten peptide residues, says Steve Taylor, co-director of the University of Nebraska–Lincoln’s Food Allergy Research and Resource Program, and one of the country’s leading gluten testers.

Ads by Google:

Taylor calls gluten-free vodka a “silly thing. … All vodka is gluten-free unless there is some flavored vodka out there where someone adds a gluten-containing ingredient."

The Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics maintains that all distilled spirits are gluten-free unless gluten is added after distillation.

So, I guess the good news is that people with celiac disease or gluten-sensitivity can choose vodka that is gluten-free but not labeled 'gluten-free,' or vodka that is gluten-free and which is also labeled 'gluten-free.'

Doubtless, many people with celiac disease and gluten-sensitivity will still choose potato and other non-wheat based vodkas. Taylor agrees, noting that many people with celiac disease are extra-cautious, but that their concerns are "not science-based" when it comes to vodka.

Source:

Celiac.com welcomes your comments below (registration is NOT required).





Spread The Word







Related Articles



8 Responses:

 
Sue
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
19 Dec 2013 7:47:42 AM PDT
There seems to be a lot of conflicting information out there as to whether distilled spirits are truly gluten free. I appreciate a label that tells me one way or another. I would also like to try the flavored vodkas and if they are labeled GF then it saves me a lot of research. Usually I just skip buying any flavored vodka because the research is too much of a headache.

 
Laura
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Dec 2013 5:51:25 PM PDT
That's sure not what my stomach tells me but I really wish it was true!

 
Laura
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Dec 2013 5:52:42 PM PDT
That's not what my stomach says though I wish it were true.

 
Donnie
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
23 Dec 2013 6:31:32 AM PDT
I have celiac and must avoid all gluten. I have had severe allergic reactions to plain vodka that is distilled from corn. So I will pass on drinking vodka distilled from wheat, too. When in doubt, err on the side of caution. It is my common sense approach.

 
larry mac
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
26 Dec 2013 9:58:59 AM PDT
Mind over matter can be a powerful thing. Distilled spirits are gluten free. Yet some convince themselves they are not. So, of course if you believe something, you should avoid it. Just don't pass on misinformation.

 
Joe
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingemptyratingemptyratingempty Unrated
said this on
06 Nov 2014 2:57:58 AM PDT
You didn't read the entire article posted on Scientific American before posting this article "sourced" from said resource.

The only time "ideal distillation" happens is in a laboratory.

Many suffering from CD or GS cannot have any gluten protein period. Vodka still tests out at 5-7 PPM after distillation.

The proof for me is the effect it has on me, which is the only science I need to know.

You would think that a site dedicated to CD would have the due diligence to at least read the entire article, which quite frankly ends as quite inconclusive despite the glamorous headline and random quote from a laboratory scientist.

 
admin
( Author)
said this on
06 Nov 2014 4:28:49 PM PDT
5-7 ppm is gluten-free, and such low levels have not been shown to harm celiacs. Your statement "Vodka still tests out at 5-7 PPM after distillation" is incorrect, as I've spoken to many commercial testing labs who have never detected any gluten in vodka. Last, many vodkas, including Smirnoff, is naturally gluten-free because it is made from corn.

 
Ryan
Rating: ratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfullratingfull Unrated
said this on
30 Apr 2016 3:47:24 PM PDT
I don't know what's funnier, the fact that I've worked for years in organic and non-go grocery and know for a fact that 99% of ALL brewing/distilling styles leave alcohol gluten-free naturally, or the people with such a so called debilitating digestion disorder still choose to somehow stick poison ethyl alcohol in their bodies. Got news for you guys, many companies have already admitted they do this to raise their sales in the demographic of people who choose to shop "organic."




Rate this article and leave a comment:
Rating: * Poor Excellent
Your Name *: Email (private) *:




In Celiac.com's Forum Now:

All Activity
Celiac.com Celiac Disease & Gluten-Free Diet Forum - All Activity

I can only think of two things, 1 something you put on your potato was contaminated like the butter container could have crumbs in it or something like that as mentioned before, and you could be having a reaction to dairy or what ever was put in it.......IF it was just plain potato and you reacted with bloating and cramping you might have a carb issues, tad rare and most associated with additional auto immune diseases but could be in which case a diet of fats and protein would be your answer much like it is for me now days.

They are gluten-free. Did you use butter that might have gluten crumbs on it? For me , it takes more than 2 hours to feel the effect of gluten- maybe something you ate before? Maybe stomach virus?

Has anyone had an reaction to potatoes? Just made couple bake potatoes 2hrs ago and now I feel awful...just wondering thought potatoes were gluten free?????

I recently covered some pizzas when adding some grain free options to the gluten alternative list....I actually found a company that makes gluten-free hot pockets also sorta made me laugh. There are some unique ones out there now days even found one that made low carb crust out of chicken breast and cheese. https://www.celiac.com/gluten-free/topic/117090-gluten-free-food-alternatives-list/

these sound like celiac reactions yes ... basically avoid anything that causes the reaction always and find your self a great natural practitioner and rebuild your body .. Rest vitamins digestive enzymes and very strict diet Good Luck